(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

its not a boys thing.. cos shayna also doesnt really call me! only when crying then will "mamamamam"...

i tried getting her to call her daddy since she can say papa. but she'll say mama when i ask her too. i tried getting her to say "da" or "di" but dont work leh..

but yesterday my boy said a new word which impress me alot :p He was watching Hi-5 "Imagination" with fairytales...and he said "car-ser aka castle" heehee!

hi mrng all~

re: baby's sleep / last feed
my girls oni have 9-10hrs of sleep in 24hrs niah! they sleep late abt 10:30-11:00pm nw..wake up abt 6:30am... nap now we cut short to only 1 nap of abt 1-2hrs niah. wkdays they normally take 2 naps i tink..wkn is horrible, smtimes 1 nap..or smtimes NO naps! but juz last wk..we cut away 1 of the daytime naps...juz to prepare them for their fullday cc in april. (cos i tink sch oni 1 nap rite?)

dun understand.. my girls sleep so so so little..yet they hv so much energy! haiyo!

re: calling "mama", "mummy"..watever...
my girls, although they know "mama".. but they hardly call me by it too! they other day, i kept asking them to call "mama".."mummy"... all fail.. then i said "call 'ah bu'".. n they both of them went "BU".. kaoz!!!

Mrng ladies!

My girl vy funny too, when she refer to mami she will call dadi mami..to her means mami.

cos she will call my DH "papa" faintz!

fatbobo,
your gers are so cute...

kekeke,

bobo/donkeymami
javier also taking 1 nap a day oni.. around 1+pm to 3+pm or 4pm.. i check with my CC le, they give 1 nap around 1pm till abt 3.15pm.. lunch @ 11am and milk at 12.30pm.. suit javier timing as he's having his lunch @ 11am and milk around 12.45pm.. but juz nit to train him to sleep early for his nap and at nite loh..

bobo, so should we start calling u fatbubu now? heee..

celine: ur boy so clever.. Shayna has been watching hi 5 and recently she has been like bending her knees and putting her hands on her knee. We thought what happen? Leg pain? backside pain? new diaper uncomfortable? my mum figured out the mystery yesterday. Cos on hi 5, theres a segment where they all put their hands on their knees and rotate their knees.. thats what shayna has been trying to do!

Jagiebaby, i thk cc activities is in the mrng, noon time only nap, teabreak & bathe by then 5pm+ preparing to go home liao.

Are u putting J for full day or half day? if u hv someone look after him at home actually half day is good enuf. for me no choice so i hv to put her full day.

bahaha.. shayna so cute!

babys:: *faint*.. i tink my girls really sam seng + chor lor + ah lian.. wah..suddenly like hv this image in my mind.. they sitting on the chair, with one leg kiao up, the other hanging down shaking... i walk in.. with one arm resting on the kiao up leg, they raise 1 or 2 fingers, gv my a wave n call out "lao bu.. ho seh boh?"

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo~~~~~~~~~

bobo,
your gals are cute leh :D

calling mummy, my nanny, hubby, FIL, kor kor teaches my gal to call mummy. There's a 3rd party who tells my gal , give this to mummy, goto mummy etc then *point to me*.

babys,
ya, that's the power of TV, kids are copycats and learn fast !

Morning Ladies!! How’s yesterday valentine? My hubby give me red packet $100.
He said he no time to celebrate with me cos of his work. Maybe weekend go makan lor.

Celine : in fact we speak more Chinese than English wor. So I think his main source of English is from the TV lor. What to do right?
My mum speaks hokkien to him cos he wants him to learn many languages and most important, root cannot be forgotten ah!!! Haha..

Kikilala : ya lor. I think sch should learn to be more flexible cos they need to make $$ right?

Re : Baby bonus

Okie, regarding about this baby stuff which spore make a headline for this thing.
My friend migrate to Sweden and say that although tax is high, but they also get higher salary. And than, her monthly cc is only about 100 plus. And a lot of stuff are subsidies. A lot of European countries are doing that in fact except Asian countries?

babys,
no lah my boy not clever think he kept watching it (he has to watch H1 5 EVERYDAY) then he said that word :p

But i really love to see him dancing along with H1 5. Very very amusing haha..

my gal is sleeping lesser nowadays too ...

sleep around 10pm, wake up around 630, nap around 2 hours in the afternoon, if it's quiet and cool, can sleep 3 hours, so total 1 day only sleep 10 hours ??

no wonder my gal is underweight

sbb,
re: baby bonus?
sorry dun mean to be offensive but cannot compare to Europe where Singapore is only a tiny red dot. USA or Australia can afford to subsidise ppl who are not working at the expense of those working ppl who paid high tax.

