(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

piggytoh, i went tis morn too...quite disappointed too...only managed to get 2 items...but went kiddy palace check price, its 50% off...so made me feel better...haha

re: clothes
yes im running out of clothes to wear but decided not to buy any cos 2 more mths only...juz bear wif my limited wardrobe

Desitin

Any 2nd time mummies are using Desitin? My Sep thread got a mummy collating, & cannot make up my mind abt creamy vs original ointment. And also dunno if US$4.90 for 4oz tube is cheaper than in Spore.

HB gog to kill me.. I keep wanting to buy things.

Joann S , I got one of my appointment cancelled coz gynae was in an emergency delivery in the hospital but the clinic nurse called me much earlier before I went to the clinic as Gynae called to ask her to cancel all the appointment for the whole morning. And usually waiting time for me is not too bad too, and I see my gynae at least 15 minutes for consultations and then scan.

jul, i was told dat baby muz wear new clothes when discharged fr the hospital lei....
so i juz went shopping wif my mum n bought a new romper, cap, mitten, bootees and blanket for baby to wear from hospital home

RE:bb clothes...

hmmm, expo sales...got lots of sleepers...
KP, mum&babes, all dept store will have nice sleepers...

me too...i also want my #2 to wear something new back home...
cos to be fair to #2...cos jiejie(that time ESH never provide bb wear) also wear new stuff at hosp...

sharon

Hmm what kind of romper did u buy? And the receiving blanket? One reason why I haven't bot yet is b/c everything is blue blue blue. So boring!

I want something in yellow or green or orange, just not blue. But seems like everything's either in blue or pink

cloudme

No expo sale now right? But actually I dun quite dare to go to too many crowded places now, not to mention the tiredness factor.

Where is Mums & Babes?

Jul, I use the creamy one for Destin. Weather here really hot so I am letting bb come back in TMC cloth and maybe bring along a receiving blanket.

Usually bb does not need to use shampoo and showering gel till a big older so dun need to get too much toiletries for bb yet.

dunno how to describe...i take pic for u to see

most of my things r hand me downs too....

i haf bought other stuff in yellow, red n green
so my baby's clothes not so blue blue

PJPJ: i saw in the name list last week, there was another mummy who had dr woo as her dr... towards bottom of the list one.. is that u?

Joann: gosh.. so far thAT hasnt happened to me b4.. but sometimes when its the 1st few appointments, i sometimes have to wait, cos he hasnt come in.. but havent experienced him being called away to emergency while i am waiting to see him..

yest i went in, take temp. i havent even got chance to sit down and my turn liao lor... i told the nurses after the consultation, first time so fast wor.. hahah

jul: my parents just got back from US. she bought the 4oz one for me, selling for SGD 11 plus. in SG, the 2oz one is selling for 12 plus..

i was advised, the regular one is easier to use, not as thick/ creamy as the overnight one...

from what i've seen the overnight one, the packaging is blue and creamy one is purple. but i dont know regular one what colour.. think SG dont have wor...

Jul: its at tiong bahru (can mention name?) I duno wat's the problem... its just very frustrating to wait n wait... somemore appt fixed alrdy yet waiting time can b 1hr n above... duno wat's wrong also...shldnt they keep to the arranged time?

Pris: the first time they cancelled me on tues,the recept was like ... "oh cos doc jus sms oso...no choice" it kinda made mi more pissed... dun even sound apologetic.... !!!

Baby S: u oso tiong bahru? i usually opt for mornin FIRST one... eg they open at 9 but sometimes doc arrive only at 10+++!!! the recepts knew n they put mi at 940(first appt of the day) but in the end when i reach, still have to wait like 1hr....

Janice
brazillian wax: the lady you mention in CCK is Lynn right? I really like her service and luckily she stays quite near to me! I still have 1 more brazillian wax with her (bought package of 3 times), hopefully still can use after I give birth haha

sharon
now i know what to bring for my baby liao. I was still thinking what to bring since I thought hospital will provide. But problem is scared he is too big cannot wear or too small if i bring bigger size haha. maybe i bring 2 size for romper.

which brand of cloth diaper is good for swaddling?

jul, i am also using desitin creamy, works fine so far. It was prescribed by the PD.

joanne, wow, does ur doc do that to all his patients?? My super busy gynae has never once cancelled on me before, and he can see us in the midst of running to and from the delivery room. Also dun know how he does that one.

