(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

esther: you are now a SAHM?

enrichment class: personally i think LNT is too classroom style and my boy doesn't sit through the whole lesson, probably abt 20-30 mins and he's constantly talking so loud that he scares another boy. i'm looking for one that teaches flashcards interestingly, gross and fine motoring skills, with a bit of gym content.

sleeping habit: my boy seems to know that i've left the bed when i woke up for work the next morning. he will wake up before i've even stepped into the bathroom. *haiz* any mummies encountering the same problem?

esther: I used to send mine to gug on weekdays. But now working I can't. But my weekends are going to be burnt too because I have to work on certain Saturdays.

For waking up at night, I gave up long time ago. He sleeps on the bed with me, and when he cries and wakes up, I'll give him milk. If he still cries and doesn't want to sleep, I will put his head on my tummy and hold him a while, and he will go back to sleep quickly.

Only one time it failed when he was awake for 2 hours in the wee hours. Other times, ok

stlock15: So far only if I go to toilet when he is not in deep sleep, then he will wake up.

I wake up super early (5.25am), and my husband will then sleep with him for another half an hour, before bringing him outside to sleep on a mattress in the playpen with my MIL. I think his habit of sleeping until 8 plus or 9 is helpful.

stlock: ya have been a SAHM since last Apr. MIL can't really manage him coz of her age.

Ya they really can sense very well, my boy also will wake up the same time as us even if we leave the bed quietly he still knows. I nearly fainted coz he slept at 12am to 1am and woke up at 7am.

Glass: So now Elgin attends GUG during wkend?

That's wat I did also he still can't stop crying my last resort will be milk and once he finish his milk I will just put him between us and I carry on with my slp ddn't go and bother
him.

That's really early.. :D

Just wanna check another thing how many hrs does our babies need to slp at this age? Have read an article before they mention it's between 12 to 14hrs a day. Mine is clocking less than 12.

esther
u are right.Our babies need 12-14 hrs a day. I suposed less than 12 is fine if he is still alert aand active in the day...coz i read that if really bbs sleep little, higher risk of accidents...My twins have 2 naps: 930am-11am and 130-3pm. Sometimes they sleep less or more...Night time is 8pm-7am, no waking up at night.

Anyone has managed to stop your child from latching to sleep? can share with me your experience?

I need to go back to work soon, but my child still wants to latch to sleep (for her naps) and I can't leave home...getting desperate now..

dreamz, give milk in bottle. You can express it out. Just let her cry. I think after a few days, they will get use to it.

Long time din come in this thread. How are you all mummies? Any mummies have intention to put toddler to playgroup coming 18mths? My son still under waiting list and any idea how to put up their immu b4 go in playgroup..Coz heard a lot of friends kids sick when we put them in there.

76: My boy only naps once which is from 2.30 to 5 and at nite he will slp ard 11pm to 8am.

Gemson: I'm also thinking of putting my boy in preschool when his 18mths. Now still looking ard.

Gemson and esther, I'm thinking of that too.
But haven't started scouting. Only want one that is nearby, so that it's easy for my FIL to bring him there. Reason is not for him to learn, but rather to give my PILs some time to rest.

Gemson
me also thinking of putting my boys in playgroup before putting them in N1 next year. Am on waiting list for both....For playgroup, starting this Mar if successful, coz my boys turn 18mths in Feb.

76/glass/esther: I already register my son when he 6mth old hahaha kiasu mom. Tat time is my nanny already said help me till 18mths but now my mom help me take care also only till 2yrs so still need to put him. I'm still under waiting list so by March will know got slot or not. I heard most of my friend put thier kids to playgroup or cc very easy get sick. So now start worry...

gemson : wow.
i'm just starting to look! at childcares :p anyway my aim is only to enrol him in 2012.

Can I ask, I'm quite sure my boy's no longer having night terror. But its strange..for the past week he has been either crying (without waking up) then suck him thumb at like 1030pm (occasionally), 12midnight(rare), 4am (consistent), 530am (consistent) then wakes up at 6am.

