(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Not a good week for me. DD is still down with fever. Today, i found sores outside my lips. When to the doc with DD. FInd out i got cold sore urgh. Never had it before. The bill was so ex as DD also did another consultation.

Many says, S'pore can died but cannot be sick. :p
So i was stuck at home with DD for the past 2 days.

DD recently abit naughty. Don't really listen & do as she is told.

Jul
I wonder can pigeon milk bottle tits fitted avent bottles ? DD got a few so thinking to use that & buy some more for the #2.

I have been using Avent sterliser for #1, then i pass to my SIL. Now is back to me. Still in good condition.

RE: Sterilizer

A sterilizer is a sterilizer. No matter which brand it is, the concept is the same - that is, put in some water, water get boiled, then the steam is used to sterilise the bottle. Unless you are a very brand-cautious person, if not, all brand are the same. You might want to consider other factors, like how long it takes to sterilise, how many bottle can be fitted in, what's the electricity consumption, than just look at the brand itself.

<font face="Comic Sans Ms">Gosh e weather outside is so HOT!!!! I'm like melting after coming back from market.

<font color="0000ff">ah goh (plat),

Bank Name = POSB
Branch = Not sure leh
Acc Number = Saving 194-73291-0</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Katherine,

Got yr transfer. Thanks</font>

<font color="0000ff">Lynn,

I had low placenta in my 1st pregnancy. It should gradually move up as u progress into e later part of pregnancy. I rem my 1st gynae said tere's nothing much to do except dun walk too much.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Mamato6Js,

My DD called e Calendula Cream as annointing cream *hee* I used it on her bumps, insect bites etc &amp; it heals v fast. She will ask us to pray over e cream b4 applying... jus like e annointing oil

I duno why but I'm more particular bout wat my DD eats/use lor. My DS still not so much. Prob cuz DD is 1st born or she's gal so mus "maintain". If not later next time she blame me *hee* My DH said I nt fair.. DD nv gets to eat outside food till she turns 2yo, every single meal is cook by me. Even when she was in infant care, I wld wake up everyday @ 4am to cook her porridge. But for DS, I just let him eat watever he wants. Den my DD has more skin/hair care prodt den me

<font color="0000ff">Jul_04,

I'm nt sure if I got e spelling correct but tt's wat e nurses in TMC recommend for intial few mths. But for me I didn't used anything, jus wash w normal water den 2nd mths onwards e baby bath.

If u intend to BF for long den U'll hv to get liner to freeze up yr supply unless yr supply is really tt much to supplement for BB's whole day feed. I even got a deep freezer to store my EBM jus to make sure my DS get his BM supply till he turns 1yo. In fact he has just finished all e frozen EMB even though I've stopped BF since Jan-09. e bottles are more for u to xpress @ work &amp; tpt home.

U will also hv to get a warmer for yr caregiver to warm up yr refrigerated or frozen EBM hor</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Milkyway,

I've got e Pigeon Universal Steralizier.. It can fit my B-Free &amp; Avent bottles. But I stopped using when had #2 cuz find it troublesome... End up I subsitute w sertailizing tablet which I can also use to steralize my breastpump in office.

Now I just use hot water from rinse their bottles

<font color="0000ff">Huishan,

Mdm Sadiah charges $50/hr. U dun hv to sign package w her. She will advise u how many session u will need after e 1st massage, den u jus pay her after e whole course.

Mdm Noor tink also $50/hr, cannot really rem cuz I only used her twice. She was too fully booked so cannot accomdate my schedule.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Kam,

Pls give me yr email addy so I can send u e order confirmation</font></font>

Kiddo,Kam:

Thanks for the advice and pointers!
Dh been saying his colleagues say this his colleagues say that.. so am abit irritated coz like what kam had said, we should compare factors first. I didn't even think of a sterilizer in the first place.

Kiddo:
Your tots trigger some pointers which i overlook. It's like... hmm.. when doing reno where we are clueless about most things. Only when it's over then you realise could have done things or buy things differently.

Hi momoteh,

Yes it always the case as when we are inside ourself we dun see things... so sugguest is do the impt things first and get the tiny bits at a slower pace...

So u can start thinking on how the care would be done for the child after 4th months (assuming having 4th months maternity) coz problems start after there when u not looking after bb urself and u got to prepare for things for others pple to look after...
Not all caregiver know how to use sterlizer or warmer so got to take note!
Within the 4th mths u can do or buy anything urself to help urself but not after 4th mth lor.... juz like if u wan get this bottles or that nnappies u can juz go and buy..
if wanna go into details there be even more things to consider financial, size of room etc... it is non-stop considering so take one thing at a time..
Milk bottles only one thing then still have MILK POWDER!! diapers!!! stroller!!! Clothes!!! baby sling or pouch!!!

