(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Re the vaginal swap to test for the bacteria:
The bacteria is Group B Strep (GBS). Like what Diana said, it's totally harmless to the mummy. But it's serious if baby gets infected. That is why if you are tested positive for GBS (normally checked during 3rd trimester), when u get to the hospital for labour, the first thing u shld tell the midwife or nurse is that u have GBS. They will give u an antibiotic jab immediately. It will last for some time before another jab is needed. Once u have the jab, the baby will be ok. For ladies going for C-section, GBS wouldnt be much a problem. It's only when the baby passes through the birth canal that he/she may contract it. And it is very scary to know that the death rate is 10% for babies who catch this bacteria. No joke.

I am tested positive for GBS. When my contractions start, I will have to call hospital and tell them that i have GBS. They may ask me to go in earlier than they would normally do.

astro: no worries, we still have time
just PMed you le. thanks!

Re: belly wrap
is it necessary to buy one, regardless of method of delivery? i always thot it is for c-section only.

angie,
its the "cloth-like" type, not those paper feeling ones. think that's why bit more expensive than the usual ones.

sotong,
yup. i think i'm finally done with all the shopping. phew! got the bathtub yesterday.

belly bandit - looks good yeah? think i wait and see first. maid #1 returned with 10m of cloth for binding my tummy after i deliver. haha... she said "eh, tie already the pantak very nice one leh." i just assume pantak meant ass?! din bother to ask what's pantak. haha... will engage post-natal massage for 2 weeks i think. thereafter the maintenance i try my maid's skill first. hehe...

famela, xoxo, sotong,
yeah, was just an observation when i read birth stories in the other threads. in fact, a bit SURPRISED to see words like "disappointed cos couldn't have natural birth"... or "what's wrong with me why couldn't dilate"... i was like HUH?

even my aunt was like "you know the TRUE feeling of a birthing experience can only be achieved when you have natural WITHOUT EPI..." in my mind i was like "no way jose! i know my own tolerance for pain and there's no way i'm gonna let it torture me"

anyways enough said about this. to each his own lah. not here to judge or criticize.

astro,
thanks for co-ordinating! just PM-ed you.

Looks like my gynae check tomorrow has to be postponed again. All thanks to my hubby. He doesn't allow me to go on my own and yet he cannot go cos of his work. Feeling really down. We cannot go on a later time too because it will be a detailed scan. So, the latest appt they could give us is 3.30pm. Refused to talk to him. And because of that, looks like my Metro trip will have to be changed. Very fed up with him for not checking his schedule.

Hippo: Hahah I totally agree on the part on 'being the biggest biatch' to get things done...But I really do not want Mt E spoil the entire experience (which would already be traumatic)

Btw, yep you sure got the Mothercare maternity towels at the cheapest. Cos even Mothercare members only get 10% off. I also just went to Mothercare yesterday to get sterilising pills, in case I want to bring my breastpumps to hospital.

Famela: Thanks for checking it out and asking for me. I am not getting Piko...probably Capella. But hubby seems to change his mind again about getting the stroller...aiyah...I am just angry with him...lousy Sunday..quarrelled with him 2 times in a row within 2 hours!

Sotong>> Oh no, then me worse. Baby #3 and past 30yo already, and I put on more weght for this baby. Really no confidence to return to pre-preg weight. Anyway, let's jiayou on this after delivery!

Question time again... Paiseh, seems like I kept asking questions. haha...

1)Do we need to buy diaper cover? For cloth diapers and disposable diapers, both need?

2)Abdominal binder - if c-section, still need that?

hi mommies, have not posted in a few days.

Quite appalled by the service that TMC gave after reading the sept thread!!

I'm so constipated, it's not funny! Please help me out! Any one has any remedies???

ddnikz:
if you have c-section, best to have the binder. holds the wound together and allows you more mobility without pain

i used diaper covers with cloth diapers when i breast fed my kids and when we went out. during bfing cos it prevents you from being covered by explosive poop!! otherwise, i don't use covers, better for their bottoms. if you use disposables you don't need covers.

meiting:
thanks, will try that out tonight. i'm really quite miserable. never was so bad before!!

famela: i went to watsons again and confirmed the 15% discount for the kotex maternity pad... but its 15% off $6.20, not $6.00. i wonder if they increased price just to give the discount. ntuc is selling at $6 too

btw, how many pads do we have to standby?

