(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Priscilla & Violetta: Actually huh ... what's wrong with eating frog leg ... Keep reading cannot eat this or eat that. But when I asked my OB, she said as long as food is clean, you can eat. Are those myths? Just like cannot eat mutton or beef coz' scared bb will be hairy?

Hi Priscillia,
U r rite! The porridge at ABC is nice.Esp the explosive hair aunty or the one with the free you tiao!

Wah..dunno who man...a few nites ago..was frying chicken wings at 8plus,the smell was slurp......wah my knees go weak man..so we "shouted" our orders at the kitchen window..LOL but no one delivered!

raincloud:hi hi congrqats!

priscilla:tell me about it man,.....hubby now in sin already got him a list of stuffs /food to buy from sin to bring back!!!!!not so easy fro aussieland btu sydney hv alot of chinese shops(chinatown selection seems oki too,i like the supermarket above the flea market :p )

Reading u ladies chattign about food made me bit my nails........all yummy food and not accessible here
.....hor priscilla )

Bathing durign confinement
me tried to tahan and make herbal bathe for my 1st confinement........till the 6th day....i went down to the hair salon and asked them to wash and hair thoroughly 2 times!!!!! its so so so itchy esp sin weather.....waking up many times/breast feeding etc.......too much for me so i just bathe/wash hair as per normal but dry with dryer.

me even sat on the floor daily to surf net somemore :p
c-section but i guess the extra stretching helped my wound to heal faster :p
BINDER is super important even fro natural its good to use it to hold ur womb/uterus
after delivery

Raincloud, i also dunno wor...i heard from mum to avoid for now which I also not sure about the reason...I m sorry if I am being extreme but it really depends on individual. If ur OB said its fine, then u can go ahead with it. My gynae also told me any food is OK but I juz choose to selectively listen to all parties.

Hello gals,
Sorry for gatecrashing here...
I am TTC-er n I'm looking for kikilala who dropped by here this afternoon.

Kikilala, I tried to PM u but yr PM not on. R u e same kikilala wif inverted uterus? If yes, pls PM me ok?

It seems to be getting pretty popular here to be a Single Dad in the US. Hmm.. You know there is this guy who is actually given birth to a baby gal in 2008.

It is very strange.. but you know how come he can be pregnant? Coz previously he was a female and have gone through corrective surgery to be a guy.

weishy: *gasp* You mean it's not good to sit on floor to surf the net? I've been doing that daily too .... Why isn't it good?

Violetta: Yah, it's always a tussle what to believe and what not. Nah ... nothing to be sorry about being extreme. I mean, we all have concerns, especially if it's our #1.

dad,
technically he's not a guy. if he still keeps his womb, that means he's still biologically a woman. all that crap about him believing himself to be "all man" are just.. well mental.

i just want to amicably remind some mommies here that not all reading this forum are chinese therefore any references to non-chinese should be keep as tactful as possible. frankly, i find some posts disturbing. this is singapore, no one adopts pure culture here. everyone adopts singaporean culture. chinese using malay massage ladies, for example is a very common thing in singapore and malaysia. hence i appeal to all to please keep it tactful. we're all adults here.

Hi einnoc (snow_xue),

Don't be too demoralise. I had the same symptoms as you
Lost my appetite, think of food wan2 vomit all day long, took the pills that gynae gave to curb the nausea, but ended up feeling more lousy because it totally makes you feel sleepy. But at work how to sleep??!! Super sleepy but can't sleep, feeling sick, restless, and still couldn't tell my colleagues yet. All I could do is to hide in toilet and tell myself that all these will be over soon, and I will endure anything for my baby.

True enough, all these went away (err... at least for these 2 days, I could eat better and look more energetic
my husband see me can smile at me liao
I'm in week 11. But I know that actually it will start feeling better from week 12 onwards.

Anyway, wan2 let you know gynae thinks that nausea is a good sign for preggy woman
Look at the bright side ok! Hope that you feel better

I feel so sick.... been trying to catch up the posts but whenever I read for more than 5 mins, I feel nauseous and headachy...

confinement:
I just listened to my body. I felt cold easily after giving birth so I kept myself wrapped up automatically. I used the herbs bath gel and shampoo which helped warm my body and keep clean. I'm the type that can get VERY itchy if I am not clean enough. I blow dry my hair immediately after bath. Turned on aircon cos fan makes me feel sick. I always wear slippers anyway so non issue for me. I actually washed my BB's clothes till I get a bit of sore fingers so I stopped and throw into washing machine. I think I'm just more sickly than most people so a little more careful bah...

wanna throw up now...

<font color="ff0000">PJ, Priscilla</font>

Where's this ABC market? Ok I admit it, I'm quite road-retard one. But I love porridge!

I used to avoid it coz norm I get hungry after 2 h. But now preggie liao, like to eat small, freq meals, so porridge is just nice!

