(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

glass >> my pregnant brain has been with me for awhile now..hahaha..and my HB has caught on. He dabao lunch for himself and me and used our home utensils..guess what? after the meal, he promptly threw the spoon and fork with the empty packets down the chute! only when he turned to wash the "utensils"..did he realise there is nothing to wash..oh dear..didn't know that our absent-mindedness can be this infectious!

angie >> thanks! i have received AVA's "templated" reply..same as yours. so now, asking them whether they are able to provide a chart showing the levels of mercury in fish/seafood rather than tell us that all are within "safe" limits..that way, we can make informed choices and choose stuff "lower" in the range. mercury does build up..interestingly, in today's ST, a doc has written to ask AVA to do more to give the public accessible information. cross fingers!

on another note, i used to "work" for the civil service..and if i am not wrong, there are probation periods of a year even. entitlements (which maternity leave) would fall under, would not be given during such a time...by law, you are supposed to be entitled to maternity after working for a company for a consecutive period of 90days..but i suppose the civil service can do things a little different so it's better to check. all the best!

xoxo: hmm.. i think u posted the same reply twice? just written differently... hope its because u wanna make ur information more complete??

PU >> that's very sweet of you..managing to capture the video..is your gynae usually so patient? explaining everything so carefully? or did he become so detailed cos he knows you are filming?? hehehehe..

my HB was too paiseh to whip out and start recording cos he thought it was too OTT..after seeing your clip, he regrets it...muahahaha, nvm there's always april 16..

at this dating, our BBs are the same length: 36mm..i stare at the ruler and haiz, that's really small!

Famela: Thanks again. I will certainly check out the videos soon. Frankly after hearing you out I am very incline to just pick My Gym.

Astro: Thanks for the heads up on JWT. Yay, one down for me. Hair splitting G force sounds fun! My girl is a tomboy lah, she loves for us to hang her upside down so I think she'll enjoy G force! Hm... My Gym gets another point from me!

I was experiencing weird tummy last night too. So so bloated that for the first time during this pregnancy that my whole tummy itched like crazy. I think it's because my tummy was so bloated that it overstretched my skin! Really terrible. Usually when this kind of pukish is triggered by hunger and can be easily resolved bby me eating something, but last night I knew if I eat something I would merlion it out. Thank goodness today is better. Hopefully yours too will fizzle out by today. Fingers crossed for you.

xoxo: hehee.. the gyne is quite patient... he talks really slowly though.. hahhaa.. but short and sweet most of the time.. he gives very direct answers to our questions.. my hb initially also blur blur.. sat there.. until i shouted to ask him to come over.. then he asked gyne very politely if he can take video... as u can see, the video is not very focused sometimes.. cos hb was staring at the screen directly instead of the screen on the camera.. haha..

Btw, has anyone heard from Joyce yet? I really hope she and bb are ok. I guess we're all anxiously waiting for her good news. Fingers crossed for her too.

loke >> i think i still like to call you loke..rather than PU..your gynae is really patient..and explains lots! i can betcha my gynae never mentioned the words "crown" and "rump"..haha, but i am expecting too much lah...i am usually pacified when i hear "BB's happy"..that's her fave sentence...whoa..i like the red gemstone necklace wor..can see cannot touch!

xoxo : normally if the cries is persistent and loud, bb could be having bloated stomach n need those methods that i mentioned previously. If normal cries, then i would check on their diaper(if any poo etc). If nothing, then could be bb is thirsty so give some water. If still doesnt work, then maybe hungry(if meal time is aro there). If your bb is BF, maybe he just need to suck your nipple for comfort. When u realised bb is crying for milk more n more often, it would meant u need to increase the milk intake as the existing intake is not sufficient for their growing body. Many Mummies refuse to use pacifier but i cave in after i couldnt cope with the constant cries. Pacifer could be useful when u brg bb out to public places.

chiapatty: i think a lot of us experiencing bloatedness at this stage. i'm totally not in the mood to eat cos of the bloatedness.

xoxo: ava only steps in when major events happen. i dunno what they do the rest of the time. i think they spend their time and money setting up rules and regulations for food than to spend the money to do research on the various food etc.. cos its too much of a hassle.. that's my opinion lah..