reira, any brand of cloth diaper i suppose, you mean those whiite ones right? I don't think it has a brand leh... anyway u will find that by the 4th week those cloth diapers are too small to swaddle, so I had to upgrade to my own handmade clothes.

pris, u managed to settled all your hb's stuff? Hope everything is ok now.

jul, tis is wat i bought
the romper can open the front n bottom, i tink easier to wear for newborn
cos baby born in yr of cow so im crazy over moo moo stuff...hahaa

blanket is normal...nothing special but my mum says the material is soft n not too thick

2481475.jpg

Pris

TMC will provide clothes? So I dun need to bring anything for Babylet at all if I dun want to?

I intend to use hand me down (but not used) nappy cloths for blankets, but gog home from hosp, I tot shd let Babylet get something nice. If not, so poor thing...

Oh I blur blur went to buy Pigeon shampoo & body wash (with refills somemore) liao. Made in Japan, cost me a bomb! That's what happens when I blur blur anyhow buy things *sigh*

sharon

So good! I bot all blue stuff for Babylet's first 3 mths, coz I got Carter's rompers in 5-pack, so all in blue. Luckily I haven't bot the later clothes yet, or I wud have made the mistake of buying all blue as well.

Even the bedsets, blankets, etc etc all blue one. Boring boring..

babys

Thanks for sharing the cost. Looks like buying online is a gd deal.

joann s

Can mention lah. Not as if u're making up stories right? Can understand ur frustration. Wait 1h already sian, not to mention kena fly aeroplane.

Joann S, sometime no choice if emergency but usually my this present gynae do not make me wait very long except when I am with Dr Kek coz her clinic and appointments are reallly filled up, the one wait is more than an hour and I usually go for tea or something and wait for the nurse to call me on my hp. Same with present gynae if he is late, I usually go and walk around and the nurse will call me.

RE: destini...
creamy is better for day2day application...but for real hard rash...original is much advise...

but if bb's butt no serious rash....creamy is good enough...

clean off wise...original more difficult to clean off as compared to the creamy one...

but i dun like to use destini creamy altho i have 1 cos its difficult to wash off compare to dapolene...
and 2ndly my ger no rashes on her butt...
so i stick to dapolene...

Joia:
Try Paragon -Swell and 9mois - closing down sale till end of May. Some items go as little as $10-30. I got quite a bit of clothes from there myself.

Jul, TMC provide 1 tmc romper if I am not wrong. Will ask Gynae for a list of wat I need to bring in hospital bag, it is so long since I delivered #1.

Jul
For 0 - 3 mths, I got yellow, light green, orange, blue, white, grey rompers. Then light green receiving blankets, pink & purple socks! all from babymallonline.

sharon
yeah i also remember Mrs Wong mention something about pigeon cloth diapers but dont really remember if it is for diaper or swaddling.

cloudme
is dapolene medicated? can it be use every time after changing diaper? i also heard that this brand's is good.

mich, reira

I bot 2 swaddle me cloths at Isetan Pte Sale. Originally $25.90 then got 20% i think? Anyway I got the S size, hope can last more than 4 weeks! Else heart pain leh.

sharon

Oh that's cute! And it's a matching set too haha.

I koe its no choice...but can't help feeling frustrated esp when they told mi 2 person yet i waited 1hr!!! i didnt went for walk or breakfast cos its only 2 person... then for mi, my own appt only take 5min... jus scanning abit of update...kinda fast oso ma...so i tot the most i'll wait only 30min or so...who koes turn out 1hr... then i wonder to myself...how come their consultation so much longer?

cloudme, I am also getting some dapolene if bb does not have sensitive skin. I prefer the destin creamy too for bb haahaa.

I must remind myself to trfr money to Kiki and Regg tomorrow, being so busy running around settling the house stuff.

Mich, the more urgent stuff like those with lawyer's letters had been settled already, tomorrow going to HDB branch office to submit Rental Contract. Will drop by town council to get Giro form and then discuss with dh whether to use Giro or pay out front a whole lump sum for 2 yrs.

Now waiting for CPF to let me know whether they are reinstating HPS for dh coz all these troubles are coz by his unmarried eldest bro. How can someone be so irresponsible?

cloudeme

Thanks. Maybe I'll go take a look. So many places to check out & shop at haha.

