(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

so sorry to hear of your dad's condition, hope all's well now

not first grandchild means no need to celebrate meh? not fair i feel..

my baby's the number 6th grandchild for my parents, and 4th grandchild for my MIL..

ya, they will buy the AKK and do the red eggs etc and do a simple pray at home, but no big celebration lo.. which im kinda upset about.. my eldest and second sister kids both had baby shower celebration, now my turn, end up i cannot hold one? and their reason is coz my youngest sister is getting married in jan, then like always asking pple for red packets? where got such thing one.. this is joyous occassion ma..

Re: Full month

Actually hor all these are for show only la.. same as our traditional wedding dinner...

If we didnt celebrate or give cakes, relatives will say we niao ... but i realised sometimes if we give cakes to them, will they eat? (for me i admit i will keep in the fridge and totally forgotten abt it!) ha ha =x

and if we give vouchers, will they redeem ???

Initially i tot of giving cakes only.. coz of the H1N1 thingy.. dun want baby to be expose to so many people .. but my friends said that the relatives will feel obliged to give us something back... aiyah either way also headache. TSK!

eh the cakes i will eat de leh.. haha.. for my own GDL last year, i insisted my mum get 2 more boxes coz i wanna eat them.. LoL

Mie Mie: erm that's a little sad to hear. How about your hubby's side? They dun mind celebrating right? Or you have one for your friends only.

PY: True about the germs passing around during the 1st month celebration...cos a lot of ppl will want to carry the baby...I am a little concerned about it after reading in some magazine about it. I think I will stagger the 'visiting time' as my place is pretty small...my case think both sides wouldn't mind celebrating because it's first grandchild for both.

Tien>> yah and my another concern is that if my 2nd one is a boy, and we celebrate (maybe by then no H1N1) then i will feel bad that i didnt celebrate for my #1, and pple might say i'm bias against girls =.=

For my case, both side also first grandchild too.. and first great grand child for my ah ma :D

my MIL doesnt care one, as long as she is not expected to fork out a single cent.. she hasnt bought me anything since i got preggy.. ok to be fair, she also din buy her eldest DIL anything throughout her pregnancy..

my grandfather-in-law also insisted on not inviting relatives when my nephew (hubby's brother's son) was one month old coz he says his relatives also never invite him to their grandchildren's full month, so why should we invite..

<font color="aa00aa"> ya, i agree is for show, partially la, if don't have, surely feel a bit sour. my heart goes to you.

PY, not everyone will redeem that's why we choose our guests..haha.. I admit I am petty also..I am very particular and I am only inviting friends that really looking forward to come.

As for relatives, I got no control over it, they are mostly maternal side. They will come for sure I know and I don't remember them giving gift/AP to my sister's daughters years back so hubby and I are not expecting anything back from them.

My son is going to be the first grandson/grandchild in his family but throughout the whole pregnancy thingy, they didn't bother about me, even now I am almost due, they still want my hubby to go visit them ( for $ actually) then after we transferred the $, no need to go visit already. I think I also mentioned before, they already said they are not coming to see me and baby once i delivered.

mie mie, your grand FIL very cute leh...but then old people are little petty ... looks like we have the same kind of MIL...haha... I remember my ROM, she came and passed me a AP, I said thank you then she said,"this is not money, is not my son" my jaw nearly dropped! hahaha...

As for the H1N1, yah, concern concern also. hubby wants to invite his colleagues over the morning session, because they are all vegetarian and not local so I need to cater diff food for them. then another session in the evening, for my relatives and friends/blog readers.

talk about another ϲ, my sister getting married in Dec. I personally think is ok laa. in fact my sister is going to have 2 dinners ( one in sg, another in ipoh) and guess what, my relatives are so on, they even wanna attend both dinners!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">RE: expenses

CL - my mum, foc but will give her a AP

Post natal jamu - $600 est.

buffet for full month - $600

cakes for full month - foc, using voucher

Herbal - $150 or less, because mummy bought all from msia, she knows medical hall's boss there.
Food - unknown yet but I am not those who eat , told my mum simple food everyday,don't wanna put on weight during confinement.

Newborn photography - $400

Antenatal check up - $300 max, the rest hubby's company settled

Delivery cost - $1460 deposit, most likely not so much

Antenatal class - didn't attend any, save money.haha

Nursery Furniture - $1000 est.

