(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

astro>> hahahaha!! but i can put it on to prevent sore/crack nipples hor? lol. hmm i really dunno what size to buy haha!! think i will get it at the taka fair.

why doesnt work? is it the plastic too thick and bb cant suck properly? i opened the box before and i cant imagine how bb will able to suck with the plastic over leh. hmm...

ddnikz>> yeah i read from the book saying that after we gave birth.. the first 1-2 weeks very jialat leh.. sneeze,cough etc all will cause pain to our wound... then will have alot of HEAVY bleeding... then sore nipples, harden breasts lol. and still got many many more.. omg... i think will be more jialat than what we are experiencing now..

pei yu: i dun think it works lah. coz very leiceh.. will drop off kind!.. there is no way to escape 'desensitisation' of the nipples one.. ha.. that' what i heard and experienced.. i was told that breast feeding is painless.. is a myth.. even if bypass the sore/cracked nipples state.. still got engorement/blocked ducts etc.. so all in all. even if dun gena one.. still gena others.. heh..
that was what i was told lah..

pei yu: ehh. unfortunately. that is quite true leh :p.. the confinement period is indeed quite uncomfy.. the physcial pain is still ok. the hormonal upheavals is the sian part.. :p.. then ah. some of us.. or rather me.. i gena post natel hives! plus milk leaking from nipples non-stop and all the itchy hives.. that time i was showering.. i felt like a FREAK!.. haiz..

ginger: sorry! hey. i haven't .. are u keen? coz kelly's cousin is in my thread.. i think if we can get 4 hor.. maybe i can request her cousin to negiotiate for a discount?

i bring up the list again..

-------------------------

The purpose of this list is to have gather interest so that my fren at the other thread can approach kelly for a bigger group discount if we all sign up IF POSSIBLE. Already on her website, she is offering 25% discount for 5 interested mummies, minimum.
Kelly's photography
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2184017.html?1246437653

1. Astro
2. Ginger
--------------------------
anyone else keen?

ginger: leave that problem for the professional to worry! kekekekek

go pyscho ur frens. if u have any preggy frens.. than we can 'close' our deal faster :p
kekekkee..

another one is also not bad.. bu ti think that is more steep.. Tomato photography.. hahaa.. sounds funny :p
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2184017.html?1246437653

I seen their pictures.. a fren of mine used them. not too bad.. i think they are more established than kelly.. kelly is a free lance..
but i prefer kelly's style.. though the peanut style keeps repeating.. heh..

ddnikz: kelly goes to ur home to take the photos..
if are keen.. please add ur name to the list.. once we get 5 intereted mummies. i can appoarch her cousin and see if we can get a bigger discount than 25%. no gaurantee, but no harm trying

hi astro, can i take a look at tomato photography's link? tink u posted kelly's link again by accident... hee. i dun have other frens pregnant now.... i m last among them to give birth this year!

i like the peanut style leh... so cute! i have seen other studios copying anne geddes. i cannot accept... haha!

Shopping Spree @ Taka Fair on 27 Aug
Meeting Venue: At the fountain area
Time: Around 12 noon
Objective: To get the cheapest deal in town
Confirm Name list (Extract from archive):
1. Joyce
2. Mie
3. Sweetzinc
4. mylvera
5. loke
6. Astro (TBC)
7. gal^

am okay with mcD / deli. tink kfc the seating more restricted and its normally pack. not sure abt mornings.

how to identify? agree that there may be more preggie there than those in our forum. er... we give each other a HUGE SMILE? ehhe...duno pple tink we koo koo (nuts).

gathering#2 : r we still going to meet at vivo marche? better to do early though i.e late aug or early sept.

dreamygal : oh dear. maybe she want more attention? at home she not like tht right?

breast/nipple shield > er..should we get now or wait till if we need then buy?

Ok, I add on to the list. Copied the whole para for easy reference.

The purpose of this list is to have gather interest so that my fren at the other thread can approach kelly for a bigger group discount if we all sign up IF POSSIBLE. Already on her website, she is offering 25% discount for 5 interested mummies, minimum.
Kelly's photography

1. Astro
2. Ginger
3. ddnikz

Love the peanut style. The bb looks so pitiful yet so cute! :D

astro : Teng also like that? I have been talking to her everyday that its not right... ...

gal^ : Ya. She's not like that at home. At least at home, i can control her, i know how to deal with her. Sianz...

Breastshield
I used that. Its very troublesome but at that time i got sore nipple and Glynnis couldn't latch well, so at least its not that painful. But its really troublesome.

