(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hippo!

I wanted to call you last week for a swim but something happen at home which result in mil don't want to take care of Reagan and is not going to live with us anymore. (I'm not complaining though) Hahaha you finally surface ah... I was wondering when you are going to do that. Ya, things are getting so much better! Your hands and legs very fast hor? So fast interview?! My plan to go back to work need to put aside since mil not willing to look after Reagan.

See?! Once you come out, thread is moving much faster!

Tien,
Yes! She's very old fashion. Too old fashion I would say but most of the time I will just keep quiet if I don't agree with her. However if it gotta to do with my children, I will speak up.

You jia you on your latching. After all that you have gone through, you will succeed!

chynle,
I used those fm farlin ear cleaner with lighting and i managed to dig out many big pcs of nose wax cos there r light to enable u to c more clearly cos the airways r so tiny. It is supposed to be for ear but i am using them for nose instead. Those grunting sound that most of u heard fm bb are due to nose wax as it is blocking their airways.

hippo,
U are being missed by everyone! Great u r back

gal,
I normally burp for a while(maybe less than a min :p)and if no burp then i will forget abt it. Cos bf bb suppose to hv less wind fm wat i noticed. If hv, normally it will be heard within a min. Not sure abt others, but i simply no patience to burp for more than 5mins.

astro,
my bb oni started to gain more weight fm 3rd wk onwards as he practically increased by 100g a day. His weight jumped fm 3.4kg to 4.8kg in 1mth check up. I do not include his regained birth weight etc. I just took his initial birthweight to calculate so nt so complicated. Tink YH shld gained at least 1kg bah i guess since he is abt same weight as my boi last time.

my bb is 5 weeks old. may i know how often do my bb need to see a PD? my son jz saw a PD one week after discharge fr hospital, n in his 1 mth, to do the 2dose hep B jab. the nx appt shd b in his 3rd mth, is it necessary to keep seeing the PD? can we go GP to get vaccination?

hippo >> i like yr style - shoot straight from the hip, give no hoots...and most certainly, yr rants! good to see u ard, cos i certainly doubt we will have a "post-natal" yoga session....gg back to work? join me, i am already "back to work"...so much for SAHM. but i am also that..guess i just cannot say no to the lure of $$$, or rather, got so terrified of all the hospital fees that i just got cracking immediately. oh, went back to my gynae...told me i had a natural tear + she did epi for the part leading to the A so for natural tear, it is not expected to be so nice..she had a look, healing nicely in her words. whatever..guess gotta live with e less than perfect V now. :p

annette >> warm liao..cannot also. nvm, this girl..needs lots of patience. now gotta tell myself i have an abundance of patience...which actually, i don't.

Gal: your nightmare is 3-6pm mine is 9pm - 12am!! Like yesterday I started latching around 9pm and it's all the way till 10.30pm. Breasts jellified again! YX still keep crying for milk. Yesterday gave fm but today I more calm. Give her ebm 40ml first then 30ml (I'm damn niao with ebm). Hubby tried the feeding and now patting her to sleep (one main complaint I hv of my CL is this patting to bed habit.) Usually she will
suckle to sleep but now becomes really fussy. Once again sleepiness...

Sotong_mum: ya will jia you!! Already set the next target as 3 months bf-ing. Cos passed one month already! Latching is much better but still dun dare to try other positions.

Loke: thanks! Wil check the pm!

Btw mummies, my nips are still sore as in not swollen, just feeling of being pulled n tugged. Is it normal?

hi ong thanks will look for the ear cleaner. thats what happen to my girl, she has alot of big pcs wax in her nose. so annoying... is so challenging removing the nose wax, especially she keep moving and some are quite hard so need to soften it by wetting it.

normally how long will the growth spurt last?

Jrrt>> Now, my mum is also at my place but she's returning on Sunday.

Ong>> Thanks, got your PM on the maid agency.

ddnikz>> For me, I definitely need a maid now. Dont think inlaws can cope with another child, so I'm looking around. Hv seen some bio-datas and hopefully can find someone before I return to work.

shugar>> hugs, can understand how you feel as I do not like unannounced visitors too. Already very tired taking care of baby, expressing milk and coping with the what-nots.. if I hv time, I prefer to rest than to "entertain" relatives/guests.

ting>> my bouncer is no brand one, not auto, and can be easily purchased from baby stores.

annette>> my boy also cry during bath time. Now, it's considered better already. In the first 2 weeks, he cried so badly when I felt my mum was bathing him so gently and doing such a good job. Now, guess he's getting used to it and has more or less mellowed down (which is good news to me as I will be bathing him from Monday onwards.)

sotong,
hahaha... i hve yet to go swimming til now. gynae just gave me the go ahead. everything's healed well. womb has shrunk to pre-preg size. so will try n start exercising. cant wait to go cycling agn...

yah i got the call 2 days ago. "erm, we need u to come in for multiple back-to-back meetings..." i thot i already saw the whole organisation last time already??? knn... they fired the previous interviewer!!!

