(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

lil jade,

i get heartburn everynight. it starts at 10pm sharp. i just drink eno or milk, sometimes it helps, sometimes i just sleep it off.

whitey..

Well.. it went well.. hubby got a shock when the waitresses sang a loud Bday song for a bday gal 2 tables away. Hubby told them not to do the same for him... haha.. he scared paiseh.. So they only brought out the small cake to him silently. heez..

The food is not bad i would say. The find the spinning bowl salad was actually quite nice as I've nv liked salads de. Hubby had the Lawry's cut while I took the English cut. I had to get mine recooked cos it still looks a bit raw tho' I've ordered it to be well done.

Price quite cheap la.. we only spend like $119.50 in total cos they had the 1 for 1 offer who DBS card holders.. :D

shelled...

thanks once again for coordinating the maternity band BP. I've just got mine and started using it a while ago. Very soft n comfy.. Will see if it helps me get some pain off my back. Thanks!! :D

Ling> wat??????? 1-for-1 still need $119.50??????????

faint......

Confinement Lady> ooh.. i just called and had mine booked liaoz.. hehehehe...

$1900....

Hi Mummies..

Latest Update!
Do inform me of any updates or amendments.

If you would like to be added in the list.
Please update me with your details as follows:-

Mummy's Nick: <font color="0000ff">Nick in Motherhood forum?</font>
Status : <font color="0000ff">SAHM/ SAHMTB/ FTWM/ FTWMTB/ PTWM/ PTWMTB?</font>
EDD : <font color="0000ff">Current EDD?</font>
BB# : <font color="0000ff">Expecting BB#?</font>
BB's Gender : <font color="0000ff">TBC/ Prince/ Princess?</font>
BB's Name : <font color="0000ff">Bb's name if any so far?</font>
Gynae : <font color="0000ff">Name of Gynae?</font>
Hospital : <font color="0000ff">Which hospital will you be having your bb?</font>

<u>(STATUS)</u>
If you <u>ARE</u> a 1st time mummy:-
SAHMTB: Stay At Home Mum To Be
FTWMTB: Full-Time Working Mum To Be
PTWMTB: Part-Time Working Mum To Be

If you are <u>NOT</u> a 1st time mummy:-
SAHM: Stay At Home Mum
FTWM: Full-Time Working Mum
PTWM: Part-Time Working Mum

<font color="119911">Total # of Mums &amp; Mums-to-be: 59</font>
<font color="0000ff">Princes: 20</font>
<font color="ff0000">Princesses: 15</font>
TBC: 25