Add my name to it.

1. Joyce
2. Mie
3. Sweetzinc
4. mylvera
5. loke
6. Astro (TBC)
7. gal^
8. Sunnyling (TBC)

Re: nipple shield
My LC at raffles hospital introduce pigeon nipple shield to me. Yes, it’s so difficult to master it!!! Really needs a lot of practice and perseverance. It’s not only use for sore/cracked nipples but also inverted nipples. The 1st few times I use it it kept dropping it. Very pek chek.. But my determinination got the better of me. So, I tried and tried and tried, even to the extent of quarreling with hubby cos my girl was screaming all the way for milk! Slowly I got the hang of it and even use it to breastfeeding in my hubby’s van, everywhere..haha.. Once the baby suckle well on the nipple shield, it will be plastered to your nipple. It works like suction pad. So, it will not drop off easily after that..

Thanks to nipple shield I managed to breastfeed my girl.

Re: breastfeeding,
I think I can write a whole page on it. I’m not one what is blessed with lots of milk and I work hard for 3 months before I can total breastfeed my girl. My hind milk only came in on day 5. Well, having little milk and having over abundance of milk has its pros and crons. My SIL milk supply is so much that she got painful engorgement on day1 of her delivery! I had to go to her home at 12 midnight to help her because she told me she could not stand it and want to give up! I was thinking NOOOOO, so sayang.. When I checked on her, I realized that is painful engorgement like. Her breasts are really like 2 solid rocks! I never had that kind of problem because my girl always managed to finish my breast.. For ladies who are blessed with lots of milk, you need to manage the breastfeeding. For us who are not blessed with milk , we have to work hard for our milk and need lots of perseverance and determination. Yes, cracked nipple usually does happen. I had a few attacks and one that was so bad that when I expressed my milk, my milk turn pink!haha… I was shocked! My nipple were bleeding. So scary right? So, I immediately stop, put nipple cream and do hand expressed. It healed by itself pretty fast. By the next day or so, no more bleeding.

Oh, sore nipple is common. It’s when you’re not latching well and usually when we first started breastfeeding. For newbie, you might experience it for a few weeks because your nipple is not “season”. Really v v sore! A few weeks old baby will want to suckle every other hour and you literally feel like a cow! Not helping that we have to expressed out milk in btw the feeding schedule…haha… I felt so uncomfortable in the beginning with the expressing. I feel like the cow in the field being fondle..hahaha….so gross right? But I tell you, breastfeeding experience is really very very meaningful and sweet. When you baby suckle and fall asleep with a big satisfaction on her face, your heart will be overwhelm with emotion! I love breastfeeding!!! It’s the best experience any mummy can get beside pushing out the baby, ie natural delivery. Who else in the world has this privilege huh? And I always tell fellow mummies and my SIL (to encourage them), our milk is the best gift we can give our baby! Nobody can substitute us!

If I (not well endowed mummy, not blessed with milk and has 2 inverted nipples) can total breastfeed my girl (direct latch), so can any mummies!! If there’s any mummies who think that she doesn’t have milk, it’s because she really doesn’t put in as much hard work and doesn’t have confidence in herself. Breastfeeding is a big sacrifice but it’s totally worth it! Be prepared for sleepless nights because in the beginning you need to wake up in the middle of the night either to breastfeed or to express your milk to increase/maintain the supply. You need to try your best to stick to your schedule so that your body is tune to milk production.

I think I said too much.
I think after when you really breastfeed, you’ll have lots more questions  I’ll be happy to offer my advice and encouragement..hehe..

Re: Kelly’s Photography,
I had signed up with my gfs and SIL sometime back liao. So kiasu right? My SIL who gave birth 2 months ago had her pix taken already. I would say it’s very nicely taken. And most importantly I think the fee is affordable taking into consideration, she doesn’t charge house-call fee, no extra charge when she take family pictures and she doesn’t use flash light on your baby which is one the most important criteria! Flash lights contains UV in them and it’s harmful for our baby. For older babies (ideally abt 6-8 months when they can only sit but not crawl), I would recommend seanlau photography but his fee is a bit steep but his style is like anne geddes (world famous baby photographer). I spent $600+ to buy back all my girls pictures! But the pictures are really really very cute!hehe…

<font color="0000ff">Astro_pro</font>
I had that hives too!! It was such a torture!! The more I scratch the more itchy it gets. My skin turn so ugly. After a few days, I BTH, went to see my gynae for remedy. She prescribe calamine lotion and anti-histamine pills (safe for breastfeeding of course) to me. After that, it went away.. Thank god!

aria jo : Talking about bfing, i am already quite nervous about it. I remembered i got very bad engorgement on the 2nd week that one night, i basically sat up and cried in the middle of the night. Kept massaging but no use. Tried to express out the milk, super painful. They are really like 2 big rocks.

