(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Mrs Puff,
I'm one of those that will skip eating vitamin pills. In fact, I didnt eat yesterday and DH was very upset and worried that next time bb will be thin and prone to illness. I'm sure last time his mum also never eat vitamin pills lor, he's still ok now what....

mrspuff and cherrios,

ya... my blood pressure is more on the lower end...will be seeing my gynae on Monday will ask her abt it. but juz upset becos it is affecting my work...keep on mc and getting leave.

My Gynae say it is safe to take but i rather tahan....juz tat i cant concentrate on my work which upsets me.

DolceVita,

I dun have this problem till last week when i have severe nauseous and went to TMC. Was order bedrest for 3 days. Yesterday the symptom worsen that i almost fainted on the train (no one bothered to offer their seat to be though its quite pretty obvious i was unwell)

I think I would need to talk to my gynae in prescribing iron pills or multi-vitamins to see it will alleviate my condition.

kikilala

actually the vitamins are more for mummy than baby cos baby will be absorbing all the nutrients from mummy so mummy need to replenish back

Cindy
do take the pills if really necessary cos if u sick also not good for the baby inside. Take care!
I remember during my #1 i had very high fever and i kept taking panadol to bring my fever down cos i was so worried baby inside will be too heated by my body temp

Cindy,

I feel the same too. Sometimes if i take longer journey on the train and with no seats, i would feel real uncomfortable, almost like gastrics pain and need to sit or bend down. So yday i took 4 stops the other direction to get to the end station so as to ensure i hv a seat when it turns the other way back. Will start to have nauesous feeling and aching backpain if stand too long as well

cindy
my gynae oso prescribed some multi v... but she told me to start taking them onli when i feel better and not that nauseous.. it m

munhing bak kwa nw..my ang moh boss so into CNY goodies that he is buying different snacks to try...today bak kwa, yday pineapple tarts,loveletters and the mini peanut puffs...hhahhaha

ND's girl,

I kept a thermometer beside me always.. no fever but juz persistent piercing-like headache.

Actually, i have ask my gynae previously tat if she could prescribe me with vitamin but she mentioned not necessary cos due to nauseousness, my body will not absorb the nutrients.

DolceVita,

I understand tt... was telling my hubby that i might have to take down two station to Punngol to ensure i get a seat...

ND's girl,
Yeah well-said, the vitamins that the OB prescribe is more for us. Baby will take the shortcut, whatever's available for it to survive. But of course i'm not advocating that MTB should not take the vitamins lah. It's just ok to skip it because we're not in a third world country with food shortage. i admit that i don't take it too because i don't swallow pills! haha..

Cindy,
If it's affecting your work (and your appraisal) then it becomes a need already. No worries, two, three panadol each day is fine. Singaporeans standard is very kiasu yeah. What the textbook is forbidding is if you exceed the recommended dose. Sometimes i see, we're too kiasu, we never take it, in the end we become to ill to function. i've taken panadol now and then too. no harm lah. don't stress yourself too much. maybe try to drink more water like mashy commented?

pegsfur,
i think it's a good idea to stay with the same gynae yeah, because your medical records and condition has already been established and it's easier to investigate why. really hope you can win the race this time!

chiart,
is this your first child? at the moment we see a BFP, our sacrificial moments start already. we will be forced to give up a lot of things for the baby, this is to educate us for a lot more selfless acts that we have to practice once we become real mothers. like, lack of sleep, lack of rest, lack of personal time. all become normal one day. so endure lah hor.

Cindy
oh this is the first time i heard that neaseous then no need to eat vitamins hmmm
do you try to eat 6-8 light meals a day instead of 3 full meals?