PU: huh? entertain here? whatu mean ah?

xoxo/HRD: mini library??

alamak. how come i feel so blurred today?

xoxo: it is difficult to discern the cries of the bb.. i mean yes, there are different tones.. and some books will tell u. hungry is this kind.. soiled diaper is that kind.. but i find.. all no difference..or rather. it differs with each bb.. my fren's bb only whimpers.. teng BELLOWS all the time.. i used to be a band teacher in charge.. my band director came over.. and immediately commented 'wah. this one.. crying from the diaphragm.. good good. got pontiental'.. there u go..haiz..
the only distinct one. is overtiredness.. coz that one is SCREAMING.. not mere crying

xoxo: loke is my surname. hehe.. i didnt know its spelled "rump"! i thought its "round" cos buttocks are round mah.. hahahhaa... which red gemstone necklace u talking about ah??

PU >> i think AVA cannot keep firefighting..they didn't even know melamine was in our chocs on the shelves until others spotted them first...in this case, we are sitting ducks...alot of our fish supplies come from the indian ocean / south china sea..both have high levels of pollution (i mean, where wouldn't)..i am boycotting fish for now cos i think i had more than my equal share of these..relying on DHA supplements...and squirrel brains (walnuts)..sigh..and just at the time i am craving for prawns, stingray, pengkan fish...

astro >> finally you un-stuck yourself..and made your way back to the forum
mini-library lah...this gina ford super popular..NLB searches show most of her books are already out on loan..i was thinking of going to the ulu geylang east library to borrow..hahaha. running the hsehold like a boot camp..i think my HB and me cannot make it. u mean teng could accustom himself to the fixed routine?

Xoxo: Thanks for the link on what's mercury free. I'm so glad the stuff I'm taking falls under this list!

Astro: I think colic in a way is linked to wind in the tummy. It's a vicious cycle you see, the more bb cries, the more air gets into his/her tummy and more discomfort he/she'll feel, hence the more he/she'll cry, etc.

One way that is quite effective in calming newborns is to let them hear 'whitenoises'. These are basically monotonous sounds that experts believe are close to what bbs will hear when they are still in mummy's tummy. Eg of such sounds include hairdryer noise, washing machine noise, etc. Just check these videos out and you'll know what I mean! They are really cute!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysA-PJ_kRTU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UjPx_G0ly4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBKby5yKjNY&feature=related

loke >> loke is still shorter to type than huiying! hehehe...uh..the red one on your HB's blog..i think that suits ang mohs very well..i am short with a small neck..confirm will become even shorter and overwhelmed by this pc! hahaha..but it's nice

Loke: ur scan is very very clear! i can even see the jawline of ur bb!! hahah. ur gynae has a hard time measuring the CRL length. coz ur bb moving nonstop! :p
hmm. i dun recall seeing teng move so much before leh. esp during the NT scanning.. when he keeps 'jumping'.. hahahah..

Joanne: Be Strong! This is a tough period for all of us and the road ahead will be even tougher. I think there is nothing much you can do since he doesnt wanna talk. Just let him think it through and hopefully he can sort things out within himself and be there to support u. Have faith!

loke, ong : i juz chat with him thru msn, end up cry more, the words he say really hurt lor. He say we hv no bonding at all, our bonding is only on our sons. our marriage is only an NAME...so i say on since so unhappy then dun wan the baby, i will go abort it....

