(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

astro: end of sem for you already isit? so nice to be able to take it easy at work now. unfortunately it's the crazy period for me now. dono how to tahan til end of sept!

xoxo: haven't heard from you in a while too. did your gynae advise on how to resolve the blocked duct prob you're experiencing? take care, you.

miemie,sorrylah...hehehe.nevermind u can eat it after u give birth.LOL!

ayoon, yes and I tink most gynae can tell from the ultrasound. hmm how come yours cannot eh?Did you have ultrasound for every check up?

famela! Miss me eh? Ya lah so lazy to update now. Infact I'm so lazy to anything at all. I need sleep!! But I am kepo and always read yr blog. Bestnye you have a big baby but a small tummy! And u're not even gaining weight elsewhere. So lucky!

Ya lah durians will oso make the mummy gain weight. But I am so determined to lose all the weight back in 1 mths time after birth. I'll put up Beyonce's poster all over my bedroom.hahaha!

queen: ya lar.. we all miss your bubbly presence here hokay?

i have gained a LOT of weight. more than 10kg already. Am now at 68.8kg and i foresee more weight gain. Last pregnancy I only hit 68.2kg at 36 weeks! but like you i have also resolved to lose all the weight during the first month. hahaha... shall keep u in my mind to motivate me to be more committed to keeping the binding on all day and night and for a whole month!

i have also gained weight in my thighs and butt lar. but all the photos are side profile mah.. hehehe. the stretchmarks on my thighs and butt are the worst! LOL!

mylvera/joyce: thx ye.

ddnikz/famela: im same like u aching n aching

nomsnosm: welcome

glass: ya rem to set alert with ur hp then definitely rem to ask.I have been doing tt since pregnancy dun know y my memory like deteriorate with this pregnancy.

siangjiao: did u change ur stretch cream or ate something wrong tt cause the itch? Doc no idea y also?

Queen/all mummies: ya my gynae also said durian will lead to wt gain. i also crave for durian during pregnancy n now trying to endure. So far roughly how much wt have all of u gain? my weight jump fr 48kg to now 65kg n my baby only 1.5kg which my gynae said normal,i look like a penguin walking now haha

Famela/annette, aiyah mine is off the charts liao! Paisey lah I wanna say my weight here. Haha! But I've gained a total of 14kgs so far.

Annette, how many weeks are u now?

babyvin: my BB's also still breeched... I talk to him every night. ask him to pls turn soon... tried the torchlight idea and now try the all fours pose! hahaha. so desperate! :p

siangjiao: hope that nasty itch goes away soon!

miemie: i got 2 nursing bras from Spring too! the 20% is till end of the month i think.

Queen/glass: hihi! long time no see

about massaging the perineum area... I bought a massage gel from mothercare for this. Its a moisturizing gel made from natural oils.

Thanks all for your concern ... oh dear, famela, i can't imagine if i'm in your shoes. For me, a little sweat will bring out the itch again. I think i pertually have to be in an air-con or direct fan environment for the next 2 months. Bought a bottle of cooling talc, it does help if i'm constantly peppering myself.

Mie: Since the GD diagnosis, i haven't put on any weight too. In fact, i lost a a bit. Really cut away all the chocs, and fried stuff. Sometimes feel a bit depress at my diet. Hope all and baby will turn out well.

As long as Dr says your baby weight is ok, it should be fine. I suppose a smaller baby is also good in the sense that she is easier to deliver

siangjiao>> ya, i get a bit depressed at times coz this cannot eat, that cannot eat.. and the pricking of finger sometimes damn painful.. but after about 6 rounds of pricking, more or less im used to it liao.. haha

smaller baby is easier to deliver, but not really that easy to handle after birth leh.. they say bigger babies feel more erm, solid.. hehe

eh how to massage the perineum area ah? lol

siangjiao>> just now i went out to tabao lunch.. and came back sweating like nobody's business.. and the breast started to itch too!!

Hi Shugar!!

Famela/siangjiao, i had dat itch just under the breast then oso, I tink it was 2 mths ago. It went on for 2 weeks. So irritating.I took mcs and leave coz I couldnt wear a bra, else it will itch like crazy and it was so red. I use the cooling powder, forgot wat brand and I had to bring that everywhere I go. Then now it leaves a dark mark under my breast, so ugly! But getting less visible now lah, coz I applied cocoa butter lotion everyday to it. Hope it goes away after I give birth.