Cordblood - going to donate

baby clothing - mum bought some, i bought some, less than $50 because mostly given free by my friends and my sister

my maternity clothes - $100, the rest all given by my friends and sister's friends.

breast pump, sterillizer, stroller, bumbo seat, binder, cot mobile, wine - all these expensive things even by my sister and friends.

No way I can hit $5k...see I houseewife, budget sia...haha..</font>

PY,
i asked maid not to wash cos scared the bumper out of shape after washing lor. so just sun for a few days lah. hehe...

wah, u actually go and calculate how much u spent so far ah? i dun want to leh. hehe... hmmm but i also like diana like that, housewife now so save $ on big ticket items. cot + 2 strollers are "borrowed" from frens. after use must return one. actually breastpump also was gonna borrow but after thinking carefully feel a bit weird using other pple's thing. eee... so i bot my own...

re: 1st mth
wah u gals already talking about 1st mth!!! i still worrying about the first few days after birth! hahaha... bb will be first grandchild on my side so i'm sure my FATHER wanna celebrate 1st mth. as for my HB's side, bb is 4th grandchild, so i dun think my MIL really cares very much lah. (rather, i hope she wun bother much haha)

re: disposable panties
hahaha... i also! cheapskate went to buy one pack from watson's. come home tried to put on. WAH LAU TOO SMALL!!!!! my ass became too big lah!!!!! knn...

True also that's why I asked my sister how to sterillize the breast pumps and change the valve, I'm using my sister's, so not that bad. Must budget budget, my sister bought all good stuff and doesn't want #2 .

About the ass, I already know my ass are huge when I went to massage centre, so paiseh, wear my own panty inside. I didn't ask the size maybe I should standby one pack, just in case, paiseh to ask the nurse to give a bigger one.

fyi, can't rem which mummy was looking for the training chopsticks for kids.

I saw the the chopstick with bunny on top selling at 9.90 at Suntec small booth near Auntie Anne Pretzels. The stall lady say the price will stay till Sunday. After that will revert back to 12.90.

<font color="0000ff">xoxo:</font> babe, am not trying to defend macs hor.. but i think that at 4am these days, macs might be overwhelmed with orders from muslim customers who are preparing for their pre-dawn meals. i ordered from macs for my break fast this evening and delivery took longer than usual too.

i miss macs breakfast but too lazy to wake up extra early to make my order and wait. earliest i wake up is 5am, look for food to heat up and quickly eat. some mornings, like today too sleepy to eat so just drank lotsa of water, a glass of milk and some pineapple tarts. by 540ish am must stop eating and drinking liao. me been eating lotsa macs this pregnancy too.

<font color="0000ff">re haircut:</font> all this talk about haircut reminds me that i need to get mine trimmed soon too. think i better go down one of these days. not too drastic la cos i still prefer to tie up my hair away from my face and forehead.

<font color="0000ff">sotong_mum:</font> pity abt the weather. but hope you still had a good short getaway with your family nonetheless

<font color="0000ff">diana:</font> ic ic.. tot you joined some extra alumni club at nus or stgh and have meeting til 10pm. gosh! heehee

eh good wat your hubby want to sponsor for your slimming package. since he so generous you should just grab. haha..

and wheeee~~~ i'm 35 weeks pregnant too!! 5 more weeks or less!!

i hv tons of white hair sprouting out...can't wait to colour my hair. Heard from one hairdresser that as long as we continue to breastfeed, cannot colour our hair...anyone knows abt this???

anyone heard of babyfirstmonth catering service? read in one of the forums that they are quite good, and thei menu looks interesting to me, any feedback?

<font color="0000ff">tien:</font> i'm gonna drop by metro paragon tomorrow with hubby. i oso scared OOS but that day i asked the salesperson i was on the phone with and she said that if they run out of stock at the store, they can order for us. tmr i go i confirm with them again ok?

