(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Im a Oct 2009 mummy too and havent been login for a long time. Need advice from here, have any of the mummy here brought their bb attend any trial class at growing up gift or shichida?

xoxo : :S
a lose t-shirt in the meantime?
(she knows how to take off her clothes?)

chawanmushi : will try again. will that piece of paper to absorb the vapour help to make it more like japanese smooth chawanmushi?

night cries:
ahh..... so my boy is not the only one! i could not determine if its nightmares or teething or gas, or maybe growth spurt/hungry (is there one ard this age?).
he screamed hysterically since 2-3 weeks back.

the good news is now is slightly better. past few days he still cry or sit up, got to go pat him or sayang him at 945pm, 11pm, 12midnight, 2am, 3am, 5am. but its better. he goes back to sleep (suck thumb) soon after. (so far so good for yesterday and tonight. i prayed for him to have only sweet dreams and no nightmares)

so.... this phase WILL pass / get better soon.
hang in there, mummies!

Soh : a few of us went for GUG trial. Some have signed up. Didn't try shichida.

Meltdowns :
ya. find that they throw more tantrum now compared to previous months. fussy fussy. will try to distract him or tickle him or make funny sound. (in summary to distract). Putting the object of offence 'out of sight' is a must.

diaper change
i have to wrestling-pin him down most of the time. can't seem to distract him long enough. just tell myself, the screaming will only last 2 more minutes if i can snap that diaper into place. some days he is like an angel.....'change me'.

Fish :
thanks mummies for recommending some fish. will try one of these days.

Egg :
E is allergic to egg (have bad rahes). MMR coming up. I've been trying to give him egg. he taste and know and avoids it. sigh. how am i to challange him to eat egg if he refuse.

have tried fried egg, hard boiled egg, mashed hard boiled egg, only egg yolk, only egg white. rejected. any other tips on how to challange him to eat egg? (am going to try chawanmushi style and stir in egg this weekend)

gal > chawanmushi...when beating the mixture, try not to have too many air bubbles..and strain the mixture through a sieve. the japs use sake and soy - for sure, the effect won't be the same..but i add apple cider sometimes for her. if E is allergic to eggs, i don't think the MMR can be given - check with the clinic?...sometimes the "challenge" for him must be spaced..after a bad reaction, allow some time to pass before attempting it...

funzee > i've let her roam ard the hse in the buff. but that only made the putting on of clothes even worse later..she won't voluntarily ask for her clothes back...and that puts the spanner in the works for us in terms of taking her out and our schedule.. yep, she knows her way around the diaper as well. u put it on, she takes it off. i need meditation to calm down! woohoo..good for you in your part-time arrangements! that would mean more time at home and more time with A.

shugar > i agree fully with the part that they are probably frustrated themselves too and that she possibly is feeling an inability to express herself = tantrums after tantrums. maybe she expects us to read her mind. both ways...both parties are upset/angry/disappointed etc etc

ting > dress him in something long with sleeves and have the winter jacket ready in the diaper bag so you could load it up if necessary when you reach? here's wishing you a happy trip!

ting : fpr Josh i let him wear long sleeve and long pants n normal jacket. and i have his winter jacket on my diaper bag. the moment we reached HK, i make him wear his winter jacket n keep the normal jacket. bringing 2 jacket comes handy. like when we eat in a hotel, we dont need winter jacket, normal jacket will do. but when we're gai gai outside then wear the winter jacket
bring lots of toys to let him occupied in the plane. better if u get the bassinet seat. for us, ipad with lots of pocoyo movies do the trick

I hv 3 tins of 900g Pediasure for sale as my boy change brand.

Letting go at $32 per tin but if u take all 3 tins then can sell at $30 per tin. Collection at buangkok mrt.

Vanilla favor expire Jan 2012 x2
Strawberry favor expire Sep 2011 x1

Serious buyer and no neg pls!!

Contact me via pm.. Thanks

funzee, xoxo and angelina: thanks!! i really hope he will cooperate on the plane cos he been real fussy bb recently! haha, if not, too bad to my sitting neighbours lah! =p

soh: eh, i just sign my bb up at shichida and the class starting tis wkend! hohoho

Oricule, can share how much u pay per term? Which branch u go to? I heard from my friend that his son used to attend shichida love it every lesson.

