(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Jul, yeah...nowadays I will eat out. If DH wanna eat at home with parents, then he will maybe hint MIL to cook some nice food. My new hse will only be ready next year so right now still staying with ILs temporary..

wow, this thread is moving so fast. i almost couldn't catch up.

went to see gynae this morning. now 9th week. can see the foetus & the heart beat & the hands & legs. so cute!!! we were laughing when we see the movement of the foetus. heehee! my EDD is 9th august. dunno if it's really going to be a national day baby. haha!

btw, is anyone of u taking the blood test to check the risk of down syndrome?

for food wise, i'm still eating as per normal. i just dun take raw or half cooked food.

<font color="ff0000">Violetta</font>

Oh that's gd then. At least this is only temp arrangement, and u will not need to eat ur MIL's cooking for many yrs heehee.

Aiyah I cannot wait for my appt. When r u gog back to see Dr Wong again?

Harlow <font color="ff0000">zen</font>

Wow, all this talk abt scans is making me really anxious for mine leh

wow.. great zen.. hehe. congratz..
ya.. muz lun for a national day baby... wheeee~

i believe when my time cms..i will be doing the DS test.

Baby S, I love fries and mashed potato.

Jul, Banana Republic is dh's favourite.

Violetta, if you are staying with ils permanently then have to learn to tolerate, for us, we do not stay with ils and dh knew his mum and bro really well and I hardly complain to him. And anything regarding my ils, he makes decisions.

zen,
9 weeks can see hands &amp; legs already?? Wow!! I'm also in 9th week now but my next appoint is on 19Jan... have to wait another 17 days!

shirley, luckily i didnt have a CL for #1. MIL didnt pass much comments agst my bfing cos me and hb already drum all the gd points in her head b4 i popped. so luckily she was quite supportive, other than the 3rd day when she commented i think u no milk (which is sadly true at that time, i really had no milk yet) - of cos i reacted badly and told hb to tell her NEVER ever to pass such comments again. gd for her, she didnt and we maintained peace in the household. hehe

smurfy, wa lau.. i got a hiccuping baby like u!! dunno y all the elderly so obsessed with the hiccups. its not like the bbs are uncomfortable or distressed by the hiccups cos my girl can just lie there with eyes open hiccupping away but not crying. i totally refused to give water lor. giving water is just to treat the elderly, not treating the bb!

zen, our EDD same same. will be seeing gyne on 21 jan for DS test as well.

fatbobo, yeah have.. twister fries. they've also started their usual prosperity burger, but this time only got beef.

Violetta, i dunno leh, i dont take too much now, cos i read somewhere mayo uses egg and some use uncooked ones... (though most store ones should use pasteurized eggs, cos can keep longer).... but i try to avoid if i can.. but that day buay tahan, went to order fish and chips with lots of tatare sauce!! heee.....

Congrats Zen! I have just entered 9th week but last Tue went to see gynae, havent see the hands and legs wor...and my EDD is changed to 7th Aug, still earlier than urs. Dunno if my gynae's scanning machine is updated anot, hehehe.. U got ur bb's length? I heard the test for DS is about 12th week. My gynae said will take together with the blood tests..

Jul, yeah...my new hse will be near to my parents' hse so i can go hme eat next time liao. Hehehe... my next visit will be 12th Jan, which I will be 10th week. Urs?

about confinement period...
I will move back to Singapore during June and will stay at my parents' place, so its quite difficult to get CL cos no place for her to stay lor. plus i have a sister still living with my parents, I'm quite worried that me staying there during confinement will annoy her... I think its not so easy to live with screaming bb

<font color="ff0000">Priscilla</font>

I am so tempted to shop for maternity stuff, even tho it's way too early now.

<font color="ff0000">Violetta</font>

U must be very happy that u can go home &amp; eat ur mummy's cooking hor?

Aiyoh my first visit is only on 8 Jan, at 6 weeks. Hiaz... so impatient liao.

smurfy,

Will try to pop by GAP store in Spore to try the sizes, otherwise will go home to measure and compare against the chart they provide.
Need to get a few bottoms liao, otherwise nothing much to wear except skirts....
Tops are still ok now

Jules, it is very good that you got a very supportive husband

For my MIL she kept telling the rest said, “baby is hungry…”, because I don’t have a text book baby, he cried all day and night. My mil even ‘told’ my baby said, “mummy doesn’t buy you pacifier never mind, ah ma buy one for u!”

I was so sad, I told my husband, if she really buys I will move out of the house…..

Actually our confinement time is really a hard time for us, we need to cope with all changes physically and mentally, so lots of the nagging from them sometime are really not at the correct time or I rather say not welcome.

So I witness lots of them turn in law to outlaw…. during their confinement time.

I am thinking not to get a confinement lady, instead cater for confinement food. I remembered when I had my #1, I engaged a CL, because I am staying with my in laws, and also my sister in law’s daughter will be there too after school….

