(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reply from SMRT:

Thank you for the suggestion

Our management has considered those suggestions that you mentioned and has given the suggestion careful consideration and would like to take this opportunity to share that as the Mass Rapid Transit system is designed to transport large number of people quickly from one place to another, care has to be taken to ensure that the flow of passenger movement entering and exiting the bus and train is not impeded.

We regret to inform you that we are unable to implement the suggestions.

Yours sincerely

babymaking,
I dun think they have bolster case. Fitted sheet i think u can use their bedsheet? The site stated that their items are suitable for 120x70 or smaller cots. If need bigger, can customise but pay additional.

dolcevita,
Oh, can still order from kiki ... cos i was only sharing wat i was thinking of buying
So everyone getting the moo moo design? I'm deciding between the moo moo design and this one http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-0db2-d0ac8641e8c7af60f810eddac26f64e7.htm
Hard to decide ....

What kind of answer is SMRT giving? Cow head doesn't match with horse mouth.

They have not replied to me yet. I will wait n see.

Reira
Standard bb cot is 28' x 52'

Babymaking
My daughter's Chinese name is Yang Ting (with hypy and ch characters in her birth cert)
We did not consult any Chinese expert.
But my cousin did, and she only consulted him after the bb arrived due to the (date/timing and etc).

Sunshine:tks for the posting.i guess they will only take this into consideration when "something seriuos" happen,which let's hope not

precious,

The domestic shipping cost is from RMB$10 to $30, depending on which set u choose. For shipping back to s'pore, kikilala has very kindly allow us to 'long-pang' our orders together with hers, as she is coming back to s'pore from china.

Not sure if it comes with zip cos it's not stated in the site. It only states that it is machine washable.

Pegsfur,

Wow the price is pretty steep, $78 Sing Dollar for just the bumper ??
Hmm...in this case, I might need to reconsider =P
But the design is simply irrestible..hehe..

Thanks so much !

pegsfur
for safety reason, the cot sheet should be fitted or zip so that it fits the matress exactly, otherwise the excess cloth can be a hazard, also not comfy for baby.

I wanted the flat sheet as an extra so that can convert into fitted sheet (just sew up the edges & add rubberised) as a second fitted sheet. cos i saw that some US beeding sets comes with both fitted & flat sheet, so wondering if this one also the same.

Btw you will wash the fitted sheet quite often as accidents happen while feeding/changing baby..so it will fade faster than the bumper. so having another fitted sheet will be better. otherwise will end up with a super nice bumper but faded sheets.

eh anyone like me? ...i'm like super particular that bedsheets/quit cover/pillow/bolster covers should be matching sets when put on the bed?...my MIL was just saying that I am fussy abt this and my maid cannot understand why must be matching....***pulls hair**

yeah precious
i dun need those chinese experts that calculate aupiscious names with bb birth timing etc, i just need some one who is good (expert) in chinese names, so that we don't end up using the wrong characters or meanings, or prounciation..cos none of our family members are good at chinese..so dare not trust their opinion of the right characters to use. lol.

Pegsfur,

ooooh ooooooooooooh, its oni S$17.33 ???!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wow its such a steal
Well well, then im interested..heheehhee...
I will contact kikilala to add in my orders if convenient.

Thanks thanks...

eh that's tas rite?

oh dear, sound like yr gal going thru a terrible time, poor thing, hope she recover fast. as parents, hang in there!!!

thanks for the well wishes... super tired ar.. coz did not sleep well last night coz got another kid crying nonstop and screaming the whole night.

the drs still does not know what is wrong with my ger.. but they did scoping of her nose and throat but found nothing... but she is discharged today liao...

i disturbed weishy by sending her pics of my ger and her blood on the bedsheet, my girl on drip and her blood travelling up the IV drip... heng i never take pics of the dr doing the scope...

when dr did the scope on my ger, her daddy cannot bear to see his darling ger go thru the process after the dr go thru it.

so now on observation again... if she vomits blood for more than 2 times, i have to rush her to A&E again looo

babymaking
yeah it is me... hahah... i forget to change the pw... brought my ger to weishy house coz she wanna see my ger mah... weishy cried when i describe how the ENT dr scope my ger... quite dramatic lar... coz the poor girl had to be held down and wrapped up.. then i hold her down while the nurse hold her head still.

precious
kakaka...
mi used to it liao looo... coz this is like the 5-6th time liao...
only heartache my ger coz she has to go thru such pain at such young age.. luckily she does not know what is going on and the nurses n dr praise her for being a brave and good ger even with all the drips and medication.

tas

aiyoh, maybe u should give your gal a very thorough check since she keeps having such episodes. There must be a reason for it.

