(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

shugar, have PM you on the swimsuits...

dreamygal>> dun have leapfrog there leh.. mostly fisher price toys..

those who wanna make a trip down, i would just like to warn u that dun expect departmental standard.. the boxes are relatively dusty, definitely must wash before letting baby play.. but there are good buys.. starting from as low as $5..

shugar : Hat. I've got him a swimsuit le. Is your swimsuit thermal?

mie : I meant i have been waiting for ppl to hold leapfrog spree at the overseas spree section but recently don't have. So, thinking of getting her something from the mattel sales.

Hippo: can! hahaha you PM me your email addy?
i send to you.

Dreamygal: Hat i be placing order and let you knw when stock comes. Swimwear... i think its normal ones... gotta check that with the supplier.

Hi folks! I braved the Taka fair today with Amelie and one bulky stroller. Hahaha! Nothing very exciting to buy, just stocked up on the daily necessities like wet wipes, detergent etc. Spent $100 at pigeon so that I can get a free bath thermometer (mostly cos it's cute ). Hahaha. A bit bored with the fair, though I still spent 2 hours there.

Thought of buying the combi mug but didn't see any indication that it is BPA free - any idea?

Rashule is too late to get at weaning stage. It is most useful when the baby is very young. I have the Roanju, would like to get the cover so that I don't need to buy another high chair. But if the cost is more ex than the IKEA chair, I might go for the IKEA.

As for thumb sucking, I have tried to replace that with a pacifier, but she doesn't want! I have tried more than 5 times I think. Her thumb helps her to self-soothe. Is that a bad thing? The best way to help her fall asleep is to let her suck her thumb and hold her tight. Sigh.

PY, do you have a friend called Midnight Blue? Bumped into her at Bishan MRT this evening.

Hiya! Amelie has been trying to settle down since before 7pm. Kept waking up every 30 mins, and then 15 mins. I was trying to stop her from sucking her thumb. My maid took over, let her suck thumb, went into deep sleep. Sigh.

Experienced mums, do you think thumb sucking is bad? I tried giving pacifier but she doesn't seem to know how to suck it. Have to hold it in place and after a few secs, it will drop out. Tried giving her a toy or teether before but she can't aim it well into her mouth. I suspect she will start trying toes next.

PY where do you stay? If I am off another day I might try to see if can meet up with Midnight Blue (didn't even get her name, hahaha!).

funzee, i stay SK haha.. today i went out with her to IT fair. i didnt go up. she did haha she told me dun go up it's madness upstairs! lol..

her name is Rachel

astro: the highchair that teng is sitting on... my nephew used to have it. i think its quite good.. do u remember what's the brand of the highchair?

ask u all ah.. 4th month got growth spurt? Angel very unsettled these few days. every two hrs want milk.. but cannot finish. then she cannot sleep long also. n keep wanting to cry when she's sleeping.. could it be due to the diaper rash?

bo bian.. this afternoon i literally did my work on the laptop single-handedly.. carry her on one hand while she sleeps and type with the other hand...

Funzee: Riona too keeps on taking her thumb - specially when she's hungry or sleepy. at night, she doesn't cry for milk. she starts sucking her thumb. i have to keep checking on her at night. if she's taking thumb, then i feed her. its such a headache!!

Personally i prefer her NOT to take thumb. My brother and sis had this habit when they were small and it took quite a while for them to get rid of this habit. they were almost 4-5 yrs, when mom had to try so many things for them to get rid of thumb sucking.

I try my best to not let her take thumb. but sometimes when we are outside and i remove her thumb from mouth, she cries like anything. then i let her take it. now since i have started working, my MIL who's taking care of her is more lineant in all this. she doesn't stop her from taking her thumb :-(

I have heard from many that letting kid take thumb is better than pacifier. How I wish Riona doesn't take both these things!!

oh yeah - and off-lately her toes have also found way to her mouth!! but its very cute to see them biting their toes.. :)

Hi all-just found this forum and thought to join for some advice and support! Some background information - Singaporean working mum now based in HK with baby boy born here in HK as well. He is now coming to 5 months.

Recently, he decides that he does not like his bottle after all, and cries like no tomorrow when comes to feeding time. Sometimes, he can go without milk for 6 hours. And if he drinks (I could buy lottery if he drinks it awake), only takes 30ml. Is this normal? I'm going crazy thinking of ways to overcome this. The last resort is to wait until he's sleepy or sleeping and then dream feed him, but isn't that a bad habit to start?

Then yesterday he decides to start crying before he sleeps, so I'm not sure what is happening. I thought he could be teething, but nothing.

Help!

Hi babymax!

Your boy could be in early stages of teething... Off late my bb fusses quite a bit to n I suspect it's his gums. Maybe u can try putting his pacifier Or teether in the fridge and give it to him to chew when it's cold to soothe his gums? I find this calms my bb down a bit.

Thanks Shugar! Is it normal that his appetite drops so much? Max absolutely adores his fingers compared with the teat and its always does seem like battletime now for feeding!! I just don't know how to feed him when he is like that....as you can tell, I'm not a happy mum at the moment. :)

Tried feeding him cereals as well. Sometimes he will take 2 spoons and be done with it. Other times, did not want this as well.

Oh hmm but his weight is ok? My bb had a phase where he'd take about 60-80 ml then not want anymore. My pd suggested to stop when he refuses milk then play with him for a while like 15-20mins n try resume the feed to finish it. It worked for us!

shugar: angel seems to be in the same phase now! the 200ml feed is only quite limited to twice a day now. the rest of the feeds.. no battle.. but a lot of wastage!! the maid see already look at me and ask me if i want to throw... wheni ask her to drink.. she looked sianz.. too bad i can't drink.. else i'll drink it. hahhaha...

