Tien
OIC.... so far i din encounter itchy nipples during pregnancies. I cant rem if i did for #1 but dun think so since i cant recall.
Diana
I only experienced sore nipples ard wk 3 aft delivery, prob coz my son wasnt latching correctly and thus suffered tt for a few days. Anyway as long as its sore/cracked, the feeling sure aint gd...
each time he latched, I'll go like "OUCH!" but still gotta endure...
Heee, u scare the ladies wif ur experience in NUH yrs back. I oso agree tt the dignity of the patient is v impt. Cant imagine wat was non medical male staff doing inside????
Vin
I used Madame Pureen maternity pads tt can b bot fr Kiddy Palace. I know there is Kotex ones as well but its much more exp. And since madame Pureen serves me well, i sticked to tt. Think i used 2 pcs of tt thru'out confinement. If i am not wrong, each pc comes wif 20 pads. my lochia cleared in less than 2 wks, i rem. And so thereafter, i juz used normal pads tt r long enuff to prevent any staining.
MrsL,
U meant tt ur baby will reach 4 kg and not 40kg rite? Scary if its 40kg! LOL!
xoxolight
I am one such person tt is super uncomfy when I am being checked. So when i go for massages etc, i ask them to skip my boobs and leave it alone. there was once i tried letting the masseur massage. Ended up i was super stiff tt the masseur kept asking me to relax. therafter NO MORE! SO during post-natal massage, i oso nvr remove my bras. Ask them to keep away fr my boobs!
However like wat u say, once u r in the labour ward, u r vulnerable to such checks. And frankly at tt time, i dun feel awkward at all. Coz its all female nurses and oso they will check discreetly, not treating u like some object. I feel fine in there. So u relax and dun worry so much yah. U will b covered up when u r not being checked, so overall experience not so horrifying.
Envelope
I think its genuine tt some ppl r not aware tt they can donate. the awareness is not there. I juz happen to come across the leaflet and so called them to make arrangements.
Famela
Once u donate ur cord blood, it will b sent to the centre and stored for a period of time b4 they decide if its safe to release it for use. 1 yr aft i donate, they called me to check on my existing health conditions. I guess its juz to play safe to ensure both mother & baby r well b4 they release the cord blood for use. On our part, there is really not much inconvenience to us. U can check online for more info.
http://www.scbb.com.sg/index.html I extract some info for all to read.
<font color="0000ff">
What happens to your donation?
After the cord blood is collected by your attending physician, the collection bag is transferred to the SCBB processing laboratory that is located at the KK Womens and Childrens Hospital. This processing laboratory is a fully operational facility that has been licensed by the Ministry of Health and has completed and satisfactorilly-passed application for international accreditation.
The transfer of the cord blood from the collection bag into the processing bag, as well as the processing of the cord blood, occur within the SCBB processing laboratory which follows strict procedural international guidelines. The processing procedure ensures that the cord blood cells are safe and viable for future transplantation in patients who require them.
The cord blood unit is frozen in liquid nitrogen at 180 degrees Celsius in a special cryo-storage tank to preserve the cells. With present technology, cord blood cells can be stored indefinitely and have even been proven to be viable for potential transplant after being frozen for over 18 years.
When a patient needs blood stem cells, their doctor can search the SCBB cord blood unit database for a potential match. If a matched cord blood unit is found, it will then be prepared for shipment and sent to the transplant hospital as dictated by the patients transplant specialist or haematologist.</font>
<font color="119911">
Be a Donor
The birth of your child could save a life!
Current statistics show that only 30% of patients who are suffering from blood cancers and blood disorders are able to find matched bone marrow stem cells that can save their life. This bone marrow could come from a sibling but it is often difficult to find a match as there is only a 25% chance of a sibling match. The chances of finding a matched unrelated bone marrow donor are currently also very low.
What this means is that for individuals in need of transplantation who cannot find a related or unrelated suitably matched bone marrow donor, cord blood units stored by public cord blood banks offer an alternative source of life-saving stem cells. As such, Singapore's new public public cord blood bank is able to reach out to a wide and diverse patient population in need of these life-saving stem cells. Donating to the public cord blood bank will be at no monetary cost to you or your insurer.
For mothers wishing to donate their baby's cord blood, please feel free to speak to your delivering physician or you could contact us. All obstetric hospitals in Singapore are part of the SCBB's cord blood donation programme. More specifically, these are:
East Shore Hospital (ESH)
Gleneagles Hospital (GEH)
KK Women's and Children's Hospital (KKH) *
Mount Alvernia Hospital (MAH)
Mount Elizabeth Hospital (MEH)
National University Hospital (NUH) *
Raffles Hospital (RH)
Singapore General Hospital (SGH) *
Thomson Medical Centre (TMC)</font>
RE: Episiotomy
I agreed tt hvg a cut is better than tearing. In this way, gynae can stitch back nicely. I had episiotomy and when i was brave enuff to check myself 4 days after delivery using a mirror, i was pleasantly surprised to see tt my V looks as if nothing had been done there b4. No signs of blood, nothing disgusting looking. It was only much later tt i realised tt my gynae is quite well-known for her stitching skills and there was no need to remove the stitches aft tt as well. So i am v pleased.
RE: Maternity Pads
The hospital usually provides but i brought along a pc juz in case. The lochia is heaviest in the 1st wk and how long they take to clear varies fr person to person. I had frens telling me tt theirs took almost a mth to clear up while 4 myself, it was less than 2 wks. In the initial wk, i chg the pad each time i visited the toilet. Coz aft each pee, i'd wash myself down there wif the lotion tt gynae gave me and aft tt obviously i din wanna wear back the soiled pad, so more hygienic to chg to a fresh one.
RE: Disposable panties
I wore tt thru'out confinement coz firstly, the lochia might stain and they looked disgusting to me. I think I'll probably throw the panty away IF i had to wash it, and thou I had a CL, i din feel comfy abt other ppl washing my darn disgusting soiled panties; so disposables r the best. Like Famela, i bot mine for ~$4.50 for a pack of 5. Can get fr Metro and if i am not wrong, its under Impressions. There r normal & maternity ones. I bot so much of tt disposable panties tt i still hv leftovers now! hahaha... During the 1st 2 wks, i used up quite a lot coz lochia stained them. So i suggest getting 4 packs to standby 1st and if not enuff, can get ur hb/frens to replenish stocks 4 u since they r easily available.
RE: Gerber Breast Therapy Relief Pad
I think its available in SG. I got a pack of 2 but din use it at all for my #1. Now i dunno where issit.