babymaking,
ya i like them very much too!

pink,
OK will do that.

michelle,
ya very cute ya.. i enjoy doing them

re: hopsital bag and schedule to get things done

I'm housekeeping my stuff on my lappie and came across this list which i think will be helpful to everyone.

Do add on if there's anything miss out.

What to pack for Hospital Bag

For yourself
1. 2 packs of Maternity Pads
(You can bring along 1 pkt Kotex/Pureen Maternity Adhesive 10pcs & 1pkt normal night use with longer back coverage) Hopsital do provide one pack but may need more depending yr lochia flow.
2. 1 pack of Disposable Panties
3. 2 front-opening Pyjamas (For Breastfeeding) only KKH provide (other hospitals u need yr own)
4. 1 face towel for cleaning body
5. 1 Going Home Outfit (e.g maternity babydoll dress, Can wear back the same one you wear to hospital)
6. 1 Bra (Can wear back the same one you wear to hospital)
7. 3 bottles of Chicken Essence
8. HP with Charger
9. NRIC and Admission Letter
10. Maternity package receipt to be given to Hospital for them to submit for additional medisave claimable.
11. camera / video cam and spare batteries or charger. remb to bring multi purpose plug if yr charger is 2 pin type.
12. slippers - slip in type in case you want to walk ard the room.
13. If you intend to register bb's name in hospital - need to bring along original marriage certificate.

\b[For baby}
1. 1 Baby Receiving Blanket
(If you dun mind, normally hospital will give it in the diaper bag)
2. 1 New Outfit for home
3. 1 set of New Bootie and Mitten
4. 1 Hat
5. Install car seat (either hubby can do when u're in hospital or if you are more handy with installation, then install by 8th mth)

Others – Optional
1. Medicated oil
2. Glasses
3. Hairclip/ hairband / comb
4. Sock (if you find it cold)
5. Some coins for your hubby to buy drinks
6. Vicks lozenges or any other mints(good for soothing your throat)

*Notes:
(1) On your 1st day of admission, get your mum/mil to bring your clothes back as you’ll change into hospital gown with bare foot. If not then wear it back when you discharge.

(2) Thomson Medical provides a small bag of toothbrush, Toothpaste, comb and a packet of pamper and wet tissues so you need not bring.

(3) On your day of discharge, remember to ask the nurse to give you extra small glass bottles of formula milk. As normally they will give about 1-2 small glass bottles of milk (each is about 90-100ml). And also you may want to opt for half breastfeed (day) & formula (night), so that you can rest during night times in hospital.

Things To do / Dateline

1.Buy Baby Stuffs / By 7th mth

2.List down a list of Important Tel no such as
Gyane during office and 24hrs service on the wall / By 7th mth

3. Pack Room for baby/Confinement lady-extra pillow?/ By 7-9th mth

4.List down herbs/tonics/rice wine to buy/order /By 7-9th mth

5.Collect Baby stuff from friends / By 7th mth
(All clothes collected needs to be washed using baby detergent)

6. Decide on Normal/Caesarean with Gynae / By 9th mth

7. Set-up Baby PlayPen/Cot / By 7th - 9th mth

8. Sterilizes Milk Bottles, pacifier etc / By 9th/10th mth

9.Open a Child Bank Account with OCBC/SCB upon receiving the baby bonus booklet and letter. usually within 3 weeks frm birth. $3000 is given in 4 installments.

10.Decide baby name and register for Birth Cert/Within 1 month after baby has arrived

11. Choose baby Chinese Name by geomancy if desired / same as 10. “

12.Decide on Baby Shower Party / 1st Confinement Mth

13. Decide on How many boxes of cakes to order/deliver / 1st Confinement Mth

dreamz always,
got its at kiddy palace...got 20% now

donkeymami,
dats cheap, is it the same? as in buy in msia n spore? same size?

regg,
im so inspired by u! tinking of cross stitching for my baby...dunno got patience to finish it anot cos im not a handicraft person

smurfy,

same here!

My #1 is about 20 mths now, i still using bb detergent for his clothes, plates n bowls, milk bottles :p

Lynn Ng, since your placenta is low, you must ensure you are not walking tooooo much. bcoz will cause bleeding.

oh wow babymaking, you started packing already? I don't even have the list to start packing. How come they haven't given me the list huh? Hm...