Shugar/loke : Lele too. I find that he is not drinking as much. Latch for a while and will stop, sometimes he even start to cry. Haiz...

These 1 week, he started waking up several time at night, not to drink but look for me. When he papa carry, he will start to stage drama. Only when he hear my voice, he will calm down and start to drift back to sleep. If hearing my voice still can't do the trick, then i will stuff my nip into his mouth.

I also suspect that his gum is causing discomfort, so have been monitoring his gum everyday. No white spot spotted yet.

girls, my boy too same.. now drinking 150ml but this 2 days cant finish always left 10, 20ml..

today everybody chiong to isetan pte sale, so quiet..

i never chiong the isetan scotts pte sales.. i went to the one at katong.. din buy much la, bought a bumbo for my fren ($49.90) and the hello kitty weaning ware ($81.75) and some beauty products.. never buy much also spend $252.. im so dead.. that is $487 in 2 days!

mie: din buy much and $487 for 2 days.. hahaha.. :D my spending will start tml.. will be going to taka baby fair and probably to expo as well, HB tot of getting the baby monitor that can be accessed anywhere by just logging in to a particular IP address..

Lok yang toys sale

Guess what? I ask my hubby to go to the lok yang toy sale to see if got things to buy for Kyle. And..... He had been there since 1+ till now! -_-""" think ask him buy toys for bb is the smartest move I ever made. Everything else he always tell me waste of money. he also buy quite a number of toys and will call me every few minutes to tell me what he saw.

Damn!! It seems like very good for those their bbies haven arrived yet leh! U know last time I wanted to buy the fisherprice rocker 100+ there now selling 30 Nia!!

I really miss all the fun shopping in Singapore!! Things are much more expensive here in HK for sure. Are you girls staying in the east? I used to live at the east.

ting>> well done! hahahahah
1+ till now, the warehouse very warm leh.. but i can fully understand the reach there dowan to leave kind of feeling.. if possible, i wanna buy every single different item back lo..

bbseed>> tmr expo got wad sale? i feel like making another trip down to isetan to buy the munchkin stuffs.. 30% off RP leh..

HUH!!!! $30... *tui chest* I paid $139 (not exactly I pay lah, HB paid).. Ting I rather not know just to make myself feel better (zi qi qi ren).. :D

babymax: me live in the east..

mie: expo baby fair
http://www.singaporeexpo.com.sg/exponews/mar10/images/babycare-festival.pdf

munchkin tat time saw their spoon quite cute if i remember correctly think the spoon like got indication whether the food is too hot but din buy coz sell in pack of 6.. buy already the remaining spoon dunno wanna give who..

tempted to go to the toy fair leh but changi to lok yang, HB will ask me to drive instead.. shall see how if got time thn go.. sunday gonna get new phone (iphone), i know i'm kinda late..

shugar: wat bout the beanies? when should i give u a comfirmation?

babymax: I agreed wif ya, feeding too much = worries; no feeding = more worries!
My ger was in the same situation when she is 3month+... then PD tell me not to stress up, just take it easy. Baby will hv milk strike now n then, just make sure they hv some fluid in within the interval then will do. So wat i do now is just let her be, if cant finish... I tried in another 30mins to 1 hr time. But today, my maid commented my ger been drinking alot n w/o breaking... which make me pause n think, am i over feeding my ger ah? cos the tummy is so round :S

bbseed>> the baby fair is not next week ah? i thot is next week start?

eh i also drove from changi to lok yang yesterday, and back ok! hahahahah
my office is at the furthest end of singapore!! actually quite fast de la, ECP AYE all the way..

bbseed>> you bought the LG mat from SSW? im thinking if i should buy leh.. coz they saying price adjustment in april.. have been browsing that BP since this morning..

mie: ya ah, blur me keep thinking its tml still tell HB not to go office tml as schedule tight.. :D

in that case "toy fair here i come" will update u all wat i grab..

ya coz WOK (initially wanted to get from them)waiting time too long (mid - end of apr) and gotta depend on supplier availability.. i wanted to buy coz dun wanna let my boy play and turn on the bed read too many cases their little one fell down (scared).. as for the price adjustment dunno whether true or not, but since I already had my mind set to buy so din really think tat much on tat.. but gotta take note of their delivery time think sotong mum was the one, she waited the whole day for them to deliver the mat (from like 10am to 6pm).. so now i'm giving them the benefit of doubt..

you also working in the east, me too..

bbseed>> woohoo! buy buy buy! update us ok! post ur pic in FB and show us.. are u in my FB list ah?
you working in the east too! i thot u stay east nia.. where in the east?

ILMM>> the warehouse sales mostly FP toys lo.. got barbie dolls, hot wheels... nothing caught my fancy except the big boxes of FP toys!
im super glad i din buy any FP toys at taka fair lo.. heehee

Alexis : Yeah. So strange. My PD says make the feeding times fun. I just looked at him going like "You've no idea!!" I switched on the TV, played music, act like a clown, and my boy - just drink 10ml!!! I feel like telling my PD to try feeding him and he can teach me how to make the feeding times fun...

wah just went out a while so many posts!

feifei: the sneakers are all sold out...supplier has no more stock. n also most of the hats i posted in the first batch no stock too. so i be bringing in those that i posted pics of the 2nd time.

Alexis: hats i will be bringing in those i posted...let you knw once i get the stocks!

Need some advice. Am travelling to Bangkok for 4 days and I was wondering how I should pump n store ny milk if possible?
1. Er if I do manage to pump, I suppose I can try to keep the last 2 days in the fridge so that I can bring back?
But does airline allow u to bring milk m cooler bag inboard?
If not I don't suppose I can check in right?

Or is it really impossible to save the milk?;)
I sim Tia the milk that I am potentially going to throw away.
Anyone has experience?