(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Vin
Be +ve and soon ur baby will b in ur arms! I am sure u r in gd hands wif a gynae tt is aware of ur medical history!

Tien
r the cracks painful? if not, i advise u against using it. Moreover, u mentioned its itchy now? Did u check wif ur gynae?
I bot a small tube tt time via online. I saw tt Mothercare is selling it but in full size @ $30+. Mayb the other mummies can suggest. I only used lansinoh b4 so dun dare to suggest other brands. medela has it oso.

jRRt: My nipples have been itchy on and off and my gynae did give me some gel to apply but I dun think that one can be use once bf starts. She just said it's because the areola area is expanding and stretching. So, thinking of I should start the lanolin.

vin: good that ur gyne takes note of ur medical history. :D its gonna be exciting!! my edd is 21 oct... still a long way to go manz....

<font color="aa00aa">Tien, your doc is right, I experience this when I was in my first trimester, expanding then I got a nipple cream, what a relief after applying, imaging when it got harden then pain until i don't even dare to touch my nipples!!

namifaith, our babies now concentrate on having fats around their bodies, i think they know how to put on weight inside. I am not putting a lot now but I can feel baby is growing bigger, by looking at my belly button can tell.hahaa

jRRt, the crack pain until can cry !!

Vin, wow, your first one really kancheong to come out that time? now this one will be good, don't worry, talk to baby...

blinkblink, most of the girls I know, their bb came in week 38, after wk37, no more prem babies so no need to go special care unit too. I am also a wk38 baby myself..ahha..

then you talk to baby, tell baby to wait for daddy</font>

Re: Itchy Nipples
Mine can be so itchy and I can scratch till it bled..1st trimester and beginning of 2nd were bad then it eased for a while now the itch seems to be returning. Dunno if it has anything to do with nearing delivery.

<font color="aa00aa"> tien, must be painful, mine can see like very dry then i put the gel.

YES it is still changing, our breast producing milk and the nipple area is expanding. our breast developement stage 4 started since we pregnant.

i went to nap for a while and so many posts already! getting ready to go back to my mom's place to break fast there and then fetch my son. will catch up tonight

see ya!

Tien, thanks. yeah haven't packed the hospital bag at all. thankfully, bought the necessary items over the weekend. so now will pack to hospital bag soon.

which maternity pads are receommended? this is one thing pending on my list..pls suggest.

noms: haha. yeah lor. her daddy always tell her not to come out too early.. i already really pray and hope baby come out after edd!!! before that really too many things happening.. hahaha....

hi gals, been busy so i hadn't been logging in

Tien: You can try aloe vera gel for your itchy nipples. I find it quite a natural moisturiser and it does not leaves those yicky, tucky feeling.

Astro: My itch is "under" control at the moment. Haha, don't dare to say, cos my baby very xiao qi. The other day i mentioned here i'm feeling better, the whole weekend, i suffer 10 times worse.

Last night, i had a nightmare. I dreamt that the hospital called me up to cut my perineal (if's that's how you spell). They explained if cut already, during delivery, the area will split at the wound nicely when the baby comes out. Then they enticed me with one day hospitalisation leave and i greedily said ok. Next scene was at the hospital, and the nurse was taking one of those nail scissors ready to snip my down there. I freaked out and was screaming and crying. Woke up in sweat! I guess much as i did not realized, i'm actually getting nervous about the delivery. 1st time mum mah, i've really been wondering what is my actual delivery day like.

Maternity Leave: Decided to continue working all the way until one week before EDD. Cos company says its compulsory to start ML at least one week earlier. Meanwhile, i'm just going to take it easy and fwd everything to my co-worker. Even those things on hand, i've started to hand over liao. Cannot give myself too much stress.Was thinking no point taking earlier also, cos if baby decides to be late, then i may end up shaking leg at home for 3 weeks, and have less time to spend with him before my ML ends.

aiyo so tired , finally home...........

nomsnosm/tien: y do we need bring maternity pad to hospital?

Siangjiao: u scaring me.is it tt they will definitely cut our private part to make it bigger for bb to come out?