Angie: ya at the taka time sq, there be 2 of huggies staffs at the huggies corner. I be gog for natural, hope everything goes smoothly
Ur gynae at paragon also, is urs Dr choo ,same as me?im gog for my next checkup on wed.

nomsnosm: ur 1st pregnancy! thought is ur 2nd or 3rd, or is it mata's 2nd or 3rd:p Thought u r a sahm now?as for tt ass bone portion tt pain, its at the joint where it link to the thigh bone,its there since ard feb march when bb only 2 mths wo so cant be the bb wt then my gynae also dun know y n i cant take xray so now enduring lor. Oh u only get tt piercing pain once a while? mine is everyday,anytime when i sit or walk since 2wks ago,even when i sleep n turn left or rite also pain.

Elly/nomsnosm/other mummies: thxthx for the knowledge of Gp B swap. Had the other mummies done the gp B strap, gotta ask my gynae abt it on wed.

mata: steam sweet corn work effectively for me, u can try

mata,
Thanks... Will take that off the list then, cos I thinking of using disposable diapers. Easier.

For the abdominal binder, any good recommendaton on where to buy? and... which brand is better?

Btw, if you are constipated, try to drink lots of water. I drank more than 3 litres per day. Everyday got poop. no prob one.

annette, I also got the pain you have. Mine before preg I injure it once. Everytime when my weight increase, the pain starts. Was under control until I put on alot of weight during preg.
Did you put on alot of weight during preg?

Hi all, I'm new to this forum 'thingy'..

Care to adv wat r the gd offers tat I shouldn't miss as I'm still quite lost and is preparing to buy all the necessary stuff for my 1st labour.. Thanks to all in adv.. =)

annette: my gynae is Dr Soon, a lady doc. Maybe we can look out for each other at Mt A....if ur EDD is accurate...

Think I'll make a trip down to Taka this wed, asked a favour from one of my girlfrens to take me there. Also want to get the "clothlike" disposable panties from Metro....

mata: drinking honey helps me with bowel movement.

famela>> i also went shopping today. for the whole day.. wah piang so tiring!! and i'm not suppose to walk too much! haha.

Went Plaza Sing, Centrepoint and Ikea (again) spent $400+ again.... but is for me and my hb haha.. bought quilt and bolster and a tv bench from ikea to fit into our new room. woah really money not enough

Robinsons having bedding fair next week hehe i'm going to chiong their fair too! =x need to buy a set of bed linen for our new mattress :p

<font color="aa00aa"> I don't have constipation but soft stool. I can poo little but many times in a day. my gynea said I should be glad for not having constipation.

annette, I am a stay home wife actually, officially stopped working since 2007. now of course I am going to be a sahm as request by my hubby.on and off, I will still tell him i wish to work at ncc but he said he will be fine if I am going KTP hosp in few years down the road,because it is only 2 stops away.

Re: Piercing Pain
Yes, I don't experience it everyday or everytime I walk.maybe alternate day, only happens when I am walking, it goes away when I am sitting or sleeping.

Re: Pain at the buttock bone
Poor thing, you have to endure it and do xray. My friend who had so much pain at lower pelvic area during pregnancy, CANNOT DO POST NATAL MASSAGE AT ALL, she puts on 20kg and because of the hormone oxytocin. her bones like kinda "dislocated".

<font color="aa00aa">angie, hubby mentioned about it just now, he said wanna work, choose this one la, so near. other hospital very far la. but he still prefers me to work part time.</font>

Hi Angie.. Tks.. How's ur preparation going on?? My EDD should be ard urs as well.. From my last scan indication, it's showing 20 Oct.. But I really have no idea as my gynae din tell me much abt the EDD.. Haha.. =)

bblove: how many weeks are u now? Mine is C-sect so I chose to have her on the 38th week but subject to gynae's confirmation. Just went for my checkup on wed (now 30th week according to scan) and baby is 1.6kg. In total I've put on about 7.5kg.

This is my first pregnancy so not so sure if I've got everything ready....
This forum helps a lot, the mums here give a lot of tips....I sort of buy wat we need rather than everything I see. Also lucky coz have some hand me downs in the area of big ticket items, like cot, pram, car seat, rocker/chair....

Mine should be 32wks at least according to scan.. Baby boy at 2.2kg from last scan..

Yup, read a lot fm here.. Juz went to the baby fair last wk.. But I guess it's not enuff.. Planning to go again on the last day.. Haha..

bblove: u going for natural? which hospital?

I will be going to Taka baby fair this wed in the day, less crowd....

Got some stuff from mothercare and kidy palace earlier.

