(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

sunnyling: oh my! hope your boy is better now..? i HATE it when kids get sick. not just cause of our sleepless nights.. i hate feeling helpless when i see them in discomfort/pain and i cannot do much to make them better. you take care.. rest whenever you can

3279938.png

Here's Audrey - Week 7. The smile that makes my defeat in all the bottle battles somewhat sweeter.

hi xoxo!! Audrey is so cute and cheery in this pic!! luv it! she has such beautiful hair!! hang on there dear.. u will go thru this battle with your shiny amour! looking back knowing its all worthwhile for the little one.. i kept reminding myself that merlion-ing was such a traumatic experience... but still managed to survive it.. epidural so damn painful... almost died.. but also delivered bb liao.. don be disheartened n feel sad k.. all will be falling in place soon.. huggies..

missed the forum so much.. din hv time to login n chat with u gals for so long..

btw mummies, i have tried letting titus use all sorts of diapers, now ended up bumwear in the day and mamypoko at night cos its the only one that doesnt leak (he luv to sleep sideway) i am giving a try on nepia diapers tat shugar has introduced.. and realised they can mix the sizes too, meaning a carton can be a mixture of NB/S/M/L.. wanted to order 1S & 3M but realized that M is for 6kg and above so i ordered 4packs of M.. =) the lady that called me is so nice! they will deliver tml.. hope titus can fit well.. he is 6.3kg at 7weeks now.. anyway, just to let u all know that u can mix your order, don hv to order all 4 packs with the same sizes.. think astro asked about it or someone else asked few days back? if anyone wanna sample of M size, let me know? i can mail over.

limmil > not sure if ur question has been answered, but the statement is referring to storage, meaning if u can add the fresh milk to the frozen milk u have kept in your freezer.. but provided it's not more then 6 hours apart..also must cool the fresh milk (which is abit warm/body temperature after expressing) in refrigerator for 30mins first before adding to the frozen milk in your freezer, if not it will cause your frozen milk to be 'thawed'. quantity added cannot be more then what is already frozen.. if not u will be indirectly adding frozen to freshmilk.. and the milk will get 'thawed' and turn sour easily...

shugar >> yep...i don't see much pt dialing up the distress and trauma for her and us by shoving, dangling e bottle in her face anymore for now. i tried e hard, soft, disguise, distraction...even the divine (prayer)...none has worked so i take that as my cue not to try anymore. when i do start my campaign again, it shall be when my energy is par for the course...too tired of hearing the screaming...

tien >> i live in hope...it will be a gd day when audrey realies bb + bottles...they go together like e horse + carriage...hehe...

jRRt >> don't fret abt her weight/size...mine's also small-ish....plus she don't want e bottle so i can't get e supplements her PD prescribed her into her feeds...just nos right?

hippo >> that sounds like a plan - career-wise. i dunno abt the literature bit for feeding beyond 6 mths...in fact, am picking up some reading abt bfg and weaning etc from my PD tom to digest. if there is anything there, will let u know.

famela >> motherhood is rewarding, touching, vexing, frustrating, beautiful and difficult in the same roll. i suppose i need to have a better time for awhile now away from the stress this mth with her bloody stools and her bottle battles. when we are both in a better frame (bb, health-wise and moi, mentally) to negotiate this bottle bend, we will try it out again..who knows? as suddenly as this issue came to form, it might also become a non-issue? with hope...hehe...maybe i might bump into u at vivo one of these days! yep, i got the mothers en vogue shawl..bought 2 of them. been checking out many ponchos, shawls, aprons, nursing tops over the last week. verdict, 2 shawls are all u need and yr regular blouses..best if they are front buttoning...but even tees are fine.