<font color="aa00aa">annette, I am not bringing, KKH provides 10x maternity loop and 10x maternity wings

Re:Episiotomy
I think is time for us to read a little about this as majority of us will have this if we opt for normal delivery.

My friend who was one of the lucky one, gave birth to a boy in july didn't have any cut at all! I mentioned this to my gynea, she told me it depends, esp for first time delivery, may need to cut little, if she thinks still stretchable she will cut little or total avoid cutting because she doesn't want a messy tear, difficult for stitching I think. </font>

Hi Mummy :

Selling off item as below as i giving up breastfeed due to I have low milk supply :-

1) Medela - Mini Electrical Plus (Double)(Still have 11month warranty )

2) 4 brand new AVENT Bottle storage
4oz with sealing discs

3) 3Brand new PIGEON breastmilk Storage Btl 3pcs

4)blue egg Breastmilk storage bags

Interested can PM me or email me [email protected]

annette: yar, i heard sometimes they will cut... but only during delivery (definitely not like what i dreamt, that one too bizarre oredi). Heard from this mid-wife in KKH, that normally if your gynae perform episotomy, it will be either at the peak of your contractions, and they will inject the anestheic (ma zui yao), so you'll not even notice. Otherwise, if you are on epi, your lower body will be like a dead fish, whatever they do, you will also not feel. hahaha

I'm a little nervous la, cos even when i do strep B test, i am oredi wincing away, and my gynae commented "It is only a cotton swab leh"

Ask all mummies, anyone bot Avent IQ Duo breastpump? I tried to register for e warrenty, but can't find the serial number anywhere in the breastpump? Anyone got any idea.. Thanks!

Think i'm one of the rare mother who have not bot anything

stress.. but husband of the opinion that no need to buy so early..
so i only bot e pump cuz it's on sale during e taka sale.. by $200 plus.. wow!!!

Really hope got milk, or will be so heart pain over e $$$$

Tien,
My gynae recommended the Medela nipple cream. Said so far her patients all recommend this one. I have very itchy nipples since 2nd tri till now. Initially I also hated the waxy feel but after a while, no choice, I use it and the condition improves! If you afraid dirty, you can do it like me -> I apply after bath and then use a disposable pad to cover it before wearing the bra. Whole day of comfort

Hello mtb >_<

regarding nipple cream, after reading some online reviews, I got my husband to buy the highly recommended lansinoh lanolin cream for me while he was in NY. Cost about US$12. Found out that mothercare is now carrying it too but at S$30.

I visited gynae yesterday and was shocked that I have put on 2 kg in 2 weeks! Gynae said that if the bb continue to grow at this rate, it may reach 40kg wor..omg..I m in week 37 now..pray that bb maintain its weight or no more spurt growth so that I can avoid c-section.

If c-section, can we still do the tummy wrapping massage after delivery and if yes, when can we do it? 2 months later?

Oh ya, mummies...
For those interested in the baby mould, bestimprezzion called me. Their package offered is from $169. However, they are running a booth at Takashimaya Dept Store, baby dept, level 3. Heard the package is better and they have samples there for us to see. Booth is until 21 Sept.

mrsL,
Yes, we can do that. I am opting for c-section. Asked the lady and she said I can start the wrapping massage anytime after 3rd week of delivery.

<font color="aa00aa"> VIN, our EDD same date,hehe... I am not very nervous and I'm looking forward this day to come. I wish to see and carry baby. my neighbours also, keep asking when due already</font>

ddnikz: Thanks for the advice...maybe will just bear with it and stick to medela then since I have it already.

Annette: the maternity pad is for the expected heavy flow after delivery. Honestly I don't know how heavy a flow would it be, maybe 2nd time mums can help?

MrsL: What is the weight of your bb already? Actually 37th week consider can 'pop' anytime already, right? Did your gynae suggest to induce the bb, in case it is too big? I know of cases where to prevent BB getting too big, they advise induction especially since the BBs have surpassed 36 weeks and are growing very well.