Angie: Opt for natural but all will still have to be destined by this thing call fate.. Haha..

Hv been to Mothercare and din find anything useful except for their maternity bras.. Went to TPY Kiddy Palace for a shop few wks bk, only managed to find some toys for my son.. Whahaha.. I dun really know wat to get.. Got my cots, pram, pumps, some bb clothes passed down fm relatives which really help me save a big bundle..

I'm so worried tat I may miss out buying a lot of things.. =)

hv u gotten maternity pads, breast pads for yourself?

Can go through previous threads or flip through magazines which has a lot of advertisement then can get some idea.

Which hospital u delivering at? I'll be at Mt A.

Breast pads yes but no for maternity pads.. Will be getting them soon together with newborn pampers.. Will be trying out Drypers or Mummy Poko.. U?

Mine will be at KKH..

we ordered thru one of the ladies - nomsnosm who bought the silicone pads called lilypadz in bulk, $35 each. but i a little kiasu and also bought the ones from mothercare coz not sure if I will be comfortable with lilypadz.

I may go with huggies, heard at Taka fair, huggies has a promo and if u buy 3 pkts, u get a play mat and 3 pcs mothercare romper...

anyone of you experiencing something like pain on the right..cramp like feeling on the mid to upper part of the abdomen? I felt something like menses the whole of last night. it didn't come and go..couldn't shake it off. much better by this afternoon..am going to see the gynae later today. shall see what she says...

mata >> indulge a little in calpis soda with vanilla ice-cream (at waraku)...yummy and really sends you to the loo in no time..i was having really bad constipation..piles already (bloody...yikes!)..another one in addition to prune juice which stopped working for me after awhile was pomegranate juice (FairPrice sells really nice certified organic ones).

famela >> seeing your itinerary...hehe, you're sure to be pengzzzz! recover well..are you returning to school tomorrow? take care yah?

hippo >> done with shopping??? really? i thought this is one activity that's hard to resist, have to engage in and never-ending wor...

sotong >> dulled memory? but u are an inspiration! my hubby's declared he'll stay 3m away from me and any nails/fingers i have. muahaha. and plus, he has already put some thought into what he'd wear, i.e. no buttons (my close friend managed to grab hold of her husband's shirt and poor chap had all the buttons pop..one by one..end of delivery, he was terribly dishevelled), no white, no all-black..chose red.

Xoxolight: hmm i did hv some menses like cramp few days back but it didn't last too long. Was a bit of a 'sng' feeling that I used to get when I had period cramps previously.
Yup, good to check w yr gynae I guess.

Haha, yr fren's hubby sounds so poor thing! But funny at the same time too :p

ddnikz, re tummy binder: I'm also thinking of getting one in the event if I end up with c-sec. The one sotong_mum mentioned that one of the sept mom shared that was good, is available online (pupsik studio) or from maternity exchange. Price a bit steep though... Costs about $120+ for the bamboo one.

Bblove: hi n welcome

<font color="aa00aa">Morning everybody,

so sad, hubby went to work, alone at home, so quiet... last week hubby worked from home, haiz, not getting use to it...

bblove, i am also kkh patients, as the for the to buy stuff, you must have a list so you won't miss anything out, buy the needs irst, those cutie stuff can get later. now 32 week, still ok to walk but not too much oh..

Preparing for Baby Arrival:
http://blogaaholic.com/2009/06/01/preparing-for-baby-arrival/
I forgot to include flask for our red date drinks.

What to pack
http://blogaaholic.com/2009/08/18/what-to-pack/</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> famela this whole week resting huh??? my sister told me got a week break but today, still have to go back to school for 2 hours class.</font>

xoxo: what you're feeling's probably braxton hicks. i get them a lot. oh boy, let's not even talk about piles....

thanks for all the suggestions mommies!! I'm gonna try everything!! will have the steamed corn together with honey. if all else fails, i'll probably have to take suppositories. yikes!

all teachers, happy holidays! try to rest as much as possible! but it's boo hoo for me, my 2 older ones are home with me all week! it's going to be a nightmare..

oh oh, the one sotong mum intro is abdominal binder? Thought is after birth type to help slim down... I am also not sure if want to buy leh. Is quite ex and if use only for a while, not worth it. I supposed is ok to borrow from other people?? Wont have hygiene prob hor?

mata, I still think that you should drink lots of water. Will help with water retention also.

annette,
My pelvic bone pain is on the left side. So nowadays when I sleep, I try to sleep on the right side more. Seems like it works... now the pain doesnt occur too frequent liao **touchwood**

Good morning.

