(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

tinkabel
I'm going to get it shipped to Singapore to my mum's place. I'm going back to SG end of Mar. So will take it then.
No problem, will let you know when I decide to order

pris
Have you started using babyplus? We are suppose to use from W18-W32.
Actually I heard the sample sounds from the website and I'm thinking whether the series of "bouncing" sound really work or not?

fjm

haha, you've to get used to the strollers. It's something that only parents can understand. I've got pp giving me that stare just becoz i was pushing a stroller. But as parents, u will understand the need for it and u just need to watch out for it to avoid any injury.

Not everybody can leave their kids at home. Like for me, i will def bring my boy ard coz there's no one else to look after him.

fjn
kekeke that's why i dun like going to expos.. these kinda fairs not that enticing nowadays.. unless u know a specific stall which u wanna the products are there... so dangerous :p.. nowadays.. taka and robinsons sales is a better bet..

fjn/mashy
ehh i am very clumspy with stroller leh.. everytime i use stroller i scared the wheels got stuck in escalators.. and i always ramped into ppl :p... i think carriers/slings a better option :p... n i stop bringing stroller out the moment my child can walk..

reira
pat's is a pre-school..lim ah pin road is where one of their branches is located..

smurfy

My boy hates the sling. And he's too heavy to carry all the time. He can walk but he can be rather lazy, so since he likes the stroller, we let him use that. And my boy, one pattern, dunno where he learnt it from. When the stroller approaches the crowd, he will stretch out his legs and push the pp in front. If they get into his 'territory', he'll give them a kick. sigh. *shake head*

<font color="0000ff">smurfy/sharon/mashy</font>
there are very few booths there, if you can scan thru the entire fair, i say you probably catch a few worth your while:
(1) pureen
(2) dryers
(3) ameda breastpump
(4) avent
(5) j&amp;j
(6) mustela
i saw 4 insurance cos (pru,aia,ge,income), several education booths, beauty salons (citispa, rustic nirvana).

if really no time, you can consider giving it a miss.

mashy
i got a bigger horror if i ever bring the stroller out.. my boy insists on getting out.. and pushing the stroller ard instead.. he's another road abuser as well
... so safest is to hold his hand and let him walk.. onli thing is that it slows down the pace alot.. they have their own agenda liao.. ur boy helps u to open the way mah!!! and he would rather push ppl than get pushed what.... clever hahahhahaaa...

mashy, if the teacher has improved her attitude, then i guess its ok.

pegsfur, yes i understand. I used to work p/t also after #1 was born. So when giving birth to #2 also no maternity benefits, but it was good as p/t means flexibility! Plus have some money in the pocket

Hi fjm

Thks for sharing on the babyfair. Actually thought of going but than seeing your post think most likely will give it a miss. Cos has been there previous year also find nothing much....

Heard that this wkend most of the shopping mall are going to absorb the GST.

Hoppe I'm right... Anyway enjoy shopping....

smurfy

My boy does that too! But we usually just allow him to do that in less crowded places. My hb will tell him to follow mummy and he will push the stroller everywhere i go. He was less proficient at first, but now he can manueveur it quite well.

We find it more tiring to chase after him, coz he can be gone in a flash. It's safer to put him on the stroller. And if he's pushing the stroller, he can't run very fast either.

I would like to ask a question...i'm thinking of getting an affordable bottle steriliser for milk bottles and breast pump.. would like to ask all mummies... from your experience which brand of steriliser would you recommend?

Hi Mashy

Thks for sharing about the Taka fair. Find there is alway gd deal there....

Hi Pegsfur

Heard there is one at Paragon that have quite a range. But the price is slightly on the high side....

Hi BabyS

I had stored the wipes for more than 1 yr and still in gd condition. No worry to keep it...

Hi Smurf

Regarding cc, is normal for them to have nitemare and cry alot... U need to let them get use to it will be fine liao... My gal till now still cry cos of separation anxiety.

i read some of the posting and saw that some mummies posted that this particular brand of baby wipes ia affordable and good to use - "angels".. was jus wondering are we able to get it apart from the baby fair? Thanks

janice
i oso vote avent.. coz i use avent bottles... got correct holes to put the bottles into.. and more ergonomically designed as well.. but my maid likes pigeon.. coz can put more things in.. can DUMP more things in :p

Hi Janice

For the Angel baby wipes, normally i will call and order from a guy and he will delivery to us. But we need to get certain amount.... Sometime they do have promotion.

Re: Angel Wipes

No more angel wipes already the last i heard. They've already closed shop. The guy has gone to selling insurance. Wonder if he succeeds.

Re: steriliser
I use Tefal food steamer. Hehe. After 1 yr when i stopped sterilising, I use that to steam food.

mich

yah, i find the sterilisers are a waste of money coz it's redundant after 1 yr. At least the food steamer can continue to be used after that. And they work the same way, just using steam.

Mich

Of course it'll work but you'll have to dedicate the steamer to sterilising. And u have to clean it well before u start to use it as a steriliser and steam with lemon/vinegar to clean it thoroughly before use.

I'm going to get a new steamer coz i think my current one is quite old already. At least 4yrs already. So once the new steamer has been decomissioned from the sterilising work, i retire the old one.

@ first i also tot its not of any use... but my cousin she is still using it to sterilise her kids bottle everyday.. her younger son is already 4..

mashy, that's very smart of you, use steamer as sterilizer. i actually bought 2 sterilizer, 1 at home and 1 at bb sitter's place ~ big hole in pocket ~

After 1yo, just rinse the bottles with hot water after washing, no need to be too clean.

any mummies who has put / shall put their babies in infant care ?