Pris

Oh.. got TMC romper one ah?

reira

Hiaz.. u got more yuan3 jian4 than me. Me blur blur went to buy 5-pack blue rompers set, so I dun wanna buy anymore liao. Coz 0-3mths outgrow very fast, dun wanna waste money.

reira,
my ger is using after 2nd mth...cos 2nd mth she got mild rash on her butts(due to trial on new diapers)...so i got a tube of destini standby to apply...

dun think dapolene is medicated leh...

it can be use everytime after changing diaper...
yap it's good and cheap as it act as a barrier...

reira, can use for diapers n swaddling, i tink i rem she say use cloth diapers not so hot for daytime..night time can use the fannel cloth she is selling

jul, thanks...bought at KP, got 20%..mebby u can go take a look

JoannS, usually you can prepare a list of questions or concern to ask Dr Woo. I usually ask questions in the consultations.

joann s

Oh.. sounds familiar. Someone else has the same gynae, but I can't rem who.

Aiyah mine also sama sama. Everytime go must wait like 45min one. And TMC so boring.. nothing to shop or eat or drink. Can't even go shopping.

For bathtub, I have the foldable one for new born till about 5months. And my friend is passing me a bigger one in case I need it.

Dapolene is not medicated, Kai used to use it from 2nd month onward as he does not have sensitive skin so it is much cheaper compare to Destin coz I used during every diaper change.

Any1 been to the fisherprice warehouse sale? Is it worth going? Should I bring Kai there tomorrow.

jul ha ha, my gynae is at Mt A, also no where to go walk walk one. I pass time by admiring the paintings on the wall. I have been looking at the same paintings for the last 8 yrs already.

The size S swaddle me wrap should be able to last till about 4-5 mths

pris, HPS as in home protection scheme? Can u possibly buy private home protection insurance instead? As for Giro, i have been paying the town council with it for yrs, so far so good. So during the months where there is govt rebate, they will also bill correctly and giro out less

dolcevita,
dats cool...our baby got matching outfits

re: diaper cream
so from wat i gather, drapolene is good enuff for normal use?

pris,
tink ur BIL really v irresponsible....with so much trouble n sometimes all these govt dept do things also v slow....can understand ur frustration

Hi BabyS,
Yes i m with Dr Woo also.

Joann,
Sometimes it is really hard to say for gynae's timing.So far compared with my last super popular gynae,where each appt's average waiting time is like 1.5-2hrs,Dr Woo's waiting time is already considered much better.

I have also been informed of last min's emergency delivery he has-bopian one. Imagine if we are the ones who need the attention,we will feel more assured if he is not rushin off to his clinic.

So far,I have also been delayed for few times,i jus go shop at Tom n Steph or eat at Mac lor.

pris, i went...its not worth goin...nothing much
a few fisher price toys only....then more on barbie dolls, cars, etc toys
i only bought 2 item....but its 50% off

Ok, I am going off liao. Getting Kai to do somework and learn his spelling and then do some reading and practise his phonics.

Sharon, I was so stressed up and frustrated with it too. Imagine all our mail was not collected from last Sept till now. Bil is super irresponsible.

So no point going to Fisherprice warehouse.

pegsfur,
i do cos sometimes will leak esp when i sneeze n now i find discharge alot more than before pregnant...y lei?

Hi Pegsfur,
Not wearing everyday,but discharge is really alot.So been telling myself to be diligent to scrub panty everyday lor.

mich

Staring at paintings for 8 yrs huh? U really patient leh. I complain to HB, stare at others, read newspapers, fidget.. until it's my turn haha.

Oh S can use until 5 mths. That's good, been feeling insecure abt the stuff I bot ever since I found out Babylet is overweight keke.

Oh how long do we have to swaddle them huh?

pris

I stopped wearing pantyliners after abt 8 weeks. I find that they irritate my skin.

sharon

Me too! Am I having incontinence???

Oooh ... cos i know it's not too good to be wearing it for too long.

Normally i only put the liner when i'm going for work, den afternoon when i come back, i dun put anymore. But lately find that the discharge is getting more, and even at home oso need to put liner. So was wondering if u all put it for whole day or only at outside.

I hate discharge.

Dolcevita, yes..it is indeed very shiok to eat durian. Hahaha..my whole house smells of durian almost everyday as I will buy some and then put in the fridge.

You endure abit...can eat after you deliver.