(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Reira,
maybe u can call up mom to check on ur rights n see wat they say but they really v smart din even gave u employment letter... so the retrenchment is with immediate effect? tml onward no need to go back to work?

reira

how come u never sign a contract? It's the most important thing. Coz they can even don't pay u or they can claim that you're not in their company, you're just temp staff. That's a huge mistake. I doubt MOM can help u in this case.

It's a lesson to everyone. No matter how 'lazy' they are, must always push them for the contract. Is there even a letter of offer?

reira

then it's actually a dismissal. They prob just used that to avoid paying the maternity benefits. Do u have any written proof at all that you're perm staff?

reira

go and dig out any evidence u can find that can prove that you're perm staff and not temp staff.

CPF payment is not counted coz even temp staff gets CPF benefits.

Are u told to leave immediately? If so, they still have to pay u 1mth for notice period.

Just try with MOM, altho i doubt they can help u if u can't provide proof that you're perm staff. If you can prove it, then the next step is to show that it's actually dismissal without cause and not retrenchment and they'll have to pay your your maternity benefits. Esp since you're the only one told to leave. That should be easy to prove.

piggytoh
yeah, tomorrow dont need to go to work liao. think about it already feel bored! donno what to do at home haha

mashy
hmm i dont think i got any letter from them leh. what about payslip? got their company name for the past four months. i dont have any written proof that i am hired as perm staff and there is a 6 months probation. it is like just verbal only.

Well, if they really can't help then just take it as a lesson.

reira

payslip not counted coz even temp staff gets payslip. They can easily twist their words since it's all verbal.

At least make sure u get the 1 mth notice pay. Don't let them get away with it so easily. It's a very expensive lesson.

Reira,
in ur case hor i tink MOM cant help somemore now u r still under probation but u can try callin n see wat they say la...
maybe u can see if there is ant temp job/part time job u can take durin this few mth to pass time?

mashy
the ex-colleague told me that since i am still under probation and havent confirm, then 1 day notice can liao wor? o_o

how do i make sure i get the 1 mth notice pay? actually why should they pay me 1 mth notice? *confused*

piggytoh
haha yeah, just got to find something to do.

Reira,
usu all this t & C n the notice period to be given by both u n ur employer is stated in the letter of employment which is missin in ur case so really hard for u to fight for the benefit.. nex time u die die mus ensure the co u work for gave u all this letter leh v impt 1 even date of commencement is impt...

reira
i think very hard to fight liao ley.. esp you still under probation.. i suggest go n find your MP first then see what they can say abt ur case... sometimes MP v powerful de. find out who is ur MP n go to them for help...

but ur case v hard lar coz u got no contract also. they can just say that you are a temp n all that nonsense.. headache..

mashy:
they did a chest xray, ENT scope down nose and throat, check her tummy and liver, CT brain scan. blood scan... in fact alot of stuff...
so now i have to monitor again. Dr says if this time got 2 episodes of vomitting blood, then must rush her immediately to A&E so they will sedate her and scope her tummy and watever not....

Dollie,
I still didnt see your orders in my mailbox leh..
maybe you PM me?

The cot bumper set is make-to-measure one
So you need to specify the size that you want. The price quoted is for 120cmx70cm or smaller.

DolceVita (dolcevita)
You only want to cot bumper right? What measurement?

JUST TO SHARE
John Little has special price for cardmembers between 5-7 May.
Baby Cot, Brand Lucky Baby @ $219 with free bumper set and mattress.
Remarks: Not available at PS & Causeway Point outlet.

Mashy
I cannot do with the full cot bumpers. If not she might hurt her legs.

Reira
Better call MOM to see how they can help you.

Kikilala
Thank you for checking. Btw, do you know if their bedsheet for the cot mattress comes with zip?

Just back from Robinson sales. There is quite a no of gd deal. Brought Advent milk bottle, toy for #1 etc....

The queue at the cashier was horrible.....

Tas

Glad that your gal is discharge. U must be v tired. Have a gd rest.....

Reira

Sorry to hear that... It really v hard to fight cos u are still under probation and u don't have the letter of appointment.

Sorry

Any mummies planning to go the NEW MOM EXHIBITION @ EXPO this Fri?
I'm planning to go there around 5pm.
Between 6-8pm, they do have fun activities for kids. For 2nd time mummies, can bring your kids along!

Tas,
why must wait for 2 more times? I thought every time vomit blood as serious right?
Maybe go for 2nd opinion?

Must be hard on you... take care!

reira,
i tink u shld call MOM to ask for their advice...see wat they say...no matter wat muz try to fight for it

meanwhile u muz keep all ur payslips, cpf statement or watever doc that can prove that u r employed

what i extract fr MOM websites:

Employee on fixed-term contract/temporary/part-time basis

An employee on fixed term contract, temporary and part-time employment is entitled to 12 weeks of maternity leave, if she satisfies the eligibility conditions under the Employment Act or 16 weeks of maternity leave, if she satisfies the eligibility conditions under the Children Development Co-Savings Act. If she is eligible for paid maternity leave, she will be paid at the gross rate for each day that she would normally have been required to work under her contract of service.

Employee on probation

It does not matter that an employee is on probation, as long as the employee has worked for the employer for at least 90 days before the birth of the child and meets the other eligibility criteria for maternity leave under the Employment Act or the Children Development Co-Savings Act.

Disputes

In the case of a dispute, the employee should first speak with the employer to understand the reason for dismissal. If she thinks that she has been unfairly dismissed, the employee can:

* Seek the union's help (if she is a union member);
* Seek legal help; or
* Submit an appeal to the Minister for Manpower within two months after the child's birth.