How abt going for a different opinion? Did they check her stomach & lungs?

Re: bumpers
actually they're not necc and it's hot if you're not sleeping in aircon. I didn't use any bumpers for my boy.

harlo gals..

went to robinson sales jus now.. many things r goin at 30% some baby clothing even 50% they have many toys on sales as well... i bott the Pigeon sterilizer at $99 come with 2 wide neck milk bottle, NUK milk bottle(30% discount) etc... i tink it quite a gd buy becos i remember the last GSS NUK milk bott only offer 20% off..

haiz... today got a bad news. got retrenched because company is not doing well... stupid korean people are the one that wanted me to go. too bad the staffs in SG cant do anything about it since they got no say over such things.

robinson sale
piggytoh helped me to get the pigeon rapid sterilizer + newborn kit + bottle & baby food warmer for only $149.90!! haha, a few days ago I still went to kiddy palace/NTUC to "beo" the sterlizer and both selling it at $125! Not to mention the newborn kit is like $30 (?) & bottle & food warmer is $70ish?

Thanks you so much, piggytoh!! *open the boxes and play with them*

reira

were u compensated? I think at this stage they should be paying you your maternity benefits too right? If not can go MOM and complain.

reira, are you compensated? I have this fear everyday also as co. is not doing well.

Think only 3 mths before your EDD then co. liable to pay your maternity?

Tulips now rules change liao last time as long as u work for 180day when u gave birth u r entitle to all the benefit n they cant retrench u now as long as u r confirm staff the co cannot retrench u even if u work less than 180day.. n if they does they have to compensate...

I am not very sure as well, but info from MOM website as follows:

Dismissal/Retrenchment/Employer’s Obligations

An employer is prohibited from dismissing an employee who is on maternity leave. An employer who does so will be liable to a fine and/or imprisonment.

If a notice of dismissal is given without sufficient cause within 6 months of an employee's confinement, the employer must pay her the maternity benefits that she would otherwise be eligible for.

If the employee is retrenched within 3 months of her confinement, the employer must pay her the maternity benefits that she would otherwise be eligible for. This payment is in addition to any retrenchment benefit which the employee is entitled to.

An employer cannot employ an employee at any time during the 4 weeks immediately following her confinement. An employer also cannot contract out the maternity benefits.

Dismissal/ Retrenchment/ Employer's Obligations applies to employees under Employment Act or Child Development Co-Savings Act.

Have been trying to interpret the right meaning.

piggy

there's a key difference. If Reira's dismissed without cause, she'll be paid maternity in full 6mths from confinement.

However, if it's a retrenchment, she'll only be paid her maternity leave if she's 3mths from confinement. Which means she's only eligible for the retrenchment benefits but not maternity benefits. Guess it's a loop hole that some employers might take. Coz reira is not yet 28 weeks, she may not be given the maternity benefits.

piggy

have. during preg. When it says 6mths from confinement, it means you're abt 3mths preg. When it says you're 3mths from preg, means you're abt 6mths preg.

Thanks mommies. sorry went to shower.

huh... no leh i am not compensated. but then hor, i only started working there since Jan (probation) but they never gave me any contract to sign leh. ofcourse i got the company's payslip lah. I've been working there from 2nd jan till today. so about 4 months only.

plus, the lady who told me the news is just one of the staff (not the boss), i didnt protest or anything wor...

what should i do? contact the company or go to MOM and ask them to contact for me?

reira

how come there's no contract to sign? Unless you're just an odd job labourer leh. They very smart hor, take advantage of the loophole.

Did they know u were preg when they hired u?

Mashy,
icic i tink the R&R stated in the MOM webbie not v clear also..

Reira,
u not temp staff rite? u din sign the letter of employment?

It was just like they never give cos they are too lazy to prepare the contract. I don't even know I was preg when I started working there. Only knew about a few weeks later, then I got told them.

If no contract is signed, I cannot do anything about it?

piggytoh
I am under probation for 6 months, not hired as temp staff. problem is no contract signed cos they never prepare and give me. I also didnt bother about it cos everything was fine.

Reira, your co. very heartless leh, din even give you retrenchment benefits (maybe prorate a mth for your svc) althou is not a requirement by law

reira

maybe u should appeal to MOM for help coz they're obviously using this as a loophole to retrench u just before u reach 28 weeks. It doesn't matter whether you're probation staff or not so long as u have worked for them 90days before delivery.

If they decide to say it's dismissal, then all the more you'll have a case against them. If you're the only person kenna 'retrenched', it'll be very suspicious.

er yah, i am the only one getting retrenched cos the company only got total of 4 people (not including me).

mashy
Do I call MOM tomorrow or?