Mrs Puff
MTBs must take care of their own health as well as baby's well being. We must ensure our body is strong and healthy so that our baby can also benefit from us. Do try not to skip the vits as we may not feel anything now but when we are old we will really feel it.

juz went for a surgery ystrday at my gynae's to remove the infection growth tingy juz abv the vagina.. was put on GA..a short one. woke up abt 1.5-2hrs latr.. n ya..wheni got off the bed..felt so much better.. at least can walk with legs closer le..no need to walk like robot liao!

hwever, am slapped with a nsty bill of $2.2k!!! my personal insurance cant be claimed.. n im still trying to check if my company de can.. cos i juz joined 2 mths ago.. n it's like private de..n without company's doc's referal. so stressed nw.. i duno hw to pay the bill!!!! sighz.

anyhw.. ystrday before the surgery, doc did a u/s..n bb is nw abt 7w4d bah.. edd is abt 31 aug. need to go back agn tmr to check on the womb..n do another u/s.

was it mentioned that too much u/s is no good? but if need be.. i tink bo bian de bah.. hopefully it wun affect anything.. n oso can make sure everything is orite.

-.-

ND's girl,

Gynae was saying no pt eating since i kept vomiting..body will not even absorb the vitamins...

mrs puff,

Noted... Thanks for the advice...I agreed with ND's girl...dun skip vitamins..it is vita for us...

wow...$2.2k just for that sugery when some of the gals here was saying gp can do a cut and remove the stuff inside...wow...
But no choice lah, since already done and good that you feel much better to enjoy ur preg and CNY.

Cindy,
Sometimes even when board the train at punggol also no seats! Ive kena that b4. Im staying in Punggol. If u take the earlier train, say b4 8, seats always fully taken up...so now i will take the slightly later one...heheheheh...

hi Cherrios,

long time nv see u online liao. I thk it's common in US gynae not to do u/s during early pregnancy as long gynae told u ur bb is fine i thk shd b ok

Spore more KS, everytime we see gynae sure will go the scan. but i thk it's not common in US or Aust.

dolcevita,

Ya, no seats even in Punggol, cos those staying at SK took the train back to punggol mah ... den we have to wait for the next train if there's no seats.

Talk abt giving up seats, i just gave up my seat to a preggy lady when the train reached hougang this morning. Bo bian, cos her tummy is bigger than mine.

pegsfur /dol
ekkeke guilty as charged.. i am one of those sengkang who will take the train up to punggol if i ever take the north east line in the moRnings...

Dolcevita & pegsfur,

hehe... i stay in buangkok... so i will take from buangkok up... so higher chance of having a seat?? *grin*

Actually have called up a bus transport company tt have bus service to shenton way but i muz board the bus by 7.08am...thus still considering...

smurfy,

Ooorrrhhh ... so u r one of them .... next time chope 1 seat for me 1st lah ... and another for dolcevita

Pegsfur,

im ashame to say that I didnt give up my seats to other preg ladies. Bec I cant bear standing up too long in the train, will feel naueous and break out into cold sweats.. I used to give seats to them b4 i got preg =P

my west end here oso same de.. ppl will board frm lakeside or chinese garden.. take up to boon lay den back down to town. i hope when my pioneer & joo koon stns open up.. wun hv such big probs.. cos frm pioneer to joo koon..quite a distance de. (hmmm..but i reckon pioneer stn sure got BIG crowd.. ppl will still cm up here to squeeze in to try to get seat..)

ya.. $2.2k.. GA was $750 le... sighz.. tao tiah now!

btw... anyone tried or heard of this?
http://www.mymiraclebaby.com.sg/Proudbody.htm

Cindy,

Wow to board the bus by 7.08am is very early !!!!!!!!
What time do you start work ?

Pegsfur / Smurfy,
Wats the timing that you would be taking the train ? Guess my timing would be later so that I can board those more seats train

dolcevita,

I start work at 8.30am.. the bus will reach shenton way by 7.50 to 8am.... if possible, i would not want to choose this option..

haix... i think even my tummy gets bigger, no one would offer seats to me cos i am of bigger built... think other will juz view it as being fat.... So if i take from buangkok up should have seat right?

dolvevita,
I normally take the train between 8.10 to 8.17 ... depending on whether i'm late or not. Actually, the later trains have more pple leh.