<font color="aa00aa">Tien,it is gross, very thick and dark colour called lochia, smell a bit also, it comes right after delivery, I witnessed c - section before, mum was still unconscious, the blood already started flowing out and the nurse quickily used the loop to tie and wiped her bloody inner thigh before waking her up.

that's why almost every mummies will shower the next morning before the gynea come to check on them.
of course, w/o letting the old folks know.</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> i hope i didn't scare those who is going on c-section. sorry sorry!!

because still unconscious you see, so after taking the BB out, then remove the placenta. then everything chop chop right after the gynea do the stitching. then sometimes, the thighs still wide opened, thats why i tell myself c-section will be the last option, patient's dignity is very important! to shock me further, there was also non medical male staff in the OT room *faint*. This was my attachment experience in NUH many years back.

If suay suay really go for emergency c section, I won't choose GA but LA.</font>

Vin >> I'm so excited for you! Sep 25...hmmm..that's like in a blink of an eye! keep us posted..i wonder if u will be the first in this forum to pop
... hmm..abt maternity pads..i don't have the benefit of experience but i guess i am going to go for those long nightwear ones, heavy-duty ones...not going to rely on the hospital's cos i spied they were using kotex...and i don't really like that. but that's just me...

Famela >> still fasting despite being pregnant? you've my full respect babe...abt taking leave now or later...i suppose you know your body best. if u feel that it's really time to put your legs up and rest, go for it. there shouldn't be a compromise wrt the baby's arrival..and though we are pretty near the full term, you still don't wanna risk it..and at most, it will result in a 2 week NPL situation..not too much to make you happy, be in the right frame of mind, accomplish the never-ending to-do-list.....but if u choose to continue working for 3 more weeks, do take the best of care..go for a foot massage or something? anyway, take a good rest these three days, you deserve it!

mrs L >> lansinoh at mother's work (great world city) is $21.40. i've been using this for the last two weeks..had several blockages, and when i used warm compresses to ease the pain, discharges would occur. then they "dry" out and the result is that when i peel these off, i can feel the nip smarting and stretching...so far, it's excellent..haha, i think the nips have never been in a better condition
...post-natal, if you go thru' C-section, they will wait 5 weeks according to the post-natal brochure i have from the massage/binding service i've booked.

nomsnoms>> the website u visited - traditionaljamu, and mdm rokiah in qn - i have just tried her because of my "premature" blocked ducts that were causing me a little bit of agony. she came down to my plc the very next day, and taught me what to do with the hot compresses etc. so even there's no baby yet...i felt from her conduct/demeanour that she knows her stuff.

shugar >> my block has also just started...for backup, i am going to my mum's plc end week to pack my old room there just in case it is required. super nostalgic when i went back "home"...have not gone there for a long long time...hehe, now another trip to IKEA to spend even more money...also was thinking, even if i don't use it as my evacuation centre, would probably have a room there for the baby to bond so my mum can chip in at times to help look after her.

nomsnosm >> given yr nursing experience..do u have any idea how to preserve your dignity during the birthing experience? haiz...i think this is the part that stresses me out..not used to feeling so "vulnerable"..hence, while i read that by the time, you're probably in such discomfort that you won't care much..just thinking, any tips how to make it out of this experience with a better part of the "patient's dignity" intact?

<font color="aa00aa">xoxolight,premature block duct? painful or not dear? got discharge also... thank god she help you, so hot compress helps, maybe I should buy the breast rings thingy...cold compress help? you order the 2 pairs breastpads are to be used after delivery right? I thought you got colostrum already, how come got blockage?</font>

nomsosm>> i also didn't know what they were..feels like a hardened boil under the skin and they were painful to touch..one was at the part where my arm would normally brush against while walking - it was quite abit to tolerate actually. complained to the gynae cos the discomfort/mid-level pain was causing me to lose sleep..and after examination, she's like..you have premature blocked ducts because your milk has come in. but i was told i cannot pinch the nips or massage it hard around that area as i can trigger contractions (i did try, and yes, the tummy will hardened, contract and there's a menses-like pain, so i stopped). hence nothing much to do except hope it would resolve on its own..cold compresses makes it worse actually..

hippo recommended this bright spark donut thing that worked. u dump it in 80 deg c water and just wear it as a breast pad. but even better was massaging the spot towards yr lymphatic node in yr armpits...taught by mdm rokiah. i am already on disposable breast pads now so looking fwd to my lilypadz!