Now must start perineum area eh? Maybe ask hubby to help me massage dat..hahah!! Then maybe, just maybe I can get someting back from the massage...if u know wat I mean...muahahah!! *evil horny laugh*

<font color="aa00aa">MieMie, thanks for your infos, I just came back from Spring, bought 2 nursing bra at 20% off and I also used my $10 voucher, worth it, paid only $40 plus for 2 bras at UP$38/each.

famela, your nick is very familiar to me, you are also one of those who started chatting once this thread is created right?

annette, I am like you, put on a lot already. I was 48kg during my AD then 58kg when I found out I am preggy and now go all the up to 68kg-69kg.

PY (sweetzinc), I am also sweating like crazy so I stay braless ever since I got pregnant since I am always at home all the time. I know working is difficult to try my way to relieve - showering. I shower 3-4 times a day.

Queen RA (skaterzboo), my gynea does u/s on every visit, she will measurement my baby's abdomen and then look at the chart and tell me how heavy. my baby boy is 1.6kg at week 31.

Dear all Mummies, I am now in my week 33, since week 31, I started to see colostrum, not a lot but if I trigger a bit, can see few drops coming out from both breasts and I also found mole, very tiny under both nipples, anyone experience this?

Talk about weight, I put on 10kg before I got pregnant in 1.5 yrs and now another 10kg. My weight gain is very slow since week 31, like 500gm for 3 weeks. </font>

famela, queenRA,
long time no see! your presence is certainly missed here. haha...

siangjiao, miemie, shugar,
i'm sure you guys are very healthy lor. i dunno what my weight is leh. ignorance is bliss! haha... meanwhile i still indulge, albeit somewhat moderately. but i'm sure my gynae will be more than happy to point it out to me when i see him next tue. sigh...

re: hospital ward tours
ok there's been some discussion about the respective hospitals and i have to say that i didn't find those applicable to me since i'm a captive customer @ mt E.

babes, pls manage your expectations of your hospital hor. i've just been told OCT is a PEAK month. ha! and from the looks of the size of our thread, it is indeed quite peak huh? i'm somewhat consoled that most of you are going to be at TMC or Mt A. haha... sorry ah. anyhow, i heard recently Mt A have instances where MTBs are sitting on couches waiting for BEDS in the DELIVERY SUITE. ha! so if we suay suay all go in around same time then gotta wait somewhere else for delivery suite to become available. that's not a very funny scenario to me lor.

i dunno what the other hospitals have but i'm somewhat consoled that the wards and deliv suites @ Mt E all look pretty nice and comfy, maybe can even say classy. ah, but everyone else on the ward tour was ang moh lor. so i feel like i'm a chai tao kena "tok" lah. no choice, since gynae only deliver there.

oh! and sing hallelujah maid #1 touched down today. phew! my parents like want to kiss her already ah. cos #2 already driving all of us up the wall... haha...

<font color="aa00aa">hi happy hippo, I am half new/half old here...hehe... I am not with either mt a or mt e but KKH. My sister's friend who gave birth 2 months back was very disappointed with delivery suite and ward at mt e ( her 3rd delivery there), she said the blankets given to her was thorn and sheet also not clean, like very old and still using.

mie: yea... sometimes prick liao, not enough blood, need to repeat again..haha

skaterbooz: envy you... you're still in the "mood".. wink wink. me and hubby haven't been in the mood for a long long time.

i see if i can arrange for a hospital tour my next visit. I'm with KKH, so its either a one bedder or four bedder. can't decide yet. one bedder will be nice, but its like $800 more and I can imagine the visitors coming, but refusing to leave. But for 4-bedder, afraid that it will be too noisy, like market place.

Hippo>> I heard some mtb at TMC also need to wait for bed or something ah.. i hope this wont happen to me man! i'll curse and swear ha ha ha

nomsnosm>> haha i'm also bra-less most of the time.. except when i need to go out for lunch or dinner hehe :D but i hope the breasts wont sag coz of this tsk

nomsnosm,
how many bedder did she have? my frens never complain leh. even when i visit them i also see that they're quite comfy.

sweetzinc,
i think we better pray when its our turn, its not like everyone else's turn too. otherwise sian already... hahaha...