xoxo,
has little miss tyrant taken the bottle yet?

astro,
i wld think u calculate weight gain from birth weight. ... dunno?

loke,
happy birthday! sorry a bit late reaction... hehe

ong,
haha... tks! hows bb keith doing? so there's a contraption for clearing bb's nose? i have been sneakily picking her nose with my pinky hehehehe...

sotong,
oh yah just remembered abt the nepia diaper. hahaha i loser like u lah. been using since day 1 n also dunno it had that urine indicator. u see the 3 lines in front? brown colour right? the turn blue when its wet. damn funny. i told my maid and we laughed ourselves silly lah. u know how she check? she take out the whole diaper, put in her hand. if its heavier, then means got pee. cos its so dry u cant tell its wet right? bwahahahaha...

harlows!

wah many posts! must be cos of your re-emergence, hippo
weii.. i hope i wasn't the one who irked you and made you go into hiding!!

i just got back from vivo at 10 just now, just put both kids to bed. am glad glad glad that it's been more than 40 days and now can just anyhow go out.

baby's weight: hmm.. my baby seems a little heavier.. at 5 weeks exactly she was 4.86kg. the vain side of me hopes that she doesn't grow up to be chubby2 like hubby's & MIL's & SIL's) body type. the other side of me is just plain happy that she's gaining good weight on my BM alone. ok lar.. shall not think abt it too much. not that i have any control over her DNA make-up and genetics anyways.

xoxo: your situation reminds me of my friend's plight with her own baby 3 years ago. her baby was 3 months when she went back to work and she had not intro the bottle prior to that. the poor boy of course rejected the bottle and went on hunger strike etc etc.. but in the end, he did take the bottle. but only after many2 days of struggles and hunger strikes and sulking. so i guess it all boils down to how much you really want audrey to take the bottle now. if you need her to be on the bottle (cos you're going back to work for eg) then i guess you just have to grit your teeth and put up with all her fights and struggles and tears and hunger strikes. if you're flexi abt her taking up bottle, then i guess you can save the bottle (and the fights) for another day.

re burping of baby: i go through the motion of burping baby but if it doesn't come after a couple of minutes i just let it go. esp if it's the night feeds. don't have the patience to do it for 10 minutes, what more 20/30 mins. how do you stand it??

growth spurts: astro, me not sure if growth spurt only at night or throughout the day.. but logically speaking should be all day lar rite..? but since all babies are different, i guess anything is poss. you just never know what's 'normal' and not with babies lar.. that's what makes them so difficult. if only they each come with a manual yah? hee hee

py: menses? cld it be your remaining lochia? i did exclusive pumping with adil for the initial 2 mths rem? and my menses did stay away. i only got my menses when adil was ard 9 mths (of course, 1 cld argue that it might also be because i did direct latching after the first 2 months.. i dono). you monitor lar. if it goes away and doesn't come back again, it might just be your lochia still.

routines: eh i see you all talk about being on track and off track wrt the routine. i think don't have to follow strictly the time right? i know i don't. some days i'm early, some days late. some days can be a few hours off even. but as long as i follow the schedule loosely, i'm happy. baby oso seems happy (definition of happy being not fussing more than nec). don't let the schedule stress you. we all don't need another stressor to add on to everything else that's going on with baby yah? must chill ok? rem that babies have acute 6th sense abt them. if you stress, they stress then they will be harder to settle. vicious cycle lar liddat..

bathing baby: hmm.. i dono how you all bathe baby now. still holding on to baby in the tub? i've stopped holding baby in the tub during bath times after the first 2 days. i use an inner cradle and just lay baby there. after the 1st week, i don't even put her in a bath. find it so troublesome to fill tub with water and wait and drain it out at the end of the session esp when 1 haf to bathe and dress 2 kids and doing it all alone. to save me time and effort, i just plonk baby in tub (on the fabric inner cradle) then i just use the shower head and give her a thorough clean-up with the shower head, soap her up, then rinse with the shower head again. find that it's more hygienic too since baby doesn't stay in her bath water. i always get paranoid abt her peeing into the water and me not noticing it and then using the pee water to wash her. (believe it or not, i have actually seen my fren's baby do this! :S the mother turned away for a nano-second to squirt out the soap and the boy fountain-peed into water. mother didn't see and scooped the water + pee pooled in between his legs and washed his body. gross!! of course i tried to stop her and told her abt the pee i saw, but think that time she flustered cos baby squirming and wriggling oredy, she just half listened and half-intentionally ignored me just so to get it done and over with.. faintz!)

astro: wahh.. $100?!! who knew BM oso can fetch money huh?
liddat you can call doris again lar.

hippo: don't say gloating lar.. we're all here to share share.. lift one another up when the other is down. am glad to hear all is going well on your side

like astro said la we share with no ill-intentions. as long as we not putting one another down i appreciate all the sharing.

i think we all have to think positively and just read with an open mind. if don't like/not useful then either ignore or shoot it down lar. if useful, take it and learn. if not relevant, read and store for future use..? then everyone happy. and thread oso moves faster and i have more reading material to keep me occupied during the latching sessions. haha!