Unsure if its teething (right bottom molar haven't broken through). I just give him water to drink then he will wriggle back to sleep.

*panda* @.@
am surviving on chicken essense, milo and tea.

Anyone have the same experience?

i don't think he is hungry, as for his last feed i've tried :
1. 240ml milk only.
2. 250ml milk + 1 scoop multigrain cereal
3. 250ml milk + 2 scoop multigrain cereal
but same waking up results.

Hi gal > I have exactly the same situation as you couple of weeks back. My little one will cry at some odd hours in the night, but his eyes are shut and stirring. I'm quite sure its not teething, nor is he hungry. The room temperature is also ok. He behaves like this for a period of time. I think its harder for the mommy because to me, its going back to a consistent period of broken sleep for myself. Unfortunately something we have to endure in the meantime.

I heard that there is another period of time when he is older that he will walk out of his room to go find someone to snuggle or sleep in with..

Babymax : sleep walk? :S He is in his cot though. M trying to off his fan tonight since it's pretty cold today. Hope he sleeps better

:p got a fren who shared tht when a daddy told his son 'dirty, don't touch' when his son tries to touch public toilet bowl. Ever since then the boy refuse to poo/pee at public toilets. Will 'ren' till reach home. The boy is abt 2yo?
Hrmm what's a better way to edu? The papa not incorrect. Neither is the son. :S

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">gal</font>
i'm giving Malcolm Hero Nutritionals Multi-vits and Omega 3 6 9. It's in the form of gummy bear.. so my boys can't stop taking it. but of coz, i limit them to 2 of each per day.

at the same oso giving childlife colostrum and at times Sambuccol. All these in the hope that it would help build their immunity.</font>

gal: i'm giving my boy NUTRILITE Kids MultiTarts Chewable Multivitamin / Multimineral &amp; Kids Natural C - Chewables.

once he's awake in the morning, he will start looking around the house for the bottles and passing to us to give one to him. 1 each for him is the maximum.

same intention: to build up immunity.

Am giving childlife echinacea and childlife colostrum with probotics. Other than that I am giving sambuccol as well. My boy is in infant care and I find that with the above he welcome falls sick now. Even if he gets a cough, it goes away within 1 weeks as compared to last time..

thanks ilovemaxmax, stlock and ting

my friend also shared about sambuccol and colustrum. good to hear that it works! May i ask where do you buy these from and what's the average price?

stlock. honestly, give me gummy bear, i'll finish the whole bottle :p cute la. where did you get this from and price?

xoxo, thanks so much for the long, comprehensive reply. And I didn't know that you could get CP or shingles from someone recently vaccinated! Really appreciate your sharing of your info. You really know a lot of stuff!

Thanks too to the other mummies for sharing on the CP vaccination. My PD doesn't give the combined one - so if I do give it to her it will be CP, followed by MMR later on.

As for supplements, I am giving baby plex mutivits and recently started on nordic naturals children's DHA. I started the multivits cos I find that she gets colds/flu very easily - at least once every 2 months. It still happens though. So I can't really say that I find that it helps.

As for screaming/waking up at night. Gee, I can really empathise. Our little friend has been waking up almost every night. 2 nights ago I decided that I won't pick her up but just soothe her by the bedside - it worked before, but she ended up screaming and crying for more than an hour. And each time she settled down and I went back to bed she woke up again. I really pity my neighbours cos she was so loud I'm sure they were disturbed.

Her eyes are closed so I don't think it's night terrors. She may be teething but I don't think that's the reason. I have no clue why this is happening. And my hubby and I have differing views on how to handle it. I prefer to let her try and settle down herself but he prefers to pick her up (I guess this is one reason why she adores him and rejects me). Sigh. I can only take heart that some of you are experiencing the same thing as me.

Shugar: you want to do sleep training? I am surprised. Thought that Sam falls asleep by himself? There are 2 general methods - gradual withdrawal and CIO. I personally prefer the gradual withdrawal. I had a 1-week plan.

