(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

making puree

help!!!.. how do i steam fruit/veg for making puree? can i do it in those tefal electric steamer? or use a wok n put a pot stand, place the food in a plate n steam (like steaming fish)?

i'm so clueless!

jul, both also can..i use the steamfish method..cos i dun hv steamer at home...for apple i thk ard 5-10mins..sweet potato ard 10-15mins..

donkeymami

thanks! i suddenly feel stressed coz i dunno how to cook at all, now gotta make puree 4 bb *faint*

so there will be water collected in the plate? do i throw that away?

then must wait for food to cool down then puree?

I oso think i'm likely to walk away. But sometimes situations dun quite allow mah. E.g, everyone is crowding around u & bb in the living rm. Den someone light up, u can't possibly just stand up & walk away?

My family side also got some smokers but they know the rules, i.e. if they smoke, they have to go outside of the house.

But bro-in-law is my hubby's side de ... and i'm not really close to him or his family. Sianz ....

jul
I steam using the steaming fish method, just that i dun use the wok since i'm only steaming a small amt of fruits. I use a bigger pot, put the bowl with the fruits inside, add water and steam

For green vege, i boil instead of steam

Cloudme,
steam apple so it will be soft easy to mash mah...
but for sweet potato i boil..

Jul,
be it steamer or wok method both r steam mah no diff 1 la.. vegie no need to steam jus boil n blend...

Lo Hei Gathering

Eunice,

I always hv the impression that soup restaurant hv very constraint space.

suddenly remember of this group of restaurant i try their food at seafood paradise @ Defu & spore flyer and also taste paradise at mosque street. they serve nice food.

i hv chk they r open on 3rd of CNY. wanna consider tis?

http://www.paradiseinn.com.sg/images/pi%20cny%20menu%20only.pdf
Branches that are accessible by MRT train

City Square Mall - 6509 9337
313@somerset -t 6733 0348

Mummies going for the lo hei any comments.

jul, i dun use the water..for apple is quite watery when u blend no nit add water..for sweet potato (japanese) vy dry so i add boiled water to blend..i nv wait for food to cool down then blend.

cloudme, apple after steamed color will become brownish le...so still will oxidize bah..but bb so young still cannot chew apple bah...

apple puree
i also never steam, thought it is good to eat fresh fruit so i never steam fruits.. but must buy those apple soft soft type de, crunchy ones hard to mash de..

thanks everyone

so if wet enough i dun add water, but if v dry then add water?

how do u all puree? just mash with fork or need those handheld blender?

jul,

Unless u steam it till really soft, else I think blender is a better choice ... i tried to mash with fork but it's not fine enough. Not to mention tired hand/fingers ... haha

Jul
for apple i bought those inside soft soft type, just mash it using the pigeon feeding dish very easy to mash de, so never blend also though i have a blender at home..

ok ok.. thanks

looks like i gotta pester hubs to bring us to buy blender, steamer, fruit/veg etc. suddenly realised cny a lot of things not avail. feel so stressed now

donkeymami,
errh cos for my #1 i always do the scrape out method and feed directly when i also eating the apple...

jul,
i also tried boiling method for spinach(i do a trial last sun for my bb)...but i chop till fine instead of blend...

i tot not so gd to start with spinach, broccoli etc strong-tasting veg? tot carrot, sweet potato, pumpkin etc better coz sweet tasting n easier dor bb to accept?

but is it good to steam apple, since that its brownish after steaming ?
We can just scrap apple and give just like that ?

Ive yet to give veg to Nat as I do not have a blender as feel blender can oni use for short while.
Any other way to intro veg to her ?
What other kind of veg can we steam n blend using cultery ?
So far have only given her carrots, potato, sweet potato n avacado....

jul,
i think can try bah, to wat i noe spanish is 1 of the best veg for bb, but again is erally up to each bb taste? i hv nt start veg yet, so far only apple.
btw, for those who wanna try scrape the apple fresh to feed bb can try the plate-tray with shape surface for scraping food/fruits for bb, i am using that, really easy and fast.

cloudme
haha i fully agree with you, that's why i only buy 1, shop and save selling 5 at 2.75, then i just get one the cashier also find it very weird.. cuz if i get 5 maybe not all are "fen fen" type... haha.. but usually can tell lah cuz i am a big apple fan sia... can eat 8 a day when i was preggy that time, so i went to buy all diff kinds of apples.. of course later one stopped cuz i scared too much sugar in it, haha..

phew! my grandma's funeral is finally over. Finally can rest and recuperate.

donkeymani
no need to steam the avocado. I mash, then add a bit of FM and water to it. My gal loves avocado. It's the only puree that she can finish one big bowl.

