(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

piggytoh,
oh yeah the waiting time is HELL! can't forget my KKH experience. but please don't scare babyjon ok! kekeke. maybe they have think of a proper system in place. who knows? then again, a popular saying will be like.. in case there's a *touch wood* complication in pregnancy or delivery, it's cheaper to get it treated in KKH. they have the most complete facilities in the area and cheaper too. uh did i just repeat the "cheap" word?

babyjon,
i found this website it's going to be useful for first time MTB like you. a review of all popular gynae's in SG. http://sggynae.blogspot.com . private gynaes are by default better. simple rule, u pay them more, they give u better service. remember a saying: if u pay one peanut, u get monkey rite? kekeke

sorry i was joking on a friday!!! one hour to go and i'm out of the office!!!

Mrs Puff,
eh i am not scarin her.. my counsin currently with Dr SF loh she told me the waiting time is 2 hr at least..unless u go for private den the waiting time is much shorter i tnk 10-20min only..
but i understd for govt hos their checkup is like every 5-6wk unlike private at least 1 every4 wk..

BabyJon,
u can consider Dr Adrian then he is at CCK his package start on 2nd visit onwards at $550 v cheap i mus say. but he delivered at TMC only..

check with doc 2weeks ago , she say can fly, but ask me not to walk thru e dunno what scan..say have a path for pregt ladies, will need ask when at airport.

my next appt is mid feb, by then am in sin liao.
so i intend jus go hosptl directly for another scan b4 i fly to b sure bb is fine.
but mil keep saying too many scan is no gd.

on radish
I was told to avoid radish as it is liang in nature but I guess everything in moderation.

I seems to be having stomach upset & diarreoa after my potato salad lunch. Any idea if limotil or charcoal pills safe to take?

pinkmama,
wish i could answer you but i think u can call up your OB's clinic and ask. then let us know. like you, sometimes some food could give me diarrhea too. other days, i'm constipated!

pink, was the potato salad freshly made? If it is those already made one, try to avoid. Drink more water to keep yourself hydrated, for medication, please check with your Ob.

mrs puff,
i'll wait a while and see how. The diarreoa seems to have stopped but the stomach feels like there is a lot of wind inside.
On those days where I feel constipated, I take the fruit acid tablets prescribe by my gynae. It works.

i read from other site hor.
they say, for private
1-] if mid night feel uncomefotable ,nurse will page for doc then wait for doc to reply [takes some time]..then still need to wait till clinic open then can go check up.

2-]if about to deliver, doc will take their own time to go hospital,
where else for those that goes to hosptl directly , any on duty doc can jus attend to u.

Any #2, #3 mummies can advise,please.

pris,
eh...I don't know, it was the potatoe salad that came with my cod fish teriyaki set. Hmm...I should have known better than to order salad from restuarants.

babyjon
my experience with my pte gynae is very good. Whenever I call the paging service past midnight, he always responses within 10 mins.

Babyjon, when I deliver #1 when water bag broke, I call my doc urgent number and she was there 15 minutes after I was admitted and she came to check on me many times and at times I was sleeping, dh was the one who told me and she was the one to wake me up to push when I was fully dilated and very encouraging and motherly.

hmm.. so must find a very gd gynae lor..
need go check it out.
if huby n mil insisted, will cfm one when 12weeks.

cause of last m/c, n0w so scare, wish can g0 u-scan often to knw bb is growing well.

Babyjon, overseas they do not do so many scan. I asked my Ob here, told me unless it is high risk cases or complicated cases, they do not recommend so many u/s.

babylon,
i can understd ur fear but i dun tink the scan is harmful maybe older generation believe tt.. but i believe the gynae will know better... for most of us alr scan 3-4 time alr some even scan everywk..

hehe.. thanks all,
so i jus go scan b4 i go back sin.
to calm myself..

meanwhile any gd ob to recommend?
around clementi n bt bt

babyjon,
I have been scanning every week.
Btw check with gynae today, he said no concrete evidence that too much u/s is bad. And each time he scan, its only for 1 to 2 mins.
For some of us with m/c history, gynae will recommend scanning a lot more often.

babyjon,
lots of us here are 2nd time mommies and more. actually a lot of private gynaes came from KKH. most serve bonds, so they have to work in a govt hospital for a few years before they can do a private practise. my private gynae is originally from KKH too. now she's a "branded" gynae hehee.

re: on gynae
i think the choice of gynae is very personal. Like the waiting time at my gynae is not exactly short and his charges also not cheap, but I am sticking with him because apart from his expertise, I think he shows genuine concern for his patients.