Days 1-2: Stay in room, pat, soothe until he falls asleep in his bed.
Days 3-4: Reduce contact, walk around the room.
Days 5- 7: Walk in and out of the room and be outside when the baby falls asleep. Go in and check on baby before the baby gets distressed.

Hope this helps. Read the Andrea Grace book from NLB if interested.

re probiotics, anyone using biogaia or something? Mine cost $42.80. super ex. Anyone has cheaper source?

this weekend was super drama

found a lump near his groin, so went to pd. Turned out it's an effect of the MRR shot, coz body busy creating antibodies, so the lymph node was swollen.

Took him for lessons, then I think diaper too thick, my husband's shirt kena his pee.

Then today, I didn't feel well, so I went to visit doc. Left him with my father, and he woke up shortly after I woke up, and he cried for at least 45 min until I came back. My father couldn't handle it. My phone chose to shut down again. Milk, balls, go downstairs etc didn't work. I could see his shoulders heaving up and down from far when I came back. Heart pain.

Plus I went on a diaper hunt for mamy poko pants. Went to hypermart, sold out, went to small store, bought all the 3 left. Then went to another shopping centre at night, bought both the 2 left. Then I went to another place the next day, and bought 4. So I swiped all the boys' L sized diapers. Really super auntie.

Now sick and tired, but I can't afford to take MC tomorrow coz I got work review.

glass : oh dear. what a weekend! Elgin must have missed you. Is this first time leaving him alone with grandpa?

Maybe after your work review (if its a couple of hours thing), ask your boss to let u leave early to rest?

funzee: my boy too! like every 1.5/2 months will catch a cold.
and he is not even in infantcare.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">stlock15</font>
hehe.. my boys cant stop taking their gummy bears as well. have to limit lor..

<font color="ff0000">gal</font>
My sambuccol gotten from BP (there's a ongoing BP selling it)
whereas my multi-vits and colostrum I order from online - Vitacost. Ship to SG so cost is cheaper den what we pay for at GNC.

<font color="ff0000">Glass</font>
wow.. wat an eventful weekend.</font>

long time haven't login. Been really busy at work

but it's time I seek some advice on parenting/teaching my kid

observations of my boy these days:
- no longEr the friendly toddler around the block. Doesn't want to smile to beoghbours anymore
- terror during meal times and becoming picky. He used to take quite a variety of food but now he will pick only the food he likes eg eating the salmon but not the rice. Not to mention he loves to play with cutlery n food now
- very bored most of the time so he is pretty much a tv kid at my mum place, he gets bored with whatever toys or books I get him quite soon
- throw tantrums very easily
he is developing his own character now.. I can see very clearly

so am wondering if u all can share any parenting books on how to teach certain concepts like being friendly, sharing, responsibility etc? I wld like to read up so that I hav an idea on how to react to his responses

at the Same time are there resources on how to home school like teaching him how to draw? Read? Brush teeth? Toilet etc? Or even playtime activities? m jus worried I am not doin enough for the kid since at work most of the time. On weekends I can't seem to engage him other than bringing him to malls or park (when not raining) else it will be tv!
and I need to break his habit of watching tv or walkin around during meal times ( I can't blame my mum for takineasy way out) Its tiring to look after a running toddler

as such we were thinkin of whether to place him in playgroup but that is another problem
-

Hi vodkarib,

Well I am experiencing pretty much the same thing. Mine has been a picky eater since weaning (and she only started drinking milk more predictably when she hit 1yo). Same, I find that she is more hesitant when it comes to smiling at others. Generally she does not enjoy the toys she has but insteads prefers to mess around with our things - climb up on the counter and play with our toiletries, pull out my bags etc. I just take it that she is exploring her surroundings. And we spent the last 4 days with her and it was pretty miserable. She also threw tantrums for little things.

Today, she was almost going to throw a tantrum - started stomping her feet. I decided to take the humourous route and joked that she was doing the riverdance. She took it quite well and later on decided to spin around and do her little "riverdance". So I was quite pleasantly surprised by that.

Do you let him play with crayons? Play with pots and pans in the kitchen? Amelie quite enjoyed playing with pots for a while. Crayons can interest her for a few minutes but not much more.