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummy's Nick</TD><TD>Status</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>BB's Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Location </TD></TR><TR><TD>shelled</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>22-Aug</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>Keegan</TD><TD>Geraldine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bendemeer </TD></TR><TR><TD>flower4</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>28-Aug</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>Chinatown </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mavis</TD><TD>SAHMTB</TD><TD>28-Aug</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>SG/France </TD></TR><TR><TD>Myfavchoco</TD><TD>SAHMTB</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>Kriden</TD><TD>K.C. Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Chua Chu Kang </TD></TR><TR><TD>cloudme</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Heng T.L.</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Whitey</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>1&amp;2</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Bt Panjang </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>funny76</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>4-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Ponggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jul-04</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>4-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>SengKang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryn Toh</TD><TD>SAHMTB</TD><TD>4-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>Ryan/ Chloe</TD><TD>John Yam</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Lee</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>5-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>sotong80</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>5-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Kenneth Edward Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Delfine</TD><TD>SAHMTB</TD><TD>7-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dorit Behrens</TD><TD>MMH</TD><TD>Hannover </TD></TR><TR><TD>joopz</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>7-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>SengKang </TD></TR><TR><TD>kam</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>7-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>W.K. Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Chua Chu Kang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamijoan</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>7-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Ang Huai Yan</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>Bukit Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>mybb</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>7-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Lim Teck Chai</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>SengKang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenifur</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>9-Sep</TD><TD>3</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang </TD></TR><TR><TD>kongfoo</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>9-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>K.W. Lee</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>rach</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>9-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>Rayanne</TD><TD>Koh C.H.</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>waiwai</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>9-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>SengKang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Casandra</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>10-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Arijit Biswas </TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bt Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Helena</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Alice Chan</TD><TD>Union</TD><TD>Hong Kong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ixlb</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>Dylan</TD><TD>Dr Yu</TD><TD>Amcare</TD><TD>Beijing </TD></TR><TR><TD>mamato6</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>6</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>Joseph</TD><TD>Chan Kong Hon</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>Upp. East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>tasha</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Aziz</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>SengKang </TD></TR><TR><TD>girlygirly</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>4</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>H.K. Ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Jurong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happykae</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>3</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Tampines </TD></TR><TR><TD>leejeslyn</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>CryStaLZ</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>13-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Bt Panjang </TD></TR><TR><TD>kiddo</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>13-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>John Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Jurong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ling</TD><TD>SAHMTB</TD><TD>15-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>susanna low</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>15-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Edwin Thia</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>NLP</TD><TD></TD><TD>16-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>M. Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pamelia</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>16-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>W.K. Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Thomson </TD></TR><TR><TD>princessxiaomei</TD><TD>SAHMTB</TD><TD>16-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>K.M. Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>Tampines </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei76</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>17-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>nan</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>17-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>T.B. Lim</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru </TD></TR><TR><TD>Midori.P</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>T.C. Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang </TD></TR><TR><TD>milkyway</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>18-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Serangoon </TD></TR><TR><TD>Squirrel1818</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Elias Road </TD></TR><TR><TD>Katherine Goh</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>20-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Tham Kok Fun</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>Jurong East </TD></TR><TR><TD>kiki</TD><TD>PTWMTB</TD><TD>20-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Y.C. Goh</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenlim777</TD><TD>PTWM</TD><TD>20-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>Melissa</TD><TD>Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>Simei </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felibaba</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Michele Lee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>Camomile3</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>22-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Marine Parade </TD></TR><TR><TD>chewy</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>22-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>SengKang </TD></TR><TR><TD>michelle</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>23-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Chua Yang</TD><TD>Mt A/ Glen E</TD><TD>Bt Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>sandwich</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>23-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dover </TD></TR><TR><TD>ArtNutz</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Tampines </TD></TR><TR><TD>Purpleclouds</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>24-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Douglas Ong</TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Serangoon </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wifey</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>24-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>W.K. Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sweetsweetie</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Anthony Siow</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Tampines </TD></TR><TR><TD>New MTB</TD><TD>SAHMTB</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Princess</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huishan</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiwi</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>melody</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>cho</TD><TD>FTWMTB</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>1</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Kowa Nam Sing</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>kang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>2</TD><TD><font color="000000">TBC</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandrake</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>3</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Prince</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>K.C. Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thank U!

wah... really ex.. i tot the ribs is pork ribs.. so its beef ribs... haaahahhaha..

really ex.. and considering its 1-for-1.. its pretty reasonable.. without that.. i dun think i'll even consider that.. hahaha...

confinement lady...

Remember I mentioned that I was waiting for hubby to decide whether to engage a CL or maid who knows how to do confinement? He just told me last night that the decision is up to me. Then he also say, maybe engage a CL first then a maid aft tt.. But I'm not working. Hubby will be the only one bringing the income home... Dun tink we can really afford that.. hmmm...

><u>CL</u> - She will be able to help n teach me how to look aft bb. I've ever helped look aft my 2 younger cousins when they we infants cos their maid had to go back Philipines for some urgent matters n my uncle n aunt cant take leave. But I tink it will be somewhat different when it comes to my own bb; having to look aft bb solely on my own without much advise. (I got a lot of "what ifs".. What if bb this, what if bb that..)But she will only be ard for a mth. When she leaves, I'll be all alone with bb.

