(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

yeah... dont use too much shower gel there too, cos normal shower gel upsets the pH balance there.. hai... hahaha

best is use water lor..

Mich, i like this carter's one..but cant find in spore le

http://www.diaperbags.com/diaper-bags/solids/cartersultimatediaperbagpinkbrown.cfm

re: circumcision

i've told hubby tat if ours is a baby boy, i'll most likely opt for circumcision for him. cleaner & more hygenic. but yes, it's gonna be painful. i reckon it'll be worse to do it when he's older.

re: douch
either i read somewhere or my gynae told me before (very very long ago) tat it's not good to use douche. same reason as wat some of u hv mentioned. it upset the natural ph level & too harsh for the vagina. normal washing of the vagina is good enough.

re: babyplus

i jus realised tat there's a babyplus biz thread in the forum. can't remember who's the other lady who's also interested. is it more expensive in s'pore or thru ebay is cheaper? think they're selling at $288 in the thread.

pris, hv u started using yr babyplus?

Hi ladies, seem like everyone is super active in the forum, i hasn't been in here lately and has lost touch on lots of info.. Sigh..

RE: Oscar
saw some post on oscar and wish to check w the other mummies here if your oscar result is forward to u or the hospital will forward to the gynae?

and there is also another scan at wk20, can share with me what kind of scan is that??

i do agree w u that it is much clearer, but i guess this is not common for the chinese community as yet... and my concern is, if mine is a boy n i do it for him, then will he blame me in further??

RE: bb gender
my gynae visit will be in 2wks time and i am not sure when he will be able to tell the gender of the bb. can mummies here pls advise when/which mth u find out the gender of your bb?

Re: discharge
BabyS, i am still using my normal wash on "down there", i am not sure if that is ok. guess i have to check w my gynae too...

re: diaper bag
saw the various webpages you ladies are discussing abt and i am keen in getting too. if u all are getting bulk purchase, do prompt me yeah..

Re: Old Navy
Ladies, i have problem completing the registration of an account on old navy website, there is a requirement for us to enter some zip code, any bodi knows what is that?

Joeey
High chance is, I might. For the sake of my boy's hygiene purpose (if my baby is a boy). I am quite worried regarding if he will he be so lazy that he don't pull the foreskin and wash the area. My hubby didnt know about that for like 25 years of his life!!! So unhygienic!!!! I wonder what was his mom doing. My god!

I am very scared of panadol! Having to swollow 2 pills a day already is making me having trauma about pills. So whenever I get headache, I always bare with it. >_< Somehow, it will just go away after a day.

sharon Thanks :D

Mich where is Gap maternity located in Singapore? I cant find their location here.

zen Can I ask a personal question? It is ok if you don't feel comfortable to answer. Does your hubby done circumcision before when he was an infant?

LawShe
Welcome back. I didnt get to be very active in the forum also because of work. About OSCAR, we asked TMC before and they will strictly forward to gynae. I also have the same concern as you regarding circumcision. Worried if my boy will blame me in the future or will his pals make fun of him for not having foreskin?

BabyS Power as in this type of powder? -> http://asp.vagisil.com.sg/prdt_femininepowder.html

Talking about powder, does any mommies here use baby powder (which contains talcum) to absorb moisture at intimate area?

For diaper bag, can I use normal bag or do I have to strictly buy a diaper bag?

Reira
I think any bag will do as long as you can fit everything you wanna bring out into it. No need to waste $$ to buy diaper bag unless you dont have any existing bag that you can use

I'm not sure if boys really compare these kind of things in school.
BTW, I thought its a must for all muslims to go through it (i read from kampong boy comic), so its not so uncommon in Singapore.
I will discuss with dh when it's time...

Tried to discuss with my hubby and he was like "tired tired tired" =_= Living together but don't even get to talk much everyday.

kikilala
So it is like I just need to bring some plastic bag to put anything like soiled diaper? o.o Cos I see that it is all made of plastic inside the diaper bag.

re: babyplus
Zen, I checked in ebay, the selling price + postal fees are only about S$170. Perhaps you would like to check on ebay first.