Hi ayoon. Yes i am one of the "founding members" of this thread. Haha!
Started this thread by posting e first post actually but been on n off chatting here depending on work commitments la. HeeHee.

Jus checked archives and realised you're diana goh, also one of the first few "founding members" haha
welcome back! I don haf colostrum dripping but i do see it wen i squeeze my boobs. My weight gain is similar to yours. When first found out preggy i was 56.8kg. Now i'm 68.8kg. Been gaining 2plus to 3 plus kg over last 3 months. I'll be 33weeks exactly tmr. Think i'll continue to gain weight til i pop *shudders*

i reali envy you mommies who are either working in aircon offices or staying home! My classrooms are so warm! fans all above students. front of classrooms no fan. only side fans but if you stand in centre cannot feel the fan. I'm perspiring 100% of e time. Can feel e sweat drip drip drip down my cleavage even. And rushing fr class to class across 4 storeys is so not helping leh! I wish can stay home and go braless too.
hate the itch!

miemie: hang in there with your diet. a few more weeks only. and i think your baby won't be that small lar so will still feel quite solid

i've never done the perineum massage. a bit grossed out to do it and i oso don't feel like getting my hubby to get so up close and personal liddat now. hahaha.. queen is really QUEEN lor.. til now oso got mood. i'm so exhausted most times after work, all i wanna do is lie, down, vege out and sleep! haha!

regarding hospital bed: I'm with KKH too and last Monday, after my check-up, already signed up for our 1-bedder room. had to pay initial payment of $2080. The other 2k++ will be medisave claimable. cost has increased by about $200+/300 since 3 years ago i noted. everything so ex now!

hippo: must wait for delivery bed and sit around on couches?? are you kidding me?! that's totally not funny! especially when you're in pain! gosh!

siangjiao, pls excuse my pregnant brain but weren't u with dr judy wong at TMC? you switched to KKH? what happened? or did you mention this already? sorry yah? i really cannot rem..

siangjiao, I also aching like mad but I realised that if I apply Medela nipple cream on the nipple area then wear disposable pads on it. It actually stops the itch for whole day. You may want to try it?

Sigh, I think I can be the chairwoman of the aching club. Now I stand up I have to heave myself up with my arms first, let the pain at the pelvic bone area go away abit first before straightening. Looking forward to week 33. One week less of torture!

hi astro,

not to worry... we still have plenty of time to ask for discount for kelly's photography. i m sure the rest will also rather wait for you to catch your friend in the best mood... hee

re: lack of hospital beds
we were told during the tour that if we have opted for 1-bedder and it is unavailable, they will convert the 2-bedder to 1-bedder but we will still pay for 1-bedder. isn't this unfair? shdn't they auto upgrade for us to premium 1-bedder or something? anyone experienced this before?

astro,
ok no worries. u updated us as and when you have news regarding kellysyj. tks!

famela,
well i din witness it. i heard. am sure if i'm 1 of the 2 mtbs sitting on the couch i would be SWEARING already. its really not quite funny...

but my frens have been commenting that they know so many frens who are giving birth this yr. like '09 is a boom year liddat. somemore we dun say oct babies quite peak cos conceived during holiday season yah?! just keeping my fingers crossed man...

annette, if tends 2 hv red spottg tat imply unstable n ne bed rest n try 2 avoid walkg 2 muc. If normal case then old ppl would encourage us 2 walk more so 2 aid easier delivery.

Mata, well nt sure if d gynae is accurate on d bb weight cos he simply use his hand 2 touch aro d belly n gauge d weight.other gynae normaly wil measure here n there on screen n i dun c him doing tat leh.

ginger,
i think they meant u will have the WHOLE 2-bedder to yourself but there are 2 beds inside. and your HB can sleep on the other bed, instead of the sofa bed. at least for Mt E, that's the case if i understood them correctly.

hippo: yes, i also interpret it as husb n i having the 2-bedder all to ourselves too. but usually the 2-bedder's condition is more "lok" than 1-bedder and of course, less luxurious in other amenities such as 2 smaller TVs instead of 1 big LCD, etc. i will be terribly upset if that happens to me!