Gosh it is SO hot out there. Just had a nice lunch at Rider's Cafe, but it is perhaps not the best weather to be there. *sweat*

I got the Pigeon Steriliser as a gift. The big one coz apparently it is big enough to put in the breast pump too.

lxlb:
MUAHAHAHA, I'm going to try that prog too. Looks like fun!

jenifur:
Whoa, I can't imagine waking up everyday at 4am to cook porridge! Hats off to you!

I am a May MTB. I am selling my balance Prolacta with DHA fish oil, iron supplements and calcium supplements.

DHA fish oil (31 softgels) : $20
Calcium Lactate 300mg (36 tabs) : $5
Neogobion (Iron)(6 tabs) + Floron Iron Supplement (30 tabs) : $5

Postage fee (Normal postage) : $1

PM me if interested. Thanks

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Corsage,

No choice leh.. I'm particular so pay e price lor. We leave home @ 7am mah so hv to wake up @ 4am lor. I cld hv cook overnite using e slow cooker lah. But tt time staying w my MIL, she v stubborn, always insist tt mus add some seasoning to my DD's porridge. Once she even secretly add some soya sauce to e porridge, from then on I make sure she's nt ard when I cook or I stay guard in e kitchen. It was a gd thing tt I always taste e food b4 I feed my DD.</font></font>

<font color="ff0000">Corsage and other blogger</font>,

Corsage, remember you mentioned you keep a blog right? Mind to share? I blog too, and love to read mummy's blog.

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Kam,

Ok I go check... e PM service always abit delay</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Corsage,

U tried to DIY hairclips b4? I wana try to make some for my DD leh. It seem kinda easy when I look @ e website instruction. But jus wana b sure before I buy e raw materials</font>

Lunch Box (Bento)

Any mummy know where I get those nice lunch box / bento box? And also those nice rice mould? DD will b taking her lunch in sch next yr so tot of doing Bento lunch for her, den can make e rice into cute cute shape *hee*</font>

Jenifur.. can i have the Calendula Cream too? since both yourself n mamato6s says its gd.. hw much ar? need to transfer to u again

hehe.. i'm planning to DIY hairclips too! 1st timer.. hehe .. looking at ribbons this few days haha..just waiting for the spree to come then i can post my orders

nice rice mould mayb u chk if daiso hve? Think they have quite alot of stuff to make sushi..

kam:
Yup, I do
Mine's not strictly a mummy blog though. It started as a lifestyle, snippets of my life and thoughts blog. However, recent entries are heavy on pregnancy and motherhood (of course!)heh
You can view it here: http://iamcorsage.blogspot.com/
What's yours? I can link you.

jenifur:
Slow cookers are just great inventions, don't you think?
Still, you are definitely a committed mummy. I wrote before that I still can't get myself up to have breakfast before I leave for work. But maybe for my child next time I will be more sacrificial (hopefully!).

jenifur/Katherine:
Making hairclips should be fun! There are such a nice array of ribbons these days. I haven't actually made them but I have materials. I have made lots of corsages/flower pins though as gifts and to wear myself. (Yes there is a reason why I have this nickname). I would use ribbons, buttons, felt, various fabric etc. Hot glue works best for me - just have to be careful not to scald yourself.

kiddo

I will be taking your advise to visit the exhibition coming up. I am a first time mum hoping to get some advise from experienced mums. I will be a SAHM, just wondering what are the usual things to prepare, if you have any tips?

lxlb
I will be trying out that website! Saw yours ... very cute!

corsage: yes.. i'm looking at ribbons nw.. hehe.. saw a ribbon spree
i dont plan to get hot glue yet.. will try using fabric glue 1st.. dont want to invest so much.. worried that my interest wont last long! hahaha btw hw much is ahot glue gun roughly u know?

Hi Jenifer, I cant post in the group order entry. Dun know why lei...I would like to have 2 tubes of Desitin Creamy.
Please help me add in my name.

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Katherine,

^5, I'm looking at e ribbons &amp; clips from http://www.hipgirlclips.com/store/ . R u looking @ e same site?

I try Daiso liao, hv lah but limited. DD wants those Hello Kitty / Pooh bear kind like this</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Kam,

Thanks for e link... new ideas for me. My DD will be thrilled to see all e nice bento.