Reira
When I go out with my sis (her boy is 8 mths now), i dont see her carrying the soiled diaper around leh (I mean the disposable ones), ususally it will be thrown in the toilet / nursing room's bins immediately after changing.

Are you thinking of using the cloth type even when you go out?

Actually, even if the bags are covered with plastic insides, I'll also wrap soiled diaper with something before putting in...

For circumcision, i dun understand why our boys will blame us for doing it leh .... It's main purpose is for hygiene, isn't it? It's not going to affect his size or performance in future rite, if that's wat mummies are worried their pals will make fun of
Anyway, all muslim boys have done it oso.

erikkkks!!!
I'm having fish oil burps now! just ate 2 mentos in 10secs (record time). hope can cover the smell.

sign... I'm like a small kid myself, how to convince my bb to take fish oil next time..

kikilala
Haha nope! I won't be using cloth diapers at all but today I've been thinking if I should use cloth diaper once, right after my baby poo.

The name diaper bag, makes me thought it is for putting soiled diapers somehow! I am getting weird and thinking weird each day...

I don't see whats so fun about having foreskin too. Like so dirty >______<!! Initially when we started doing "it", his there hurts like hell because foreskin kenna pulled back... but after years, the pain went away (although not completely).

I am very scared of fish oil also. When I want my baby to drink "yu2 gan1 you2", I will make my hubby demostrate eating it. Same for swallowing pills.

OH!!! Talking about fish oil. The pill I am eating is this one. http://www.sunsnatural.com.au/Sn/Mum2BOS.php (the one that smells like smelly burnt chocolate) If I still have to eat this during breastfeeding months, I think I will die. T_T

The fish oil content is 500mg and a long list of other nutrients. What about yours?

The other pill my ex-gynae gave me is multi vitamin (pink).

I just found the page for confinement nanny from TMC. I wonder if they know how to cook confinement food or not... TMC is so much more trustable than anywhere else.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/press01.htm

reira,

nope, my hubby din circumcise. he said that he always wash it clean. tat i must agree. cos he doesn't smell down there. (a bit x-rated) heehee. it's actually my idea to do it for baby boy. i felt tat it's cleaner. cos i worked wif children &amp; i noe of kids who dun pull up their foreskin when bathing unless their mothers do it for them. and if prolonged unwashed, it'll cause infection.

it's not uncommon in s'pore. cos all malays hv to do it. but it's not common among chinese.

i dun think it'll affect in any way when comes to sex/intercourse. cos it's jus a layer of skin near the top. it's not like the whole skin of the penis being removed. when they shaft it into the vagina, it's the whole penis &amp; the head tat will get the sensation. (hope u girls dun mind me being so frank. we'll discussing as grown-ups. not toking dirty.)

Thanks zen! Yeah, my hubby was like that also. Never cleaned that area for 25 years!!! Donno what his mom was doing when he was a kid!! Like he was never taught to actually pull up foreskin and clean *faint*!!!

I guess that it will heal faster as an infant after circumcise than adult. My hubby said it takes like 1 month to heal (donno where he heard it from tho)

kikilala, fish oil burps !! eee ... don't worry about next time, when the baby comes, your maternal instinct will suddenly appear from within.
you can always eat fish instead of fish oil. hehe

reira, confinement nanny has to know how to cook confinement food. How are the rates in TMC ? Y don't you consider getting from Malaysia ?

Morning ladies. TGIF !! Yippee !!

bobo, i'm calling your babies , keke

Regarding yesterday's scan, gynae told me most likely is a girl. I feel very blessed and contented.

ladies:my SIL just found out that she's preggie fro 6 weeks but......when she went ultras scanning yesterday.....there was no heart beat....wat should she do?

morning ladies..

Joeey,
congrats on havin a princess

weishy,
it might still be too early perhaps she o-ed late.. wait for another 2 wk n see if there is heartbeat?

There was an article on circumcision recently. It said that circumcision can help to lower the risk of STD transmission as well as reducing cervical cancer risk for their sexual partners.