Cindy,

I start work 8.30 too but i always reach office oni after 9..ahahhaha...Yup if u take fm Buangkok up, should hv seats...just tat will take u slightly longer time on the train.

Pegsfur,
I tried taking train b4 8am and there r no seats!! So nw i resort to taking later train ard 8.15-8.30 and its better, otherwise i will wait for the next train. Having a seat now is pretty impt...

morning to all, it is afternoon here.

Welcome Cheerios & Chiart.

Piggy, we can take peanut if no history to allergies run in the family.

Taslyn, MRI is not advisable as your whole body will go into the machine. Pray that everything is fine with you.

fatbobo: wah, 2.2k ah.. but i think when i went to that private gynae at Mt E to do my op, i think it was around that price too.. But i dunno how long i slept.. felt like forever.. hee...

but the releif u are feeling now, no need to walk like penguine or walk like u have a ball between ur thighs.. worth it right!! very good feeling to be able to walk without pain.. and can enjoy ur CNY!!

dolce, nvm lah, u also preggie now what.. its not like u dont wanna give it up on purpose. =)

oh while waiting for my gynae appt that day, i was reading the motherhood magazine.. it said though peanuts have a lot of folic, it is also the one of the mian culprit for allergies in babies...so it says if possible avoid.. its not the quantity of peanuts that u eat, its just about eating peanuts... so i guess if can avoid, avoid lor...

(but that day itself i ate indian rojak, and the sauce got peanuts!!! but at least i enjoyed it b4 i realise my mistake.. hee)

BabyS,
I guess if we eat without knowing and in moderation, should be no problem.
I oni ate one...wont eat that again now that i know...ehehehe

need to pop by bank later during lunch time, hope its not too crowded. Have to change to $10 notes for CNY...

My MS getting more and more serious , alway feel like vomit and I need to buy those sugar free sweet to control it .Once the sweet finish I start having the puke feeling . Very xin ku ,Stomach more bloated no appattie at all

Baby S, if your magazine is from US, lots of children and adults there have peanut allergy. I think moderate is fine. So over in Vancouver, they are told to void all types of nuts. My neighbours there avoided nuts during pregnancies but the children are still peanuts allergy and the smell of peanuts can cause one of them to faint.

I read a report to avoid most allergies during young is to give the baby fish when the child started on solid and they stated asian children in asia have fewer allergies compare to the white children as they started taking fish from a young age and that helps to cut down allergies.

Bean, get ginger sweets, ginger biscuits, take some ginger ale and alittle of salty chips. I find them useful to curb MS. And also ginger tea might help.

Pris,

I also heard that allergies can be avoided if we dun feed solids to our child too early .. i think if i remember correctly, shld be aft 6 mths.

Regarding using plaster of paris, it is advisable those who have sensitive nose or are asthmatic, not to use it, it can tigger the allergy. Personally I use alot of plaster of paris for art but when I am pregnant I will avoid them.

Anyone still feeling really tired for walking more than 30 minutes? I still feel easily tired even when I go out walking, not as fit as I was pregnant with #1.

piggy, my pastor's daughter is asthmatic, so whether the wife used plaster of paris, she noticed that her daughter's asthma will tigger even after she cleaned the place.

Baby S, my stamina is like super low which is so unlike me. So at times, I feel super frustrated for being tired easily.

smurfy, for those who takes formula, might be straight away if lactose intolerance. Other allergy surfaces when they started with solid. And those there are those who have sensitive noses might be quite early.

Pris,
i gotta to walk abt 30min everyday if i miss my co transport n if i walk so much in 2 day i will spot a bit so i try not to walk so much..

Pris,
I'm feeling tired all the time... need a nap every 2-3 hours, even when all I did was to sit at my desk to work. But I think its more due to age, I heard younger mums have more energy.