Hi oricule, welcome to hkg! It's chilly and cold here now so remember to bring some warm clothes for the little one. Have to bring winter jacket like what Angelina said and have it with you on the plane. Some parts of the town probably is not as cold due to tall buildings, but some parts can have rather strong winds. A good wind breaker will be useful. Have a safe flight over.

I.m going back to Singapore for the cny holidays and I am nervous about flight with bubba as well. He's turning so active and fussy and full of opinions and gosh eh. I think I am going to will the plane to fly faster...

My little one is still cruising and crawling. Not walking independently. Should I be concerned? We tried encouraging him, holding his hands, but the minute we let go, he will fall to crawl position. Kinda strange when the rest of his playmates are all walking and he's not....

To all mommies, happy new year and well wishes for all!!!

soh: my son is attending at united sq. they do rotate the teachers sometimes. i think by luck.

funzee: sometimes I wake up to go to the washroom after he cries, and he hears or see me go out, then he will cry super loudly. I think my bladder is going to suffer. I think they choose who to cry to. If she is happy to go back to sleep, then it's actually good in a way so that she will just sleep.

dear all, I just started my work today, and I'm super exhausted after standing and talking for 6 hours with only an half hour break in between. Had toe cramps half way through, had a blister from new shoes, and my butt ached terribly. Now my throat is sore.

Came home early and slept. Now still super tired.

And shucks, my weight keeps climbing after stopping bf=ing. I'm now another 0.5kg heavier within 2 weeks. I seriously cannot tuck my tummy in anymore, it just hangs loose.

Soh:
I cant rem exact. I paid 350+ deposit. N when got cfm slot, then need to pay the 1st term fees of 750+ (for10-12 lessons) and also need to pay an amount for parents to attend a compulsory parents education... Hmm they said this Amt for parents can b refunded if u attend a full yr w them.

Babymax: no worry! Mine also hasn't walk yet! He learnt to stand on his own since 2 mths plus ago but he is not convinced to walk on his own eh.. Loves cruising ard and us holding his hands to stroll... Whenever i let go he will like want to quickly sit down. Is bcos our babies are not confident to walk on their own.. Hmm.. The scady cat kind la! And only yesterday, I try letting go of his hands and encorage him to take a step forward. Kept repeating dun sit, come forward u can do it blah blah.. And clap my hands when he inch one feet.. He was happy about it and took 3 steps before he fell. Hahaha. 3 steps already made me a very happy mom Liao!!! Today he oso did the same, I see that he has problem balancing. Lol.

Can I ask if ur sOn's head is big compared to his body as well? My boy head is at 75percentile but height and weight at 25 only... That could b the reason y he can't balance well cos centre of gravity is higher. Haha

Glass: gambateh! It's like this after a long hiatus! I took quite a while to adjust when I went bk after 6 mths maternity... N truth is I nv really go back to "normal". Heels are just usually kitten heels, mind always wander and cannot stay focus like I used to! Frankly I enjoy my Wk alot until I had my own child. But... This is life Ma.. Jia you jia you

Bbmax: can I ask if there is nursing rooms and diaper change rooms easily found in Hk? Do u have a list of where they are that can be emailed to me? N can I nurse my bb in public covered under poncho? I just asked a Hk fren w a 8 yr old, she said I gotta change diaper for my bb in pram or standing up... But I feel so..... Dunno how to cope like that n would the child feels very cold?

Thanks Oricule! Yeah. My little one just not very interested in walking. I see he can struggle to walk a few steps by himself, but then somehow realise that crawling is easier, so he will flop down into crawl position and off he goes.