So actually, our hbs should go for circumcisions! Hahaha.

re : circumcise

When i had my #1 (boy) i told my DH i wanted him to be circumcised but DH disagreed. He don't want the baby go to the operating theater.

When I brought my baby for him 15mths check up the PD already tell us from now on, we have to pull the skin back and clear him everyday.

So, my husband is doing that daily now….

weishy
6wks might be too early to see heartbeat, wait till wk 8-9. But doc should be able to see the sac like what shirley said. Her bladder gotta be full too.

bleah, everyone's ms seems to be abating and mine's just starting up. Was just nausea for the last few weeks but from last night onwards, the feeling to vomit got a lot stronger.

wah, so many different topics being discussed here.. hahah..

Reira, i asked the GAP shops.. they say SG dont have GAP amternity, only online.. ANd the powder i am referring to is th Summer's Eve one.. supposedly like talcum powder for the area..

Kikilala.... fish oil burps? how is that like? I dont think i experience that b4 leh.. (thank GOd.. i dont think i wanna experience that anyways... seeing from ur desrciption, sounds yucky..)

Weishy, at 6 weeks, we couldnt see heartbeat also.. At 4 weeks we didnt see anything (dr thinks he saw a white path but cannot be sure) then 6 weeks, can see something that looks like sac, but cannot see anything inside, and no heartbeat. only week 8 onwards than can see tiny heartbeat.. i O late also.

<font color="ff0000">mums &amp; babes sale</font>: There is a sale at Mums &amp; Babes (united square and amk hub), from 27 Feb to 1 Mar. More info in Straits Times, Home section, page C10.

morning ladies!

zenith - it was me! and i m still interested!! where is the thread that sells BabyPlus?

me rushing thru laundry, going out to baby fair in a while! will update!

Morning ladies

Am wearing my pre-preggy denim capris ... can't button up so i just put on a belt ... but it kept dropping whenever i walk. Have to pull up every now &amp; then.

Where got sell nice maternity denim capris and denim mini skirt?

thanks kikilala! you so clever! all the previous sites i chanced upon all USD... yours SGD..also clearly indicating charges on postage to SIN! cool!
will look at it later when me back from fair!

tata gals!

BabyS

Yes, usually good for members. R u a member? If not quickly go and sign up. And it's super crowded on that day, so be there early. If you're there even at lunch, u won't be able to find parking anywhere nearby. The pp will go and queue as early as 7am+ for the store to open at 8am. And there's always a very long queue to get in.

I usually decided what i want to buy before hand, then go there, grab and go.

weishy,
guess ur sil's gynae should have informed her something during the scan as u mention...

she should be listening to her gynae's advise...

like other mummy here suggest she should be ovalate late...
for my case i 6 wks already can hear heartbeat thru V-scan...

Isetan sale is open to all, but the first day is normally open for member only. (private sale)

As a member you will get more discount!

BabyS

U can become a member instantly now. Just go to the counter and register. This type is not the credit card type where u will get an additional 3% off sales items but is to earn points. U'll be able to get in like any other member and pay at member's price.

For the credit card type, there's a membership fee and there's some time lag in applying for it.

My advice is, go before the sale and check out what u want first, then on that day go and buy. They will post the sales newsletter online if u don't get it in time.

ok ok.... thanks.. shall go check it out..

Just asking, is it adviseable to stock up on things like wet wipes now, if its cheap? Will it dry out by the time i need to use?

babyS

hahaha, I've a whole bunch of bb wipes which were left over from my boy's time. Think they're at least 1-2 yrs old already but they haven't dried up. So long as it's not opened, it won't dry up.

haiya.. so sian man..

i just realise my new skirt that i am weearing, is staining my fingers and nails dark purple/ brown.. i look cyanosed, like i got not enough oxygen!!

reira, yup like babyS says, Spore got no Gap maternity lah... if want to buy, gotta join a Gap spree to bring in. ONly problem would be determining the size to order.

babyS, my wet wipes have been sitting ard for > 2 yrs, its still working ok. For my #1 I bought so many that eventually #2 was also using them! And they are 2 yrs apart.