(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

i jus saw the new mum expo advert in the papers as well.. not as attractive as it seems but i jus give it a shot and c wat to get.. maybe after that check out metro during my lunch break..

dollie,
quite true... but y not take bus? shldn't it be more convenient? if take train i think need bout 1 hr+? i tried taking from simei to amk b4.. u can take 88 to pasir ris den change train or take 27 to tampines to change train...

piggytoh, I din buy anything..coz im looking for baby cot / stroller. Steriliser/bottle warmer/bottles I had already bought at Taka fair le. Only need some small necessities and the queue is so long.

dollie, im goin there ard 2pm...

janice:
hmmm.. is it fast? cause im not very bus savvy... dunno which stop to stop.. haha.. MRT got direct ma.. maybe can sleep in the train for a nap lo..

carefree:
oh. will u be there alone? i will be there alone if my friend still not awake. -.-"

babymaking, i'm not going for any classes.

tas, hope your gal get well soon!

reira, hope MOM will do something! I think you should deserve at least some form of compensation.

yen: The SMRT reply, is such a cut and paste reply from them.... dont think they even considered ur suggestions one bit.. sigh..

babymaking: unless u want those private ones lor... non hospital ones... I dont know if my mt A classes which start next week wil be cancelled or not..

now is a SARS days flash back for me, gotta start taking temp and record twice a day liao..

i remmeber last time in KK when it was SARS time, we will always look at the chart and see whos temp go up then declare out loud "so and so having ovulation!!"

hee.... so bad lor.. not me, the older nurses... haha

reira, I'm sorry to hear about your retrenchment. It really does look like the co. doesn't want to pay you maternity benefits so using this as an excuse. Hopefully MOM can help... you see what they say. Now you can take a rest. U doing ok financially if its jus ur hb working?

tas, hope your girl feels better soon. Its really hard to be going through this.

mashy, how's C doing? Better?

Robinsons Sale: I went to cheong the sale after hearing you gals talk about it. Wow 30% off for Medela/Avent products, never happen before. I quickly bought the BPA free bottles from Pigeon, plus extra Medela accessories for my PIS.

babys

actually take temp also no use, coz this is not SARS. They already said that it starts to get contagious even before symptoms appears. So means by the time u run a fever, u would have already spread to everyone else. Too late.

My hb was given a BBT thermometer to take temp. Hhahaa. Many of his female colleagues don't even know the difference and he had to educate them.

mich

his eyes are still puffy and still have a bit of rashes from his allergy to the meds but otherwise ok. So sent him to sch today. He was so bored at home already.

Yen,
Usually those people who check and anwser to the emails just reply with the standard reply from their "guidebook" lor. I doubt it even get to any higher level to review it. So sad... the why how our system works, unless you tell to blow it big big and write to Strait times or complain so much on your blog until it caught someone's eye!

I've write a few time to HDB to make suggestion and appeal also like that... went to see MP also no use. maybe now that election coming can go complaint to MP already!

mashy,

Ya lor ... take temp oso no use de. That is why my hubby so KS now, he is sending me to office and fetching me home personally.

mashy, take temperature is no use but today I went to see my gynae at Mt A and had to queue 30 mins to get my temp taken before they let me in.

Good to know C is better.

pegsfur: thats nice.. i want also cannot.. hee..

mashy: yeah lor... no point lor... but thats the only thing they can do now.. even the thermal scanners at air port also no use.. we can only pray that there will be no swine flu in SG, and its spread will be stopped world wide..

hey, anyone went for the massage by that lady at compass vale?

can i ask, good or not? Umm, need to remove clothing or not?

Mich, ic..oli on 29th one day la..no wonder so cheap

babyS:
yup i went before... got to remove all ur clothing. she will provide a paper panty and a shower cap to tuck all ur hair... den lie on the bed cover with one big towel lo... i went for the S$50 session.. overall not bad..

Celine: Thanks for pointing it out... see, preg women are like that, blur, forgetful, always short-term memory.