astro: i ignore the loss and re-gain to birth weight. just take birth weight and go from there.

loke: happy birthday! may all your wishes true!

okies, till tmr ladies. am in desperate need of water. my throat is still out of whack - sore and scratchy. and today it feels extra dry. hope i don't pass the infection on to either one of my kiddos. god bless me if i have to take care of sick kids next week. hubby going to bangkok for some fitness courses/convention so will really be alone. thank goodness MIL already sms just now say she wants to have adil sleep over their place for a few days.

hmm.. ok going to shut up now. goodnight allz!

wahh.. just realised that to read the posts (and only quickly skimming tru at that) and compose a reply took me more than an hour?!!! i must be getting old! brain is so darn slowwww!

Tien : *pat pat* I understand the reason for niao-ness on EBM. me too. I rather waste FM than EBM.
we will get through this...somehow ..soon

nepia diaper:
just curious the 3 line indicator u mention..can show that the diaper has been pee-ed once. or it shows..the diaper hold pee until full already?

nose shit :
er.. i rarely clean. if i do use cotton wool, put water squeeze water out and roll to thin pointy style. then slowly dig out the shit. i dun dare to go too in..
but..most of the time..his nose shit will dry up and he will sneeze it out on his own.

bluesea: ILs have not come over since that episode on Wed. Hb told them I needed some space. It really feels good to get a break from them. (Although I know they are itching to come over.)

Hippo: hello!!!
nice to see/read your postings again.

Famela: wah, me also hoping that I can bring baby out, without any fuss. Although my MIL is not keen for me to bring him out till he's 4-5 months old... Haiz, she's vy paranoid one. :s really dunno how to get her to stop being so.

Gal: the 3 lines indicates that the diaper is wet. You can see... If not very wet, sometimes the brown line will not be turned totally blue.

Nose cleaning: sometimes the bits will come out when he cries. If not I use corners of tissue paper and get it out. :p

Morning mummies!!
Celebrating little success again! YX managed to latch lying down!!!! Super uber happy! Problem is I dunno how both of us did it and I'm not confident that we can repeat the stunt again! Should hv taken picture to commemorate!!!! Might nv happen again! Now just happie n going to knock out like her.

Gal: ya jia you together! But becos of thus 70.ml I super hardworking to wake up to pump 2 times.

Shugar: bringing bb out only 4-5mth? A bit too long. Maybe after 2 months is ok.. But must avoid crowd. A bit concern with the flu cases these days.

Sianzzz.. Later hv to bring bb to mil so that 'bb can recognise grandparents' place' imagine if I have a brawl with YX for her feed? My mil will go all heartpain again n give the 'why dun just feed her bottle' face (she won't dare to say it in front of me)

Hi mummy,
I feel sad that my boy 2mths, he seem like don wan drink my milk. He always cry when i feed him. How to make him drink my milk.

morning all,

So sian now my elder boy also sick flu and cought thk it spread from one to one. Lucky hubby back tonight he can help out. Hope hb dun kena any H1N1 from China or HK since he had been there for a week and understand there are alot of cases there.

About growth spurt, my boy dun have leh and I find he drink lesser recently and normally will not finish his milk up recently.

Burping, I very KS and burp my boy very long cos I got very bad experience from my elder boy. He use to alway vomit like a merlion when he was baby until I need to bring him to see PD about the problem. So this younger one I alway make sure he burp so will not vomit.

Gal

If the line go up to top mean is full with Urine.

gal,
but i think better dun wait for it to be too wet b4 u change otherwise very easy to get diaper rash?

shugar,
hey... sympathise with your IL woes. but u dun stay with them right? could be worse... hehe...

nose wax:
sometime the nose wax is so big and dry that it will stuck to baby nose wall. my baby had 1 that really big which blocks her nose airway. Worst when it was also deep down her nose. That was my most challenging experience. It took me about 45 mins to settle that nose. It was so stress..

Baby growth:
After birth my baby was a little small, she was only 2.44 kg and 47 cm when she was out from hospital the weight drop to 2.39kg. During her Last check at 1 month injection, she was 3.8kg and 50 cm. I realised that her length gain was very little.. only 3cm growth. I wondering is it too slow?

shugar/sunny/hippo: ok.thx. i haven tried nepia.. its a cool idea e indicator :p sometimes i think i chg his diaper even b4 full when he cry...