Diana: Erm that sounds really gross!! Looks like something else on my shopping list is disposable panties!! I already bought the maternity pads from Mothercare $18 for 48 pads and it claimed to be enough for 1st WEEK! Have to use sooooooo many???? They don't even call it maternity pads! They call it MATERNITY TOWELS!!! So, how many to pack for 2-3 days stay at hospital? *faint*

jRRt: Glad to know that you have donated ur #1's cord blood. Some of my frens claimed that they din know abt SCBB when they delivered. It's really a waste. I was considering keeping my bb's cord blood initially. But after consulting my doctor fren, I decided to donate it out. Hope can get more ppl who are not keeping the cord blood to make the donation

blinkblink: When I went for the child birth education course at TMC, was told that wk 37 onwards will be considered as full term and it is not healthy for baby to stay beyond wk 40 . Tat's y normally Dr will try to get the baby out b4 wk 40.

Siangjiao/Annette: If the vagina can dilate wide enough for the bb to pass thru, there's no nd for episotomy. But some doctor will just perform episotomy as they wan a clean cut which wl be easier for them to do stitching. I just check wth my gynae ths morng and she told me she is not one of them. She wl perform episiotomy only when necessary. Mayb you can check wth urs also.

mrsL: For C-section, my gynae told me post-natal massage can be carry out 3 wks after delivery but no massage at the tummy area. Only binding. But I also heard fr some massage lady tat they will still massage the tummy in lighter force.

<font color="aa00aa"> poor xoxo, sayang sayang. yaya,never massage breast area, will have contraction. many people warned me. aiyoh, tml will get the donut thingy..

about dignity, it is nurses'job!! to protect our privacy and give us lots of assurance that we are in good hands. so far, the nurses I encounter at KKH delivery suite are nice, a lot of compliments from my friends and even colleagues (nurses also) so not too worry. KKH is like pte hosp, no observation from student nurses and medical students. Unlike NUH.

Tien, i don't know how many you are going to change because every individual is diff. my friend who pushed tooooo hard during delivery gush out a lot of blood that her gynea needs to give her jab to stop excessive bleeding so by the time she go home the next day, her lochia already turn bright red, not dark red. she told me she didnt use much pads.

Some people change it very frequent, my sister told me to use the 20x given by hosp. my mum told me the loop is easier because it ties but some told me they walk a lot ( we are not suppose to ) then wings is better. no need to buy too many pack bcause easily get it when you need it, i already told my hubby which corner which store to get. And YES A LOT THICKER, my sister told me already.

Re: Maternity Pad

For TMC, they only provide the 10 pieces. So is better to bring some to TMC if you are going to deliver there.

As for the flow, it varies from individual some can be very heavy so need maternity pad. For some, the flow is still managable and extra long night use pad also can. For me, my flow is very heavy and I need 40 pieces for the first 2 weeks. Then later, I switch to normal type.

I will prefer to use the adhesive type cos I can manage better then the loop type.

Hi Joyce : TMC..i got e list of the hospital stuff. If we wanna use their pump gotta "rent" i.e. pay. So am going to pack my pump, sterilising tablet, container :S in the hospital bag. tink need trolley already.

Is there anything else we need to bring extra (that is not in their list) e.g. addtl maternity pads for TMC stay?

regadring post-natal massage:
Thanks for the advice. I have not arranged for one yet. Actually, I need recommendation for a good one too.

tien:
I m starting week 37 and gynae said bb head circumference is max and weight is 3.0 to 3.5 wor. Because of my hb gene and it is a bb boy, it is not surprise that my bb will be big. Yeah, gynae said will wait till next week consultation to decide on birth plan. I have applied to start maternity leave on 14th Sept. If induce, I probably have to wait till next Friday which is 11 Sept. Getting anxious as we count down to delivery date!

xoxo:
$21 plus sounds reasonable. My hb got 2 tubes for me while in NY. I guess that will last me for a while. If not, I know where to get it now

Btw, through an overseas spree on this forum, I bought the recommended Gerber Breast Theraphy Warm or Cold Relief Pad. Online review says it helps to relief the pain caused by breast engorgement and blocked ducts. Not sure if you can find it here in Singapore.

