(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Loke,
I have the baby foot print, stemcord, postnatal massage, CL, company claims...etc to settle directly after birth. Need alot of attention. Guess just too much for my horrible memory which is already very very bad before preg.

gal,
that is bad. my hubb likes to watch horror movies. Was in the room lying down then hear all the screams and shouting. Think I ask him to stop watching till I give birth.

So many mummies have given birth. I now counting down to my turn... 8 more days.... :D

loke: mine was 2.7kg last wk. hopefully he is at least 3kg when born.. hee..

tmr we will be 37wk le, finally considered full term. guess my gynae will tell me more on the rough due date after the checkup bah.

ddnikz: oooh.. i think it'll all work out well then the time comes.
don't worry about forgetting them!!

limmil: the dates are all not accurate one. keep changing all the time. so i'm going to adopt hippo's philosophy of "no expectation = no disappointment".. hahhaa..

Though all of us have already more or less aware what is BH and real labour pain, just in case there are mummies out there like me who still can't differentiate, reading this might help?

Fake Contractions (Braxton Hicks)
Most women will experience "fake" contractions sometime in their pregnancy – not all women, but most. Fake contractions, more commonly known as Braxton Hicks contractions, are real, honest-to-goodness contractions of the uterus. They look real on a uterine contraction monitor. They feel real. But they're not called real. The difference being that they are irregular contractions, and they don't cause your body to go into labor or your cervix to dilate. True labor is contractions with cervical changes.
Usually, you'll start feeling Braxton Hicks contractions sometime in the second trimester, getting more pronounced the farther along you go in pregnancy. They can feel like a tightening of the stomach, as your abdomen (or rather the uterus) gets hard for no reason. You'll know it when you feel it. If you touch the stomach with your hand while one of these contractions is occurring, it feels like a tight drumhead. There is no way to control the contraction. It will usually pass in a few seconds. In the meantime, just breathe your way through it. Or try changing your activity or drinking some water to alleviate the tightness.

Braxton Hicks contractions can be triggered by something as simple as the baby moving or someone merely touching your stomach. Although they are often called practice contractions, they don't actually play a part in dilating or effacing the cervix, like real contractions do.

Typically, Braxton Hicks contractions are not especially painful, but more uncomfortable than anything. These contractions may vary from a few seconds to half a minute, and you can't predict when they will occur. You may have a run of three or four contractions an hour, and then they will just stop for no reason. They might not come back for weeks, or they could come back an hour later. Go figure.

From the Doctor's Perspective...
Since people have different pain thresholds, some women do describe Braxton Hicks as being very painful. When I ask a first-time mother to rate the pain, she may say it's a "10." Because she hasn't experienced labor yet, that pain is indeed a 10 to her. Usually, when that same woman goes into labor, she'll say that it hurts worse than Braxton Hicks, ergo the pain is now off the charts. Be aware that other factors may contribute to the intensity of your perception of "painful" contractions, anxiety being one of those conditions. Try to rest and minimize the stress in your life.

Having said that, the caveat is to always consult your care provider if you're in extreme pain. The pain could be coming from another source, like the bladder, yet feel as if it's in the same location as the uterus. Or it could be coming from a pulled muscle or a gastrointestinal problem and needs to be investigated further. Don't live with unnecessary pain. Make sure that nothing else is wrong.

Real Contractions
In comparison to Braxton Hicks contractions, real contractions are regular in duration and regular in their interval spacing. As labor progresses, they get more intense and last longer. For example, they may start off lasting a few seconds and occurring 10 minutes apart, but every hour they get closer and closer together and last longer. On average, a real contraction lasts from 30 seconds to one minute each. Typically, you'll start off with four to six contractions in one hour. When you have four to six contractions for two hours in a row, it's time to call the doctor. Chances are good that you're in labor!

Real contractions can be anything from a dull ache and a tightening of the uterus (à la Braxton Hicks) to all-out, excruciating, gut-wrenching, eye-popping pain. Believe me when I say that you'll know it's the real thing when you experience them.

When contractions start, you should time them with a stopwatch to see how long they last. Then time them again to see how far apart they are. The doctors, nurses, and hospital personnel will all ask you these questions. "How far apart are they? How long do they last?" Get your partner to keep a chart of the contractions. This will often help the doctor determine over the phone if you need to get to a hospital, and if you're close to delivery. Nobody wants you to have that baby in the car, least of all your partner.