Think i did not sleep for the whole night.

My nipple bleed quite a no of times. I always have to pour away the 'strawberry milk' and initially i will cry when i pour them away cos its my precious milk. My nipple can get so sore that i basically have to hand expressed for at least 3 sessions before i dare to direct latch or use the pump. I remembered that there was a time where i get phobia everytime i on the pump because i was scared that the nipple will start bleeding again.

I've got short nipple so i used nipple shield.

But all these efforts are worth it.

aria jo
*clap clap* well said abt the bfg part! I oso enjoyed the bfg v v much.
so i am looking fwd to it this time round, and hope to BF longer as compared to when i had my son. I stopped then coz i wanna build up my body again b4 #2.

The size of breasts got nothing to do wif how much milk one can produce. and yes, hard work is the key to success wif a +ve mindset.

RE: Nipple Shield
I only saw my sis using it and nvr had to use it. now tt her baby latches better and her nipples are sort of protruding out due to the usage, she is not using the nipple shield anymore.

I think my nipples r too big. when i latched my son, i got a feeling that he might b "choked" by my nipple. they r so huge and protruding, i felt it was quite gross myself.
and his mouth was so so small then.

Add my name to it.

1. Joyce
2. Mie
3. Sweetzinc
4. mylvera
5. loke
6. Astro (TBC)
7. gal^
8. Sunnyling (TBC)
9. Siangjiao (TBC)

I'll put my name tentatively on the list. My 32nd week check up is on the 27th Aug, but not too sure what time it'll be complete. Sometimes the queue gets very long, esp when the Dr runs off to do some delivery.

Regarding BH, i get them fairly often too, esp after meals. The stomach will harden to a rock and the whole shape is weird. I don't think it's any cause for concern now right, unless it gets painful.

Does your babies kick a lot nowadays? Mine really like very sleepy. i'll feel the occasional roll (like he is shifting to a more comfy position) and tud, but it's not throughout the day.

dreamygal,
i dun think i have "long" nipple..hhehe....maybe this time round you slowly try to latch directly.. remember the point is the baby mouth to be on the areola, not the nipple
I hope you can latch directly. It will safe you so much trouble! No need to sterilized the nipple shield and no need to bring out if you go out.

jrt,
i think my SIL also has big nipple.. you all so blessed lah.. so envious!!hehe.. if you're thinking of buying nipple shield, just take note of the size of the teat. you take it out and agak agak see can fit or not..

siangjiao,
oh, we sama sama! my BH usually after meal and it's so uncomfortable! My girl is quite active i think. When she moves, she really moves a lot. i don't think it's kicking, more like stretching here and there? so far have never experience any power kick yet on the ribs.

dreamygal
we all hv our share of grouses... juz hope i wun b whacked by mummies wif inverted/flat nipples coz hope tt u all will understd tt its not my intention to brag abt (i dun think its anythign worth bragging abt) but rather to juz share my experience.

aria jo
i juz feel its too huge to the extent even when there is padding (normal ones tt triumph sells) under my swimsuit, u can still make out the nipple shape if u observe carefully. i din realised it until i saw the video/photos tt my hb took when i was swimming wif my son at a gathering. OMG then i realised! I hope my frens' hubbies did not noticed it then. I felt so embarrassed!

i dared not complain in front of my sis coz she sure shoot me down!

btw when i rub my nipples b4 i bathed, i literally can rub off some dead skin/sediments (dunno wat to call it) off my nipples. then if i gently pry open the pores of the nipples where milk used to come out, i can see whitish stuff there. Wonder if this is normal and if u mummies experienced it.

siangjiao
mine pretty active leh. she even kicks in the wee hrs of the mornings and i'll ask her to go to sleep coz its not the hour tt she shld b awake to play! i warned her not to do this when she arrives!

at times when i feel tt she is quiet, i'll tap on my tummy and talk to her, asking her to kick me. she'll usually oblige.

aria jo>> cool.. maybe i should buy the nipple shield and try it too! i scare i kena sore or cracked nipples leh... so better prevent it haha.

so pigeon is better that medela?

woah... i'm so lazy to read all the posts!!! but i got the pm on fb...

talking about the pre-natal class... i went for the tmc weekday one.. the person who conducted the course was Chew something.. my hb and i cant stand the way she speaks. haha. i only liked the information..

about mtA, i heard that its got really very very good services for people like us, i.e. mtbs.. haha... but i dunno.. will get to find out soon..

jRt,
We have quite a lot in common! I also feel that my nipples are big. In fact, my hubby said the reason why I failed in latching my son is because his mouth is smaller then my nipple!