><u>Maid who knows how to do confinement</u> - She will be with me for at least 2 years. Help me with household chores,my confinement meals n bath n food for the family. But its a 2 yrs committment of abt $500-$600 each mth (not inclu. of her meals etc).

What will u choose if u were me? quite loss...

rach...

I tot it was ribs too.. but its not. Not even a single rib on the menu.. Its like steak lidat lor.. Rather disappointed initially as I wanted treat hubby to his fav. ribs but it turns out to be steak. However, still ok la cos hubby say the food not bad..

Huishan> i posted in my blog.. refer to my multiply?
ID: rayrachel

Ling> that one month itself is very impt.. she will be able to guide you and teach u... once bb is bigger.. after 1 month.. it gets slightly better...and its a process we need to learn anyway..

Maid wont really be 100% know how to do confinement de leh.. even if they are.. i doubt they'll be good at doing housework...

IMO, get a confinement lady and learn all the how-tos first... then u learn the right things.. then later on get a maid and impart what u need to the maid to do... and u can then rest assured that she can do housework n also take care of bb.. but u'll be at home.. bb u can take care.. leave housework to her. at least no need to bother and think abt dirty house..

myfavchoco...

Me also taken twice so far; those bottled ones. I tink if u wana take frequently, once a week or once every 2 weeks also can de but dun take them too sweet cos bb will have a lot of phlegm later on.. The chinese medical hall near my place say its the sweet stuffs that makes the phlegm, so just cut down on sweet stuffs..

He also say.. most things we can take de.. just take them moderately. MODERATE is the WORD lo..

ling
most maids cant do confinement one lah. or i can safely say 95% dunno how. they cant look after u like how CL look after u. in fact during their first few mths it might be the other way round, ie, u looking afteer them! esp those with no experience working here at all. they really came very blur and need u to teach lots of things. even those experienced ones they might not be able to cook confinement dishes, bath baby etcc for u. so cl is still a better option for first mth aft that u can consider hvg a maid if u still want to.

Ling

Glad the birthday meal went well overall. Yea, very paisey right if the waiters &amp; waitresses sing birthday song loudly then everyone turns to see-see. I would say lucky got the DBS 1-for-1 offer, if not will be too ex as the place is very posh. (I've never dined there, only passed by)

As for your CL vs maid issue, I agree with Rach and Mamato6Js. Actually I don't know where you can find a maid who can do confinement also.

My opinion is for you to go for CL. Who knows after the 1 month with CL, you will be very auto already and can manage yourself? Give it a try before you commit to the 2-yr maid contract.

And, thank you for diligently updating the MTBs list!!

mamato6...
hubby got a fren's wife who is one of the shareholders of a maid agency.. That time hear her say some maids know how to do confinement de. Her maid does her confinement for her. So i tot might as well lo..

Thanks Rach/ mamato6/ whitey for the advise...

I'm now 90% convinced to engage a CL. As for maid, maybe like u all have mentioned, later on then decide if we really need one. I also heard that the 1st mth is very crucial for the mother to "bu" herself back and CL is the person I need ba...

Rach

Yes, the shoe is a Crocs shoe, paid $53+ for it. No choice as my feet too swollen, I can't think of anything more lightweight, comfortable &amp; versatile hence I resort to buying the Crocs. Ya, I was also wondering if it'll look too casual but so far I wear it with dress, looks presentable enough. Anyway with this pair of swollen feet, need to think of comfort also - I was too desperate liao to find a shoe that fits.

Lil Jade
Hi, and welcome again! haha no worries, I also sometimes come into the forum only after a week or so, depends on how busy I am at work.

Today I've got Monday blues, coming into the forum and chatting with all the ladies here ... really cheers me up &amp; makes my day!

lxlb and all MTBs
Actually how does heartburn feel like? I've read about it but can't identify what it is to get heartburn.

Hey cloudme, all MTBs

I called the organiser for the New Mom exhibition, this time managed to get through!
I asked about the participating brands, so far the lady mentioned Huggies, Drypers... then she told me more brands are coming in as we speak.