So yes have alot of subsidies but if one day increase all the taxes are you willing? And especially you see alot of ppl being subsidize at your expense?

Piggy
doubt u can send her home on a plane coz tb is contagious. U will prob need to cure her before u can send her back. Maybe call mom to check? Sata offers free tb treatment. U may wanna check it out.

joeey:: weight is link to sleep ah? my girls oso sleeping abt 9-10hrs a day niah woh... n they peh ki peh loh..zeh buey tiam kind de.

The european countries are welfare state so they can afford to have alot of these subsidies.. but pple pay more tax lor..

Singapore has smaller population, cannot afford to be welfare state.. too little pple to support welfare..

Then alot of pple will choose to be unemployed etc so they can benefit from the welfare but that would mean people will have to pay even more in tax lor..

fatbubu: i hope next time they dont greet u as "eh, bu eh!" hhahah..

bobo,
i think my gal is thin bcos she sleep so little and doesn't like to eat, only drink milk ! my gal also can't sit still type, she still cries when strapped in the car seat ! so hard to take care of her now

Kikilala : my boy sometimes 9hrs night time and sometimes 4-5 hrs for nap. He naps about 1-2 times like that. Each nap can last for 2-3hrs.

BabyS: maybe she trying to FU1 YAN3 you? Haha.. but I think she is clever. Cos sometimes you know when we don’t know something but we pretend to know. Haha.. if my son don kw he will like stare at me and hmm (in high pitch), FU YAN me. Sometimes look around too.

Sharon : I think last night feed is important for them?? I think milk still means a lot to them else how to tong till next day? If cant finish give lesser milk so won waste too.

Jagiebaby : maybe you can let your child take rice millet. Cos I think that one is easy to digest.
I give my boy 1 3 quarter of a small bowl. Those Chinese bowl. But sometimes he cant finish them too. So I eat them.

feeling really sad and i broke down in front of doc. i was diagnosed with high thyroid. have to take medication for 2 years. sad right?
doc called gynae to check if i could get preggy with the medication that she is going to prescribe. gynae says ok. but i have to continue with the medication even i get pregnant.
but the thought of having the medication with bb in my tummy is really bad. so now thinking if i should hold my pregnancy for 2 years. sad sad sad.

childcare
going to put my gal in cc soon. she is so sticky to me now. she doesn't even want to go nanny's house, so i wonder if she would love to stay in cc.
nanny said my gal naughty. she snatched things from the older jiejie and then she doesn't want to return.

fatbobo, ur ah gals are so cute.. ah bu. hahaha ...make me laugh for a while.
my gal watch nonsense tv in nanny house. at my place, we play a lot with her. her play is more than reading, watching tv and everything else.
so i wonder if my gal will grow up liking books.

calling
my gal is like a robot. i said 'call mama' she will follow.
and she is good at differentiate uncle, aunty, korkor, jie jie, and popo for old ppl.

really love her a lot.. but shall i hold for the 2nd one? sien.....

sweetmama: at least it was detected and u can get med for it.. if gynae says ok, then should be ok bah.. And just being honest ah, dr says take for 2 yrs. He never say after two yrs can stop right.. He may ask u to continue taking mah..

What do u mean by fried food? Stir fried? I do it for shayna.. quite long liao. but i fry with one or two drops of oil..

Seems like a lot of us are putting our kids at cc. I'm going to do that next week as well, one week before I head back to work from my maternity leave.

I guess good also lah, aaden has been exhibiting terrible 2 behavior. Hope that he can learn some stuff at the cc and be 'cured' from his pacifier addiction. Cos at mil place he is the king. Think she is going to exhibit more seperation anxiety then me.

sweetmama,
I agree with baby s, at least yr condition is detected early and since gynae said no prob with the medication, it shld be safe.