Not easy to find nursing/diaper changing rooms. You will find better luck in hotels but generally, not very friendly. There are some facilities like that in posher shopping malls like IFC, Elements, maybe Times Square, etc. I have seen mommies nursing babies underneath ponchos before in Starbucks, coffee places, etc, so I don't think it is a big no no here. I've changed my bubba in a pram before in an open area outside, although not as cold as now. Just have to be super duper fast. Not ideal I agree. Perhaps easier to change indoors.

happy new year 2011 to everyone!!

been MIA for such a long time, so bz wif everything
so, hows everybody n the little one?

just brieftly go thru the page.
Oricule, I had been changing my ger wif her standing position... I find it quite alrite tho. U just tear off the diaper pants on both side, n quickly wear the new diaper pants bak on. Their butts might feel a bit "cold", but trust me... they will hv no complain for a new diaper :p

soh : i am not sure which branch is better. we did a trial @ mountbatten. Think most mummies here enrolled at suntec.

babymax : continue to encourage
. and maybe if possible expose him to see other kids/older kids who are standing/walking/running? maybe... he will observe and go :D
monkey see monkey do?

xoxo: I have 2 additional thots about Dre not wanting to wear clothes. Did she recently learn how to take off all her clothes? If so, could be a novelty factor to her so must keep practising? Or, give her a choice as to what to wear?

oricule: I heard that must practise with baby everyday if you enrol in shichida. Let me know how it goes! Enjoy your trip to HK.

Re sleep & waking up. I've decided to deal with it the same way I did sleep training. I sit down beside her cot and shush her. I find that she settles down better than when we pick her up. We are still getting the waking up but at least no holding her for 1.5 hours though we have to put up with very loud crying for a while.

Gal: I dunno how you tahan so many night wakings. I think I will go mad (as I've confessed before, I have low bandwidth). You let him sleep without patting etc right? Only parental presence? It may be a case where he doesn't know how to fall asleep without parental presence when he wakes up at night. If so, you may wish to let him learn how to fall asleep without parental presence. This can be phased in slowly by pottering around the room, going in and out, and over a few days, you can leave the room and let him fall asleep on his own. For your consideration.

hi all.

sian sian . thought can pop in for a while..

funzee/xoxo: the fussing and not wanting to put clothes on.. is a phase. .. for what reason.. i dunno.. quite commonly seen in bbs/tods..do try to chill.. and not let the cyring get to u.. too much.. and xoxo, dun get overtly disappointed about not being 'able to read' one another thoughts.. impacted ear wax would be good for us in this case :p

ting: shichida.. wah. exp :p and i didn't enrol because i dun quite like the branding..

bbmax/ting: slowly.. they will increase their no of steps when they are more stable.. Bally.. is cheeky. .. he is anxious to get to what interested him. and to him.. crawling is still the fastest way.. walking is too slow for him!
enjoy this phase.. it is quite endearing to see the tod taking the first steps.. afterall,, when they start to run around.. the novelty is no longer there.. i find bally trying to walk.. so endearing.. it is a reactment of when teng was trying to walk too.. so cute.. savour the moments.

funzee: i am v ungina-ford liao.. maybe coz i have grown lazy.. and no more strength.. bally obviously has a case of pacifier dependency.. ( but not as bad as teng last time)...but we 'no strength' to let him cry.. so just automatically give paci the moment he cries!.. ha.. whatever.. when he grows a bit older.. then force him wean then :p

funzee :
thanks for the advice. :p

good news :D past few nights, he zzz v well. so did I. and yesterday he wore mamypoko at 730pm till morning. :D no leak. yeah!!!

I just put A to sleep, and funnily enough, she was struggling all through her bedtime stories, wanting to get off and play. When I put her in the cot, she gave me a bright smile. My best reward for spending the past 2 days with her.

glass: re putting on weight after stopping bfg. I think I'm the first here to stop. And well, I think I put on 2 kg after that. Not that my milk production was high, mind you. I was only meeting half of her requirements. After that, my weight only kept climbing! Sigh.

Astro: why sian? BTW I must say a BIG thanks! for the gift that you gave during the gift exchange. It's perfect for A! We managed to use it to get her to try shape slotting (I say slotting cos we only give her one hole and one shape - more than that she gets discouraged). We already have one but she never showed interest in it. With your new toy, she felt good that she managed to do one at a time. So we are all very pleased.

hey mummies..

you know..despite being on this part of the fence w kids..i can fully empathise why establishments do this. http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=35622

in part motivated by all the recent tantrums/meltdowns/bad behaviour..am reading all i can on toddler discipline. actually, i am beginning to like child psychology...i sure think it is more apt to say, it's parental psychology actually. wahahahaha...