She advised to look out for their advertisement on Thursday, 30th April in Straits Times.

I then asked about breast pumps brands, she said, "Of course, they'll be there dear".

So there, now we just have to wait for the newspaper advert then!

Mon blues for me... bad weather over the wkends lah... i also read from email updates when i'm home, no wonder it's quiet over the wkends.. and today i also had problems accessing the forum too. For awhile i tot my IT has blocked the forum.. haha...

Whitey,
congrats on ur Long Feng Tai!! that's my dream too.. haha... at least u can take it easy after this pregnancy...

think i;ll check out the exhibition too for breastpumps.. still getting feedback from frens on what is best.. so many considerations.. i'm afraid i got no milk and the pump is not suitable for me... then waste money lah...

Ling
yes there r some maids which can do confinement not becos they r traineed but becos they have experience doing it for previous employers. my maid also can do thats why i never needed CL. mom and mil teach her what to cook for me.

whitey
ur feet swell so early? mine swelled during last trimester. gynae kept checking if i have oedema (spelling?) but thank God its not.

whitey,
thanks for finding out for us...

great... will look out the for advert...
me planning to go on the 1st day...will prolly take half day off...

lil jade> my DH asked me the same question yesterday. Heartburn is like a burning sensation around ur lower chest diaphragm area. Sometimes i even get acidic burps. it's usually caused by the acid in ur stomach i think.

A note to ladies on interviewing CLs... it's important tht u ask them how they view breastfeeding. Because i heard alot of horror stories of how even the best recommended CLs tend to be slip short and encourage the mom to feed formula. Some CLs are very lazy. they want to sleep longer so they'll tell u tht the baby is not satisfied by ur breastmilk and that it's better to feed formula. Alot of new mommies cave to formula under such CLs.

It's also important tht u ask the CLs if they are working for anyone before ur confinement. cos they are human afterall. they cannot go night after night without sleep. so it's better that they take 1-2 weeks break before attending to you.

CONFINEMENT LADY

gals

very true to what lxlb has said....

i haf engaged 2 different confinement ladies b4. one of them even try to scare me saying that it is not good for baby to drink mother's milk coz breastmilk is actually mother's blood!!!!!!!!!!!

she says juz place a bowl of breast milk under the sun and it will turned into blood!!!

anyway i didn't believe her of course...so what if it is....blood or flesh, mothers will still give baby whatever he/she needs without hesitation.....

and of course responsible confinement lady will tell u str that they need a break in between. and will calculate the timing if they are able to accept our job as our edd is juz an estimate, we may deliver earlier or later...

mamato6..

ya.. initially was tinking if we were to engage a maid, will get her in in Jul or latest Aug to familiarise with the environment first. Then bring her to my uncle's place during the weekends. My uncle, aunt, grandma will then teach her how to cook the food or prepare the bath for me. My uncle's maid is also a Fillipino and she did my aunt's confinement for my 2 cousins. She will be able to help guide her also.

But on the other hand, we'll nv know what kinda maid we'll get right? What if she really very hard to teach? Wat if she's the lazy type or her cleanliness is not good?

whitey..

Try lifting up your legs when u lie in bed. This helps to reduce water retention. Just place 1 or 2 pillows below ur calves.

Hubby said my feet also swell up abit le.. so he gave up one of his pillows to let me "dian4". Did this for abt a week le. Seems like its getting better. Maybe u wana try it out?

Confinement Lady..

Check with u mummies ah.. What do we need to prepare for the CL ah? Will a simple mattress, pillow, blanket do? Anything elso we need to get for her? She wont get her own room. She will be sharing with my MIL cos our place very small.

milkyway
Thanks! Ya me too, if I were to go to the exhibition, it is mainly to look at breastpumps and I also want to see sterilisers =)

Mamato6Js
Ya, my feet started to swell now at 5mths as I have put on a lot of weight. I highlighted to my gynae last Thursday during my monthly appt but he just smiled and said "It's ok". Since it's a twin preg, he says there's no weight guidelines as carrying 2 babies definitely means I will be heavier than the rest.