Sorry to interrupt:

I am letting go of the following. All items are BN/unopened. =)

2898821.jpg
2898822.jpg

Approx cost price of bundle:
Pampers NB 4pcs x 2 packs ~ $3.20
Lucky Baby Moses Basket (610 x 610 x 530mm)~ $42
Anmum Materna Chocolate Milk Powder 650g (exp 06/10) ~ $18.20
Anmum Materna Chcocolate milk power 3 sachets
Complan Strawberry milk power 1 sachet (for pregnant ladies)
Pur milk bottle (colic prevention)
Musical box for soothing newborns $7.90
Total estimate cost ~ >$71.30
Selling price: $55 + giving away 3pcs BN silicone Pigeon teats (M size ~ 3mths)!!

2898823.jpg

I also have other items like BM bags, nappy liners and a pre-loved Ameda breast pump in good condition.

Please pm me for fast deal.

mata,
yeah for me prune juice will send me sprinting to the toilet. if all else fails, my pregger book suggested exericse. i.e. like walking, swimming, yoga, etc. and i can tell you it works like clockwork. everytime i come back from swimming or brisk walking, i am heading for the toilet straight away.

xoxo,
yah i forgot i haven't ordered the diapers yet. hehe... i felt uncomfortable the whole of last night as well. kept waking up on hourly intervals. i think the one that has panda eyes is the HB, not me. cos i can take naps mah! hahaha... felt like my tummy was having slight menstrual cramps and once when i tried to turn there was a sharp pain in the pelvis. that jolted me right awake.

shugar,
eh the belly bandit looks like it can work wonders and SHRINK our tummies back to pre-pregger shape eh? i also hiao, thinking about buying it. haha.... cos i'm a bit skeptical about maid's binding cloth leh.

angie,
yup its free size. they also have normal non-maternity ones. so if u'r one of those skinny ones, maybe can try? i suggest u buy one pack and try first. if it fits then buy some more later. anyway no discount for that.

gynae update
bb hippo is still head down, so chances are she'll stay down til its time to come out. like sotong, i also think my gynae likes me a lot. everytime see me "how are you doing?" "i'm feeling really great!" "bb's going great! average size. see you in 2 weeks!" so with that, i was dismissed and sent home, next appt 2 weeks time. i suppose by then wk36, shud be doing strep b test to determine which delivery method we'll be taking...

now heading into 35th week. suppose i better start packing the hospital bag sometime? prolly time to take out sterilizer and sterilize bottles and stuff one round first hor?

getting so darn heavy i think i'm gonna take out my baby monitor so can "summon" maid using it. hehehe... aiya now dun be princess otherwise when leh? hur hur...

Constipation: Try walking after meals. It will aid with the digestion and the movement will stimulate the big intestines. Try wholemeal bread too... lots of fibre.

Rashes: My latest acquisition, Olive Oil. I find it quite a good moisturiser. And avoid sleeping in air-con room every night. I find that it improves my condition pretty dramatically.

Was wondering at this point of time, should i still continue my walking regime. Is it the more we walk, the earlier baby will come? I can't wait to deliver and get out of the office. Hate my work and hate my boss.

siangjiao,
orh... so your skin condition is partially due to dry atmosphere. i'm the official spokesperson for HUMIDIFIERS haha... can think about it. when i had that month long cough, bought the humidifier and it stopped almost instantly. other than that, if u r after a really good moisturiser, try getting very high concentration shea butter. so far it has worked very well for me. i use the l'occitane shea butter. *touchwood* no itch, no stretchmarks.

re: walking
i suppose it best to check with gynae? parentcraft teachers advocate walking esp in the last few weeks, provided you dun have existing condition say low-lying placenta or any spotting/bleeding if i remember correctly.

am seriously finding it tough to walk more than 35 mins each time. and i can walk fast anymore. its more like 35 mins stroll.
at the end of it will feel the sides of my body quite sore, like cos they been holding up the bump (which reminds me of medicine balls we had to use during PE classes in school)...

<font color="aa00aa">siangjiao, glad your rashes is under control now... haha, i also can't wait to delivery, the house is way tooo quiet now.

Re: walking regime
I still walk daily, at least 20 minutes in the noon time for lunch and 20 minutes before dinner. going to see gynea this friday, if she does a VE, probably can tell me when to expect the arrival of BB, heard that many mummies'cervic start open and soften after week 36.</font>