breastfeeding >> after a short conversation with astro, i conclude that breastfeeding..the hype..isn't all it's made out to be. whoever said it was free, think again. it is a very expensive thing to do. personally, i've spent on an electric pump ($599), storage bags ($20+), milk trays ($30), bottles (whoa, gotten all types because of her nonsensical protests - close to $80), steriliser ($120), feed warmer ($120), and the greatest irony, formula milk (used only 1 spoon on day 3, and on day 30 during hospitalisation $70 all in all)...so...it's expensive..not to mention the time cost...and the pain...plus miscellaneous (breastpads, nipple shields, nipple cream, lactation consultant cost, nursing bra, nursing shawl...)... gee

tonight is a milestone!! the beginning of this post was composed since 10pm..i have been kept up by audrey who refuses to be tucked in..kept humming, kept wanting to root despite feeding on and off since 8pm...sheer frustration! i just tried the impossible at 3am - warmed EBM and grabbed an unused pigeon teat...as usual, on sight of the bottle, screamed and cried...this time, i suspended the bottle mid-air in her line of sight. didn't bring it closer to her the minute she cried. she stopped, stared at it and could really watch her contemplating the whole deal - take it and go to bed full and happy; or don't take it and end up hungry. brought the teat closer and closer, stopping whenever she starts her screaming. finally, really close to her lips and i tapped it, this babe, opened her mouth only slightly..i got the teat in and voila! she shucked all 80ml in less than 5mins. Promptly went to bed and i hope this time, it's for real. Nite guys!!

xoxo: wow! Congrats! Your girl has come to her senses! Press on! Whahaha! Guess she has finally realised, to pick her battle wisely!

Yeh, bf-ing isn't all that great and wonderful. Heh. Miser commented 'bf-ing isn't that great. I would rather pay more to get a better night of sleep. With teng. It was much easier' ha !

Roxie: nepia cutting is quite big leh.. I think s should be ok Liao .. Btw I wanna try mamypoko... Ur bb wearing s for that?how big is he? I scare s will be too small for my girl cos she's quite big lo .. I think her current drypers s is gg to be too small for her soon lol!

xoxolight
Audrey is soooooo super sweet! And yes, wif tt smile, watever u do is so worth it. and ooohhhh.... her hair! such a sweetie! she's gonna b such a killer when she grows up. Mine looks like boy now. still jaundiced and chao-tah... only when we dressed her in pink attire on baby shower day then she looked like a girl.

hooray! Hope ur success at the btl will last. mayb aft she has tasted the teat, she will nw not refuse the btl when it comes near.

yes, bfg is indeed not cheap. cld b more exp than FM.

Famela
if RN latches on for 10 mins & cant empty boob, its understandable. but this girl can go on for 40 mins and still the same leh?!
But now i do not switch boob anymore. i let her juz latch on 1 boob and take as long as she needs. at least now she will unlatch herself at times when she's done.
i wan her to take in the fatty fatty hindmilk to fatten up.

Oh Ana oso still using NB? Last wk was the 1st time i bot diapers for RN coz my sis gave me alot of NB tt her son has outgrown. I thot RN wld b able to upgrade to NB aft 1st mth... oh well, yeah lets not dwell on things we cant ctrl.

Yeah i agree u dun hv to wake Ana up 4 night feeds coz she's of gd weight and now is more efficient at emptying boobs, thus the short latching.
once RN is at Ana's stage, i wun bother myself if she wanna sleep for 6 hrs straight at nite!

Oh man, i am gg to b sick... sore throat is coming up wif running nose. i suspect its the tonics i hv been taking daily since day 12. tdy is my 37th day... thurs will b the completion of my confinement! hooray! i was hoping to take tonics all the way till day 40 but looks like gotta do on alt days liao....
now am wearing a mask in the hse so i dun pass the virus to RN.

Super tired! Woke up to pump at 1.30am n 4.30am. Then CL sent YX over for feed at 5am! Breasts soooo jellified that she refused to suckle. Finally hv to give 60ml of ebm. Then she slept till 7.40am to suckle.

famela is right. Just follow the principle of GF. Timing no need to strictly follow the timing.

Jrrt: ya my lying down position only succeeded once but this morning it worked again! I think it only works in the morning n with my left breast!

Xoxo: wow congrats! Your perseverance paid off! Btw Audrey has a really pretty smile! If my YX will smile like that at me more WHILE AWAKE I really wun mind latching her more! But her temper is getting worse.. She can really punch in my face n kick at my csec wound! My goodness! Shouldn't hv
scolded my students too much during my pregnancy!

Sigh my sleepy head sleeping again! It's her 10.30am feed lor! Oh well right now I'm too tired to wake her up again!

Sigh starting to dread bathing her. Hv to try one of these days. Think I can only bath her while standing. A bit worried cos other than latching, she doesn't seem to like me. Think her daddy is better at playing with her.