Pei Yu,
As promised, I'm showing my support! I want the C03-002-ZB. Will be sending you a mail in a short while.

hi all, I haven't been commenting for some time. I've just had the 32-week scan, and my baby is 1.72kg. Whenever I sit down, I got a lot of dolphin flops on the top of my tummy. Is that my baby moving or BH?

JRT: so far I haven't gone swimming yet, but I can see how protruding my nipples are when I wear thin bras at home. A bit too obvious and gross.

Regarding the whitish stuff, I also see that. Not sure whether it's dead skin or what.

Now my breasts can touch my tummy. A bit weird feeling.

Regarding the Taka trip, I can't take leave at all. Anyway, I should have bought most of the things I needed already from the expo previously. Just got some bumwear cloth diapers recently.

jRt : Just feel that the way you describe that you are scared that your son got chocked is quite cute.

About that whitish stuff, is it a bit watery? I have that too. I think 2 weeks ago, i was massaging the breast and i experienced the same thing. I was rubbing the nipple, peeled off some dried skin and when i squeeze, there it is. A bit painful. Now i don't dare to squeeze anymore. :p

aria jo : Yes. I will definitely try direct latch again. Then can latch on at night... Hee... Hopefully this time round, i can do better. But even if i can't, i will still continue to bf via pumping.

siangjiao : Mine practically dancing every night. He keeps dancing and i keep complaining.

glass>> haha my breasts also can touch my tummy.. i hope they're not sagging
imagine once we delivered, the breast got no more support from the tummy liao.. OMG.... o_O

yeah my boobies can touch my tummy too.. when i had my massage the other time, Ida told me that i will have saggy breasts so tell me after confinement, try to wear wired bras to give more support.. if not next time will become papayas..

Jrt,
No lah.. I never think of you bragging lah.. dun worry..hehe..mm, You know what, sometimes I saw some ladies wearing tight clothing and I can make out the shape of her nipples. I always wonder if she’s wearing bra or not or she’s just being open minded. So, may be like you she’s also not aware of it lah…

The whitish discharge and crust from the nipple is colustrum.. Perfectly normal. I’m having that too. So during shower just clean your nipple lah..We’re in our 3rd trimester liao. So, our body start producing milk/colustrum already :p

Pei_yu,
I only know pigeon nipple shield is cheap and it serves my purpose…haha.. never try other brands leh..

Glass,
BH is not a moving sensation, it’s a stomach tightening sensation. You feel your skin pulling so tight and your stomach so hard.. The dolphin flop must be your baby moving lah  Nowadays, I can feel a lump here and then suddenly shifted to another area and I know my girl is moving but I cannot make out if it’s her foot or her hand or her elbow..haha..Sometimes ouch, she hit my bladder and I will cringe, make me want to pee!

re: baby movement

nowadays my baby always like to draw on my tummy wall and till it hurts!! especially when i'm about to sleep at night.

so when she does that i will sometimes make a "ahhh" noise lol! and i think she's enjoying it lor..

dreamygal,
yes, you can do it! My gf successfully latch her no.2 with her short nipple too! Her no.1 she exclusively express the milk.

don't think your breasts are sagging yet right? the milk not there yet leh.. You'll see them sagging when you stop breastfeeding or when you finish breastfeed.. hahaha....You feel as if it's sagging because your tummy is getting bigger and touching your breasts.hehe..

Anyway, our breasts definately will not be as perky as before liao especially if you're very well endowed kind.. For me, since I'm not that well endowed (cup A nia), can see it sagging liao.

Share a good deal here.
Was at MPH bookshop earlier.
Bought the "Young Parents" magazine and was given a free bottle of Advent 'Daily Moisturising Cream with SPF15 -100ml'. The cream can be used on babies including newborns.

dreamy>> yah!! very pain right!! she likes to go up and down and up again... wah piang..!! so whenever she does that i will place my palm on my tummy and follow her movement haha. her strength is like almost wanna poke out like that..

last night i tried sleeping on the side she kick / draw haa not so painful but of coz her movement is restricted liao haha =x

sotong_mum
no lah, tell ur hb its not coz of tt reason tt u failed lah. def not. coz i succeeded. and the aerola oso grew wider in diameter, its so easy 4 my son to locate my nipples. how can he miss it???

glass
i think tt is baby movements.