I oso hv been doing stir-fry for ovann for quite a while liao. I only dun do deep fry although i've just bot a deep fryer

bobo,
Hahaha .. i must agree with u that yr gals are like sam sengs, BUT they are so CUTE lor!!! I watched the videos u uploaded, so funny de .. esp the one when u said 'ATTENTION' and their hands will auto put at the side or back.

donkeymami

i am putting javier in full day coz that CC no half day.. but first week oni half day for him lah.. i have to put him in full day too coz i doubt the maid can handle if i m preggy coz i nit alot of bedrest.. she got to housework, cook for me etc and javier like a monster... then i dun wan leave him to hb's auntie care.. he will be a spoilt brat..

ya, i see most of the activities in morning also. afternoon after nap about 4pm teabreak, then nothing much le..

sbb
wats is rice millet?

babyja
I started my boy on rice just before CNY and he takes about 1/2 chinese rice bowl. He cant take the rice dry, so I soak it in soup, then it will "pong" until like 1 bowl of rice.

sweetmama, i thk so long gynae give u green light shd b ok right? how old are u? if on hold for 2 yrs will be too late for #2?

btw wat make u test for thyroid ah? any symptoms? cos i heard quite a few frens has this prob too.

fatbobo, ya i like the "attention" video eps 2 of them doing the same things togethe so amusing!

kiki, u dun soak whole portion of rice in soup..by portion instead eg one tablespoon finished then follow another spoon then rice wun "pong" liao if not nv get to finished.

bb who dont like food

My boy is not enthusiastic about food. His usually feeding per meal is 45-60mins. Since he started rice, it was worst... 60mins to eat 2 spoonsful of rice. Then during CNY we went to our friend's house to visit and stayed over for dinner. I was so surprised that he finished 1/2 bowl of rice in 30mins! Thereafter he can usually finish 1/2 bowl of rice.

I heard before that if a child dont like to eat, after bringing them to friend's house to eat their rice, it will open their appetite!
never really pay much attention, but it seems to work for my boy!

Conincidently, I started my boy on appeton multivitamins lysine tablets. I give alternate days, so far took 3 already. maybe is the one doing wonders!

Donkey:

im 32..i'm getting skinnier and skinnier.. that is one of the symptom. there are 2 types. one is hypothryoidism and the other one is hyperthyeroidism.

I'm hyper.. symptom for me is trembles hand, lose weigh with good appetite, tense, stress, tired, fatique. i think more symptom will appear.

i went for a blood test as i m skinnier each day and i eat a lot. so i suspect there must be something wrong with me. so true enough. i hate the thought of taking medication for 2 years.

ya.. terrible and horrible. had a good cried in front of the doc. the tears are so gentle..that i can't help to let it flow...

hubby texted me to say he is going to take over my role in taking care of ah gal.. haiz..

babyS, how to cook with 2 drops of oil? unless 2 drops of oil with 5 leaves?

cloudme
no lah, not yet.. havent try, still taking TCM.. but muz prepare javier for his CC first ma..

kiki
i realise my boy dun like the rice soak in soup leh, he prefer 1 spoon rice then 1 spoon soup.. hmmm... my friend's girl was very small size and the pd gave her multi-vit with lysine and she indeed ate alot but still on small size so i tink her gene is like that coz the mummy slim also.. that time i was thinking of giving javier that coz he's not enthusiastic in his food too but hb say he's not consider small size so nv buy and pd say he's growing well so drop the idea. i brought him to my friend's house to have porridge with her girl that time when he first reject porridge but show no effect leh, still the same.. mayb can re-consider the multi-vit with lysine again.. hee.. i juz wan him to open his mouth big for his meals..

sweetmama
if gynae say ok shouldn't b a problem loh..

Babys, I also has prob to cook small portion! i cant cook well in small portion dunno why mayb i'm a chor lor person ya?!? any tips to share?

Jagiebaby, so u taking TCM right now? any comment from ur sinseh? as in to tiao 1st then can start to try or can try anytime?

My fren's sinseh hv to wait body ready 1st then can start to try woh! she said is easy to get pregnant but also easy to m/c woh so she told her to wait for 3 more mths.