<font color="dc143c"><font size="+1">Sleepy Wrap Updates</font></font>
Now i've 6 orders again!!!
So we need 4 more to get the negotiated price...
If any mom decided to get it.. please PM me...

thanks...

We hope to gather 10 by today/tmr so that we can start using the wrap soon.. so please hurry and PM me as i wont be checking in here.

www.sleepywrap.com

Re: breastfeeding is not cheap
haha now you guys mention, ya it's true! The electric pump itself already can buy many cans of fm! But I guess we all are hanging on for intrinsic reason right? For me I had wanted to give up after 1 month of latching but now I really bu she de ready. Ad mentioned earlier other than feeding her I'm super lousy with small babies. I can't wait till she's 5-8 months I am better with babies at thiis stage. And actually another impt reason y I want to bf is to lose weight!! Also mentioned earlier if I dun start losing weight depression will set in. Worse still haven't done my jamu as my doc highly discourages it. She says can only start 2 mths later. Honestly no use by then... Can't start my aerobics too.. So hv to dp on bf to burn that 500-600 calories a day! And if it works, it will help me save money to go London weight management or Marie France hahaha... So bf might be cheaper in another sense haha

xoxo: ur daughter is so cute.. :) Riona has started smiling off-lately when she's awake also but as soon as i take the caamera in hand to click a picture, she immediately starts staring at the camera and the smile is all gone....
waiting for the day when i can have a smiley pic of my daughter!!

Hippo: i'm gng through the books 'Your baby's first yr week by week' and Bouncing back after pregnancy' - both by Glade Curtis and Judith Schuler. In that, it is mentioned that baby benefits the most from BM in the 1st month. if a mother can BF upto 6 months, its very good. After 6 months, since babies start having some solids, then that becomes their main source of nutrition.

jrrt,
did i just say Min is sleepyhead??? she was all beady eyed yesterday. me and my big mouth. and emptying boobs... wow! she's super fast now. she was just on my R boob for 12min flat and empty already. i din even realise. then she kept fussing and crying. so i switched to the L boob. then she was happily suckling.

read that they can get more efficient at emptying boobs and suckling. but din realise its such a great difference. and just to check i pumped and nothing came out?!

PY, gal,
Nepia NB size quite big. anyways its for up to 5kg. so i think when i'm done with this carton, will prolly order S size already. but Min is only 4.5kg as of yesterday.

famela,
yeah i bought the same thing. only tried it first time last week. i'm quite clumsy at it. haha... prolly needs more practice.

astro,
why blue leh? Min also wearing NB size leh. ok lah. baby steps. i also a bit kancheong abt her weight initially. but as long as bb is happy. weight is JUST A NUMBER REMEMBER?

xoxo,
CONGRATS! audrey finally came to her senses!!!
stubborn cow no more!...

vin,
thanks for sharing. i think i need to hear that at this point in time. hehe...

tien,
thot u were gonna start massage like 2nd wk? seems like diff doctors advise differently. at 6th wk, my gynae said can do all my exercises normally already. i said even like swimming, cycling, etc. he said yes, go ahead. no problems with them. so now waiting to finish my jamu massage this week then can start exercising next week. hehe...
hopefully the big fat dorothy perkins ass can shrink a bit.

xoxo>> love that pic of Audrey smiling away! can almost 'hear' her chuckle.. heehee
and congrats, really happy for you!

re diaper size>> dunno is it my baby's butt big.. but i feel that NB size diaper cant fit her since many weeks ago! she's been wearing S size MamyPoko..

hippo,

I also want to go exercise. Are you natural or C-section? Cos not sure when can I start exercise thinking of go swimming. I am on C-section and till now my wound still have pain on and off.

Diaper,

Nepia NB still fit Rhys but find that dryer S size is abit small for him now but he still not 5 kg yet.

I have headache. I hope i get good advice here. My boy is sort of toilet train from 2 weeks. Now i m abit hesistant about this. For his backbone, neck is still quite soft. Whenever he wants to pee and poo. He will cry big time and wait for his potty. I am very worried that his spine will be injured or neck be twisted from all the carrying.