Oh u oso got same prob as me... i am wearing M&amp;S wireless bras tt is slightly padded and provides gd support.
nice &amp; comfy coz i usually wear bras to sleep. scared of saggy boobs esp aft bfg. so droopy.

so funny! ur boobs touching ur tummy? coz u got big boobs issit?
i think its dead skin tt i am rubbing off my nipples.

dreamygal
no, mine not watery when i rub off. tts y i think its dead skin. somemore i juz hit 3T only, so dun think i'll produce colostrum yet.
ooohhh, better refrain fr massaging ur breasts fr now on coz might trigger labour contractions esp u mentioned u feel uncomfy. why the need to massage?

pei yu
ur boobs got no more support usually if once u stop bfg. OMG... u can see how droopy it is... which is why i hope it wun expand too much!

aria jo
well, some ladies might b open minded and some might b juz plain ignorant like me. i thot wif bra paddings is safe liao... who knows i got a shock when i saw the photos!
i tried squeezing my nipples and so far nothing came out yet so dun think i am producing colostrum. mayb some of u might be, coz i am due only end of the mth, considered one of the last few to deliver.

miemie, sweetzinc,
got exercises that can firm up your pectoral muscles ones (they're the chest muscles) when my pilates instructor knew i was pregnant she started me on those right away. haha... so funny. she said "next time will sag a bit one hor, so u better start doing..."

dreamygal,
hey! i saw your bunny chopsticks @ kiddy palace today. its $10.95 if i remember correctly. how come u saw $29 so ex?

miemie,
the fisher price cot mobile that u like, also saw it at kiddy palace $99.95 on offer i think. so no further disc for members.

sweetzinc,
u know what? i think i've settled on pigeon for bb shampoo and shower gel...

astro,
eh... cos i am the focused kiasu type shopper?! just wanna zoom in and get all the stuff on my list and zip out right away cos i hate crowds and traffic jams, let alone a hall full of big tummies. i will be there on the first day, but i dunno how long i can last out there. today i lasted 3 hrs out with a maternity belt! but i know what some of u guys look like, so will definitely say hi... its just i dont think i wanna be hanging around for that long...

re: nipples - flat, inverted, big or small!
haha... very interesting to read what everyone has said. a bit scary and daunting, but thanks for sharing mummies (esp the experienced ones) for new mummies, i just wanna say go and test your breast pump. cos i took out my medela PIS and tried. SCALI the personalfit breastshield TOO BIG hor!!! cos they come with standard M size ones. and i was looking at them, thinking where got nipples so big one??? sorry ah, maybe i swaku, or rather, i dont go around checking other pple's nipples out lah. hahahaha... anyways they need to fit a certain way, so i've gone out to order from a BP the correct size...

jRt>> i think mine expanded quite alot leh.. i tried my bikini top hor i think can only cover my nipples wtf...... and my hubby was laughing away. duh...

ok lah actually quite funny also when i look at myself in the mirror Hahahaha...

hippo>> yeah i told my hb i wanna get pigeon too he say "huh now then u finally settle on the brand liao ah?" lol...

jRt : Ya, uncomfy - a bit painful. Was thinking of massaging to prepare for bfing. Now i don't dare to touch it anymore. Hee...

hippo : I think $29 is a set, come with pouch and spoon. Something like that. But wouldn't be buying.

I better check my pump after it arrived.

Aiyo, all mummies, u all can access this forum even at work? seems like u all can come in very often during wkhr n i always missed alot

Astro-pro: hiyo, hehe i just frequet recently, hoping to take leave soon. cant really access this forum often at wkplace.

Peiyu: U dealing with babymallonline as well? i had just palced my order at the online foreign spree organised by some mummies. Are u one of those mummies?

Blink_Blink/ other mummies: R u gog to Mt A?Anyone of u gog Mt A fr their hospital tour?
Im gog to TMC this sat n Mt A next sat fro their hospital tours, anyone happen to be gog too?

Added my name too hehe, shall try put my gynae appt on same day then meet all mummies afterwhich ehhe

Add my name to it.

1. Joyce
2. Mie
3. Sweetzinc
4. mylvera
5. loke
6. Astro (TBC)