I'm thinking of putting mine in infant care after 4 months maternity leave. There's $600 rebate for working mothers , after rebate , it's about $600 per month including gst.

I heard from other mummies, those who are put in infant care, learn to speak and walk faster...

smurfy also mentioned above that some cc do not provide dinners. if this is true, i'll have a problem when bb starts solids right, have to rush home to cook. hmm, gotta check out the infant care near my place.

Sterilising bottles
My maid still sterilise the bottles everyday. If im going to use the bottles for my #2 then i believe i need to continue sterilise till #2 1 yrs old right? My #1 have almost 10 bottles now so i thinking can use for #2 also.

joeey

I did. And deeply regret it. Coz my boy kept getting sick for the 8mths when he was there. Finally fed up with it and withdrew him at 15mths, and quit my job. It's simply not worth it. Before that he never got sick, and coz of the several bronchitis episodes there, he's now diagnosed by the PD as asthmatic.

After i withdrew him, he's been well and for 1 yr didn't have a relapse.

mashy, usually when they are too young, it is always the case of getting sick at infant care and also bronchitis. It is advise to keep the infant at home till about 3 before sending them off to school. So when ds was like 1.5 yr old, I only enrol him for playgroup like 2 times a week for 2 hours each and at 3, he started school.

Pris

My boy actually started 3hrs daily playschool at 2. But he was still ok. Didn't get as sick as when he was in infant care, just the regular stuff. It's the long hrs at the infant care and mixing with all the other sick babies that can be quite bad.

And coz it's childcare and parents can't take a lot of leave, sometimes they'll leave their sick children there. Even those not fully recovered from stomach flu!

mashy
forgot to mention that i just change all #1 bottles to from avent to bfree about 2 months ago. So i was thinking if i can let #1 use back avent when #2 is born and #2 use bfree. I dont want to waste $ to buy bottles again as i have 10 avent and 10 bfree bottles now. Was thinking of buying the teats for #2

Mashy, I can understand, that's why there is advantage of having a good nanny and infant does not mix with sick infants or children as the infant care sometimes also have a section for toddlers and older children.

Ooh.. the topic is infant/childcare huh?

Hiaz I think to save trouble for myself, I will get a maid &amp; bring maid &amp; babylet to MIL's during the day.

Jul, that's better too and maid can help with housework too. Infant falls sick easily due to low immunity so it is better to have home care during the first year to 2nd year.

agree with the above..

infants before 6mths old have no immunity at all... and after that then they start building their own immunity.. kekkeek soooooooooo the best way is to protect them all that u can...

(does it mean dun let them go out often?:p) <- kidding abt this point lar...

<font color="ff6000">mashy</font>
Thanks! Is that this week's ST Mind your body issue or? How much does Tefal food steamer cost? Sounds like a buy if I can use it as a food steamer after baby is old enough.

<font color="ff6000">kikilala</font>
Yeah, slight different price. Will it really work?

<font color="ff6000">fjm</font>
:D You can go to flowerpod skin care section and look for the topic about skin revival for more info. WOW!! Is Palmers streatch mark cream good? I am currently using Galenic and one tube already cost me $48 @ guardian!! But I am very forgetful, always forgot to apply. T_T

<font color="ff6000">Pris</font>
Did you use the BabyPlus for your boy before? Is it really as good as it states there?

<font color="ff6000">Janice</font>
I prefer the Pigeon one. Because you can put other stuffs inside to sterilise, not only milk bottle. For Avent, you can only put Avent milk bottle inside to sterilise.

<font color="ff6000">SL</font>
Is there a website where you order the Angel baby wipes from?

<font color="ff6000">joeey</font>
I am planning to put my baby at infant care when baby is 3 months old too. Very sad but no choice!! I want to be independent, dont wanna depend on hubby for income. I don't think CC provides dinner leh. You have to pick kid up by 7pm I think.

Good site to browse: http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/

Oh man... I am worried about my baby getting sick because of staying in infantcare with other infants too. After hearing what happened to your boy during his stay at infantcare, I am reconsidering about it.

I find it quite hard to find a good nanny. Very worried about what if the nanny treat my child badly, like how my hubby experienced when he was 6!

For maid, I've read too many articles in the news about how bad maid is like! Being lazy, treat elderly/baby badly ect ect... T_T haiz... best is I take care myself but I don't wanna be housewife! Like "huang2 lian3 puo2"...

pris

Yeah I took a few considerations into acct lor :

1) MIL might be offended if I dun put BB with her,
2) infantcare wud have a lot of contagious diseases,
3) MIL wud feed the BB better,
4) maid can help out with chores,
5) this is the cheapest option for me (cheaper than PT maid + infantcare)

Maid issue
it actually all depends on u heng or not? so far my parent hired the maid all work for at least 4 years. and for my current maid she work for 4th year this year and she is going to extend cause she say cant bear to leave my #1 and #2 on the way.

reira

Actually childcare is not say all bad. At least they are "public", so they cannot really mistreat ur child that badly like nannies can do in private right?

jac

True. Maids can cause all sorts of probs. I shd know, coz my mum has maids for almost 15 yrs! Just pray that I get an ok one, &amp; MIL can help me keep an eye lor.

jac
How much does your parents pay for the maid? I am very worried of things like maid using our personal stuffs. I read about it on another thread that one mommy's maid wore her clothes and took photos!! so untrustable!

I've never thought of hiring a full-time maid before. I have been thinking of hiring part time maid (sat or sun every week or twice a week) to vaccum, mop the house.

Jul
Totally! I am thinking of NTUC childcare (branch with infantcare service).