Unless he is sooo sound asleep if not he will make hoo ha even when he is wearing pampers or nappy. Do i let him continue crying til he pee and poo in his pampers or nappy?

ww: 2 weeks is way too early to toilet train the bb.. it is going to be very draining on u.. and this is nor really toilet training the child. more like toilet trainig the caregivers.. i hopei dun sound curt.. but he shd still be on diapers.. can he be making noise for other reasons?

famela/hippo: calucation for weekly weight gain.. starting from lowest pto f weight.. not from birth weight..
loke found some website to calculate for me liao.

hippo: was sharing with xoxo.. coz of all the teething issues plus he is a sleepy feeder.. so i can only based it based on weight gain apart from the soiled and wet diapers..
ya.. a number only. but maybe it's me lah. i need some guidelines kind.. haiz

jrrt: ya. nb.. coz nepia nb is below 5kg mah. i would be happy if he can reach 4.1 by his full month!

astro: He will cry like nobody business when he want to pee and poo. When i bring him to the potty he will pee within 3 mins. If poo maybe take about 5 to 15 mins. now he is going to be 2 months soon. All these begin when he was about 2 weeks. He is already train. My concern is m i doing the wrong thing? Will all the carrying to e potty hurt his backbone, spine, neck?Lately a lot of ferrying to e potty due to the rainy days. I am very uptight that all these will strain his back.How do i address this problem to e Pd? He is going to think i m crazy.

Only in the evening when he is sound asleep, he is willing to pee in his pampers.

Another issue is why m i still bleeding? It has been almost 2 months. The doc said it is because i m nursing. Sounds very weird to me. I havent heard of anyone bleeding for almost 2 months since C-sect. I been on painkillers for almost 5-6 weeks coz i pass out many times due to the pain. Definitely i cant imagine myself swimming.

hippo,
well, i find the ear cleaner is so useful for clearing the nose wax cos of the light as i can dig in slightly deeper. The airways r so tiny and i need the light in order nt to dig wrongly.

BB keith is doing very well and is probably aro 7.5kg now cos he was aro 6.8kg 2wks ago. Now he no longer hv shooting poos and the frequency of pooing reduced to once or twice a day . Your diaper's usage shld cut down soon too since minmin will be 2mths in another few wks!

PY,
Mamypoko S is bigger than huggies S size.

xoxo,
glad your gal is finally taking the bottle. Your patience is paying off. Tink at nite is their weakest defence as bb tends to be drowsy and she prefer to sleep then puttg up a fight.

DIAPERS
Mine boi just started to use fitti premium ytd as i just managed to finish my older stk for other brands nia. And i realised the M size seems to be getting smaller and he may outgrown it soon as he is quite chubby. It is suppose to fit 5-11kg. I got 12 pkts(44pcs per pkt) and he oni poo once or twice a day lately so i doubt he can finish those soon. Bot at promo price of $10/pkt(retail at $15.90) and willing to sell 6pkts at same price as well but self collection at yishun only. Any mummies interested pls pm me. thks!

PY > yup titus is wearing S size for mamy poko now, its for 3-8kg and its just nice on him who is 6.3kg now. as for nepia, their S is for 4-8kg and M is for 6-11kg... so i bot 4 packs of M as i still have bum-wears for the day.. told the lady from nepia the weight of my bb and she suggested M .. how heavy is ur gal? maybe can buy a small pack of mamy poko and try out first?

ong,
heh! u know after u told us here that the combi highchair is a good buy, so many of us bought it in the end. i think there's easily like 6-8 of us here that bot the same highchair which is being used right now as day bed. hahaha... tks tks. you're a saviour.

poo once or twice a day only ah? boy, am i glad to hear that! i am coming to the end of my 2nd carton of nepia! wah lau. min is such a lean mean pooping machine. hahaha

astro,
wah... min was only 4.1kg at 5weeks leh. u quite anxious hor? remember u told me "in his own time..." heh... relak lah...
so rayan was that thorn among the roses in the pics huh? i was suspecting might be him. hehe... cute pics there! havent seen the video yet. cos my laptop is a bit screwed up. sigh...

sunnyling,
i had C-S. the wound ok already for quite awhile now. but still using the silicon plaster for the wound to prevent keeloids for up to 3mths at least, as advised by doctor.

hippo>> the silicon plaster you got from your doc? or can buy from pharmacy.. im damn scared i will get keloids, i keep peering at my wound.. in fact there were a few occassions my wound had some spots of blood..