Hi beautiful mummies,
i'm a SAHM who has a diploma in Early Childhood Education n has worked in childcares n infant cares for the past 5 yrs.. im now looking into bbsitting as i wanna spend more time w my son.. can email me at [email protected] for more details.. thank you! =D

Shugar,
hahaha yes i count my blessings everyday that i dun hve to live w mine. Btw, u know i came across the mothers milk tea on drugstore.com n its only USD5.99???!!! Feel damn cheated lor. I paid SGD25.50 @ mums essentials. Feel like super chai tou

hippo>> we also end up calling isabelle Qiqi at home.. coz my parents cant pronounce Isabelle for nuts, and so they call her QiQi and Isabelle's mummy, yours truly, calls her bebe.. hahaha..

re picking nose wax>> it is a battle everytime we try to pick nose wax.. anything that we do to her is a battle actually.. my mum will wet the cotton wool and roll it thin and long and try to wet the dried up nose wax.. then after a while, i will use the cotton bud (wet also) to pick the nose wax out..

shugar>> yours is MIL not keen to let you bring Samuel out.. for me is my Mum.. she refuses to let me bring Isabelle out to anywhere except back to my IL's place and only can do it twice a month!!!!!!! and the worst thing is yes, currently I am staying with my Mum... so im like doing 4 months confinement instead of 1 month okie..

shugar,
orh. different brand. mine has fennel + fenugreek.

heh! i havent brought Min out of the house yet til now too! except for the PD visits of course. i'm quite reluctant lah. cos later she cry i gotta find nursing room right away cos i'm the human pacifier mah. ...

miemie,
wah. eh your mum quite tyrant isit? funny hor? my mum on the other end of the spectrum leh. she's such a handsoff grandma. actually i wish she'd offer to help sometimes. but she just leave min to my maid lor. like today, she's out playing mahjong!!! thot she'd be like quite handson, but no leh. like even when one time i had to take min to PD on weekday. she asked my dad to take us?! but my dad cant really help me mah. like when i need to nurse min its easier if my mum was with me right?! *shake head* dunno lah. too strict we dun like too bo chap also complain. hehehe...

shugar,
i have my own mil story to contribute today. she just came to my house. saw me holding a bottle of freshly ebm.

mil: that one pumped milk ah?
me: ya
mil: (with a stupid condescending look) u got enough meh?
me: (no reply, pointed at the fridge, opened freezer to show her my frozen supply)
straightaway shut her up lor.

damn one kind right? come to my house n question me if i have enough milk??? see bay cock lor. HMPH!!!

Hi mummies just came bk from in laws... HOnestly dunno go there for what? Made baby go all the way to west to sleep n give Ang bao? Pengz...

Hippo, you good! Show her freezer of ebm! Me sort of showed my mil that I DO HAVE milk n her granddaughter got ebm to drink by bringing a bottle full of ebm to put in the fridge which I din use cos I let YX latch!! I show by action... Damn happie!!

happy hippo >> see, i need the word happy now. little ms tyrant is little ms stubborn. no progress so far. at best she will take just enough - 60ml, after striking three feeds in a row, to give her energy to continue screaming. i am suspending my bottle introduction efforts for now. too distressing for her and me and the hb. new week, new approaches (haven't had too many new ideas).

famela >> i do really wish i don't have this issue on my hands. but now that i do...i am honestly at a loss of what to do. i'd qualify myself as a SAHWM..not fully SAHM. i do love being home with her and taking care of all the housework (surprise surprise) and amazingly, i have been doing that for almost a mth, the skin on my hands and soles of my feet are showing signs of detergent fatigue...next step is to learn how to cook seriously - been getting alot of tips from my client-chefs but these are just tips! no practical experience yet... overall, i am enjoying this motherhood journey. so i would try to take this issue in my stride just as i am taking her bloody stools in my stride. hospital called to say the 2nd stool sample taken earlier this week has no signs of any infection and it should really just be an allergy. i have stayed off all dairy and it is so far ok. rollercoaster emotions lah esp when she isn't so well which explains to a degree, why i just cannot bring myself to force the bottle issue full throttle..i was frantic when she started to decline feed after feed even when we tried other feeding tools and all the techniques you can find on the Internet, from the ward nurses, her PD and forum pals...what to do? you were at vivocity? I was there too! very nice baby room..hehe, i think i am a convert to that plc....off-peak hrs of course! we just returned home with bb after having dinner at my aunt's plc in bt timah which was such a long drive to be honest..half expected her to make a fuss abt the car seat but she was nice to me today so besides indulging her with the latching, it is a sweeter day today ...

gal >> thanks for yr tip..i did read that site and all suggestions there tried, tested, and unfortunately, can't work. she just won't accept milk any other way except from the breast. stubborn cow... :p

tien,
hahaha... super irritating when they keep asking whether got enough milk right? feel like just saying SHUDDUP LAH!!! especially day 3 in hospital keep giving me that look and asking over and over again. ggggrrrr...

xoxo,
stubborn little cow huh? wah... i suppose like you said this issue needs a lot of patience? so prolly best to leave it for now. she's been through so much. i'd feel very xin teng too if i were u... Min vomitted out some milk for the first time yesterday and i was already like BLUR?! cos she never did b4!

dunno how u manage with that nursing poncho. i cant even manage very well sitting down with it at home. my ex-colleague came to visit when i had to feed min. felt bad to let her sit in the living room while i fed so tried out the poncho. i couldn't really keep the conversation going cos she was making funny sounds underneath. haha... quite funny.