Hi, am back from my mom's place.

<font color="0000ff">envelope:</font> great news abt your baby turning head down!
and great weight too there.

<font color="0000ff">annette:</font> thanks for info on strollers at tangs. will try to check it out.

my original intention was also to work til end of sept then start my ML from 1st Oct cos my EDD is on 9th Oct. Now considering starting ML at the start of term 4. see how lar.

<font color="0000ff">lin:</font> thanks for info on new ez link card. didn't know got such thing. haven't taken the train/bus in a longgggggg time.

<font color="0000ff">re seats on MRT trains:</font> sucks to know that there are so many inconsiderate pple who still refuse to give up their seats for pregnant woman!

<font color="0000ff">re donating cord blood:</font> sorry if i sound ignorant. haven't read anything on this. just hear2 only. how does it work? i mean what happens to it after you donate the cord blood?

<font color="0000ff">tien:</font> i'm in sec school too. your school didn't do re-deployment when they found out you're preggy? Once they found out i was pregnant they took away my 2 graduating classes and replaced with lower sec. i've just finished with marking for CT2. it was VERY bothersome sitting and marking all those papers so i get what you mean. hey the walk more = easier labour is no wishful thinking leh. i believe in it. my first labour went pretty easy and i attribute it to my lots of walking and climbing stairs all the time. me also been telling myself that it's all good, but donow why these past 2 weeks all of a sudden feel extra heavy and lethargic and out of sorts. bah! not used to feeling so exhausted and drained. trying to gather all my positive tots now!

thanks for the info on metro sale. which number did you call? i wanna call and enquire abt the peg perego model and see if avail there. if they can tell me over the phone better cos i'm trying to rest as much as poss these next few days since doc gave MC to rest. can share the number, tien? TIA

<font color="0000ff">vin:</font> good that you have a gynae who knows your history and monitoring you closely. all the best yah? soon your baby will be in your arms liao!

<font color="0000ff">re Lansinoh nipple cream:</font>ladies, i also want to know where to get the lansinoh brand nipple cream. read a lot of of positive reviews. last time used medela. but read that lansinoh better so wanna try. any BPs or sprees? <font color="0000ff">MieMie</font>, you know of any lobang for this?

<font color="0000ff">re maternity pads:</font> personally i like the kotex adhesive maternity pads. tried madame pureen or stgh liddat oso last time but not as comfy somehow. i bought 3 packs of the kotex maternity adhesive pads from taka fair. $6 for each pack of 10. i advise 1st time mommies to use maternity pads for at least the first week or 2. the normal sanitary pads can be a bit too rough in texture and does not have as much padding which is crucial after a vaginal delivery.. can cause irritation to the area if you know what i mean. a little extra cushion down there will be appreciated esp if there are stitches from the episiotomy.

<font color="0000ff">blink:</font> can try talk to baby and ask her to stay in longer lar. i'm trying to tell mine to stay in til at least 1 week after hari raya. hee hee. dono if she'll listen to me.

<font color="0000ff">diana:</font> me still fasting leh. so far so good. just feel tired and sleepy with all the waking up early before dawn to eat. otherwise feel ok. but i have to admit, i am feeling a little anxious to see if my fasting will affect baby's growth. hmm.. maybe i should eat some durians just in case eh?

<font color="0000ff">siangjiao:</font> good to hear that your itch is getting better. hang in there. and yes, it's good that you're handing over the work lar. time to take care of ourselves now. work is just work i always say. our health and baby most precious.

<font color="0000ff">episiotomy:</font> i went through this during my first delivery. not too bad lar mommies. the gynae only snipped at the height of your contractions. i didn't even feel the snip when she did it. i only realised it when i watched the video my hubby took of my delivery! contraction pains superceded all other pain. hahaha! and i think i already mentioned this here once that i was able to get up to go to toilet to peepee that same night after delivery.and i only gave birth at 6.34pm. admittedly, i was a bit worried of stinging pain but there was none. and the stitches healed very fast too. some of my other frens who didn't go through the episiotomy (cos they insisted on none) tore badly and had a harder time recovering from the stitches. uneven tears more difficult to sew and may hurt more i reasoned. so don't worry about the episiotomy yah mommies? i think our gynaes knows best after going tru so many deliveries and it may be best to just go with their advise. just my POV lar.

famela:
you can get lansinoh nipple cream at mothercare but it is very expensive - on second thought, I think last time I saw it is ard $36..not $30.

xoxo said she got it at mother's work (great world city) @ $21.40.