see. it's 6 in the morning. my little terror is already up and bursting w sunshine though she had only slept at 10pm the night before. while i am slowly charging up..she is already tearing thru' the hse with her plastic car. much like a boy (srsly, this little girl doesn't like doll houses, masak masak etc...prefers balls, cars, motorbikes...) i stopped her, and she screams. i took away the offending toy (car) and she goes up several decibels. i turn around and say, NO!...she whimpers. ahhh...finally, 1-0...life is really all abt battles eh? next she turns on her charms...nuzzling u etc. once u are won over, immediately she makes a break for the car again....and the second battle starts....etc etc etc.

funzee > it is novelty alright. and we have to really try not to feed her adrenaline by responding with shock, surprise, disapproval etc. as usual, she did the clothes houdini so we just went thru' the motions of after-bath change and didn't pay any attention to her. instead, we cranked up the a/c - 16deg with three fans thru'out my hse. needless to say, self-preservation took over..and she came crying for her clothes once more. she knows how to take them off but she doesn't know how to put them on! haiz..one step at a time bah. good for u that A is sleep-trained...i have yet to figure this out. every night i am booted into a "crevice" and have to maintain an awkward sleeping posture cos the smallest creature on the bed occupies the greatest surface area!

astro > u can't help but get affected by the tantrums. all part of this parenting journey. trains yr zen-ness...or this is karma. my own mum can't get enough of her glee over this. Dre is like Bally too! she reverts to crawling and thinks it's very funny.

ting > Dre's head to body ratio was also very off the last time we went to the PD. No worries there though. Enjoy yr HK trip!

babymax > welcome home soon! it's raining quite a fair bit here though. i am also thinking of how to manage her on the plane trip soon. hope all goes well.

Thanks xoxo! Oh yes, counting down to the day he made the inaugural flight back to the lion city. And it will be an adventure for mommy......or not...I don't know...some days i think I can do it, some days I just sit and pray for deliverance....

So this week, my little one went to his new playgroup class....it's an interesting concept and maybe for the teacher mommies, you can relate more than I. This school adopts the waldorf philosophy...anyway....the moment everyone suppose to go to classroom, this little one zoom straight to kitchen and slammed on the table....when finally managed to wrestle him into the class, and intro him to teacher, he cries hysterically. If this is his idea of making an impression on day one, I will surely say it works. The teachers are very calm, I think it's the mommies and Grandmas and Helpers who are running after their own respective toddlers...absolute mayhem.....but strangely after a while, the toddlers started playing quietly and even listen to a story during circle time....oh well, day one of school...my little one loves the school bunny in the garden...at least something to be happy about...

Thanks Astro too....I think he is just lazy...think crawling is the most efficient way of getting from pt a to pt b.....hahaha....but will continue to monitor...maybe better he can't walk yet, else flight will be even more challenging......

funzee, I hope the weight climb will stop. Actually I'm not so affected by the weight climb. It's more of the tummy that seems to get bigger. My aunt asked me recently whether I was pregnant with no.2 when I wore a babydoll top. I went for 2 slimming sessions, and it didn't seem to work.

xoxo: sounds like you got a very good solution to get her to want her clothes back!

miemie: hi! good to see belle in the same class!

ergo baby carrier > any of you using it? Is this any good for them right now? i've long given up the bjorn and the sling is just not possible cos of her squirming...appreciate any feedback.

xoxo: I've given up on carrier and stroller.
Simply just carry using my arm strength.
Plus he likes to walk, so I'll just let him walk a little before he gets tired.

glass > i can't carry her much longer...she squirms like anything but if i let her walk, she will just run off wherever she wants and it's getting harder and harder to chase and manage her. lately, my thumb has been having these shooting pains...it's rather intense so i think it's my body's way of saying it's under strain.

Xoxo: use manduca. I borrowed fm my cousin for Hk use. Is damn good! Can't feel a thing n weird enough. Kd is guai guai inside.

xoxolight
do carriers have any weght limit? i bought one last time, but only used less than 5x..even tthen, i am not the one using...hubby uses it...hahahaha...then when we decide to use it more often, found out the packaging says for certain weight limit only....so, now its a white elephant.