i'm feeling a bit at a loss about the job thing. cos the full blown job prolly requires quite a bit of travelling. so i dunno how that's gonna pan out for me. in fact, i'm not even really sure i wanna be travelling right away with min at such a tender age. but then again, i've been out of the market for 1.5yrs. if i dun return to work, am seriously afraid the window will close on me soon, especially in my industry.

aiya, dun care lah. focus on getting the offer first. if i get it, then see how lor.

was doing my last pump for the day while googling.. then came across this article which i thot might be useful..

so thot of sharing here.........

http://www.howtodothings.com/family-and-relationships/a2393-how-to-relieve-nipple-pain-in-breastfeeding.html

http://www.thelaboroflove.com/forum/breastfeeding/storage.html

however, i dun quite understand this sentence. can someone explain to me??

"You can add fresh milk to a container of frozen milk as long as there is less fresh milk than frozen. Cool the milk for 30 minutes first. For example, you can add 2oz. of fresh milk to 4oz. of frozen, but not 4oz. of fresh milk to 2oz. or frozen."

are they talking abt feeding or storage?

hippo >> yep stubborn and fierce to boot! your babe also makes alot of noise when feeding? Mine too! Not just feeding (grunts, gurgles, snorts..very unladylike); but also sleeping..humming and squeaking all night long. but i really love all these noises..when she was sick, there was not a sound at all and i rem the anxiety then. not a good time. you can say i have a very soft spot for her esp after her hospitalisation. same from Mr SF..all those firm parenting styles i'd prefer are out of the window. recently, tried to just offer her the bottle a whisker away from her lips, see if she'd take it. if she doesn't want accept it after awhile, i offer her the breast. mid way, stop, offer her the teat..this method i have been trying non-stop for today. not working out but at least not screaming. just not accepting.

travelling from the get go? very challenging..i can imagine u doing the ice-box stunts to get yr EBM home...but is it going to be regional or international travel? i guess that plays a key part to decide right? u have a pt abt being out of it for 1.5yrs...these gaps in one's resume is hardly something these idiots sitting in boardrooms are likely to be forgiving abt. i'd alot of rolling of eyes at me when i mentioned i was gg to quit and had made my grand plans to return in 3 years (abt the time i calc my savings wld be gone). i am slowly easing myself into the SAHM, SAHWM role..whichever fits me eventually though i started of wanting to be a pure SAHM. i actually like this arrangement i have now, where it is a mix of both with more weight thrown to home and i work for at most, one full day per week.

what is it that is vexing u abt the poncho? i went to try the bebe au lait and the pupsik one at mothercare. in the end i bought neither. both have this ring catch thing that is hard to adjust (for clumsy me), their "view baby feature" is like this elastic plastic frame that if i were to use it, would leave me very exposed...and i think once u get the "apron" looking thing out, it is quite out of place..imagine walking ard e shopping centre in an apron. and when u are done with it, u must take it off..so it can't double as a warm shawl or something. what i bought was the moms in vogue version also at mothercare. it is worn like a larger cardigan and has running buttons. i like that the fabric doesn't "cling", keeps the squirming, noisy babe feeding quite cool and even if spit ups occur on it, it air dries quickly too. best is when u are not using it to breastfeed, just wear it like a scarf or really, a cardigan. i won't say i got all aspects of this feed-on-the-go bit well but i find that the more u pay attn to other things while feeding, the more natural the entire process becomes. only thing i miss abt nursing her this way is the one-sided conversations i have with her while feeding in private.. it is almost as if i pretend she doesn't exist when i have to hide her under the poncho...yesterday i did this at sushi tei while having my lunch. not easy! managing my chopsticks and later, my dessert..took the joy out of my makan session by 50%. hehe..but when i went to Page One with her hidden...my my, did that security guard pay me quite a few glances at this suspicious loot!

ohh...and my PD was just talking to me awhile ago..he is super nice, this doc..can call and hv a real conversation type...to be mentally prepared that after this bottle strike nonsense i am getting from audrey..there is also such a thing as weaning conflict. he was concerned that if she isn't even accepting of spoon or cup feeds (cos he wanted me to stop bfg and start her on this special soy formula to ensure her allergies are under control..and i just couldn't do that cos she won't take the feeds from other srcs - wasted $55 on a tin of that!)..that i might run into this..time to speak to God abt this later. no kidding..whoa..such a long post, ok gonna hang up my fingers.

shugar >> update on the nipple shield...she shook her head/lips so vigorously from side to side - refused the shields..they fell off despite my best efforts. doubt she liked the "texture" very much. grr...

Hippo: maybe next round you may consider trying this brand. It's also a blend of fenugreek n fennel.

xoxo: a geez! Toughie! Hmm hope she'll gradually come round to the bottle.. Maybe give her a bit more time.
Yesterday I manage to latch Sam w/o the shield and he was ok with it. Managed to have him latched on a bit more than 5 mins! Small achievement!

so much posts and i cant catch up... i am so dying to log into forum but has been busy the past few days... wif juz feeding, expressing and alot of qns in my mind...