Hippo: Ya I started my Jamu day 6 but only did it for 2 days...was a little concerned esp my gynae warned me. So I stopped. She said can only start after 2 months. Also at that time I was struggling with bf and was sititng up a lot so my wound was still oozing a bit of pus and blood. So to be on the safe side better dun massage. Wanted to start my massage today but my friend who was with the same doc and my hubby advise me agst it...sigh....anyway my preferred massage lady is away till dec 20th (just nice 2 months would have past) so, I guess it's fate...

Exercise think can only start after 6 mths I was like jaw dropped! No way I will wait. True that diff docs advises differently...my doc seems too cautious for my liking.

Speaking of dorothy perkin ass...went there to buy a dress for my friend's wedding this sat...goodness..almost cried in fitting room!! Not only ass got problem...boobs also! Wah Liew..sooooooooooo huge and ugly and sagging..

miemie,
i'm not sure leh... later i check n let u know what its called?

tien,
yah i gave up. so m gonna try n use binder to squeeze in. dun care already... hmph!

Haha hippo binder squeeze where? Think I squeeze I need 3! One for the ugly boobs, one for the awful tummy n one more for the big fat ass!!!!!! Or might as well wrap like a mummy! I hate my body!!! To think it wad just last year I looked so nice in wedding dress!! maybe can gather response here.. Anyone needs to sign weight loss package maybe can negotiate for better price...

astro
where's the post u said on avg weight gain? i scrolled 1 archive, cnt find it. went 2 pd 2 review RN's overall development. her weight gain is no gd. a mere 600+g over 4 wks. means only 150g/wk. i am so worried. due 2 go back 4 review in 2 wks time. pd asked if i got milk? i told him got extra leh. really dunno wat 2 do now... i go check babycentre website nw...

roxie> wow! 6.3kg! last measured 1 week ago was 4.6kg hehe there's small pack of mamy poko s meh ? i only saw the 72 pcs pack leh..

drypers S is kinda small for my girl now liao.. not gg to buy anymore after she finish them.. at night i let her wear nepia S.. which is too big for her haha! but still ok lah.

Hippo> yah nepia cutting damn big.. i bought 1 carton S.. should have bought like 2 NB and 2 S lol..

ong> ok thanks! coz huggies S is also abt the same cutting as drypers leh.. abit small.. maybe i should try mamy poko hehe

btw my girl hasnt been pooing since saturday!.. ytd no poo.. today also not yet.. is there anything i need to worry abt?? is it ok not to poo?? =.=

ppls..

DRUGSTORE SPREE
anyone interested to get anythign from drugstore.com?
my fren conducting a spree?
normally calendula cream is cheaper if buy in a half dozen. then can spilt the 6 here..to pplr interested lah

desitin? cheaper from drugstore.. what u get locally, is smaller (2oz) as compared to what u can at a cheaper prize from drugstore (4oz)

milkmaid tea? hippo already mentioned it is cheaper from drugstore!

anyone wants anything? let me know...

jrrt: 155g is the lowest in the normal range leh. average is 170g per week.. but still perfectly acceptable for some bbs to gain 130 - 140 plus grams too..
http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/growth/weight-gain-metric.html
ur pd evaluated weight gain from birthweight or lowest weight (when they first lost weight in the first week)?
150 vs 155.. just 5g, ur pd that precise?

py: normal.. ong just said coming 2 mts liao her keith. poo lesser frequency also..

astro
no, we din do the exact weight gain... he juz did an estimation lah. he calculated based on birth weight.

i am so stressed and upset. wats wrong???

her poos &amp; pees tally up everyday leh, indicating its ok rite? Her poo colour oso correct. so wats wrong??? i am v worried. the nxt 2 wks will b v nerve wrecking 4 me.

no mood 4 anything now.
i think the both of us r obsessed wif our babies weight gain...

jrrt: then ur pd is wrong liao.. look at this website. should be from the lowest pt.. which is logical if u think of it..
http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/growth/weight-gain.html#wtgain

same with yu he. if i calculate from birthweight.. last measure. 3.550 - 3.240 = .310 over three weeks nia.. 100g plus nia! cannot be lah..
if i do the lowest pt calcuation. then his weight gain is 200g+ per week.. which sounds better now..