<font color="aa00aa">siangjiao, i went for the KKH tour, it is very quiet even during lunch time at the ward. Only 2 visitors are allowed at all time for one patient.

PY, my breast so huge that I myself find them not attractive anymore but my sister assure me, they will go back in shape after delivery but of course, don't expect so soon.

ginger>> yes! that's why i hope it wont happen to me too
although the hubby will have a bed to sleep but the room is indeed more lok kok haha. if that the case i may downgrade to 2 bedder..
hmm see how first ba

nomsnosm>> yah
i want my B cup back haha.. i hate huge breast they're so gross can! my god... cant believe that i'm wearing a D cup nursing bra lol!

ginger,
orh. haha... i din notice size of tv leh. but i know the rooms are same size lah. the lady said "daddies say the bed is more comfy than the sofa bed lor!" haha... i din think much. only that i'm a "chai tao" cos all the rest are ang mohs. wah lau. sigh...

<font color="aa00aa">happy hippo, she was taking one bedded. she said all along she doesn't like mt e but no choice to take it because of her gynea and her company is paying for everything.

famela,yaya, I am Diana. Good that you're still putting on weight, I am actually quite worried when my weight stops going up but I can feel my baby more. he is very very active. You're having a boy or girl??
I am also week 33, hope to give birth in week37-week38.. can't wait to see the little buddy. I can understand your "dripping down the cleavage". That's why I will rush to shower after housework every morning, then sit down and enjoy my breakfast and start my daily babyplus session.
Since you're with KKH, you taking premier A1? Premier package - priority in bed management, at least, no lodger.

ong, YES must bed rest if there is spotting. i had it too and was advice not to carry heavy things and rest, don't walk too much. The old ppl wants us to walk more, can, not cannot but after week36, we don't want to have a prem baby.</font>

hippo> yah lor! i dun like to wear bra leh haha bra-less is more comfy wahaha!

but i think they're really sagging liao lah! the tummy and boobs can touch each other wah lao. damn gross i think that's why my hubby said i look like orangutan >.<

PY,
wah lau, today went out forgot my maternity belt. i nearly died lah. went for lunch, then jalan jalan, then went for maternity ward tour. bb hippo damn heavy k! i nearly peng san. phew... k ah. i think i better go and lie down already. next week i better dun forget my maternity belt. otherwise can forget about chionging at the fair already man.

Siangjiao: the other day i had to poke 5 times just for a little drop of blood!! think my skin getting thick maybe??

hippo: today i went to bugis to walk walk and passed by beard papa.... wah lau!!!!
misery!

Some info from baby center about perineal massage... sounds a bit complicated though :S

"Some practitioners recommend massaging the perineum (the area between your vulva and your anus) to help you avoid having an episiotomy or tearing during childbirth. Not everyone is comfortable doing this but if you'd like to give it a try, now's the time to start. Here's one method:

• Wash your hands and then sit in a warm, comfortable area, spreading your legs apart in a semi-reclined position. Put Vitamin E oil (from Vitamin E capsules) or pure vegetable oil on your fingers and thumbs and around your perineum.

• Place your thumbs about 1 to 1 1/2 inches (up to or just past your first knuckle) inside your vagina. Press down toward your rectum and then out toward the sides. Gently and firmly continue stretching until you feel a slight burn or tingling. Hold this stretch for about 2 minutes — until the tingling starts to subside.

• Slowly and gently massage the lower part of the vaginal canal back and forth, hooking your thumbs onto the sides of the vaginal canal and gently pulling these tissues forward, as your baby's head will do during delivery. Keep this up for 3 to 4 minutes.

• Be gentle, as a vigorous touch could cause bruising or swelling in these sensitive tissues. During the massage avoid pressure on the urethra (urinary opening). This can cause irritation or infection."

famela: your memory is good. I was with Dr Judy Wong and i really liked her. However, during the 5th month, my hubby realized that his company has pretty good benefits if we are with govt structured hospitals, which is why the change.

PY ... hehehe, my boobs also sitting on my belly and sweat accumulates there! I think orang utang descibes me ... i look like ah meng now.

Hippo: I've been feeling crammpy, do you think the maternity belt will help. Do you feel hot wearing it?