I've started a blog for my gal but have not been updating it since sept-07, lazy mummy. Mayb I shld start working on tt again.</font></font>

oh ya jenifur.. i remm recently there's one spree for the rice mould! later i try to find for u.. yes yes.. i looking at hipgirlsclips and also http://ribbonandbowsohmy.com/index.php.. the 2nd one has more resins/Embellishment..

will u be doing a spree or u getting from other spree? If u're really keen wanna swop/ exchange some ribbons? Cos the min. is 5yard.. think wont need so much if not my gal will have same designs for all hahaha

RE: BENTO
i do bento for my boys to bring to school 3 times a week. reason being, they r overweight and have to join the "active kidz" prg in school! so they r banned from the canteen during recess these 3 days. they r only allowed to buy veggie sandwich from canteen which they totally hate or bring food from home.

They love surprises on their bento everyday cos i packed different foods and fruits plus ocassional snacks daily.

JENNIFUR
i got most of the bento stuffs from tokyo (tokyu hands) as daiso collection is very limited and not nice at all. ocassionally i will go to ebay to purchase. go to ebay, they have loads of selections. i got tonnes of sanrio / kitty / melody / pooh accessories but hardly use them yet cos i hardly do bento for my gal, maybe when she starts school. my boys find all these girly stuffs sissy so i need to use boyish accessories like pokemon, thomas, cars, mickey mouse and pooh to them still acceptable :p

momoteh

I think I bot the rapid steam steriliser. I din think so much abt the steriliser lah. To me all the same. Must be flexible to put any type of bots, easy to operate &amp; maintain, &amp; cheap!

Re swaddle, I guess depends lor. I heard BBs will get scared so good to swaddle them &amp; keep them secure. Can swaddle with blanket, but swaddle is just with the velcro to help you. Depends on urself whether u feel it necessary. Anyway I bot 2 swaddle me ones. So that if Babylet likes to be swaddled, I can wash one &amp; use one mah. Hope I din waste my money coz he turns out to be a swaddle-hater haha.

hui chern

Wah sounds like it hasn;t been a gd few days for u. Take care hor.

As for Pigeon teats in Avent bottles, sorry I really dunno leh.

stephanie

Welcome

hi loh...
juz to say relax and see see touch touch... walk around and enjoy ur motherhood...
everybody have diff needs so hard to say what is impt to one.. such as clothes some dun need as have too many passdown... weight ur own finance and necessities as all have different conditions...

i only think these are a must to get b4 ur deliver
1) Where do bb sleep when home! Coz this will prob u what u need to get next!
2) Many pads - so that poor hubby dun need to buy for us unless he dun mind!!
3) clothes - for ur stay in hospital and bb clothes to wear
4) Pampers (dipers) - unless u using cloth nappies
5) the nappy cream rashes - almost all bb will get diaper rashes so get at least 1 tube.. my 1 tube last me about 6mths.. as i dun apply every change...
6) Get some milks from the hospital upon discharge. Normal give about 1 or 2 bottles can try and get more!! so if breastfeeding no need to hurry get milk powder. worst sence is BF every hour!!

So sugguest think of a basic things and then from there expand to others areas of needs...

This is juz my thots........ my own needs!!!

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Corsage,

I nv had e habit to make my own bfast too. I either eat out or dun eat *hee*</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Katherine,

U r tempting me to open my own spree *hee*.. sure we can swop e materials, 5yard too much.

Thanks for e BP link. I did consider if I wana do spree from this site b4 but tot if locally hv den jus buy here</font>

<font color="0000ff">mamato6Js,

Really.. Ebay have?? Ebay Singapore?? Ok.. go browse later *so happy now*</font></font>

Jenifur...

Thanks! I'll forgo the hotslings spree. My sis has intended to get me one. So i no nid buy.

Regarding ur CB spree. Will check out with hb again if we really wana invest in it. since u say 1 bot can last u 2 mths plus for both ur DD n DS, I tink it should last me even longer for my newborn gal. Will let u know by 27th. Thanks!

jenifur
yes ebay have. if u want sanrio stuffs, u can get a few from sanrio shop at taka and vivo city (near the link to harbour front) but depends on their stock. i bought most of mine in tokyo. if u have frds gg tokyo, get them to go tokyu hands, there r plenty there!

My mum is getting really excited. hah.. she called me just now n told me she couldnt control. I ask cannot control what? She actually bought a 3 pcs romper set from my gal from pumpkin patch. She said it was too irrisistable. haha... Previously, she was seeing me browsing thru the sprees online and ask me why i buy so much. Now then she know ah.. Simply cant control. heez

hehehe.. let me know ya jenifur.. i'm looking at ribbonandbow spree which will close by sunday.. so most pro will place orders this wkend.. but if u opening ur own spree then i will join urs instead :p hehe

ok ok.. post too much today.. need to concentrate on my work for the last hr..

enjoy ur wkends gals!