You know what, now I've put on 12 kg! In first 2 months when some MTBs here are losing weight, I gained 4 kg as I could eat as per normal and did not experience morning sickness. My only saving grace is that my colleagues did say I do not look like 12 kg heavier except that my frame is slightly bigger and my belly is growing fast.

I guess since some MTBs here have put on about 4-5kg by now, my weight gain is like 6 kg per baby and also the 2 waterbags' weight and my water retention. That's how I try to comfort myself.

whitey
its ok cos i also put on abt 8kg during first trimester and the rest of trimester no need say lah huh, i put on 32kg in total so what u think? haha...

Went for the detail scan at 20 weeks for my #2, baby is doing very well, all major organs developed very well. Baby weighs 375gm, so tiny!!! At the same time, brought my boy for his MMR and chicken pox jabs, so spent the whole afternoon at TMC.

For those who plans to deliver at TMC, can visit my blog at http://babyhaore.blogspot.com/2009/03/delivery-cost-at-thomson-medical-centre.html

I have listed down every single cent, from 1st check up to after delivery, I have paid for, for my #1 delivery at TMC in Jan08. Hope this helps, though the charges may have increased this year.

And if you have time, come and read my boy (now 15 months) stories at www.babyhaore.blogspot.com :)

mama to 6Js,
32kg!!! Haha what have you been eating?! You must be very tall to be able to carry the extra weight. I'm very short... so the 5kg increase till now, is already making me very clumsy.

I'm no longer as hungry as during the 1st tri. Going for my scan later this evening. Hope to find out baby's gender
Then can start shopping!

What strollers are you guys considering? Mummies, any experience or advice on what to look out for when choosing?

Kam
<blockquote>Thank you for your very detailed listing of expenditure. It's very very helpful!
</blockquote>

itsy
<blockquote>I read that combi strollers are very light but difficult to negotiate when your child get heavier, esp up escalators. From the reviews online, Inglesina Zippy and Peg-Perego Pliko P3 Classico have very good reviews. But I haven't checked out their prices yet. We'll prob need advice from all the experienced mommies...</blockquote>

Kam

your bill is so expensive. You mean you pay close to $10K cash for your #1 birth ? I gonna to faint

To all 2nd time onwards mummies

Anyone had a c-section before? The thought of it is freaking me out &amp; the bill too.

itsy
well i just ate non stop couldnt be bothered abt my weight gain! i'm 1.7m and pre preg was 52kg by the time i delivered i was an 84 kg elepphant!

mama to 6Js
And you managed to shed the extra after delivery? I'm so going to try very hard to bf, haha just cos it'll help me to lose weight.

I'm looking for stroller not more than $300, Peg-Perego seems way over budget lor. Combi is very light but fragile, tried it at the mall, think it won't be suitable if your baby/toddler is big size.

New MTB,

Glad that it helps!

Hui Chern,

Probably it's a bit ex, but not that ex. Usually people just talked about the hospital charges alone, my bill is inclusive of EVERYTHING I paid to TMC.

Total (pre-natal) - $2325.6
Total hospital charge (mum) - $4213.9
Total hospital charge (newborn) - $783
Total hospital charge (jaundice) - $1175

So, if you minus off the pre-natal and the jaundice charges, then it's about $5k, which I think falls into the "normal" range leh, for 2nights stay normal delivery with epidural. My gynae is a bit ex compared to the rest also.

Ya, we paid most of the bills with cash, cos we were new PR then, only have little savings in medisave. For #2, should be able to claim medisave to the max.

But for #2, bill surely higher, cos in general price already increased for my gynae package and the room, and I have to do the amniocentesis for #2.

Good afternoon MTBs,

Kam - thank you for the breakdown of the hospital bill, I was worrying abt the cost. It really looks ex

Ling - I am also contemplating abt getting CL or maid but thinking abt the 2 years commiting for a maid, guess it would be better for CL. After CL leave, will see if can cope...if really cant then bo bian have to get maid.