Queen: my bb 31 wks wo and i aldy gain so 17kg wo

nomsnosm: guess we r abt the same hehe

hippo: Wa really ah im still pondering if to choose mount a wo,gog for the tour this sat.

famela/ddnik: u in teaching line too? Its so tiring right, somemore when teach need stand and the pain at my pelvic bone kicking me

hippo:ya this yr rally alot of ppl give birth, all our babies gog to have tough time when enrol for sch..........

sweetzinc: u size DDDDDDDDDD wahhhhhhhhhhh ur hubby must be very happy:p and baby alot of milk later on

sweetzinc: y ur hubby so bad,said u look like orangutan

PY,
hahaha... well, mine called me a FAT WORM. cos i was trying to wriggle from one side of the bed to another side. then he said "wah lau, look like fat worm" feel like knocking his head k!!! :pPPP

annette,
i dun think its just Mt A. i think both TMC &amp; Mt A are very popular cos of cost and reputation lah. just our thread already i think majority are with either 2. so u can guess lor...

enrolling for schools. haha... luckily my primary school considered quite decent, so my bb hippo can go to cheena biang school. i dun care. not gonna volunteer at those stupid popular schools. hehe...

siangjiao,
the one i have is from my fren. the material is very good. quite breathable type. and it helps lift the tummy up and offer support lah. i saw pigeon has one quite reasonable looking one around $50+. my fren bot hers for $75, its another brand, not very well known tho'... i think if ur tummy not too big and heavy maybe can put up with it. but if the weight is quite unbearable and u need to be out and about a lot, then can consider getting lor. its not that ex lah.

shugar,
hahahaha... funny u shud mention beard papa. cos i was ABOUT to have one today. and then no time to get. never mind. next week i'm gonna whack it b4 the fair. but i wun tell u if i see u there. hehehehe...

whoa! so many posts!! i slept like a log yesterday after my yoga session...for a grand total of 5hrs. oh well. that's the best i can do without shooting up in pain over my left one. sleeping on the right sets off a leg cramp; lying flat inspires breathing issues...what's a gal to do huh?

annette >> not cramps on the boob..it's a really sore left...all over but particularly on the side where apparently, there's 2 lumps caused by blocked ducts. it's really swollen at times (esp at night)...and there's some discharge which gets that area rather messy at times. was examined and told it was caused by a really premature presence of milk which cannot be expressed. ouch. just grin and bear unless a fever develops. the right side is like what you say - some deposits here and there..and nothing at all like the left!

famela >> the gynae advised directing a warm stream of water or using a compress to ease the discomfort. i try to do so during bath time..but that's not really something that works for very long. i tried massaging and "directing" the lumpiness outwards (t/w the nip), but that just triggers lots of pains and cramps (boob, tummy)...argh! i really hope this prb would literally melt away on its own...

miemie >> our babes are on the lower end i suppose though i am no expert in this area...i went home and plotted on the growth chart (given during the detailed scan) and she fell from the 95th percentile to the 5th percentile! back to my favourite expression: it's just numbers. don't put too much heart on that...i was like, what's up with the weight competition when they are just fetuses!! so gotta not care too much. i think with our babes in singapore - nutrition isn't a huge issue by the time she's old enough to indulge in donuts, char kway teow, god knows what...so, chin up girl...we are just weeks away...don't get too down with the food and stuff. my MS is still there and at times, thinking how i have to steer from trigger foods and when even "safe" eats can inspire a really nasty puke session - yeah, misery misery..but there's always getting used to it and ploughing along for a few more days (yeah, more cheery to think it that way)

glass >> take care! sometimes a lump could be due to a lymphatic issue. body's battling something...rest rest rest...(i gotta obey the same mantra now)..

siangjiao >> my midriff is also itchy.... been trying to resist scratching but woke up to find a few scratches here and there - so must have caved in and scratched away during sleep...

ABOUT MT A...

haha..hippo's urban legend abt the 2 mothers "waiting" for their turn at the delivery ward came abt fr me i suppose. i was there on Tue for the hospital tour. with 10 delivery rooms and a first-stage labour rm with 4 beds, you'd have thought on a weekday at 3pm - being crowded wouldn't have exactly crossed yr mind...but it was PACKED FULL.

utter madness there - all 10 rooms were taken up and the 4 first-stage beds - apparently one there was waiting already to be trf to a delivery room..so these 2 poor things walked in at the wrong time. when our coordinator and the whole wide-eyed gang of us strolled past her...by virtue there was no longer any nurse in sight (all must be engaged with the full hse situation) - she had this contorted look that prompted our coordinator to ask if she's ok..well- obviously not!