<font color="0000ff">re 1st month celebration:</font> we oso haf something like a 1 month celebration but luckily my parents oso not really into these traditions and stuff. with my son last time we just had a small gathering consisting of my parents and siblings. my mom cooked then we said some prayes of thanks for having reached the 1 month mark then we ate. chop chop one. i very lazy to plan and invite people leh. so since #1 didn't do big celebration, this #2 oso gonna do same thing lar.
one headace less for me too.

the older generation believe bird's nest is good for pregnancy ladies - improve their health and benefit the foetus, it also help in post natal recovery better. Home made bird's nest is better due to no preservatives. Bird's nest contains pleanty of natural nutrients, mineral such as high-soluble glycoprotein, calcium, iron, iodine and vitamins. if anyone interest to try, please email us at [email protected].

Have a happy pregnancy and lovely family.

Below attached file is my company brochure;-
mime_pdf.gif

DNY BROSHURE - WEB.pdf (31.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

oh but i did order cakes for my colleagues and hubby's colleagues. ordered 1 big photo cake for each group from sweet secrets. placed my son's photo on it. den for my P, VP, and my 2 direct HODs i ordered the smallest version (16-cm, 0.6kg each) of the same cake for each of them. ordered online and asked them to deliver straight to my school.

Yeah!! Tomorrow I shall go Aussino. Thks! MieMie and Nomsnosm.

Shugar: Thks! I will be looking fwd to their next BP.

Nomsnosm: Me also. I am getting a lot of maternity wears &amp; baby items from my sis. Really save a lot of money. Only spend on antenatal checkup, delivery cost, postnatal massage, maternity photography, herbal &amp; other confinement products. But sometimes, I really can't resist temptation especially when I see pretty clothes for baby... so ended up, I still spend on those items which I alrdy have.

miemie >> you can hold one for your babe with your friends...keep family/friends separate. that way, easier for you to plan and you need not feel obligated to water down your celebrations. so family can have a quiet celeb and the friends one can be alot more boisterous. afterall, 10mths of pregnancy, going thru' all that and with the bb arriving safe and sound - it does deserve a little celeb (big or small!) and bottomline is, whatever you fancy and makes you happy!

haha famela >> the "smallest version" for the P and the VP...

what i plan to do for audrey's first mth >> pretty much what i suggested to mie. ILs - one session at home, just a simple family dinner...one session with my side of the family (whoever wants to turn up, can turn up..not interested also OK) - at a restaurant somewhere. 1st mth favours...i suppose i'll order only 15-20 sets at most..been browsing all the options online..some are just too lovely to say no to! so just really close pals/colleagues will receive it and pp we received well wishes / gifts from...a party per se..i am not up to it in terms of energy so i'll give that a pass.

BUDGET >> i've forgotten it's definition already. ok..to be serious, mine's a bit spiked because i'll factor in my pneumonia hospitalisation that took longer/more expensive than usual because of the pregnancy..but here's the roll:

1) Hospitalisation fees: $5,800
2) Gynae, supplements, medication, detailed ultrasound, tests etc: $1,960
3) Maternity garments (clothes, underwear, bras etc): $700
4) Reading materials: $150
5) Domestic help (never engaged before, had to now from Feb-Sep): $1,760
6) Baby's nursery furniture: $1,400
7) Baby's essentials (diapers, basic clothing sets, soaps etc): $400 (all by vouchers redeemed from credit card pts)
8) Big ticket items (breast pump, car seat): $979
9) Stroller: FOC - 2nd hand
Total before actual arrival of the baby: $13,149 (actual cash: $6,949..thank goodness for 100% medical insurance)

Anticipated expenditure (immediate period after delivery &amp; post-natal):
1) Hospital/doc (gynae &amp; PD) fees etc: $5,000 (in cash ~ $2,400?)
2) Confinement lady - $1,800
3) Massage lady - $720
4) Birth announcements - FOC (e-greetings)
5) Standby budget: $2,000
6) Loss of income: $Dare not think abt it
7) Baby toys - Santa's wish list is rather long..

Estimated Sub-Total: $4,520
Estimated Nett: $11,469..

To note: $6,000 for baby's CDA account. Therefore, $17,469.