Glass: poor thing - do take care of yourself! The lump near the groin must have been worrying.

Gal: If you find smth that boosts immunity, must tell me! A is also not in infantcare but falls sick v easily. Hers are mostly nose related (cold/flu). I just bot the sambucol but my helper says she doesn't like it. Sigh!

funzee: yup, mine also loves playing with toiletries. He likes to crawl down the bed, then stand at the bedside table and start taking all my creams, lotions and stuff and then arrange them on a sofa nearby, then take them to the dustbin cover, then put them back on the bedside table.

In between, he will take them apart.

thanks! I will. I was feeling better until I went for a briefing and had to walk around a reservoir as part of receeing. Felt like I was overseas. Super cold breeze, and I was wearing super thin exercise gear.

gal: he has been out with grandpa to the void deck before, but first time without seeing anyone he is used to upon waking up.

ilovemaxmax: yeah. hee.

vodkarib, I haven't been reading the latest toddler books. I also don't do much. Usually let him just play with sorting toys, read books. go downstairs. My FIL does most of that. I don't have time for him.

same here, been too busy so hardly ever come in here anymore.

many interesting developments on the home front meant i had a stressful past couple of months. of course most impt being the maid telling us she wants to go back when contract is up in july. anyhow, we managed to convince her to stay by increasing her salary lah. no choice. its the easy way out for us.

Min will start going to playgroup at learning vision changi business park come first week of May. we've thought long and hard and we feel that there is a need to engage her on a higher level than my maid is capable of. she is certainly exhibiting a lot of capacity to learn. so we will bite the bullet where it comes to falling sick in the early days. because even if you start later at 2 or at 3, it's still the same. oh well, we'll see.

gong xi fa cai to all of you!

I read that sambuccol is for 2 yrs and above? can our toddlers take?
Re: kids running around/takign adults things
For us, we put them on hi chair when meal time..we take abt 10 min to feed each twin, they sit there for next 40 min as I perform and entertain them...or i give them pillow and they put their head down on the table to rest while we eat our lunch/dinner.
Also, as they are both runing around now, we close all our bedroom doors so that they only run in the living room/dining room and nowhere else...dun want them to start opening cupboards and knock into glass cupboards and stuff..
So far, for us they havent started on watching tv yet, yes PD din encourage us to do that for premmies. Also interaction is impt...so we engage them by playing hand and foot prints, listeniing to phonics CD, toys, read books, sing songs, hand actions,2 of them play hide and seek with each other, walks downstairs (these few days raining, so cooped up at home), play ball etc..
I have also started to ask them to pick up things and putting them back to the right place.Hope the tips help.just my 2 cents worth.

Hi 76, the sambucol I took says can take 5 ml for 1-6 years old, so I guess it shld be ok. I just tried some myself. Tastes a bit like ribena. It's so good that you take only 10 mins to feed each of the twin. And at least they sit still/rest while the rest of you eat. Amelie will insist on getting out once she is done.

Hippo: I was in similar situation. My helper (for whom I'd been thanking my lucky stars) pulled a fast one on us and wanted to transfer employer for no apparent rhyme or reason. And she hasn't even finished her contract! We also resolved the issue by increasing pay. Good help doesn't last! I am also going to start looking for a school for A, but probably will start her when she is 2. After all I am working PT so that I can spend more time with her.

Glass: can he sort already? Like sorting shapes? Amelie can't and won't do it. Neither will she play with stacking rings or cups. Sometimes also not sure if it's a can't or won't do it. Sigh, only hope she will get round to doing it.

funzee
can u recommend the sambucol that Amelie is taking, please? Coz the one i saw wch is grape flavour says 2 yrs.My boys will also insist in coming out...but after a while, they know we wun carry means no carry...
They can sort shapes liao - circle, star, square and triangle only. The elder twin just circle..so i think they progress at different stage ba... I follow the health booklet though for 15-18mth milestone..so far, they still cant do stacking and climbing up stairs without support.

funzee: yes, he can sort. he got them a few months back. He couldn't sort them at all then, only until a few weeks ago. I think it's interest. I think my MIL or FIL spent a lot of time teaching him how to sort. Initially he just played with them during bath.