RN @ wk 5 still seems scrawny and we haven brought her back 4 her hep B jab. i'll bring her either tmrw or tues. cant wait to see if she has gained enuff weight... and i cant help wondering if she's taking enuff.. sigh... though i shld b experienced enuff as a 2nd time mom.

Famela, if u r "complaining" tt ur Ana is overweight, i am so hoping mine will be! At least i know she's thriving on my milk. RN is v scary... when we give her ebm for last feed, she can last 6 hrs!!! its gd only if she has gained enuff weight and i know she's drinking enuff in the day but frankly, i do not know. i think her poo(s) and pees do add up right but somehow this nagging feeling is always at the back of my brain. esp when i still see her so "meatless"...

she used to b v gd at suckling but now she has slowed down. then my boobs seems to be still quite full aft tt. i get so confused. i tried encouraging her to take in more but most times she's juz not interested.

For mummies following GF's routine, well, i failed. in fact when i tried to follow, i stressed myself so much i decided to juz heck it lah~! its juz not for me/us yet. And anyone tried following her method to increase supply? there is this 6 day guide to increasing ss... she asked us to express 1 oz or 2 oz b4 latching at specific timings... and got me confused... thot if we wanna increase ss, we shld empty our breasts aft latching? i really wanna kick myself for not allowing over ss when i had abundance in wk 1...

I got over my CL coz my MIL/mum helps out everyday till i hit 40 days... but frankly i am v afraid wat happens aft tt... my mum stays nearby and i can always pop over but wat i meant is overall, i dun see any regular pattern forming as yet in the next few wks... i wonder how on earth can i manage to go to work in this stage. really dreadful.

sorry tt i juz came in to rant... really so stressful keeping these qns stored in my brains. i got so many to ask PD when i see him...

was it hippo tt says she's till doing the same things at wk 6? then hello to u, coz its the same for me too!

argh shucks... she's stirring alrdy... time for milk feed... i hope i got time to come in later...

hippo: indeed! Was hounded by visitors at hospital plus mum plus mil about 'got enough milk?' and/or 'why hospital never give fm' etc. When I was home mum stopped asking after I told her to stop as it would cause me to hv depression n if that happens confirm no milk. But my mil calked everyday for 4 days to ask abt baby plus the same questions until I told my hubby to talk to her. Now she wants to ask also don't dare n in the end no topic to talk. Yesterday went bk n my grandma in law aka mil's mum also asked in hokkien Q.1 baby drink breast milk? My ans 'yes'. Q2. 'Got milk?' My Ans: YES! A LOt!!! Haha of course a white lie lah!

Xoxo: take things slowly ok. For your info, my fren's daughter now 1 yr old also rejected bottle through out. Still latching till now in fact. But weaning is no prob! Anyway it could be Audrey feeing unwell cos of the stools issue n so prefers latching for the extra cuddle n security. Jia' you k!

Jrrt: haha I also failed the gf routine. Successful only on thrs n fri nite! Yesterday my sleepy head just refuse to feed well... Really 'kun' the whole day n all the way to jurong west n back. My poor CL had to talk to her n entertain her the whole nite! Want yo ahhhhhhh bish YX.. Drank 2 times last nite n of all nites my supply was not very high! Tonight if she wakes up for 2 feeds cfm hv to give fm or take out my frozen stock. Anyway I notice that that 10-1030 pm feed is really impt! Must make sure she super full ( couldn't gauge last nite cos she really super sleepy). If need be, must give top up only then she can sustain for 4 hrs at least.

Sigh my sleepy head just fell asleep! 1 hr behind schedule lor! Going to wake her up at 3...

Astro
U using the fat fat tommee btls rite? I went 2 buy 2 yest coz of the claims & the award winning design (so lame rite?)… hope RN likes it. But I cnt get use 2 fatty bottle design yet. Looks weird lah.

My RN darn greedy girl. She full or hungry, juz whack everything. We thot she is taking 100ml per 3 hrly now. The past few days gave her this, she finished almost everything and made her feeding schedule all haywired! I thot she was hungry aft 3 hrs, she latched; but was v slow in suckling. Feeding took forever coz i knew she is not full yet. Then aft an hr or so, i got fed up, got hb/my mum to feed her EBM and the feeding cycle got worse. AIYOH! In the end, i concluded this girl dun need 100ml yet. And if last feed gave her this amt, she can last for 6 hrs!!! She wun even stir at all!

Tdy I reduced the amt allocated. Hb juz fed her 80ml and he said she seemed to wan more. I said its too much 4 her, anyway she din fuss anymore aft tt, so I guess its enuff. Its v scary tt such a tiny baby can last > 3 hrs in daytime. And yest I juz went to buy a pack of NB diapers for her… I think none of the babies here still wearing NB diapers rite? The feeling sucks big time ok.