Hey mummies!
I have been MIA-ing here for so long...hahah since most of u are on fb mah! Just decided to pop by cos I am pretty bored now. Doc gave me hospitalisation leave to rest before my csec on Wed. Can't believe I am popping sooooo fast!

Hee just heading in here to say hi....post too fast and furious. A bit lazy to respond...what a confused pregger.

hi folks, my PD recommended that A go for chickenpox jab. I am in 2 minds whether or not to give her the jab. It's not a money issue, more like I feel it's not necessary as I think chicken pox is largely not a life threatening illness. Just want to find out if you are giving your kids the chicken pox jabs too?

funzee
my boys had their chickn pox jab with MMR at 13mths..think its called MMRV? PD recommended, so i just went ahead...chicken pox brings with it lots of inconvenience - pox marks for the child, discomfort, parents taking leave from work, kids need to stay away from school anad prob exams...all practical issues that we need to think of...in any case, takign it doesnt cause harm too...so, we went ahead..

Hi Funzee > My little one had his chicken pox jab last week. I was in 2 minds about it because it does not seem to have lifetime immunity and therefore I wonder if I'm having him jab for the sake of jabbing. However, after that I turned around when in HK, there are more cases of little ones having chicken pox at playgroups, kindies, etc...so decided that at least I have the assurance that he will have some form of immunity against it...not fool proof but just an added shield...that's the way I looked at it...

Hope it helps.

Glass : abt egg allergy. is Elgin gg for MMR? or delayed?

i called the clinic today and they still ask me to go down to let the doc assess and if its allergy the doc most likely will refer to KKH to jab.

ting > thanks for the tip
i'll check that out as well.

76 > different carriers and slings have different features and weight limits. most are able to do up to 11kg or beyond, though some are better fitted for infants and others, for toddlers. i used to use bjorn and that's pretty decent for small infants. i am now looking for a toddler carrier...so far, ergo seemed to be what i want as it has less padding which would work well for SG among other things. but ting has suggested manduca so that could also work since it allows cross-snaps at the shoulder so the weight gets more distributed. both seem good in that the pt of support is not at the crotch but from the natural sitting position of the baby....which carrier are u using?

tien > *waves*...have a safe and blessed delivery! can't wait to see No. 2!!!

funzee > we are not vaccinating, even though i am not immune to CP as i've never gotten that before - and i'd a most stressful time last year over the CP incident. when i was first exposed to it, i was determined to get the varicella jab as soon as we can (when Dre is at least 12mo). however, further reading shows that the varicella immunisation has a breakthrough rate of nearly 20% in more recent data with 1 in 5 contracting a (mild) form of CP right after - i've checked it with her PD and we had discussed this, among other vaccines; there is also a corresponding increase in the likelihood of adult shingles even in 5yo were seen. this is a live virus vaccine made on aborted fetal tissue (something i wholly disagree on)..and the duration of immunity it offers is around 5-8 years (vs naturally acquiring the virus which offers almost lifetime protection), versus the duration the vaccine manufacturers first published as 11~20 years when they began offering it. when Dre was first born, my friend brought her 9yo son who was just vaccinated from varicella to visit the newborn and I in the hospital. my PD was with us (thankfully) and he immediately shooed them from the room. u might want to know that if yr child has been recently vaccinated, u might also run the risk of developing shingles yourself...and that's the reason why the PD shooed them...cos for pp who have never had CP, they run the risk of developing CP. for those who have had CP, they may get shingles when exposed to a recently-vaccinated fellow. last bit, if u must give this varicella jab...u might want to consider opting to give it as a standalone jab rather than combine it with MMR (so it becomes the MMRV jab)...high fever is observed 1 in 5 of kids taking the MMRV vs 1 in 20 for the standalone etc etc. i am not the most vaccine-friendly parent there is..and i've long learned that crowds/places/people are simply risk factors. all that's to be balanced against what u become aware of...but i am aware of how polarising these views can be so just take it that it's just my personal opinions and risk-taking..if yr PD is anything like Dre's...have a debate with him/her to find yr comfort zone. :p

gal > yeah...phew!!!

xoxolight
i am not using any carrier for the moment. My boys are darn active and i cant afford to buckle and unbuckle the carrier to let them come down if they so want to.. I usually bring 1 stroller and put my elder twin inside, while we carry the didi coz he is lighter at 10kg+..soemtimes they walk, so not so taxing on our hands.. Esp when we dun bring maid out, only me and hubby, cant have 2 strolllers...coz we got to think of worse case scenario: that is if both of them do not want their 2 strollers and wana walk..then we have to manage 2 strollers and 2 walking bbs...wahhaha, i cant imagine that happening...