Employee's Obligations applies to employees under Employment Act or Child Development Co-Savings Act.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Maternity_Leave.html

more info here...what i extracted is just bits n pieces...hope it helps

ohhh...congrats kikilala!

hehehee...mine almost almost poppping but still haven pop lei...im so eager to see how it looks like when it pops...hahaha

pris:eek:hhhh me goign tomolo if nt i can go when u go then can meet up and give u ur shoes.let me knw by tomolo b4 12pm la
u can sms me

SL, precious, sharon
Thanks I will call them tomorrow and check what they say. Actually I am not that super upset cos my hubby is understanding and he said he can afford to feed me.

Haha Problem is myself. a bit sian no job no income... I don't really like to spend even hubby's money while I can work (not as if I am having a hard pregnancy). Ofcourse if taking care of baby, then thats different story. But lucky I still got some savings left can spend on myself. *_*

reira,
dats good to hear, as long as u haf hubby's support...so if can fight for more benefits, then u can spend more on baby

sharon, haha yeah. just have to pity him cos i think he might "get it" from his mom. but i got a printout email about those korean people asking me to leave. so can show it to his mom's face.

milk bottle
About non-BPA free milk bottle, what should I do with it? dont use it or just dont use brush to scrub it too hard? (got 3 milk bottles from the Pigeon newborn pack)

sl: thanks. Yeah super tired coz got this ang moh kid warded ydae. Super selfish and noisy. E entire ward can't sleep too. Too bad all a1 ward were occupied. They even turn up e aircon to 30 degrees. This morning, a boy and my girl who were okay were sent home. E other patient was sent to another room. Sigh.

kiki
Coz they can't find what is wrong w her despite e tests done. And all results are normal. They felt that too much was done on her this time. Coz e drip, xray, blood test, urine test, scope down her both nostrils and throat. And nothing was found. No weird growth or wat.
plus e blood she vomited was fresh and bright red so they did not think it was prob w her tummy as the blood would most likely to be dark and have clots. She also did not appear to have jaundice and blood test indicate normal levels so they ruled out liver prob. Thus they say to monitor since she did not vomit anymore. But if she throws up again, and more than 2 times, they will do e gastro scope and ent says 1time vomit and they will wan to check her immediately. This is e 6th time she is warded for vomiting blood. Last few times, we go tmc where only blood test was done. They blame on my breast milk, formula milk, even soy milk. But this time kkh ruled milk out. So i can only monitor my girl now. Have to keep all e shirts which she vomit blood on so they can check and evaluate. All dr are super puzzled.

Reira,
pls let us noe, how your findings with MOM, i oso very worry my co will use those loophole.

!!!! only when we are at 28week preggie den Employer is to compensate us 16weeks maternity leave!!!!! how to hide tummy til 28weeks from employer next time?!

SCARY.. sooo insecure. although im full time employeee.... sooo SADDEN...

Reira,
hope you get good benefit news for us MTBS...

Haha I am not very sure about the law for this one (govt website is always SOO confusing!). But will find out today.

Anyway, put the bad news aside, I will be getting my babymall stuffs soon! So happy! *_* The shipping is so muchhhhhhhhh cheaper than what I expected!! about $65 only (I expected $110!) cos I bought a few heavy items like baby carrier.

Morning all

RE:new mom exhibition...
the vendors are limited...so think will not be going over...

maybe go over to BHG...cos got 30% off...
me wanna see if pigeon milk bottles and sterilizers are entitled to this...
(avent products not entitled as per newspaper state)

tas

huh? So many things and still can't find out the cause? I think that there's always a reason for such things. can't possibly be blood from nowhere. Guess will have to wait for the next episode to do further checks then.

reira
u very good leh. At this stage still so positive.

tas,
good to hear yr gal discharged already. You both take care ok!!

reira,
sorry to know you are being retrenched. Maybe it will be a blessing in disguise where you can get to spend more time at home resting then bonding with your bb.

morning!!

rainy day today!!

**im going over to the new moms exhibition later after i collect my shoes from weishy... :)

kikilala:
i've pmed u the orders le. :) THANKS!!

babymaking: huh? ante natal classes also cancelled? they called me to tell me my aqua fitness cancelled, i also so angry liao..

i hope MAH doesnt cancel their antenatal classes man..

reira: so sorry to hear about that.. have u checked with MOM?

taslyn: gosh, i see what ur daughter go thru my heart also pain.. evania is such a brave girl!!

Reira: hope your gal gets well soon, did u try to get a 2nd opinion from other docs from elsewhere?

Taslyn: It's gd to call up MOM to ask...in case u r really entitled to some retrenchments benefits, dun lu-gee...shd make the company pay for their actions.
Anyway, u can rest at home these few months and embark in some extensive pre-natal bb course..everyday, talk to your bb.

I went robinson sales too, bought a blanket, and 2 packs of disposable panties. Very crowded, long queue at children's section. I dun intend to buy steriliser, just use boiling water to boil. The nanny I have engaged, also use boiling method. If i buy a steriliser, end up i need to buy 2 sets, one to put at my house, another one to put at nanny 'hse. Like that, very damaging to my purse...heehee

reira
sorry to hear yr retenchment but it may be a blessng in disguise, can spend time to shop more and read up on bb care & bond better with bb.

but in meantime can try to fight for yr benefits - more benefits means more money for bb.

re: cancelation of classes
babyS
yeah, KKH said it's due to the alert for the swine flu - expecting it to get worse, hence to pre-empt, they cancell all classes. I think it's a pretty drastic move. - wondering whether i shd sign up else where...cos i think the classes are quite useful - what do u gals think?

Any first time mum to be here NOT taking any ante natal class?

Re: baby fair at expo & other sales
There's a advert for the fair with some products listed in today's newspaper

there's a metro sale at epxo with some baby stuff as well

BHG, & OG also having labor day sales.