I am a May MTB. I am selling my balance Prolacta with DHA fish oil, iron supplements and calcium supplements.

DHA fish oil (31 softgels) : $20
Calcium Lactate 300mg (36 tabs) : $5
Neogobion (Iron)(6 tabs) + Floron Iron Supplement (30 tabs) : $5

Postage fee (Normal postage) : $1

PM me if interested. Thanks

babymaking, thanks for sharing such comprehensive list with us

Sharon, yes exactly the same as spor from the packaging i saw..the salesgal also told me pigeons is good compared to other brands.

eh michelle

i haven't started packing - just going thru my stuff on the laptop...to print out the list and make sure i got all the stuff i need.

oh gals
imagine how your bb looks like
found this in the sep thread - it's fun

you can see wht ur baby will look like by uploading u and hubby's picture.
http://www.vw.com/vwhype/babymaker/en/us/

hey babymaking, I was playing with the baby picture website that you've sent. Our baby came out with black skin! Haha... Did anyone else try? :p

babymaking
T_T the babymaker site scares me. i went to click a few times and the results are all diff, scarier and scarier each time lol

michelle
haha mine also turns out to be a bit ang moh

babymaking

The 15-20% off Pigeon stuff is only for non-special price items right? I find that those breast pads, BB wipes etc are norm on special price liao, so no more discount.

michelle/reira
i think must choose enthicity - choose east asian. or hehe use david beckham or yr fav idol picture :p

hehe i chose a pic and put on msn - [email protected] - add me in to see....don;t know if all the bb pic are the same. LOL.

jul
u mean robinsons? yeah i think so, they have special buys which are excluded from the 15 or 20%, not sure this weekend what are the special buys.

if card member get aditional $15 off every $100 purchase + items with additional 15 or 20% off, then will be worth it.

babymaking

Yeah, I meant Robinsons. Went to the so-called sales twice, and both times, those sundries & necessities are classified under "special buys" liao. Siao lor.

Reira,
tt time u wan to buy the Capella Stroller rite? now BGH have promo the 08 version model S228 is only selling at $149!!

Breast Pump

I am confused abt breast pumps.

When to buy?

When do we need to get it? Before delivery, or when we start getting out of the hse & start work? If I intend to latch on at home, esp during the first 4 mths, then do I wait till after maternity leave is over then buy? Or do I need to get it now to stimulate supply, even tho I wanna latch?

Then there's choice of pumps

Initially, I wanted to get Medela Freestyle b/c it's so portable. But very exp, so I wud be getting from a spree. Cons is that it's new, untried & no warranty.

Then I heard all u mummies talking abt Ameda Lactaline. Went to take a look. Seems ok, $200+ cheaper than Freestyle with local warranty. And it's much lighter & more portable than Medela PIS.

PIS is the raved-about brand, so a bit awayed by the gd comments. Just that it's sooo heavy! Can't imagine bringing it ard.

So confused...

jul/babymaking, normally those sales will not haf discount on such items

KP also dun haf 20% on the pigeon stuff so i din buy..but some brands do haf 20%

babymaking,
tks for the list, till now I am still "nua-ing" so did not do anything yet....:p think i should start preparing soon maybe begining of next mth heehee..

cloudme,

BHG even offer 15% for baby wipes? what brand are those?

Celine,
that promo is over...

that time J&J and tollyjoy wipes, small pkt of pigeon wipes(not the large pkt type of wipes),
bb luandry detergent/washing powder etc were on further 15% disc off their offer price...

jul
i bought some pigeons toiletries - wipes, detergent at taka nursery when they had the 20% sale, all were on discount, plus additional 10% for cardmembers. so if can wait, maybe wait for taka sales?

robinsons sales is very dependent on supplier.

re: breast pumps
we discussed this before
2 schools of thoughts here
1) buy a hospital grade pump like ameda lactaline or PIS or FS, so that can help to establish milk supply immed after delivery
2) another school of thought is to latch bb on immediately after delivery and bb will establish milk supply.

type of BP
depends on yr budget. from what's been discussed - for ameda, better to get a local set, and buy nearer to EDD, as the supplier warranty starts from purchase date. Ameda pump motor has tendency to lose it's suction power/spoil, so the 1yr warranty will ensure that can replace motor at least once before it's expiry. Tas is working on a BP with the supplier.