LING
i was at patch also just now. the baby girls clothings r so sweet and they hvg sale now. but i notice their sale occurs v frequently!! i only bought a pair of booties for my baby, cos his gor gors simply got too much hand me downs for him!

jenifur
i think its the "first born" syndrome! cos when i had my twins i was v careful too! and they ate my home cooked food everyday till almost 3 yrs old! i never let them eat hawker centre, food court or even restaurant. but as u have more kids, u tend to let go a lil by lil till u cant be bothered anymore! haha...

Ling:
Your mum is SO sweet
Am sure she was so thrilled!

WHOA - I'm amazed all at these bento boxes you all are talking about! They look too pretty to eat and such effort! But I can totally imagine kids loving them.

MamaTo6Js:
You are another super committed mum!

corsage
oh my bentos are not as detailed as those shown on the website! it takes lots of time n effort and i simply dun have so much time! my boys leave home at 6.30am and i need to wake up 1 hr earlier to prepare! hard work!

katherine:
Some fabric glue don't work so well
Also hot glue allows you to stick fabric to metal, which fabric glue does not.

Hmm. I bought a small glue gun from Art Friend, and refills too. Honestly can't remember how much coz I got it a while back. But it is not that ex coz I didn't buy those big professional looking ones. Just small simple one

MamaTo6Js:
I see - yeah well those must really take too much time! =P I guess yours have enough whimsicalness to them plus has healthy food - that's key!

I was so hungry I just walked out to buy a chicken burger and milo. Now I feel a bit sick after eating all of that! Oh dear...

mamato6..
what a coincidence. She was at the Vivo outlet. She said all the clothes there are simply irrisistable. She gave a thumbs up. It really made me wana go down n take a look for myself le. haha..

me so far got no hand me downs at all. gotta buy from scratch.

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Kat,

I've shortlised some stuff from hipgirlsclip.com Will go browse e 2nd site u posted... Hv u shortlisted anything? So I wun choose e same design.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ling,

Girl really hv ALOT of stuff to buy... u can go crazy lor.

For Aussino, if e item(s) u wan is not on sale den let me know. I've their membership card so get 15% discount on their regular priced item. I can either pass u my card or meet u @ their Causeway Point Branch</font>

<font color="0000ff">ah goh,

I will collect the shipping charges after I pay for it, not now

<font color="aa00aa">I Loh,

We need maternity pad as we will be "bleeding". Usually e hospital will hv 1 pack for u but I always bring my own. I cannot stand e one hospital provides, like thick toast

<font color="0000ff">Mamato6Js,

Thanks. Will try to go Vivo to check out e sanrio stuff
</font></font></font>

Hi lynn, im also diagnosed with low placenta. gynea can detect this via ultrascan.

as to what to avoid and what are the cause,what can be done to improve the condition, doc said 'unknown' but mentioned placenta will have 90% chance of moving away from the cervix in the later weeks. however, if the placenta is still covering (full or partial) at week 35, then mother shld can only deliver via csec. =(

For more info, read here http://organizedwisdom.com/Placenta_Previa

this is my first preg and and im worried. i hv planned for normal delivery de! sigh...anyway, cant be helped. just take care and have as much bedrest as possible. Any sign of bleeding, go to the nearest hospital. Hope this helps =)

Hey everyone!

I've not posted here for some time already. Once in awhile just read some posts here &amp; there.

Now I'm in Week 25, so big already my belly! My colleagues keep commenting &amp; commenting I look like a 9-mth preggy mum who's about to pop anytime.

Lynn, Katherine
Ya, me too walking like penguin already! My feet started swelling more than a mth ago at the 5th month mark. Now kinda used to the discomfort already.

Jennifur

Haha I read some archives earlier this week, you made me laugh so much when you said about online shopping &amp; ur hubby wants to confiscate your laptop! I'm similar like you, keep getting tempted to shop online, everything is super tempting and even in USD suddenly everything is like so worth it. *haha*

I'm still thinking whether to join the Walmart spree. Frankly I've been spending alot! I have to stop buying baby clothes already.

After seeing the threads on people delivering as early as 28 weeks, wow I'm getting nervous. It could happen though of cos everyone wishes to hang on til at least 35, 36 weeks in the very least.

Now I'm thinking, I better get up &amp; go buy my big ticket items!! Like cots, sterilisers, standby diapers, breast pump etc.