Hello mummies.. My hubby is going into full time tutoring. He provides tutoring for Maths for secondary and primary. Let me know if you know anyone keen.Do pm me. Help me spread the word... Thanks!

I'm not gg to try n catch up here but saw xoxo mentioned abt ergo!

Xoxolight,
I hv e carrier since my no. 1 came along. Both my hubby n i felt tt its v gd as it spreads e weight evenly on e waist n shoulders. I brought my then 2 yr old son to HK then n had no issue wif backaches while doing long shopping trips while he naps.
Currently e sarong sling is still used 99% of e time. Once my hub used ergo for RN n she fell asleep in tt n he wasv pleased.
I've lent it to py 4 her HK trip. IMO, its a v gd carrier. Wait 4 py to give her review since she oso has bjorn.

Re sleep training: er im just wondering, for those who hv tried this... how long do u let yr bub cry it out before you go in n do something??

76 > Dre doesn't guai guai sit in carriers as well..that's why the sling on its own is unsafe. yah, i can't imagine u have to manage 2 strollers and 2 walking babies!! btw, there's a playgroup for multiples..are u with them? i think it's alot of fun there!

jRRt > SF likes the ergo...i have no preference honestly. would bring Dre to test it out at TFFY and see how it goes!

76 > One of my ex-gym friends have twins and they have this playgroup thing going on just for multiples...so they hold these sessions on a rotation basis at home. quite fun but too bad it's exclusive for folks who have twins, triplets or more!!!

shugar > hope yr sleep training goes well!

carriers > oooh there's a sale going on at square 2 for slings and carriers...i hope it's good, going to squeeze time to check it out!!

Hello everyone.. Long time nvr post but still will come in as and when..

Just wanna check something have any mummies introduce rice? My boy have been eating porridge and his growing abit sick one his porridge. And realize something my boy is so typical Chinese he prefers mee sua to pasta. Tried pasta twice and give me the disgusted face.

Another thing he has been waking up in the middle of the night and cry, sometimes he does goes back to slp after crying but sometimes I have to carry him to our bed and slp between us then he stop. Anyone encountering the same?

Hi Esther : I'm so glad you posted the question because I have exactly the same situation recently re sleeping. or rather waking up.

My little one has also been waking up in the middle of the night. He's not teething (because nearly all teeth come out already except for the huge molar at the back), not cold, not warm, not hungry, not having wet diaper, not dreaming (because eyes open and alert), not wanting to play either. I just don't understand what he wants exactly. Could it be separation anxiety? I really don't know. I do know I'm exhausted...WAH.

About rice. Well, I have tried couple of tablespoons, but so far, he has no strong opinions about porridge or rice so ..... but then again, to put things into context, my little one goes on detox every couple of days/weeks...so maybe not the best benchmark...

rice: i've been feeding rice to my boy when we dine out. so far so good. just that after a few spoons, he grows tired of chewing.

enrichment class: i've brought my boy to LNT at parkway parade. but somehow feel that the class content is not what i'm looking for. any other classes that mummies can recommend?

Babymax: think my boy is dreaming coz his eyes is closed. Or maybe teething coz his teeth seems like popping out all at the same time.

Both of us really can't figure out wat's wrong with him.

HB has been telling me to cook rice and soup for my boy's meal but i'm abit reluctant to do so coz my boy gets constipation very easily. If he nvr clear his bowels daily, he will start to have fever, running nose, cough.

Enrichment class: My boy is currently attending LNT, he has attended kindermusik and GUG. I know some of the mummies are sending their babies to these 2.

Just to check any mummies sending their babies to any enrichment class or preschool during weekdays. Thought of joining coz his super bored at home.