Tien
U so funy lah! Said YX is an ah long, will claim back wat u owed! Hahaha…
If ur nipples feel better, then yes, u r on the road to recovery liao! 
Congrats tt u got the latching while lying down position!
The only thing abt GF tt made sense to me at this stage is to let baby settle in at 7pm and awake at 7am… which I hv failed the last few days. She always zzz past 7am and the lazy me oso allowed her… until the day tt CL left, RN slept till 9am… and true enuff, the whole day schedule went haywired! So now, I refused to let her sleep past 8am! Still I need to b more hardwkg and start her day at 7am.. its v hard coz of the night feedings lah!

Famela
U always get me so envious wif the way u manage ur kids!

RE: burping babies
I agreed tt bfed babies dun need 2 burp 2 long. 4 me, I only burp max 1 min n tts it liao. If she burps, she burps, if she dun; I juz leave it.

MIL n hubby's cousin just left. Think my girl too used to being carried to sleep. The moment they carried her, she knocked out! Jrrt, anyway today's routine also haywire. She woke up from her nap after half an hour then got carried by her nai nai n now sleeping when she is supposed to feed!!! Ahhhh bish!!!!

Oh u mean I din mention? Mission 'feed while lying down
failed! Yesterday did a few round n I think she din feed well that's why did not sleep thro the night n kept fussing n sleeping. Decided not to be ambitious. When CL leaves hubby shall bottle feed or if my mood good I will latch. Will be a good girl n stick to cross cradle sigh...

Hv to agree the moment the wake up time exceeds am the whole routine will go wrong. Anyway I can't be bothered already. Only know today she MUST not sleep too much!!

Tien
RN is also used to being carried to sleep! All the bad habits tt a baby shldnt have, she kena! *headache*

And she can resist sleep at such a tender age! She's finally gone down for her nap aft not sleeping since 12+! In b/w there were 2 feedings and we both dozed off for 20 mins, if u count this as a nap! I hope i can settle her in at 7pm later!

Eh ur mission failed? I thot u made it???

Actually i agree... its not easy to get a gd feed when lying down... i think not at their age. later on when they r more efficient, then can try again. I know lying down to latch fails to keep their tummies full... tts wat happened to RN... and its a vicious cycle coz she din hv a gd feed, she wake up more times, i am v tired; inevitably, i lie down and nurse coz i am so tired... cycle repeats. AIYOH!!! so now i try to make sure i sit up to nurse her for a while... but still i end up lying down in the end... sigh...

RN's total nap time tdy is v little... so i wan her to settle by 7pm tdy! my mum kept saying I siao to wanna wake RN up in the morning... say let her sleep... i refused and told her the whole day schedule will b haywired if i allow her to sleep till she happy happy...

xoxo,
well, not travelling from the get go. but soon enough lah. prolly be regional travel (i.e. all over asia). its quite spastic. when we din have kids i always wanted a job that allowed me to travel. now i'm potentially staring at one, but timing is wrong!!! sigh... i dunno man. we'll see.

is there any literature anywhere that says that breastfeeding beyond 6mths is still incrementally beneficial for the child? cos i'm think if at least 6 mths then i may just do it for 6mths cos of the job. by the time i start, which is likely to be jan/feb, its already 5 mths already. get acquainted on the job, takes abt a mth. then just nice 6mths is up. ...

tien, jrrt,
well i think as long as we appreciate the principle/essence of GF then we try and go along that line and assimilate wherever we can? i also wanted to try out the GF schedule but easier said than done. Min is a sleepyhead too. she can sleep so much its not funny. especially these couple of days. maybe growth spurt. but she's hardly awake! only wake up for feeds. even when latched on, she can suckle really efficiently while half asleep.

now she takes like only 20mins to completely empty 1 boob vs up to 40 mins in the past. if the growth spurt means she can suckle a lot more efficient and or that i achieve letdown a lot sooner, then i'm not complaining man!

Min is now feeding almost 3hrs interval. i dont really try and wake her up anymore as per GF cos this gal cant wake her up one. ah... my sleepyhead is finally up... be right back...

jrrt : haiz. Me. Am still buying nb. Yours is a gal, relatively smaller at birth . Mine boy lei, 3.240 at birth , not that small mah. Still at about 3 weeks, he's only 3.5 plus. Haiz. Dropped too much weight initially liao. Sian. Blue.

hi gal,

so shag my elder was having stomach pain yty midnight so he cry and was up all night cos he vomit and morning diarrhea. Somemore his cough and flu not recover and coughing quite serious. Me and hubby were so damn tired never sleep whole night. Actually want to bring him to KK and on the way there he cry and want to go home and poo poo so bo bian U-turn back. End up bring him to a 24 hour clinic this morning.

hippo
u know wat? can ask Min to pass some of her sleepyheadness to my RN??? PLEASEEEEEE!!!! She was so awake the whole aftn! But i am not exactly grumbling coz at least it does not happen at night! And its e 1st time in ages i can post here at this hr coz i managed to put RN to bed at 7.15pm! Its 15 mins late but i think its gd enuff!

If u hv an alert baby like mine, well, u'll wished she'll go to zzz... haiz... the grass is always greener on the other side.

