(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

OOh.. Got Crocs sale? Where?

I haven't started washing anything yet. Still in the midst of buying. U gals dun stress me leh

Cloudme,
i plan to wash a bit everywk cos really a lot of thing to wash like blanket, bedsheet, towel etc so even i pop early i be ready

Shirley,
some stain difficult to remove 1 esp those with apply juice.. i jus soak the clothing in water with the powder ...

re : Washing BB clothes

How to wash ah? I bot the Pigeon washing powder. So I just dump the clothes into the washing machine with powder & let the machine take care of it? Need to soak & wash a few times?

I still haven't organise bb's stuff ... they are all strewn over in my walk-in wardrobe and living room. Think i'm never gonna start organising and washing them till i get the extra cupboards to keep the stuff.

pegsfur

Me too. I have crammed the clothes into plastic bags & dumped them in the storeroom with other things like washing powder, breast pads, liquid detergent, then sterliser I think in the kitchen, goodness knows what else is kept where!

I think I better try to go Toyogo this weekend to get the plastic chest of drawers. And I need to clean & set up the room for cot, drawers, single bed etc etc.

Jul,
soaking is for old clothings...
new one just wash can liao...

like washing ur own clothings ...just dump into the washing machine with washing powder can liao...

Jul,
ya soakin is for old clothes.. actually u can jus wash those for new born 1 first for me cos i alone now n i only free on wkend to wash so i might need longer time to clear the washing so i start now..

Washing powder:
i wonder if becos we cant use softener on baby clothing the clothing is rather stiff after i dry them.. is tt norm? or i add too much powder?

i oso have not done anything for bb...except buying clothes..
... the desitin, califonia bb calendula cream, bb detergent, bb laundry detergent, wet wipes r current stocks frm my boy.

jul
i oso use and swear by desitin creamy.. works wonders on rashes..

cloudme, for those with stain, i use washing powder, soak overnight, then i worried that the washing powder is too strong for baby skin, so wash again and re-soak in hot water.

smurfy,
same here...those consumeable i also use #1 current stocks...
hope it will work well with #2...
otherwise headache...got to get different set...

shirley,
u use bb washing powder or adult one?

i use bb luandry liquid for #1 at my place...
but mil use adult one at her place...

ok will try ur method...cos i usually soak overnight and wash...never wash 2nd or 3rd time...

Thanks for the advice on washing clothes. Think I better really start getting the BB room ready, else wash the BB clothes liao also no place to put.

smurfy

What's California BB Calendula cream?

I also worry that the washing powder is strong.. so I will do an extra rinse in the washing machine to make sure the suds are all washed out thoroughly.

Actually, i dun like to wash new clothes de leh .. i like the 'new' smell on the clothes
But for bb, i think bo bian, have to wash first.

jul.

califonia bb calendula cream is:
http://www.californiababy.com/calendula-cream-2-oz.html
it's good on rashes... but i fallen in love with the smell.. and applies it as a daily mositurer oredi... anyway initially my boy was prone to heat rash in his earlier fat days...so this thing works out very well for him... i am oso using their range of body wash for my boy...for myself, i got the pregnancy body wwasha and oils.. no more itchiness as compared to elancyl.. got all these from sprees here, afew organisers will conducts sprees on califonia baby products on and off.

cloudme,

all bb clothes i only using bb washing powder, but for my #2 she need to take over some of the old clothes from her kor kor. Those milk stain is so hard to remove, so i use adult washing powder.

Even by using adult washing powder i have to wash it at least two times, then the stain is lighter @.@

cloudme..
yah, i am oso praying.. wat works for #1 will works for #2... anyway those that i use for #1 are quite mild type..

shirley/cloudme..
my #1 2 yrs old oredi, i still using bb detergent for his clothes.. and bb detergent for his plates n bowls.. i paranoid crazy mum..

shop in chinatown is called cheong choon
i have not been down there.. but my current understanding is they have the cheapeest stuffs in town.... e.g. Pigeon Baby wipes (3-in-1 pack).. is retailing $9 there....Pigeon breast pads is $8. even when KP or robinsons have sales will not go down to this price.. if u purchase a certain amt from them, got free delivery to ur place.. i will make a bulk purchase when times r nearer to delivery..

mornin mummies,

today am stuck at my head office.. super sian cos i say in the east head office at jurong...

re: washing of bb clothes
i used bb wshing powder called ADB? from pureen.. smells nice.. i bought 1 packet of piegon washing powder to try but seems quite ex...
left it at my mum's place to wash cos in-law's place too many ppl staying den difficult to wash

morning gals

re: washing of bb clothes
remember that last wash should be with bb detergent as bb's skin is more sensitive.