And the govt is providing $4,000 cash? so that makes it $7,469. I did not factor cordlife because you can use the CDA..

haha, but they are just numbers..and i think i was trying not to be too exhaustive. a baby..is priceless yeah!

only twinge of fear here is that i have decided to try being a SAHM..so the loss of income, i am still adjusting. this is my "first" mth of being jobless..but i have yet to adjust my lifestyle. old habits die hard! eating out at restaurants everyday..not very prudent at times...and to combat the fear, i am doing really silly stuff like take on two freelance retainers which on hindsight, i shouldn't have. cos in the past, i used to have a full team helping me..now it's on my own...grrr...but..sigh...all my hopes on Big Sweep now. :p

famela >> i thought so too..that it's to do with the fasting mth. nvm..the baby can learn abt delayed gratification. i've stocked up on cheezels in the meantime

here's a pic of the cake i was talking about. hee hee

2892423.jpg

<font color="0000ff">xoxo:</font> wah.. i hate looking at these expenditure numbers. hate thinking about how much i've spent. haha.. even though i am a maths person. my philosophy is spend spend spend.. only look at figures months or years down the road when nothing else can be done abt it anymore.. alamak. how to become sahm liddat?? no wonder my hubby nags me to no end!!! my poor hubby!

Hi astro, you are having the same gynae as my wife. my wife EDD is 29/10/09. just wondering whats the average weight of babes during 32 wks??

wahhhhhhh 100 posts a day.

miemie: thx for updating.

ddnikz: maybe there are alot other hidden cost which they nvr mentioned to u. u ask them draft u a final bill lor:p

all mummies:So fast most of u plan for fullmonth liao!!!!unbelievable haha. I haent even thought of tt.

As for expenses, think mine definitely exceed 10K also, shall go calculate in detail ,rough guage for now be
1)Gynae:So far approx 2K
2)Delivery+gynae+anaeasiatic: 4.5K
3)Cord life: $850(juz enrollment fee)
4)Nursery cot +pram+rocker+carrier+ car seat+cabinet:2K
5)Clothing+necessities: 1K
6)CL:1.8K
7)Massage lady:$400

Rough guage amt to-date:12.5K WAHHHHHHHH din realised spent so much liao faint

Just back from gynae visit. Baby put on 400g and no weight gain for me. Yay!
so right now he's 1.9kg. Still on the light side though.
Miemie can help me change EDD to 1st oct? Thanks! My c-sec is tentatively on that date. Bb still breeched, but if he turns anytime before that I can still opt for natural.

<font color="0000ff">shugar:</font> 1st oct is really very soon! are you excited?
yay for not gaining weight! hope your baby turns before the c-sec date

xoxolight>> yeah i'm also too use to eating out at restaursnts
and now a sahw.. i cant wait to go back to society to work leh.. but i dun think i can find a job that fast.. and baby can only go childcare after 18 mths old.. gotta xin ku on my hb liao haha..

Here's my expenditure:

Baby cot (includes mattress, 2 bedding set, bolster + pillow) - $420
Stroller + infant car seat - $1200
CL (including herbs) - $2200
Massage (including baby massage) - $60 X 7 = $420
Stemcord Enrolment fee - $850 Exact amt for 15 yrs - $4300
Taka baby fair - $350 + $150 cash voucher
Motherhood expo fair - $250 est
SMH BPs - $400-$500 est
Gynae consultations + supplements to date : $1800 est
Antenatal lesson - $190
Oscar test + DS - $400
Maternity wear - $500 est

Still got alot.. which i might left out hahaha. have not add in delivery + hosp charges...

Having a baby is so expensive. the baby bonus can only cover a small pie.

aria jo, you are so right. I can't seem to find any disposable undies in the market that fit!!! those L size one like very small *sobsob*... I need to look for XXL kind. Anyone got recommendations?

Re: BB expenses... I don't think I want to calculate. Very scary leh...

ddnikz>> i saw KP selling maternity undies.. disposable kind. those in watsons and guardians are normal ones.. not for preggy women like us haha

ddnikz.. have you tried looking at the maternity disposable underwear? try kiddy palace. brand: max-kool. it's maternity size and stated on the pack that it's for waist: 28" - 42". i have an extra pack from my #1 and i paid $4.50 for a 6pc pack.

shugar>> oooo 1st oct !!! that's like less than 1 month away! hehehe hopefully ur baby will turn by then!!

cant wait to hear our birth stories hehe..