joanne >> (((hugs))) i can imagine it is distressing to think of so many issues at once. try to clear your mind..take a walk later someplace nice and think of happier times. maybe your HB has his difficulties which he doesn't want to share with you and burden you with them? he's probably also not having a good time and hence, he is also unable to help you with the rash of emotions pregnancy will bring to you/us. sometimes when i have nothing good to say and i know pressing for a resolution / answer now will bring nothing but a fierce fight, i just let the moment pass me by. let it go..don't feel angry with him, yourself and definitely not the BB. i am sure you'll feel better abt the whole situation if given a little space to just let go of all the stress you're feeling.

abt the company/job etc, when one door closes and window opens. don't worry too much abt it..when there's a will there's a way ok..but u must stay strong for the BB and not feel like giving up now..we have successfully come thru' an almost 3 mth period! just think of that! just a little bit more....hang tight..by the way, what line are you in?

so he say if i really go abort it, he make sure i will regrett....haiz....pple pregnant so happy, me pregnant like shit....he still dare to say hw come other pple pregnant nt like me, come on la, every pregnancy is different ok, my previous 2 also nv like this one...this one is the worst....

chiapatty: hahha.. yeah.. i'm loke.. when i was in australia.. the people there pronounced my name as lor-kee... very funny...

p: i'm pretty sure bb looks like the father.. cos hb got longer lower jaws than upper jaw.. plus the hands and legs.. so long and obvious.. like hb's long hands and legs. haha.. gyne also said bb is very active..

loke >> your names cheem leh..hessonite yes! i love the deep ochre and the richness of it..not in the luxury sense but in the expression it gives..very alluring!

xoxo : thanks he also say wat we quarrel is our own business, dun put the blame on the baby....
btw i nw working as HR & admin assistant...

Joanne: I think it's important to make him realise how unwell you are. If you can't make him listen or read up (books on pregnancy and even this forum), then make me SEE it. Everytime you see him pretend to want to puke and tell him you are feeling very terrible and ask him to help massage you or something. Whenever you puke, try to make sure he sees it. I think if you keep doing that he will get the picture and feel bad that not only is he not making you feel better he's putting more stress and pain on you.

I'm always complaining about the slightest discomfort to my hubby and I think I've successfully drilled it firm and deep into his head that pregnancy is very singkoo and he better give in to my every whimp and fancy! heh

joanne: agree with xoxo... i guess both of u are stressed out... i'm sure he said those words out of compulsion. one thing i noticed about men also is that they dun speak with their brains switched on.. they just allow their lips to take over their speech.. so i always ask hb to think before he speaks. especially when he starts to say hurting things to me. i also try not to ask him too many questions when he's tired lah.. cos i always got a lot of questions..

keep on hanging there... we are all here to support u too ok..

joanne >> i was also thinking i am the weak, weird one..some of my more unkind folks in the office are passing remarks that "when they were pregnant, they never took 1 day of MC..yet I'm full of drama..hospitalisation, sick, 1 mth MC etc.etc"..these comparisons (like comparing other preggers and you / your earlier pregnancies etc) are only going to hurt you if you let them..

you are definitely trying hard to feel good etc otherwise you wouldn't be feeling so frustrated (ironic huh?)...don't let your HB's feelings and temporary loss of judgement hurt you so bad. Give him space and I am sure he'll realise he was wrong to have said all that..don't be rash ok? Sometimes the pp/things we suffer more for, will be the pp/things we cherish alot more.

Cheer up..would a fruit freeze or ice-cream help you? what do you feel like eating for dinner? i cannot decide what i feel like having...

xoxo: ahh.. that one ah... very small only!! hahhaa... looks big on the picture lah.. hehhee.. i spent a lot of time arranging the stones in order of size lor.. hahhaa... not expensive also.. only the gold and workmanship will cost a bit more..

joanne: i believe he still loves u.. that's y he's also hanging on for u.. so dun give up k??

wow.. all of u here are so encouraging. i feel so encouraged reading your encouragements to joanne.. hehe.. joanne we are all here for u!

xoxo: how about mee siam??