Be prepared for the contractions to change quickly, meaning that they can go from easy and manageable pain to over-the-top and unremitting, wrenching pain in what seems like an instant. When this happens, it means that the baby is progressing down the birth canal.

lets see....

Vin & joanne: congratz ye

siangjiao: r u refering to the region directly above the pubic area and below ur lower abdomen?When u press on it,its very tender like just flesh without bone at tt region but piercing pain? I got it the whole day round few wks back even when i zz but after the physio tt my gynae recommended, i only get it when i toss in bed. If u r refering to tt, my gynae said its coz of the softening of ligament and the expansion of the symphysis joints which most pregnant women will experienced during their lastfew wks b4 EDD ,just tt mine happen 2 mths b4 which.

ddnikz: ya next one will be soh,roxie and u. all ur princess's clothing washed n cot prepared?

Re: Foot Swellness
ddnikz, tien n mummies with swelled foot, is ur pig trotters still there. no idea y suddenly mine subside 90% today weird.

Re: nomsnosm
nomsnosm MIA?

Re: VE test
No ans for VE test yet or i missed out
,Will like to know whats tt?

Re: Cervix dilation check
May i know roughly when will the gynae check if our cervix dilate?

nlimm: still having pig trotters. Only time when I see my ankles is in the morning when i wake up after propping them up when i sleep.

cervix - my gynae had been checking me since 36 weeks i think, so far twice. but the last time was a little painful because she was pressing down hard on something and then she said my baby's head is quite low already.

Congrats to Vin and Joanne!

Can't wait to hear your stories and see yr baby pix.

My tummy around the navel area is super itchy and am developing some small red spots. Anyone experiencing that too? Any suggested remedies? My dad mentioned that my body may be too heaty???

ddnikz: tt does help for lazy mum like me:p had some contraction on sat n sun nite n menses type of pain fortunately dun have it yest nite.

glass: thxthx think gotta check with my gynae this fri so far no test for me yet. Today is the 1st time i see my ankles again after sicne 2nd trimester, hope the swell dun come back tomm

annette,
everything is washed. cot stuff also but then, havt really set up the cot. Hubb say now set up by the time bb here it will be too dusty. Perhaps will set up the night before I admit to hospital for the big day :D

Re: Foot Swellness
Mine is still there. Hubb tried pressing down on one foot that day, hurts like mad! Good to hear that your one went down annette, possible will be the old wives' tales on bb coming soon? How many times already? So far mine only went down once (as you can see from the pics).

Now abit scared of night time leh. so far the pain is the most frequent and horrible during night time. Think my one will prob be a night baby.

kekeke, annette... I forgot to mention. My last visit to Dr Choo. She pointed to my trotters and started shaking her head sympathetically...

Annette>> VE is vaginal examination. It's something you will not like because gynae will insert 2 fingers to see if you hv dilated or not. For some, can be uncomfortable while for others, can be painful. :p It's something I dragged.

Re: VE test
annette, I have the VE test done on my last visit to Dr Choo. Quite ok. Not painful. In fact, I find it quite amusing when she told me that she can touch the hardness of my bb's head :D

Please note that I have reduced the selling price of the Medela Mini Electric (only use once) to S$110 - not negotiable and no exchange with vouchers (Retail price @ S$195). Bought in June 2009.

Interested, sms me @ my mobile 9639 9894(Jennifer Lim).

Information on Medela Mini Electric Pump
The Medela Mini Electric Breastpump is the ideal, fully automatic breastpump for short term separation of mother and baby. Easy on/off switch. AC/DC or manual operation. This breastpump is portable, autocycling, and provides adjustable vacuum control. About 35 suck-release cycles per minute. The Medela Mini Electric breastpump also runs on 2 AA batteries (not included).

3046256.jpg

ddnikz: swellness only went thru the 1st time since 2nd trimester wo.When i show her mine she also give the same response haha

Bluesea/ddnikz: ahhhhhhhh tts VE
maybe mine not engaged tet tts y gynae nvr do the test ba.ddnikz,ur bb head engaged aldy?

Re: the herb for bath during confinement.
Anyone knows wats the name for this herb, and what is the rate?I havent buy yet ahha

annette,
Still not sure whether is engaged or not. Dr Choo never use this expression when she talked to me about bb ready or not. She only say cervic not open but the head is down. Is that consider engaged? She did the VE for me cos I told her I having alot of discharge. Perhaps need to wait till it is nearer?

if we keep having bh contractions does that means we are actually dilating? hmm.. hope i'm dilating man hahahaa cant wait to see baby!