Reira & Taslyn: Pls pardon me, paiseh

kikilala: election coming meh? But newspr said..wun be in this year.

donkeymami: i went to enquire at Robinson, medela products. the medela lady told me last nite...30% only apply to accessories...eg, milk bags, replacement things. The Freestyle & Pump-in-style has no further discount, only have the robinson card's rebate 5% nia... Freestyle is selling at $988, it is lighter than PIS.

dollie, if u not sure... take 88 all the way to the pasir ris interchange.... den change mrt to tanah merah mrt.. den take to expo lo.. can liaoz~ tadah

kikilala,

Yes I just want the cot bumper.
But Ive not bought my cot yet, so cant provide you with the measurement.
What sizes do they have ? Maybe I can get the biggest size. Better if I can spare than if its not enough to cover

Wow BHG having sales today... Don't know should I go.... Hehehe....

donkeymami

Robinson sales is only yesterday for member only... Don't know today still have that 30% disc a not leh.... I'm going down to raffles city later on... Will keep u posted....

speaking of temperature , have u gals bought a baby thermometer?
Is it too early to buy now?
Any good and reasonably-priced thermometer to recommend?

Reira
Take it as a blessing to be a SAHM.
Nothing to feel uncomfortable about spending husband's money, it is his duty to provide.
To be able to provide, is another blessing!
I'm a SAHM for more than 3yrs.

RE: New Mom exhibition

i will be heading down and later then go over to BHG Tampines...

Hmmm, pigeon got 20% off at the exhibition...

wonder if BHG is offering the same or as advert 30% on selected brands
(hope pigeon is one of them)...

about Reira incident, i realy really very paranoid... as im hubby is jobless now.

and plus currently there one contract staff keep taking my jobs away & trying veyr hard to prove to my boss who hope my boss will make her perm staff.. my boss like her too and she good in talking & apple polish. whenever im on mc or hospitalization leave, i will get alot of email from boss sayng about process change or job scope chnages. i suspect she do alot of suggestion to my boss whenever im not in office

celine

my boy had gastric flu on sun & mon, then he was allergic to the med that the dr gave and his eyes swelled and rashes all over.

It's been a bad week for me.

kikilala
BBT thermometer is to monitor your ovulation. It has 2 decimal pts instead of one and more sensitive.

I heard that the alert level may be elevated again and schs might close. Time to stock up food at home in case they also decide to close the supermarkets/restaurants like in mexico.

mashy
yeah, that's what i heard from the staff at KKH that the alert level may escalate, that's why they cancelled the ante natal classes.

i'm so tempted to go expo tomorrow - for the bb fair & metro sales - now wondering if shd go or not.

yen,
i just bought the braun thermometer from a spree here at $70 inclusuve shipping & refills, it's a digital ear thermometer.

saw retail shops selling from $123 to $149 w/o the refills, so quite worth while buy.

flower4,
as long as you got a proper contract with yr employer you shd be safe, cos MOM does protect pregnant employees.

the other thing is must make sure u're not executive/mgt/confidential staff level or drawing above $1.6 (i think), otherwise MOM will not interfere as it's up to you to negotiate your own employment contract. so if your contract is contrary to MOM guidelines, employer can act according to contract & MOM cannot do anything.

Re: 15% off diapers at JL sale

Pls check your prices coz the price in JL are usually very much higher. So even with 15% off also may not be a good deal.

Gals

u might wanna quickly get your shopping over and done with now before they announce a case in Singapore. Coz with the swine flu, we might not be able to go out shopping later. SARS lasted abt 4 mths last time.

Just wanted to say <font color="purple"> HI</font> as my EDD is also in Aug 09. But looking at the progress of this thread, Im not sure how to cut in.. haha

I pop by BHG Bugis just now as its near my workplace. Shoe section section as the shoes are going for only $8 !
Saw Tollyjoy wipes going on sale and most items are indeed going on 15-30% off. 3 containers of tollyjoy extra heavey duty wipes ( blue container ), going at $11.80.