<font color="ff0000">jaclyn, peanut and all the other MS-ing MTBs</font>

Sorry to hear of your suffering. On the other hand, I'm sorry to say that I am a bit envious too. At least the bb is making its presence felt. For me, I dun merlion, so I dun have this "indication" that I'm preggie and that hormones are high.

Anyway, just jiayou ok? It will be over soon. And u wun rem all this after u hold ur previous bundle in ur arms.

for some reason, i couldnt access this thread since yesterday. when i come into the forum, i only see like 3 threads.... today also the same, just that tehre are a bit more thread..

I guess the food part is up to the individual.. for example, pineapple. Some say can, some say cannot. Some say its old wives tales. I dont usually believe in such things, but i once ate pineapple and chin chow when i was having my menses, and i ended up with terrible cramps.. so personally, i dont wanna touch these two things now.. but some mummies are fine with these two food items..

<font color="ff0000">babys</font>

I think it's bcoz pineapple is quite linag, the same for chin chow. I also dun have much taboos against food, as long as it's well-cooked, not dirty, not innards etc.

But I find that pineapple &amp; chin chow does increase my AF flow, so maybe there's some truth in that.

I was admitted to hospital on Monday due to Hyperemesis gravidarum. I had requested to discharge on yesterday night.

I am now on medical leave for one week; I hope the rest of the mummies are doing well.

i heard from an old auntie (my ex-ex-company's pantry lady).. that last time in olden days, she had one neighbour who's like owas get preggie..den last time poor mah.. so in those latr unwanted pregnancy.. she will like take lots of pineapples..n some other 'forbidden' stuffs to 'self abort' the bb...

sad hor like dat.. i tink this way.. her body oso sure affected quite jialat de.

anyways jul... dat time i oso saying i abit 'worried' hw cm i dun hv MS.. nw kenah le lor..... so.. hehe.. ssssssssshhh better. haha.

<font color="ff0000">fat bobo</font>

Haha I have been saying for 2 weeks liao, still nothing. I think I v safe haha.

sorry to hear abt yur hospitalisation shirley..
pls take good care ok.. rest well.

but sorry.. wat's hyperemesis gravidarum?

oh.. i wiki it..here:

Hyperemesis gravidarum (from Greek hyper and emesis and Latin gravida; meaning "excessive vomiting of pregnant women") is a severe form of morning sickness, with unrelenting, excessive pregnancy-related nausea and/or vomiting that prevents adequate intake of food and fluids.[1] Hyperemesis is considered a rare complication of pregnancy but, because nausea and vomiting during pregnancy exist on a continuum, there is often not a good diagnosis between common morning sickness and hyperemesis. Estimates of the percentage of pregnant women afflicted range from 0.3% to 2%.

Shirley, take care...hope u feel better soon...

Jul, my MS also very on n off, now i practically is feeling OK....gd appetite and all but sometimes will feel something at my throat like as though wanna puke (but didnt) n not feeling nausea. So we are same same. I also feel envious at times for those who MS but yet when I MS, i also scared. Haha! Contradicting i know...jiayou to all!

Morning ladies

Today is BK for breakfast

By the way, just wanna know, for certain foods that you have commented it's cooling and shld avoid, like del monte banana, chin chow and so on, wat effect does it have on our body? Or baby? I mean i've always heard this food is 'liang', dat food is 'liang', but never know why we shld avoid eating it if its 'liang'?

this morning i drank a big mouthful of fruittree fresh orange juice..
expiring 15 jan...

after i drank, b4 i took the next sip, i smell the juice, smells.... a bit off i feel. so never drink liao.

now tummy upset... hope nothing is wrong..

Morning ladies, just came back from a nice dim sum breakfast with dh and ds.

Shirley, please take care and make sure you are fully hydrated.

PJPJ, I love both. The explosive hair aunty also serve yummy fried fish head.

Jul, it is behind IKEA Alexandra, think it is Brickwork.

Weishy, here the selection is not as good as those that we have in Singapore and also Vancouver. In fact, I am missing these places.

<font color="ff0000">Violetta</font>

Haha yeah I know exactly what u mean. No MS means no hormones??? But then, I dun wanna suffer either wor. Haha dilemma.

2moro seeing gynae for the first time. So excited (and scared

<font color="ff0000">pegsfur</font>

Wah yest Mac's, today BK. So 2moro will be KFC? heehee so envious. I only got nutella bread for breakfast. I bot the bread for hubby, thinking to go get fried noodles or something savuory for breakfast. But hubby so nice, spread the bread for me liao, so I eat lor. But I see my coll eating fried noodles.. really drooling *slurp*

Liang. meaning that ur body may not be able to take it &amp; may purge out the BB in the first tri coz the BB not stable lor. But I heard last tri shd take more liang stuff so that the BB will come out haha.

<font color="ff0000">babys</font>
If expires on 15 Jan, shd be safe lah. Maybe ur sense of smell changed liao? Dun think so much abt it, the more u worry, the more u might LS.