I visited my cousin who just gave birth 4 days ago. just found out from my aunt that we need to prepare some pails for bathing.. to put the boiled water.. coz they said we're not advisable to use normal water to bathe or even wash our hands.

PY,

is up to u to decide if u wana follow the rules strictly or not. for me, i would still have the pail but i will still wash hands in normal water, add normal water to the pail of herbs for showering :p i m never a good follower for rules.

erm, elly, if u read this, dun tell my mom. she will scream at the top of her voice haha

today my last day of work!! tmr's the day! feeling excited, tired n scared haha

mylvera> hahaha i not sure abt it until the old folks told me yesterday.. well i'm already v irritated by them man.. i told them i might need to induce and all of them are against the idea.

why cant they think of it from another perspective.. if inducing can reduce any complications or risk why not? then my mom end up saying no wonder they say female doctors are not good lah blah blah blah. damn fed up with them. anyway induce is SO common now. wake up their idea man!

wah u didnt take a short break before delivery ah? must be damn tired for u

PY,

no idea abt y the older generation dun like the idea of inducing. mayb they tot there are complications as in bb not due yet, n u go kar jiao bb to come out?

for my case, i always let bb choose their own dates except this time round. imagine my contraction starts on tues nite 8pm till thurs 1am deliver my #1 haha erm, very long hor? cos we admitted to hospital on wed afternoon n my gynae str away burst water bag for me. but my son dun like wed, choose to b fully dilated on thurs lor. according to the midwives there, at 8pm wed nite, i m already 9cm dilated, waiting for my son to push the 1 cm more den i can deliver. but he doesn't like wed, so once the clock strike 12 midnite, he started "working" n i m fully dilated lor :p

i did took a "short break" on monday n tues. asked for MC. but monday have to look aft my sons cos #1 having high fever since sat. yday got to pack the rooms n din really rest too. today come back here to rest den tmr go deliver haha

mylvera>> yah they say haven ripe then wanna force the baby out. =.= hai i dun wanna argue with them coz our thinking are totally different.

I would also like to let bb decide the date but if she's too big.. i think induce is better lor. if not end up got complication also sian.

actually hor... i duno how to dilate faster. but i was told by my frds not to walk too much cos i had lots of "contractions" and the contractions are causing me backaches as well. i rem when i was in the delivery ward for #1, i saw lots of mummies walking up n down the corridor. mayb walking will helps in dilation?

PY : i initially oso tot so that er..if bb come out later his lungs will be better developed. But when I asked the gynae, she say the last 3 weeks no diff. full term liew.

mylvera : ah..thanks for the tip. yest i went out for dinner sit bus. got a seat. The 15mins journey, got a v bad backache. by e time i reach destination, i look super shack. hb ask me i okay bo. Is it because I am heavy or is it because i hardly walk nowadays.

gal^ >> yes, im still going to the gym everyday.. used to jog la.. but since i discovered my preg have been walkin on the treadmill instead.. have asked my gynae if it's not advisable to walk now cos it might induce labour he says dun listen to others. walking is good and if walking can really induce the labour then they dun need gynaes to perform complicated induction, just ask all over-dued mummies to walk till the cows come out!

so if you follow "western" style, u shd walk bah i guez...

and maybe that might help in water retention as it promotes circulation? not sure.. but *fingers crossed*, i dun haf any swelling anywhere now at 36 weeks... maybe those mummies with swelling feet can trying walkin a bit more?

annette: the confinement herbal bath is called ' da feng ai'. i bought it from one of the medical hall at sima lu last week. think one pkt is ard $2.80.

py: for quicker dilation, i ever heard ppl saying having 'intimation' with ur hubby might helps. but do it only if you have no infection or ur water bag still intact. maybe u can check with ur gynae for more..

nomsnosm: MIA? go for delivery already?

Wanna ask whether when'd be a good time to bring baby overseas? have yet to give birth but was intending to join mum and sis for a trip overseas (ard 4 hrs flight or so) next mar, tink by then, baby will be around 5 mths or 6 mths old... advisable to bring baby along?

was hoping that wont need to bring pram but just a baby carrier then mum, sis, myself and hb can take turns to carry baby... so tempted to join mum and sis for the trip but dunno if will enjoy anotz..

limmil: ask ya sthg, is da feng ai = da feng cao?

thenf or the 1 pkt tt ya bot at $2.80, wat's the size? is there any recommended brand or?