I tried 3mths le still no luck dunno why
i always BD ard my O time still cannot strike le...thinking to start BFW from Eu Yan Seng this mth.

bbja
So your friend cooked the porridge or your brought over? must be cooked by your friend wor. kekeke!
somehow other people' food taste better? last time my sister said that our neighbour's plain water is sweet!

My boy is not considered small size, but feeding is a torture for me. Need to think of lots of ways to keep him entertained while trying to force the spoon into his mouth only to have him spit it out.
My boy still dont open him mouth big big for his rice lah, but at least dont spit out, I already very happy!

My friend's 14 month girl finish her 1 bowl porridge in 10 mins! Gosh, I think my boy havent even swallow his 3rd mouth lor

sweetmama:: hugs. hope dat it will go away soon..n dun hfta be on medication for so long. tink more than 10yrs ago..i oso hv sm thyroid prob..but i cant rmbr was hypo or hyper. but i had avoided seaweed for many many yrs. do u hfta avoid? i tink prolly mine is hypo..cos ur getting skinnier..but im owas fatter!! i did not track aft the medical examination aft that. then abt 3yrs ago, i did another basic blood test which oso read some thyroid test.. my thyroid antiglobulin (cant rmbr correct med term) super duper high! norm shld be <30+uml>156uml!!! GP jit tao refer me to national cancer centre for more tests with the specialist! i see NCC, i was like..am i going to die kind lor! n dat time it was juz couple of mths aft i had cervical precancer stage II oso! BUT, aft abt 6mths, i still got preggy..n ya..(hmmm..prolly cos of all the medication n watever surgery).. i had malfunction development of zygote n ended up with identical twins!

so.. i mean.. (sorry..long winded).. i noe hw u feel when u were being diagnosed n all. but, be positive (oh..Ms P!!!)... ya.. dun let yrself hv much negative tots. everything will be fine n in place de. i smtimes tell myself..i hv these small sickness..to block bigger problems! small challenges, to gain big experiences.

jia you~

donkeymani
I also wanted to try BFW leh. Must take 1 bottle per week but must stop eating if strike liao...
how to know if strike or not until 2weeks right? then should eat or not during the 2ww?

Kiki

wow, then u don't need to worry. So long as he's growing, it's ok. And he's growing so well!

My boy's therapists say don't stress them else he will think it's a chore and a lot negativity. Don't say eat. Just explore and 'play' with the food. Since he's growing well, don't worry how much he actually eats. It will get better.

sweetmama,
your hubby is nice and comforting to help more in taking care of your gal. treat the medication like taking supplement ...

kiki,
it's the first time i hear that to bring kids to other pp's house to eat rice can help ! i should try that too ... my gal takes 15 minutes to bite/chew/swallow 1 mouth of rice !

re: baby eating food
my girls eating habit really see their mood..n see who feed de! my mum said during weekdays, when she &amp; helper feed..the girls omoz no prob..juz eat de lor.. one mouth followed by the other.. da kou da kou chi. my mum cooked mee suah for them for lunch these days (evng helper prepare porridge). BUT, when i feed them over weekends, their pattern all cm out liao.. i owas end up shouting at them, throwing the bowl on the table n walk away kind!!!! i sucks la..really no patience to feed them! smtimes i try to cook different tings for them, like maccaroni, fried rice, rice with stir-fry dish, steam rice, etc.. smtimes they eng xiu me abit.. eat first few mouths, then pattern cm out again!

by the way, what r yr kids hvg for bfast these days? still cereal? mine still on those cerelac cereal.. n they oni take chicken or vegetable flavours now! sianz!! tried to bowl oats with condenses milk, but they dun like. those cornflakes or honey star cereal with their milk..oso not really fancy. weekends we smtimes gv vegetarian beehoon, chee cheong fun, char siew bao, mc hotcakes, etc.. but they wun be able to eat much. really hv no idea!!!

Thanks Fatbobo,

I'm actually accepting the fact already. but i still do not have the mood to work today.

cervical precancer stage II?? how's ur condition now? somehow i feel so suay esp to hear the news during the CNY.

joey, yalo, at least he is sweet enough. lucky the pills are small.

so lazzzzzzyyy..