I got some hand me downs from SIL which are milk stained and dun know what stain - washed them like 3 rounds - 1st round with bleach & normal detergent. after dry, stains still visible, so wash a 2nd round...think the stains are non removable. anyways since hand me down, not nice not to let bb use, so boh pian, wash a 3rd round with bb detergent.

sighs...i'm not comfy with bb wearing stained clothing - but with hand me downs, is there a nice way to reject them?

re: fisherprice sale
there's jumperoo and swings and bouncers -- anyone know the price they selling? i want to go down but still down with flu..and these few days cramping as well...sianz

mashy
u mentioned that you are already dilated ...anything else can be done to stop the dilation? since dilated, did the mucous plug drop out?

re:wipes
that day someone was mentioning wipes can cause allergy (sorry, can't remb who) ...can substitute wipes with cotton balls dipped in boiled water?

any pro or cons using this method?

babymaking

U can just keep them in the cupboard for emergencies lor. They wun know if u use them or not right, assuming u dun live together?

mummies.. my placenta is low, I'm wondering if there is anything we shld avoid? Anyone with similar problems? My water retention seems bad too... leg already swollen.. stretch marks start to appear already.. OMG!!! already have difficulties in walking liao.. anyone of u facing the same as me??

babymaking,
it's me...

me telling reira on outing time...best to use handkies for wiping (face)

cos she mention she going to use wet wipes for cleaning mouth when outside...

just mention that there's possible that wet wipes will cause allergy...

bbmaking
u have reminded me!!!!!!!

for newborns..
sterile cotton balls and cooled boiled water to clean the eyes..
cotton balls and normal tap water to clean backside after each poo is still better than wipes.

but hor, half way through, i lazy oredi.. think 2nd mth onwards use wipes..

Jul,

read from Sep thread u bot disney bedding set from aussino right? Got 20% for disney?

cos tat day i asked..the salesgirl told me disney one got no disc woh..selling price is $79.90.

heh thks cloudme for reminding me...finding that i'm gettting more and more forgetful.

ok smurfy,
at least got other alternatives. cotton balls is more messy & troublesome than wet wipes..so let's see how long can do it.

lynn
for low placenta, have to avoid standing/walking as much as possible.

carefreelife
check the archives for yesterday, think pris posted the link.

jul
clothes from SIL, and MIL will be staying with us when bb is born - so a bit hard to avoid explanation why buy so many new clothes and ya da yada yada wasteful not to use SIL clothes.

*though i did hint to MIL that SIL clothes not clean enuff* she still say dun waste $$ to buy new clothes.

hee, I've been hiding all the new clothes from her :p

pink,
the diaper stacker at 1st few yrs is very exp..i'm hoping to get one at less than $20-$30. still considering mashy's idea of a trolley. trying to think of the pros and cons of having a moveable one - cos as likely or not, someone (esp hubby) is going to bump into it at night. :p

morning all

re: fisherprice sale
tink the swings goin ard $170....
anyone goin today? im wondering if i shld go again...hehee

re: washing bb clothes
i haven start washing yet cos cant decide which detergent to use

anyway i got a qn...some ppl tell me i cant assemble the baby cot yet till baby is born...its it true? haf u all assembled ur baby cot?

Babymaking,
actually baby clothes with stain is not dirty somemore wearing at home nia so ok bah... but if u really not comfortable jus tell them ur friend gave u a lot alr no need so much lor..

piggytoh, u also bought playpen for baby, not baby cot?

Was wondering the swing cot, do we need it at hme? Coz I only have one and intend to bring over to my mum's place since she helping me to take care of baby...

piggy/carefreelife,

U both using playpen for bb to sleep? I'm thinking is it suitable cos it seems soft compared to a cot.

babymaking,

extract fr another thread

Rainforest jumperoo $200 BUT sold out liao, staff said dunno will replenish or not
Rainforest high chair $200
Rainforest swing $170
Aquarium open top swing $150
Infant to toddler portable rocker $110
booster chair $60
also got potty and older version of infant to toddler rocker, but forgot to see how much...

Got some other toys as well, piano set $30, drum set $20, learning purse set can't remember how much...

I was having facial yday and realise now my spa place also offer prenatal massage. They just got a qualified lady that can do prenatal massage. Im happy to hear that and might try to make an appointment tml to try it out.
I can use my package for either massage or facial,so pretty flexible.

sharon
why cannot assemble leh? we got ours assembled but wrap in plastic to prevent dust from accumulating.

smurfy
erm the problem with asking friends to buy is that u never exactly get what u want - so prefer vouchers or cash gift instead so that can go out and get what I want.

re:confinement help
anyone here not hiring professional CL to do your confinement? what are the things to prepare in advance to make life easier during the confinement period?