I've recently bought 1 pack (with 10 small packs inside ard 80g each) and the instructions said that each small pack can be boiled with 18 litres of water.. is it the same?

Is there anywhere selling it cheaper?

backpain: i think da feng dai and da feng cao is the same bah, just that different supplier term differently. but works the same.

for mine, inside there are 8 small pkts. the medical shop ppl recommended me to use 4 pkt each time. but i think i will play cheat abit. hee
say if i only use it for damp cleaning my body in the first week, then think we do not need so much water, then can reduce to 1 or 2pkt each time bah.

not sure if $2.80 is cheap or exp, but since i did not buy many pkt, i just chin chye grab few pkt then thats it.

abt confinement:

i think i will still use normal tap water when washing hands after visiting toilet bah. cant possibly use boiled water for that, right?

new hdb flat toilet so small, no space to keep so many pails of boiled water in the toilet.

qn: does the boiled water used for cleaning our body and hands need to be warm at all times???

also, i think after we discharged from hosp, we still need to take medicine, so i think i will still drink plain water when popping pills. thereafter, the whole day will drink the longan red dates drink.ah bo, popping pills with longan drink seems weird to me.

<font color="aa00aa"> my account got problem and was not able to log in for daysssss.... countless..

I didn't MIA la..

Not popped yet also..hahaha..maybe baby knows we are not ready yet, naughty la, flask not wash, dogs not groomed so we very reluctant to admit on last friday.

now my family all standby mode la,at least my mum is back, got ppl to help me. Will see doc this coming friday and kiv induce on saturday, don't wanna keep waiting and gynea also said baby has good weight now.
3-3.2kg, my gynea seems cool about inducing and confident, maybe my cervix already thinned and soften hence most likely no complication inducing, besides, waterbag level is good too, at 8cm.

Wow, now countdown for the expected delivery date on 031009 is good.

py, wanna deliver the same day? what did your gynea said?</font>

diana: u finally appeared. 031009 is nice. we shall wait for ur good news after this sat.

shugar: wah.. waterbag burst !! at hm or work? i cant imagine what its like to have the waterbag burst when we r outside. any contigency plan to advise?

roxie edd is 14-oct! wahh...
shugar : is roxie in delivery now or have given birth?

babyturn : hehe.. ur gynae v cute. ask overdued mummies to walk until cows come home. hehehe.. okay i shall go walk around today
{{slowly}}

tink will go buy the luncheon meat today. have been tinking abt eating luncheon meat since yesterday.

<font color="aa00aa">limmil,haha..yaya, hopefully..i was telling ben about cow baby advised to come out in the evening, because cow normally starts working in the morning and also better to deliver in the autumn/winter because cow doesn't work during these seasons...both of us laugh out loud in our room... anyone of you heard about this before?

Thanks shugar for updating us! Hope to hear good news today !! so kancheong for her..ahhaaa, mine not break yet la!!! he really listens to daddy who wants him to stay until weekend</font>

limmil: roxie was 1cm dilated last night and her water bag burst at home while she was preparing to leave for work.
Think she's probably in the delivery suite now.
Jia you! jia you!

Only preparation I had was the protective sheets I left in the car to line the car seat with. But for my case, in the end no water bag burst. :p

diana: i nvr heard abt this story b4.. but seems like this story benefit to our bbs since they all fall into this period. now is winter season?? then not so lau lu ming.. irregardless of what time they are delivered. hehe

<font color="aa00aa">limmil, yupyup, funny theory..haaa, hubby and I just laugh... delivery at what time also no problem.

mummies, can I check with all of you, someone was telling me not to be too 张扬 when going to deliver, go quietly..hmm...anyone heard of this? thanks for sharing hor..</font>

shugar:
my first birth is thru induced. so no experience also..

but on hearing mummies having shows, waterbag burst or contraction..i think i better get myself prep incase it got too messy.. hee

roxie is lucky, at least the water bag burst at hm. she can go straight to hosp.

my hubby also say shld start placing the protective sheet on our bed to prevent any staining.. haha.. ya.. i shld remind him to put one in our car also, just incase.

diana: i nvr heard abt that also, why ah? think immediate family still need to know when we gg for deliver bah. did that someone tell u why cannot too 张扬?

<font color="aa00aa"> she refused to tell. just said if waterbag burst then go quietly, no need to tell anyone, once BB is out safetly then annouce. same thing when she told me not to sit on my bed while waiting the "fetch the bride" thingy.</font>