I didn't get stacking rings, but I think he tried playing with them at a shoe shop. Wasn't very successful.

They all have their time. Mine only says 'ba' now and calls everyone that. He's supposed to acquire more words, but he seems to have regressed in speech.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Happy Hippo</font>
Your maid's contract only up in July and she already told you she has no wish to continue NOW??? Gosh.. mine is due in May. N i tot it's still early to ask if she wishes to continue working!!

Which country is your maid from? How much you increase her salary to? These days maid salary all go up le. I need to know what's the mkt norm now wor..

And what will happen to your maid when Min goes to playgroup?

<font color="ff0000">76</font>
I got my Sambuccol from here. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4412528.html?1294978740

This version is suitable for our kids. There are 2 versions (UK and US) available.

<font color="ff0000">Funzee</font>
The sambuccol v sweet hor. but somehow my kids love to take it..

<font color="ff0000">Glass</font>
Wow.. ur boy can sort already. Mine still cant. I think coz not much exposure as well.</font>

76 : please share how u feed in 10 mins!!
i struggle with mealtimes. its the most stressful part of my day. lately found a way to get him to eat a bit more which is not exactly good.
put him on the chair, i have a bowl he has one too. same food inside (his food). he feed himself, he feed me, he eat from my bowl. so in a way he is having fun feeding me and himself. so more food goes in :S. this i can do at home and if both me/him are not sick. but when feeding outside. *faint*

so initially when your twins struggled, u let them CIO?

btw what is hand and foot prints?

Ilovemaxmax : thanks. will check it out.

funzee : seems like colustrum and sambuccol is popular.

hippo : let me know how is LV @ CBP.

vodkarib : me neither. haven't done much. :p i tried flashcards, i flash about 3 cards and he runs away. >.< so didn't really do anything.

Ya i also have not let Min start TV yet. The other mummies think its great so im gonna stick with it til as late as possible

ILMM,
I pm u k? Dun wanna openly state here. It is sensitive sometimes. Not to me, but usually to others.

Gal,
Why leh? U wun send him here rite? With these chains u have to see the branch u wanna go to. Cos std can vary greatly. LV @ CBP is their HQ, so is like a model centre. Astro doesnt think LV @ RP is anything to shout about. N i visited LV at changi airport, its not too bad either. So must be a little more discerning.

Thks for sharing. Takes a bit of the guilt out of mr cos I really dunno how to engage this boy anymore. But I think he is definitely watching more tv than other kids.. Gotta let my mum know Liao.
Anyone has comments abt the talentplys playgroups at community centres? My mum thinkin of placing him there for 2 hrs so that she can take a breather

gal
first, got to gve thm fav things to play wif..u need to know wat engage thm. for my boys, its their fav toys, bbs bowls, toothpaste, etc.I get all these ready by my side..and start to give them one by one...coz they thrw things at times, i dunwan to pick one by one..i wait for them to finish throwing then all pick at one go...while they are 'playing' with the stuff, i will give them 'task' e.g tell them to put a ball into a cup...and when they did it, i will praise them and say 'wah, so clever ah'..they are amused coz i use a higher tone to praise them and they know its something good..and they try that 'stunt' again..till they get bored..then they thrwo..then give 2nd 'toy', now i change tactic, and say, put the wheel behnd ur backside..basically give them task to do lah..make them bz...then when they hide the wheel behind backside, u praise them...and say "wah, where is ur wheel?" then my boys will take out from behind the backside...and i will say wah!! u found it!!..something like that lah...keep changing ur lines, tone and entertaining them..when they can play themselves, u stop saying for that brief period (to rest)....then when u think they are acting up soon, u start the cycle again.

you are good! hehe... but you are very right. they need to be engaged all the time. my tyrant as well. her fav now is the sensory bead (what is it called? the twisted wires with the wooden beads?) set from ikea. so she is very proud of herself when she can move the beads around. then she eats faster. when she's bored she wants to get off the high chair and i dont allow that. occasionally i let her off. but only when i think she's under the weather or teething and has poor appetite.

hippo : yalorr. sienz. extra travelling time. CC as in Childcare

76 : wahh.. idea. gosh he got no favourite toy other than his ball. let me think think.