xoxo>> ur credit card pts can redeem up to $400 ah! wah u must spent alot using ur credit card man! lol

famela,
I only tried looking for it at dept stores. Hav't tried kiddy palace. Today my colleague just recommended me to go kiddy palace to buy wash cloth. Think I will pop by to take a look :D

btw, I remember sometime back someone asking for Ferrari carseat? I saw it a Robinson today...

famela,
I only tried looking for it at dept stores. Hav't tried kiddy palace. Today my colleague just recommended me to go kiddy palace to buy wash cloth. Think I will pop by to take a look :D

btw, I remember sometime back someone asking for Ferrari carseat? I saw it at Robinson today...

re: braun thermometer
i feel so ripped off considering the spree only selling at less than $60!

re: 1st month celebration
not sure if you gals have heard that you should avoid having too many pple carrying your baby during the first mth celebration (or any other day for that matter). my frens who did dat had a hell of a night when baby simply refused to sleep and cried all the way. tink the whole day of activity is just too much for a newborn. i also probably wont have the first mth celebration since the nightmare of cleaning up after my housewarming-cum-GDL is still vivid... esp not when i just finished my confinement and will still be weak! for those thinking of giving cakes can consider sweetest moments. i really like the packaging and personalised cards. however, be prepared that your baby's photos will be thrown away and relatives complaining why no carrier is given (the box comes with ribbons that allow you to hold without plastic bags)!

re: cotton disposable panties
i just bought a pkt from watson's to try out the size too... $3.95 for 5 pcs. i just realise it's for 28 inches waist... haha. no way am i able to fit into it lor. guardian also had something similar. ok, will check out kp instead.

re: kotex maternity pads
saw watson's selling it... $6 for 10 pcs and there is 15% discount, if i m not wrong. but it's wingless. do maternity pads come with wings in the first place?

Halo, hw's eveyone? Long time nv access internet as my temp job cant access internet, then rch hm no time to access also...

Will go for my c-sect on 26 sep...so 3 more weeks to go...nw stomach so heavy walking also difficult...eveyone say my stomach so big izzit my baby very big...but no leh i last week go visit gynae, only 2.3kg, so is nt my baby big, is me become bigger....hahahahaha

ginger: just bought maternity pads from Mothercare. $18 for 48pcs, no wings. They sell those with wings too, but comes ina smaller packaginga nd price is bit higher. Can call them and they will quote price on the phone.

thanks, angie. tink i will have to make a trip to marina square tomorrow. mothercare and kp are just next door. can use tmc's fbi card for 10% discount at mothercare

ginger>> FBI card need to have a min spending of $100 then can entitled to the 10% discount leh.

Joanne>> welcome back! looks like u will be the first one to pop? hehe

Abt dispoable underwear, i bot mine from Giant, arn $2+ for packek of 7 pcs. It nt cotton type but size from M, L XL, XXL...i bot XL which for 45". Cheap &amp; gd...so throw away also wont feel heart pain...

ginger: mothercare is also having some promotion for romper sets, some are at 30% disc, better than member disc...

I bought one set of 7pcs for $28 but they are for 18 to 24mths, still grab coz tot was a good deal. I visited the one at causeway pt, very small but still could get what I need and some extras...

PY: didnt know there is min spending required... me blur like sotong. haha

angie: i have 2 huge bags of hand-me-downs from my sis... tink i will refrain from going near the rompers! hee

<font color="aa00aa">angie, sorry for late reply, didnt know my email doesn't reach you. you transfer into ocbc account right?

famela, nolah, what alumni la, i am from nyp only.

thanks for sharing where to get disposable panties...

just came back from hubby's boss house, so touch, they specially invite us over just for a little bangle session/ceremony to give blessing to me and baby.... so touch with their gesture... </font>

Hi ryan, my baby @32 weeks is 2kg but that's above average according to my gynae. According to online chart, a baby at this stage shd be around 1.7kg.

re : disposable panties
Hippo, you not cheapskate lah. I bought from NTUC leh, hahaha .... and hvt even try them on yet. Sekali torn apart if I force myself into them, hahaha ....

re : first month celebration
I also dont intend to hold any celebrations. Held one for my first child and it was so tedious.... hv to collate guest list, order buffet, wonder what to do with leftover food, clean up after that etc ... once bitten twice shy. For my 2nd one, we just give cake cards to relatives and friends. I believe we will do the same for this 3rd child.