Could anyone pls advise C-section better or natural birth. Hubby wants me to have natural but really scared of the pain.

mamato6js,

wow u r really slim!! i'm 1.7 too and 57 b4 pregnancy and now i'm passed the 60 mark already... and u manage to stay so slim after pregnancy too... cool!! really my idol...

PhuangThong,

If you are scared of the pain, then opt for epidural. It worked wonder for me - I didn't feel any pain at all. C-sect also pain leh, that is after the delivery, very painful, and takes longer time to heal.

Confinement Lady> one thing abt CL is that we wont know when we are due.. so i wonder how after we book them..they'll really be available to do it for us..
if they are still in the midst of their proj with another mom.. or if they have one after us... its a rather hard to predict job afterall.. hehe...

my CL that i called said that she usually work 2 months and rest 1 month.. coz they can't come out for too long as well...
And the new ruling states that they can come out for 2 months at one shot.. they dun have to go back to chop their passsport every 2 weeks...thats the old ruling liaoz...

Anyone can verify this???

Ling> u reminded me man.. i forgot to ask the CL what she needs.. we're staying in 3 room flat with my parents.. one is our room...
one is parents room... we prob will arrange for her to sleep with me in the room.. (either on the bed or on the floor) while HB sleeps in the living room...
i intend to let her know again when she calls me nearer the due date..

she mentioned that she'll call and check on me once in a while to see how i'm doing... so i expect to receive call from her ba....

i did one check which says that a room is required for the CL for her own privacy to rest in the day..
so she only take care nite time?? since she need to rest in the day????

Michelle> someone emailed me her CL contact.... u want??? PM me.. i'll fwd u her email.. u see if u wanna take her...
I dunno her or if she's good.. but the lady who refered her says not bad la...

Chern> i still feeling nauseous now and then loh... this morning made breakfast for HB and myself...
Hotdogs, scrambled eggs, ham &amp; Cheese sandwich toasted... and i had milk, he had OJ...
But after eating.. i feel so nauseous.. hhahhaaa... dunno which is the wrong food....

been feeling nauseous past 2 days.. gosh.. i'm already coming to 20 weeks tmr.. still having MS.. si bei sianz....

U really considering C-sect ah? why???

Go get the book.. Supernatual Childbirth by Jackie Mize.. I'm sure it'll speak to u...

new_mtb> how abt capella?? been eyeing S705...

Kam> u mean for Jaundice itself u spent $1175?????????????? Man.. i dun even have $1k in my bank account...
My fren was telling me he spent $11k for his wife's emerg c-sect staying in a 1-bedded... i almost flip..
Need to clear the bill before discharge.....

I wonder what happens if i do not have the money to pay the bill?? can i be discharged??????????

Rach,

About foreigners travelling to Singapore - yes, it's right. No need to get the passport stamped every 2 weeks already. Automatically everyone will be given 2 months to stay in Singapore. Every 90 days, he/she can stay in Singapore for 60 days.

My son was admitted for jaundice one week later after discharged. Yes, the bill was $1175 before medisave claim. Inclusive of hospital charge, PD charge and tests. The bill was a bit ex also for my son, cos my son had very extremely high jaundice level, so the PD has to order a test for blood transfusion if needed (luckily the jaundice went down after 24 hours under phototherapy), and this test is ex. Probably normal bill is around $1000 for 2 nights stay (baby only).

milkway
yah that was before my first preg! but after that along the way gain a bit here and there and before this preg i was 54-55kg but still everybody say im super skinny, dunno why. i think 57 kg for our height is ok too cos i have a frd who is 1.68 and is 57kg and looks anorexic to me! haha

mamato6js,

u look really skinny from ur FB pic lor.. haha... ok lah.. i'm considered average weight for my height b4 preg. so i'm not worried.. just scared i wont be able to lose the extras after giving birth.. haha