Oh talkg abt emptying boobs... i realised tt RN cannot empty my boobs... no matter how long she suckles. Now i decided to juz latch her on 1 boob and pump out the other to build ss since she cannot empty at all.

There isnt any literature tt says BF beyond 6 mths does wonders 4 our baby but of coz the experts say the longer, the merrier. Then again, when u r faced wif constraints at work, I guess u juz need to strike a balance.

Astro
U serious????? Ur YH needs NB?! But he's 3.5kg leh! then can i hope tt my RN is now at least 3.5kg? Desperate ah...

diaper size:
hmm. how u know whether bb can still wear NB size or not. not based on weight? as long as the diaper can cover butt?
Elias still using NB and S (diff diaper brand)

growth spurt :
hippo > when Min has growth spurt..the frequency increase 'throughout' the whole day right? i not sure if mine is growth spurt though oso 6 weeks as it happens specific time range in a day.

growth spurt:
oh.. so it's the increased of the frequency lah.. i think somehow charlotte frequency has increased abit haha. like 1.5 hrs hungry liao >.<

xoxo: good that you've made the decision to lay off the bottle issue for a while. don't fret it. try again next time when both of you are ready. and good to hear that you're enjoying motherhood
it's a rewarding to hear the little one gurgle and have her give you that look and smile yah? me, i'm addicted to it. if i didn't have my own family financial commitments, i'd have quit a long time ago and really be a SAHM. cooking? hee.. i don't really enjoy cooking just because i hate cleaning up the kitchen when it gets oily. but will have to soon start cooking again la. am no great cook either though. can pass only maybe. haha

yeah, i was at vivo. i've always loved vivo for the fact that it's HUGE. even when it's crowded it's not as crowded as causeway point or even the malls at tampines for that matter. and i love wandering into baby gap and baby zara. hehee..

jRRt: eh no lar.. me not saying ana overweight. just that she seems heavier at 6 weeks compared to some of the other numbers i see here. sometimes makes me worry. but only for a while la. i try not to worry anything that's beyond my control.

hey but don't fret lar.. wearing NB diapers doesn't mean small wat.. I still use NB pampers for Ana. only waist seems to be getting tighter but it's elastic and fully stretchable. she's prob abt 5 kg now. and on the pampers packet says ~5kg. so yah.. NB it is. i have 3 more packs so will use till finish first. tried S size but too big still. so no worries re this NB diapers thingy.

my ana oso cannot empty boob. she always latches on for 10 min max how to empty. i don't pump either cos lazy. only started pumping again once per day just to get abt 120ml out for 1 bottle feed/day. even that oso not consistent. but if babe can last a few hours i'm sure that means she's full. so this one oso no need to worry lar.

and what's there to envy abt my management of my kids? no lar.. i'm also learning mah.. i have my struggles but i choose to celebrate my successes and not dwell on the 'failures'. i'm sure you're doing fine too. don't be so modest hor?

re GF routine: mine's another sleepyhead. my girl slept whole day yesterday! and today as well. she only wakes up to feed/poop. then she'll sleep again. the minute her lips touch my boobs, her eyes droop. like a drug liddat my b!

yest i was rather worried that it would mean that at night she won't sleep so actually woke her up at 830pm to feed. but she was ok at night too leh. sleep pattern was ok. only woke up at 3am for the next feed and next one at 5ish/6am. i've decided i won't wake her up if she wants to sleep. i reasoned (this one my own theory) that she goes tru these sleepy days to help her grow just like her feeding spurts oso. so let her be lar. i really follow GF as a very very *rough* guide.

after all, contentment usually is the result of getting wat you need/want right..? so if she wants sleep, i let her sleep, if she wants feed, i feed. as long as her day time naps are not causing her to need to wake up to feed more often at night, i am just gonna take her cue and follow lar. so far her nights are stretching to 4 or 5 hours and i'm just happy with that for now.

hippo: must be syiok to be able to just show your frozen milk right? hehe.

re MIL: thankfully, my MIL stays out of my hair. she doesn't dare ask me anything abt my bm. even when she wants to come over, she sms me to tell her what day and even what time is good. yes, i have a specific timing for guests and it's 4-6pm and i've told her to come specifically during this time. i think she knows me too well already. i can smile smile and be as 'politically correct' as poss but i tell her as it is. and she knows when i'm not happy i'm a tigress true and true and she's seen me liddat. err.. quite bad oso when i think abt it but my house my rules lar.

hippo, if not wrong you also got the poncho from rach rite? you don't like it? why must run to nursing room?

i know i've said this here before but i really do LOVE my nursing ponchos. super glad i got 2 of them. got spare when the other in the wash. today my MIL saw me using it for first time at airport and even she was impressed at how convenient it was. hee hee..

xoxo, you got the one from mothers en vogue? i had that on my wish list for the longest time!
i think they're pretty! but in the end got monpetitjardin ones when suddenly got lobang for cheaper ones. similar to mothers en vogue's - just minus the stylish buttons i think.