(xoxo seriously re-considering this potential nightmare)

when we were done with the very brief look at room 9 cos that's already due to be released for one of these birthing mums...we walked out and saw waiting mum #2...

ditto abt the rooms at mt A - the 2 wards were full hse too. even the suites! and the 2-bedder..so seriously, i am rather concerned. no, make that very concerned.

oh..and i've not even spoken abt the really loud screams i heard during the delivery ward tour...so now in addition to the hospital, i am seriously qn my own logic abt trying to make do with as natural a birth as possible. mission sounds tough...and i really don't wanna be losing all senses and screaming the roof down...

xoxo,
hahaha... i like the "i really dont wanna be losing all senses and screaming the roof down..." WELL, NOT WHEN YOU'RE WAITING MUM #3!!! hahahahaha...

on 2nd thots, i just realised we just crossed into 7th months. so maybe all these MTBs wanted to get their precious out BEFORE ghost festival. maybe now its QUIET??? saw how MTBs in the sep thread saying they wanna tahan til AFTER ghost festival.

eh, why so pantang ah? if the bb's coming, the bb's coming man!

i puked yesterday after eating signature fried rice n tempura from sushi tei taka. sigh... i think i got no 'fate' with this particular branch. 2nd time got bad experience liew. think will avoid. bb kicking and moving so bb should b fine gua.

hippo : haha. ya as if can stop bb from coming when bb wanna come out right?
everyday good day la.

xoxo : oh dear, hope i dun encounter le. maybe being in a popular hospital is not a good idea. next round i may consider east shore.

thanks everyone for your concern. I'll definitely update after my checkup on the lump.

hippo: ya, anyway, both my husband and i both born in 7th month. Just like that lor.

regarding upgrade of hospital beds, i asked for 4-bedder. hope that with oct as popular month, I can get upgrade to 2-bedder.

siangjiao/hippo/annette>> yah he has been saying that since i think from 26 week onwards. hahaha.

annette>> i not sure abt the exact size lah but i bought D cup nursing bra just in case after birth it suddenly grow bigger! hahaha.. so sad case man.

when i went to buy the bra they look so huge and it's so ugly!!! my godness. ok i'm going spring maternity to grab some nursing bra liao.

i'm going for check up today! updates u guys later hehe!

glass,
haha... your wish may not come true if oct is popular month, then they have to push all the 1-bedders down to 2-bedders, then... ? ok enuff said. dun wanna "wu ya zui"...

PY,
have fun @ gynae! say hi to bb charlotte! ;)

re kelly's package..
thanks ladies for the understanding

Regarding the lumps under the armpit
ha. recalled this and i think it is funny.. coz i was having breastfeeding difficulties till breast engorged.. so went TMC parent craft.. stripped and let the LC nurses massage.. then they say the lumps which are hard.. and they went..wah. engorged till there?
hahahah. then Mrs wong came in and said.. 'normal.. bring the boy'.. she was referring to teng.. then 'mercilessly' clamp teng onto me.. 'he will clear all those for you'.. then i was stuck there, stripped, with teng.. for almost 2. hours.. then mrs wong saw how teng 'never had enough'.. and said 'ok. this one needs to supplement with a bit of FM first'.. ha..

tomorrow's sat?!.. *manage a feeble yeah!*

famela/annette and all teaching mums: i tell u. i wun be able to stay preg if i am still in teaching! the hours are long. the schedule hectic.. and i keep missing meals! lost one bb when was teaching.. (no faul tot teaching though).. then when preg with teng.. left teaching at 4mths.. really really very de siong. salutes to u all..

Famela: yes end of semester.. but i do have loads of training workshops to do as well. well.. we shall see lah. very de sian now

morning gals,

Talking about hospital?? I also havent decide I want 1 bedded or 2 bedded must let my gynae know by next check up.

I also hate my big breast now so heavy, me also remove my bra immediately when reach home if not bei tahan.