Joanne: I agree with the rest. I think your hubby is just saying things he doesn't mean in a fit of anger. Things will get better once he cools down.

chia: it could be.. it might not be as well..

i guess the medical PDs that i met.. so far.. always conveniently pushes everything to colic.. and or said colic = wind in the tummy..
i can't reconcile this pt particularly well. coz like that to me.. all bbs have colic liao?.. hmm.. not quite possible
.. but of course.. very sian to hear the bbs cry all the time lah..

xoxo: ha.. bootcamp huh? :p.. ya. that's the first reaction that most pple have towards her routine.. but if u think about it this way. bbs thrive on routines.. and who doesn't feel assured know what to do next? .. of course.. the more confident can actually tweak the routiens to fit their schedule. but the fundentamental structure stays.. particularly the intervals between naps.. particularly impt.. to prevent over tired bbs..
actually her schedule works very well for control freaks.. me.. and u ?:p.. now i more confident liao.. last time. gosh. u wun believe it.. i stared at the clock all the time..right down to the minute.. but that time i had post natel depression lah. everything also haywired.. now.. no more. confident mum

ya . teng is a typical gina ford bb. he sleeps on the DOT. i dunno how he did it.. but then again. all bbs can be introduced to a rountine.. just which one suits u.. and it is not really a boatcamp lah. just the impt things.. do according to the schedule lor..

it helps u to elimnate unncessary guesses to why the bb cries.. coz if u have a schdule. u can know.. and ur first guess is normally correct.. if u dun have one to start with.. then u have to go thru so many guesses.. before u can know why the bb is crying.. .. my mummy. commeneted teng is an easy bb to take care of.. i always tell her. that's becoz.. teng is on a routine.. not because he is easy to take care of

loke: ya.. hmmmm. i also slightly moody. hence no Yellow jokes to share :p

chia: mygym at civics plaza is renovating.. had. havent heard fromjoyce yet. asked yesterday too but i think she hasn't login in..

ya.. white noise is good.. teng always listens to the fan making a din!.. hahahah

thanks for asking. i trying to force my bloat away with 7up and ginger! :S

ong: i am not from NYP :p.. the reason why i dun put teng in a childcare as of now. is.. i am not comfortable with the routine (then).. now.. just for the simple reason . i dun want to go back to office when i am on leave! and if i am so near.. my mum SURE call me to fight fire with regards to teng one.. i dun want lah

yes.. bbs are calmed by motion. hence u see. the earlier days.. they are always rocked to sleep.. in a moving call.. by our motion.. or in a stroller. coz it calms down.. like the way they are in the womb..
but it is also this nature of them.. which can create negative sleep associations. imagiing haveing to drive around the neighbourhood.. just to get the bb to sleep?! wah.. i know a fren of mine.. restorted. to leaving the bb on a washing machine in motion .. so that the vibrations can calm her crying down! :p..
to solve this problem. understand the bb's sleep patterns.. and SWADDLE the bb

pups: hmm. i dun mean to say that all bbs have a 'scientific' problem per se.. erm. let me try to explain this.. some bbs drink very little milk.. and wake darn early.. sure.. they out grow this.. but it takes time.. but if we can take a more proactive approach to structuring their days and feed structure.. such problems can be eliminated easily and in a shorter period of time.. instead of just 'waiting it out'.

xoxo: back to u.. ops.. i am all over the place.. i employed all her principles.. as far as i can.. those that work particularly well for me.. is sleep pattern.. schedule.. as well as weaning.. SUPER systematic.. eliminates too much 'leave to fate'.. which i really dun like.. till now. i have my frens.. two year olds kids drinking too much milk. way too much. eating very little solids. not good for them.. coz low in iron.. coz bbs' natural stores of iron depletes by 6 mths. must have solids liao. cannot have so much milk to fill up tummy liao.no goo for their development also..