76: The box just says Sambucol leh. I got it at Vitakids, and they have outlets at Paragon, Forum, United Sq. Your younger boy v clever, can sort so many shapes already!

Hippo: good job re TV. I decided to let her watch "educational" programmes, esp when we are not at home. Cos my MIL always watch TV, so might as well let Amelie watch something better for her. Though I think Amelie also watches "ai" in the evenings (argh!). I dislike that the TV is always on when we are at work but not within my control.

Glass: good, at least Elgin plays with the shape sorter. If you want stacking rings, I can loan you, since we live so nearby. You can let him try it out for a couple of weeks. Amelie won't miss it. Hahaha!

gal: not bad what, your feeding tactic. So far A will only accept very soft foods like toufu and mee sua. She also enjoys very flavourful food from outside.

A quick poll - do you let your bubs eat food from outside? How about adult's food that has sauces/seasoning? Cos my little miss is very picky and wants to eat very flavourful food, or the very narrow range of food that she likes. She normally doesn't eat chicken but wanted to eat my chicken from chicken rice, and left over roast chicken from restaurant.

funzee
my mum watches 'ai'too.. i hate that show lor...nearly wanted to write in to mediacorp to complain when i saw no end to this show...i read that its going to end this oct...just tahan...how can the show hog the prime time, introducing new characters everytime? lost the essence. Anywaz, my boys wil be kept in my room to play from 7pm when ai starts till 8pm the time they sleep.

As for outside food, we do let them eat on and off...but not as the main meal...they eat their own food first. if stomach got space, then no harm eating table food...i do add marmite sometimes..but only a pinch of it.and my steam egg, i add a dash of pepper adn little light soya too...for their porrdge, sometiems when too thick, instead of adding hot plain water to dilute, we mix with veg/meat gravy that we eat..so its more flavourful...My boys 17mths liao (but premature 2mths, so actual age is 15mth)....but we still treat them as 17mth lah...so we do let them try things.

Gal
What is CIO?
I bought aqua doodle a piece of plastic mat and gve them tupperware of water where they simply put their hands and legs in adn then make hand /leg prints on the mat..they love it...when i shout 'aqua doodle' now,they will go to my toyogo toy box and drag out that mat.but sometimes, its wet and messy, now i use sponge and let them press on the wet sponge and smack hand and leg onto mat...and i also do it at my 'patio' (aka HDB corridor)...

I will be letting them plant green bean (with lots of my guidance of coz) next week, after the CNY....yay..wat do you all do with your kids, can share share?

76 : CIO - Cry it out :p
wah..so cool. i honestly din do much with my boy :p sing some action songs, read books, let him play with his toys, iphone :p (trying to minimise), occasional flashcards (which he runs away after 3 cards :S), i tried some art and craft with him the other day. super fail.

i took a kitchen roll core, put some uhu stick on it. and tore some colour paper and stick. he took one piece, put through the "hole" and the paper come out the other side. then run away

ideas ideas share share!

funzee: er not v hygienic la my method. :p and messy too.

i do give some outside food. but i try to avoid giving him anything too salty. same like 76, its like to taste only, not as main food.

actually what age can they start taking outside food w seasoning and stuff?

gal
we try not to let the boys Cry it out...My mum stays with us, u know lah, old pple dun believe that..coz she feels that crying will expend energy and will make the kid skinny...also, too much crying will inhale air and make kid cranky...so, she dun encorage.wch i believe to soem extent, coz my younger boy (10kg, 80cm) who cried a great deal when younger is skinnier than my elder boy (11kg, 82cm)

Happy CNY to all! May our kids be obedient and be in best of health and may all mummies stay slim and pretty! Huat ah! Heh...