My previous gynae before this current one, was a total nightmare...totally no bedside manners even though she was consided as one of the "branded gynaes"

babyjon:sorry cant help cause mine gynae also nto so cheap but i;m very comfortable with him and his nurses :p.....till the first c-section...i can request them to chk any fats to remove whislt the tummy is being opened kakkakakkaak

Think in sin most gynae are the same standard and cant hv so much diff...reason being they're registered in sin.

PInk,
i agree with u.. i tink most impt if u r comfortable with the gynae anot... u might like ur gynae but when another peron go she might not like it

Babyjon,
in anycase my gynae is in clementi if u interested can let me know..

weishy,
i dun agree wor.. 2 yr back due to my hormone inbalance my menses non stop so i went to see 1 gynae she told me jus relax will do but after 2 wk my condition no improvement i look for another 1 gave me same ans n i seriously tink they r not v pro until my gynae he told me to take blood test gave me medi to stop my menses etc.. i tink in Sg even thou they r registered in Sg std but they might have diff practise n view..

huh.. how do we know if we r comftble..
dun tell me we need to visit a few b4 cmf.

i also headache.. my in-law stay at west coast but whole family in china.
then my mum stay at hillview..

if choose a gynae, i should choose which area..haizzz

babylon,
if the 1 ur friend recommend, after ur 1st visit u feel comfortable y u bother to try a few gynae.. comfortable anot only u can guage. in my view hill view or clementi is not v far apart so which ever area u chose the distance is not v far also.

babyjon

Are u giving birth in Singapore? Where will u be staying when u deliver? At west coast or hillview? Choose one nearer the place that you will freq.

i am back from my gynae clinic and as well as the procedure to remove the baby o the sanme day tody afternoon at abt2pm...
dun know y???i dun even know anything that had happen to me... dun know isizz of the injection that they had given me to make me sleep throughout and onli found out dat i am bacj to the day surgency ward when i wake up..
this baby come too fast... first attempt and i gt it and maybe that y leave me fast also.. within 2 mths... anyaway i will take care of myself and all the best to the pregnancy for the new and existing mummy over at aug thrend.. i will pop by as and when... take care

Will be giving birth in sin.
hmm,After 1st stmnt when bb is stable.
i will need to chk with both mum who helping with cfmnt inorder to knw where am staying,then choose a gynae.
btw,any idea, can we drink yakult?

elicia, take care.
the other time,i also dun feel anything.
when i awake i already at day ward, then suddenly tears drop..
Remember to do mini cfmnt..

joyful
paiseh paiseh din see... i abit blind de

babyjon
i feel that pte OB/gynae in kkh/sgh/nuh charges is ard the same as pte OB/gynae. unless u wan to go for the subsidized route. like mrs puff say u cannot choose gynae.. and from wat i know from my 1st pregnancy thread, some mummies dun even get scanned at each visits, which i personally felt was impt to me coz i wanna see bb grow.one mummy dind even know her bb gender til 30wks.

Hi Elicia,
Sorry to hear ur news..pls feel free to PM shd u need someone to talk to.Hugz

Hi Pinkmama,
So glad to read tat you are doing well

PJPJ
dunno yet. coz they just remove the halter this morning and dr told mi to come home to wait since i seem to be okay liao and he din wan me to be rotting ard. hv to followup on monday.

Taslyn,
Ok...must be careful ok? Make sure there is someone around u most of the time...

Morning sickness
Wah so happy..my nauseous is over for these two days at least..tho replaced with heartburn
but still better than nauseous.Today's appetite is good man..every few hrs hungry..must really cherish and enjoy man!