ya . anytime .. i can push u the books.. hmm .. i must 'recall' them from my frens first. hahaa.. my books are all over the place. :p

joanne: let me just be mean.. and tell u to give ur hb a good waking up call?! tell him. this is YOUR child. as in.. HIS child.. he does the job, and that's it liao ah? who carries to term? who has to go thru the discomfort? before comparing to other pple.. tell him.. he will never get pregnant.. and he wil lnever know how it feels.. and to compare u to other pple.. is not nice.. becuase.. he is ur HUBBY.. he should be the one protecting and caring about u.. NOT comparing u to other pple.. and COMPLAIN?
sorry. i know i am not being encouraging.. but he has to know. that a HB does more than just BD-ing.. and complaining.. stand up for uself, ok lady?
sorry if my words offend.. but i am concerned with the stress he is putting on u.. very demanding..:S

chia: loke's blog.. her scan. ULTRA clear leh the machine. can even see her bb's jawline!

lor-kee loke: :p.. ha.. ya. ur scan is soo clear.. ! *can't get over it*..
in office now. no earphones with me. later go back to listen to what ur gynae was saying

loke >> mee siam..hmm..can..but cfm i will turn hungry by 8 if I eat at 6pm. now moi building up this craving..interesting hor? how i can be so easily influenced!

astro >> haha..i super thick skin lor..i wanted to borrow the books from NLB then I realised it's all on loan! and too lazy/poor to wanna buy them online / goto kinokuniya and shop..anyway, we are approaching our glorious 2nd trimester soon..hopefully pp like roxie will feel way better!..so yeah, our pastry party on or not? when huh? i cannot tahan too much unravelling of chaos...at least get a heads-up and somehow apply it to create some sanity seems "wise"..hahaha..

Astro: I know what you mean. It's very irritating that PDs can conveniently attribute anything they can't explain to 'collic'. Can you imagine if all industries have such similar escape routes...

"Mr Accountant, how come the books don't balance?" Mr A replies "Aiyah, collic lah".

"Mr Plumber, how come the pipe still leaking ah?" Mr P replies "Aiyah, collic lah".

you get the pic..

chiapatty >> hahaha, you are farnie!

astro & chiapatty >> is it really necessary to bring your babe to the PD? abit OTT right? GP's not enough???

astro >> lor-kee must have drunk gallons of water b4 the scan!!! *giggles*

ciao babes..i am going for my dental appt now..all the puking over the last 2mths has taken its toll on my teeth...hopefully i don't puke all over the dentist!!

chia: hahahaha.. whahahha. i find it amusing! what u just wrote.. maybe can tweak the joke slightly.. ?

"Mr Accountant, how come the books don't balance?" Mr A replies "Aiyah, lousy qty ledger paper lah".

"Mr Plumber, how come the pipe still leaking ah?" Mr P replies "Aiyah, lousy qty pipes lah".

hahahah. i dunno how come i find it so amusing!.. hahaha. sorry. thunder roaring. i am sot-ing :p

lor-kee's blog already up there in the mass/mess of posts.. *points up*

Hi All thanks for ur encouragement to me, my HB is a very stubborn person. Even he know he is in wrong, he also wont say nice thing to make u happy. So forget it, think he really say out wat's in his mind long ago.

joanne: maybe your hb just need to cool down and reconnect his thoughts. He could be saying those words out of impulse since he find it hard to adapt to your sudden change of hormones after so many many years. Give him sometime n he will adjust his mindset. U take this period to cool down as well since now is the adjusting period for both of u. Both of u juz need time to get used to this phase. Cheer up..ok

Loke: your video is so clear. my hb will nv video it in front of gynae since he is those paiseh type.

xoxo: no wor.. i think PDs know their stuff much better than GPs.. some GPs wanted to give my boy ANTIBOTICS.. for a fever leh!. gosh.. anyway.. they are the bbs specailsit. it is like how we see a gynae. but not a GP for our preg also mah

see u later..