Re; apple/pear puree
I steamed it for the 1st month coz bb's tummy not well developed yet. Eventually can take without steaming. My gal is fussy over the apple types. Must be the very sweet type. If not sweet enough, she doesn't wanna eat.

Re: spinach
I also boil coz i find that i cannot find the right timing for steaming. Always end up overdoing it. With boiling, just need to put in boiling water and quickly take it out. After that can even use the water for the puree and also make soup for ourselves to drink.

jul,

Another school of thot is that if u try to give bb sweet foods first, he might reject vege later becos of the taste. I personally try to interchange between the 2. Just now i gave Ovann carrot, he also frown ... hahah .. but his frown was better than the time when i gave him spinach

Dolce,
i prefer steam n mash apple leh easier.. cos scrape mus have skill n i scare a bit dry bb dunno easy to swollow anot..

Jul,
i gave my BB spinach after 2-3wk he start solid i jus add a bit milk to it so it taste better..
i prefer to boil potato, sweet potato etc cos can use the water we use to boil to add to the puree the water is quite gd.. like sweet potato soup w/o sugar:p

Regg,
i have the tools to scrape but lazy haha...

spinach

hmm.. maybe can mix with something seet like carrot or sweet potato so bb can tolerate better? coz really strong leh.

btw the spinach is not the bocai right? it's yin choy, as described in the book. But what is yin choy?

i was thinking to start with cereal, then pear, then carrot.. then maybe sweet potato, apple etc.. all with 3 days interval

dunno leh! the book says chinese spinach (yin choy) is less strong tasting than ang moh spinach. I was like.. what???

piggy
Is it? I haven't tried combi vege cos i've no time to go to supermarket. For potato, must skin it b4 boil or after?

mich
Ya, spinach puree really smells like grass! Luckily ovann finished it when i add it to his cereal
I think celery also have very strong smell .... even i can't stand it .. hahah

jul,
that one i am not sure.
cos i ask the same question to my mil b4 too.
she told me there r 2 type of spanish, the yin choy is chinese spanish.

regg

That means correct lah, got 2 types of spinach. Ok I try to get the yin choy to feed sam. scared too strong later he kena traumatised n then hates veg!

Pegsfur,
mus skin first so after boil can mash straight away. same mus add water to it:p
actually so far i gave single 1 ok den mix but i din keep any interval leh heng so far no prob...
ya i agree smell like grass so i add cereal n milk keke..

Jul,
but i tink the bo cai is more easily available bah...

fatbobo:andrew hv to work le.....u know la hotel always like tat where go holiday one....

feeding cereals when out
~bowl/spoon ( of cos for babies type,pigeon one has spoon inside with cover ,compact n convenient to use

~wet towel n wet wipes ( cotton)

~bibs ,best is those plastic ones...easy to clean n dry

ears cleaning~

sure we hv to clean but not too deep...if unsure better dun or use a torch light
i bought this ear digger with light maybe u ladies will be interested too....chk onthe forum bulk purchase should hv. under twn goods bah.

even my girl we cleaned daily but tat day i use the ear digger with light i managed to dig out quite a big pc loooo.

if u believe in ear shit will be push out by itself.....hv to think again like whether bbs ear shit is wet or dry
wet ones wont be able to be pushed out....instead will become very hard/blackish/smelly n sticky type....by then u need to go see doc n prescribe lotion to soften it n let it flow out.

dry ones like my girl;s.....occasionally need to thorough clean cos u will never know if a bead or something may be stuck inside! i had an experience myself for my landlord's girl of 4 yrs old......i dug out a bead covered with blackish ear wax liao.......afterwards she asked us : why u guys talk so loud" .......

belly button cleaning

~very sentsitive part even for adults.....once dig then becomes reddish.....use olive/bb oil ~drop 2-3 drops on belly button- let it soaked thru-after shower can use cotton buds(mini ones) to lightly clean it.

banana~it absorbs the water content tats why too much willget constipated.....not sure if removed seeds liao will be different or not.

jul~cut fruit/vege into small portion(enough for 1 time feed)
~wash thoroughly (like veges may hv worms)
~use ur tefal steamer,on n set 10-15 mins depending on wat
food
~put food inside a bowl n steam
~food ready
transfer into ur feeding bowl n mash ....most food can use fork/spoon to mash can liao

green veges...best is add sweet potato/pumpkin n mix together...if nto very raw....dun think i like it too :p