<font color="0000ff">mrsL:</font> thanks for info regarding lansinoh at mothercare. if i cannot find any sprees on it will know where to buy from as last resort lar

<font color="0000ff">xoxo:</font> yup, still fasting. like i mentioned to diana, so far so good. just feel more sleepy lar. thanks for the advise on work. yes, i am now monitoring my situation. if i really cannot take it i am gonna start my leave when term 4 starts. i wont force myself lar that's for sure. for now, i have 3 days mc, to cover till friday, then 1 week school hols starts. so am getting a breather alright. will make my decision within these next few days. thanks babe! i can always count on you to give sound advise and make me look at things from a different perspective.

oh and i just read about your recommendation for lansinoh and the better price. will keep that in mind! thanks!

glad to read that your blocked ducts are better now. have heard really good reviews on mdm rokiah's skills leh.

eh babe, regarding maternity pads, you read what i wrote ok? i suggest you standby actual maternity pads. cos like i mentioned the normal sanitary napkin lacks the softness and the added padding. you can try normal ones first la but standby a pack in case it feels uncomfy? or at least point out to hubby where to get them from in case you need him to run to the store to get some for you after your delivery. maybe after 1st week or 2 then can switch to normal pads so that you experience less irritation.

<font color="0000ff">re disposable underwear:</font> oh yes yes!! must buy LOTS of disposable underwear!! i wore it truout the bleeding period. cos i lazy to wash. and i don't have extra help at home other than my mom who comes during the day. don't feel nice if she has to wash my dirty undies, KWIM? i just wear and throw. kiddy palace sells a pack of 5 for about $4.50 last time. i bought LOTS! the discharge varies from woman to woman. and according to my massage aunty the right massage will help with the break down of blood clots inside so they can be dispelled faster. so with proper massage the heavy discharge can last only a week or so. the rest of the time the flow is like menses flow on a light day only. that was how i experienced it lar. dono abt others though.

<font color="0000ff">regarding privacy and nurses at KKH:</font> yup, i agree with diana. the nurses and midwife at KKH all very professional and nice lar. at least all those that i encountered.

<font color="0000ff">mrsL:</font> woah, your delivery date oso approaching fast yah? how exciting!! and big baby you have there.

<font color="0000ff">Jo:</font> i missed your post regarding the avent isis iq duo. i have the pump but i bought it back in 2003 leh. can't rem where the serial no is oso. i tried looking for it but oso can't locate cos can't rem which no is which. there's another mommy here who bought the same pump. can't rem who though...?

gal^> Yes, please bring 1 extra pack of maternity pad. Cos I am quite sure you will use it.

I agreed with famela on the topic of using the maternity pad for the 1st 1 or 2 weeks after birth.

As for the breastpump, I dun think you need to bring cos for the first few days we will not be producing milk. Milk production only start in Day 4. So I think it is safe to leave ur pump at home. In fact, you should try to latch ur baby often, so that he/she can help you to stimulate the production of milk and help to shrink your womb faster....

Morning mummies!!
Just overnight,I am fed with so much information! Amazing!!

Famela: Unfortunately my school is quite under-staffed when it comes to Humanities teachers and so, I have no luxury of re-deployment. So, I am those preggy women who worked all the way and yet don't get to break the maternity leave...sometimes I feel really unfair...So, I keep telling myself to look at it on the bright side that I get to walk a lot and also because my hubby is also teaching, he gets to spend time with me and BB during the holidays.

So Kotex is supposed to be better? Hmmm maybe will buy 1-2 packs on standby in case the mothercare one cannot make it.

Btw the number for metro is 68363322...

MrsL: Good good that your gynae is going to discuss with you about the birth plan. Everything will turn out ok! You might be one of the first here to pop!!