plus tally the poos and pees.. more consistent mah.. plus rn is active. yh sleepier wor..

jrrt:ha.. ok lah. justthat u and i are more guided by guidelines. coz our kids small mah.. what to do?:p dun freak out. else ss will drop :p

my pd lagi best.. she says. dun worry about the weight gain. even scale to scale calibration can be different and off by 300g!.. as long as upwards, bb active, pee poo ok. means ok .. duh.
:S

Ah? calculate fr lowest pt? Her lowest was i think 2.5 or 2.3... cnt rem liao....

Sleepy gd mah... sleep can make them grow oso. I checked her health booklet juz now. PD marked her growth weight, height, head circumference all at 50th percentile... so considered borderline pass?

sigh, i cant imagine hvg to worry abt this at all. nvr expected it!

ur YH not small at birth mah, mine is small.

yah man, made me lose imterest to pump tdy. so no mood!!! if pd not concerned, i am not so worried. only when pd starts to panic then i worry ah...

jrrt: 50% percentile is ok liao..
which makes it worse. not small at birth. weight gain still slow.. wahliew. i trying assure u. u making me freak out :p:p

eh sorry sorry paiseh! i not tryg to freak u out lah... and i know u r assuring me...

alone at home makes it more depressing 4 me... gg over to my mum's plc soon...

I wanna join Astro's friend's spree from Drugstore.com for the below. I can buy 3 each of the below, in addition to 3 tubs of Calendula Cream. ANYONE HERE WANNA TAKE THE OTHER 3 TO GET VOLUME DISCOUNT???

California Baby Bug Repellent Spray with Citronella 6.5 fl oz (195 ml) USD14.99
[VOLUME DISCOUNT: BUY 6 FOR USD12.99 EACH]

With natural oils know for their safe bug repellent properties

For Babies, Kids &amp; Sensitive Adults
Non-Chemical
Non-Toxic
Deet Free
No Nut Oils, Gluten Soy, Oat or Dairy
Contains Organic &amp; Sustainably Grown Ingredients
Not Tested on Animals
No Animal Ingredients
Developed by a mother, California Baby® has your child's best interest at heart.™
Repels fleas, mosquitoes, ticks and biting flies. We use traditionally recommended oils that are safe, gentle and effective. A safe and natural alternative to toxic bug repellent chemicals such as DEET. Citronella does not cause harm to humans, pets or the environment. Our non-toxic proprietary formula contains citronella, lemongrass, cedarwood and other natural oils known for their safe bug repellent properties. Our spray also works to soothe itchiness from existing bites with organic aloe vera, yucca, Irish moss and herbs that are specific to healing of the skin.

California Baby SPF30+ Sunscreen, No Fragrance 2.9 oz (82.22 g) USD19.99
[VOLUME DISCOUNT: BUY 6 FOR USD17.99 EACH]

For Babies, Kids, &amp; Sensitive Adults
Very Water Resistant (highest rating)
SPF30+ (highest rating)
UVA-UVB Broad Spectrum Protection
Antioxidant Free Radical Protection
Tear Free, No PABA
Free of Chemical Sunscreens
Contains Organic &amp; Sustainably Grown Ingredients
No Nut Oils, Gluten, Soy, Oat, or Dairy
No Fragrance
Not Tested on Animals
No Animal Ingredients
Formulated without invasive chemicals, our silky SPF30+ lotion is simple and elegant; it glides on easily and works to maintain the cellular integrity of the skin. Not all titanium dioxide is the same! Our proprietary formula utilizes an exclusive highly micronized titanium dioxide that scatters and reflects dangerous UV rays. Our 'Super Sensitive' formula is for those who cannot tolerate fragrance or other common allergens. Very water resistant.
Serious Sun Care™

astro,
i wanna join your friend's spree!!!

hippo: i will take one bottle of each u lelonging.. so u need to lelong for two more of each.. and 3 tubs of calendula cream. else cant enjoy volume discuont:p

astro,
so between us we have enough of calendula cream already lah right? so i only need 2 each of the citronella spray and sunscreen?