Harlow <font color="ff0000">regg</font>

I am good. Too good until no MS

<font color="ff0000">Pris</font>

Ooh.. behind Ikea Alex. One day must pester hubby to bring me there.

HEALTH NUTS: RANKING NUTS
Here's our list of favorite nuts, ranked by their nutrient density. These varieties contain the most protein, fiber, B-vitamins, calcium, minerals, and vitamin E for the least amount of saturated fat:

Almonds
Filberts (hazelnuts)
Peanuts
Chestnuts
Pistachios
Walnuts
Cashews
Pecans
Macadamias
Almonds. Our "Top Nut" award goes to the almond. Here are the main nutrients in one ounce of almonds (a medium-size handful):

166 calories
5 grams of protein
14 grams of fat (90 percent unsaturated)
4 grams of fiber (the highest fiber content of any nut or seed), unblanched
80 milligrams of calcium
1.4 milligrams of zinc
1 milligram of iron
6.7 milligrams of vitamin E
some B-vitamins, minerals, and selenium
Filberts, (hazelnuts) because they are high in the amino acid tryptophan, are a good nut for sleep. Almonds and filberts have the most vitamin E (6.7 milligrams per ounce) - nearly 25 percent of the adult recommended dietary allowance.

NUTRITIP
Sleep Nuts } Eating a small handful of nuts as a before-bedtime snack may help you catch more Z's. Some nuts and seeds, especially whole filberts and ground sesame seeds, have a high amount of the sleep-inducing amino acid tryptophan.

Walnuts have the greatest concentration of omega-3 fatty acids.

Chestnuts are lowest in fat, containing only about 10 percent as much fat as other nuts. What little fat is in the chestnut (1.3 grams per ounce) is nearly all the unsaturated type. Chestnuts also contain three grams of fiber per ounce, but they are relatively low in protein.

Soybean nuts and peanuts are not really nuts at all. They are legumes, and they come from plants rather than trees. Both are very nutritious. Soybean nuts, while less popular because of their less appealing taste, are actually the most nutritious nut. A quarter cup of soybean nuts contains a similar number of calories to other nuts, yet packs the following nutrients:

17 grams of protein
9 grams of fat (90 percent unsaturated)
3.5 grams of fiber
138 milligrams of folic acid (33 percent of the DV)
116 milligrams of calcium (10 percent of the DV)
2 milligrams of zinc (around 15 percent of the DV)
1.7 milligrams of iron (10 percent of the DV)
19 micrograms of selenium
When purchasing soybean nuts, avoid those that are roasted in "hydrogenated" or "partially hydrogenated" oils.

*waves to Jul*

I gatecrash the July thread previously too..hehe..have been MIAing for a while due to the festive season.

Hi everyone, good morning.

Jul, I dun minimum MS too...only stomach bloated but still have appetite to eat &amp; lots of cravings too.

BabyS, I went to that shop, with the name "Caraxxxx" and bought a pair of elastic black pants, quite reasonable price, $28.90. The auntie was very helpful, and helped me to choose the size. Initially she took size 1, and I tried on, it was exactly fitting, without hooking on the elastic band &amp; button, just nice. Then auntie said...better take size 2, bigger, so that can hook on the button to wear now, and can last for rest of the months.

Thanks for the lobang!

i read somewhr that pregnant woman should avoid peanut if in case she's hvg soem duno-wat allergies.. this allergies cld pass down to the fetus..

Hi cherrios, congrats!

Jul, it talks of those normal nuts as snacks haaha. I also have nutella and peanut butter spread haahaa.

yen, sound good, too bad I am not in Singapore.

yen2008,

Could you please help to provide details of shop location ? I might pop by today or tml lunch time too

So its opp OG main entrance ?

Hi Ladies, sorry to intrude.
I'm from January 2009 thread and I have 18 capsules of DHA (EPAX1050) 1000mg to let go since I have already given birth.

It was dispensed at my TMC gynae on 24 Nov 2008, I paid $60 for 30 capsules in box.
Expiry Oct 2011.

Do email / PM me [email protected] for price &amp; if u are interested.
Pickup at my residence in Pasir Ris or by normal post.

fat bobo, if the allergy runs in the family or the pregnant ladies, then they should avoid. In fact, quite a bit of thing to avoid.

<font color="ff0000">yen</font>

I am worried that I will become v fat, at the rate I am eating! How to only put on 1-2kg for the first tri har?

Oh where is this Caroxxx shop?

<font color="ff0000">pris</font>

Too bad haha.

<font color="ff0000">fatbobo</font>

issit? Hehe I go see..

Jul, I am watching diet too, like sugar intake etc. I do not get to get G. Diabete during pregnancy.

And also want to get back fast to pre-pregnant weight after pregnancy if not, need to work extra hard to burn off.

Jul, update us on ur visit tomorrow!

Hello Cherrios, congrats!

Hi Regg! I just bought at Marton Bell at VivoCity, got storewide discount now. Novena Square got an outlet also...u may wanna check out? =)