As for Medela, think the chief complaint is that it's loud compared to the ameda. and of course, the price is so much higher than the ameda. the verdict is still out there between PIS or FS.

hope the above helps.

Thanks for your comments on the Breast Pumps. I must have missed all of that when I was in Japan. The more I think abt it, the more I feel like getting Ameda b/c got warranty & it's MUCH cheaper than Medela lor.

I am really wearout liao. Running around settling all the house stuff. And now trying to settle the HDB rental application and also waiting for CPF to let me know about the reinstatement of dh's HPS and also need to write to GE for dh's DPS.

It seems like alot of things are popping up for me this year that I am getting so weary now. Need lots of prayers from everyone.

1stly, it was CVS, then spotting in 2nd trim.
Then, all the messes and shits my bil has created for my flat, running around settling them.
Last night, dh told me as he helped out in a FMRI scan experiment, they found some growth in his head and he has undergone a CT scan and a blood test and result will be out next week.

I feel like breakdown now, really praying for God's strength to sustain me. Please pray with us that God will heal dh and the growth will reduce in size and disappear. I don't think I can handle another "surprise" anymore.

Hi gals..it's Friday..yeah!

Babymaking: Thanks for your comprehensive list.

I m thinking of getting a baby bath/wash lotion.
Wat brand do u all recommend? Mrs Wong said...new-born dun need to use shampoo, 3mth above then use. But i forgot wat brand of non-rinse baby bath she use?

My mum said...when bringing the baby home from hospital, bring a set of clean clothes to let the baby wear back. This set of clothes muz be passed down from another good-natured, guai-guai baby. Dun let the baby wear new clothes back.

u all heard of this thing?

Pris,
Dun worry too much, please be positive. Will keep you and your DH in my prayers.

Take care of yourself ya. Stress is not good for bb.

Pris,
jiayou i am sure nothing will happen to ur HB

Yen,
Mrs WOng is usin J&J n Avent head to toe non rinse. oh nv heard of the myth abt baby mus wear old clothes home wor..

yen,

I heard the same saying too.
Now im thinking should I let baby wear new clothes or hand me down, as in to be pan-dang or not.
Actually if the hand me down is pretty new, cant tell if its worn b4...so should be ok :D

pris, u muz take care n dun stress yourself...keep positive

yen2008, wat i heard if muz buy new clothes to wear out of hospital....then home clothes muz wear hand me downs

Pris: u have experimented, and indeed it's true.
wow, i think i betta prepare a set of pass-it-down clothing too.

piggytoh: thanks for telling me wat Mrs Wong used. Nowadays , really short-term memory....she mentioned olive oil, but i cannot remember wat the olive oil is used for.

sharon: wat i heard is that bb wear old clothing, will be easier to take care. That's why i intend to let bb wear new clothings when going out.

pris, keep praying and God will help you through.

also, try not to give so many tasks to yourself, certain things can be done on a later date.

My confinement lady also said the same thing :
when bringing the baby home from hospital, wear old clothes.

I also believe this old wives' tale.

pris
just log on.. currently not in SG...
u hang in tight yeah? hope ur hb will be fine..

yen
never tried that old clothes thingy... but the nurses dress my ger in TMC de FOc clothes ley... but my ger is guai guai (so far she has been guai...) maybe this time i will let didi wear jie jie clothes when he discharge bah...

babymaking
wah ur hospital list v concise.. so many things there!!! but dun remember having to use so many.. lol.. mi lazy mama...

jumperoo so ex now? i bought mine at taka sales 239 during Xmas disc last yr... u mean they increased the price again?? OMg...kill pple put fire.. lol

okie i shall go off now.. more shopping to do.. hehehe.. willlog in after mi back from trip

Taslyn: I also gg to TMC to deliver... Nowadays, will they still dress the baby in the TMC clothing?
I only heard that TMC will provide a straddling towel/blanket to wrap the bb , i din know got free bb clothing also..their clothing nice or not? heehe :p