So my MIL told my CL to cook food that suitable for everyone to eat, so it is not so really those confinement food for me…..

jules
kekeke u r oso another one who never give ur bb water to drink? wow lao, this time round, i am not going to be so textbook crazy abt breastfeeding liao.. when i first introduced water to my boy in 6mths.. he dun like it.. now he oso dun drink alot of water. :p

me oso going for down symdrome test (OSCAR TEST) in one mth time and the clinic asssitants had oso helped me booked my detailed scan Somewhere in Mar.. talk abt kiasu-siam.. kekekee

Its seem that many mils dont agree with bfing.
Mine is quite different, she had been telling me about bfing since the day we meet! even told me that my dh grow up drinking bm, so next time I must also bf. (I havent announce to ils about bb yet)

I'm so worried now lor, i want to bf but i'm not so endowed (only A cup), size matters right? so how to have enough bm for bb??

kikilala
size doesn't matter, persistance matters. must feed every 3hrs or when the bb is hungry or pump every 3hrs.. even at nite..

dolcevita, u can get the maternity belt from mothercare. can adapt the waistband of ur existing bottoms and skirts. then no need to buy those maternity bottoms with ugly elastic waistbands.

u all talking abt BM..
n suddenly i hv this acute pain on my right breast.. right frm the inside of the nipple down the internal.. hai..duno hw to describe... but very painful.

BabyS, i also heard cant take mayo but i really crave for it leh...especially Mos Burger fries with mayo...so sad that we have to better avoid..

Jul, yeah...still love my mama's food. Even my DH also like to eat at my parents' hse... =)

kikilala, confirmed

I used to be 'airport' type also, i fully bf my bb until he is 12 mths, now only doing the night feeding...

kikilala, size doesnt matter ok!! if u look at me u wont think i will be a gd cow either - am a B cup during pregnancy nia.. A cup pre-preg. but i was hardworking when pumping la. pumped 8 times a day minimum even at night lor. end up my ss was gd enough to keep donating BM away and use BM to bathe bb.

smurfy, same.. i not gonna be so obsessed abt exclusive BFing anymore. if i need to, i will supplement FM in the first 2-3 days b4 my milk comes in if bb keeps crying. i intro water only ard 5-6 mths then end up bb also dun take to water well.. luckily when she was 8 mths then she start to like drinking water via straw.

shirley, wa.. ur MIl also one kind. i am very agst pacifier cos i dun want any nipple confusion to worsen and i dun want bb to become dependent on it. heng my MIL will do what i request, and anyting i am agst, she will not insist i do too.

hahaha ........... lagi best is MIL will quote "who who also let the baby take pacifier .... no problem de lah..."

No only that, my SIL also said, "last time my daughter also had pacifier ...."

But.... she didn't BF her baby .........

smurfy, while i think its a gd idea to follow WHO guidelines on exclusive BFing for the 1st 6 mths.. sometimes practically it doesnt make sense lor. maybe u can intro FM at 6 mth while weaning to semisolids.. ur #2 might be more willing and less fussy?

fatbobo, just saw ur post asking abt prenatal yoga. i went for wkly yoga at whatever yoga (at chinatown there) when preg with my girl. it was very relaxing, and helped to relieve my aches and pains esp in 3rd tri.

fat bobo

can buy maternity pants already. My maternity pants which i bought at 8 weeks lasted me all the way till after i gave birth. There's very nice ones ard. If not, get drawstring pants or elastic types.

shirley, sorry to say this but if u have not bf b4, give me one reason why i shld listen to u. tell ur MIL/SIL that!! these pp get on my nerves. my MIL didnt bf her kids cos she say she got no milk at day 2, so took med from dr. i was like faint.. everyone also no milk at day 2 ma. milk hasnt come in yet.. then she had this look of enlightenment. hahaha

oh..if the fee resonable?
hw much u paid? n it's like for a specific no of classes or unlimted kind? do they hv other gentle yoga series? did they allow u to join in too? or juz strictly for pre-natal classes?

oops..paiseh.. so many qtnz. heeee~

<font color="ff0000">kikilala</font>,

the foetus' hands &amp; legs tat we saw are just round round ball-shaped. like it's clenching its fist. can't see fingers or toes yet lah. haha!

<font color="ff0000">Violetta</font>,
my baby's length is 21mm.
wat abt yours?
ya, my gynae also said the DS test is done together with the rest of the blood tests at 12th week. but i was thinking not to go since i still belong to the low risk... hmm..... still hv abt 3 weeks to think abt it...

jus cooked the nong shin's spicy mushroom instant noodles wif added egg &amp; kimchi. spicy &amp; sour. shiok!!!

mashy,

Do you still rem where did u buy ur maternity pants ?
I was hoping mine to last till delivery too..hahaha...and maybe can still wear them after given birth...

actually..i din noe BM oni cms in like aft 3-4days.. juz ystrday..my hb asked me when will hv milk... i said aft give birth lor. hahaha. retarded me!

dolce, quite a few maternity have elastic waist kind of pants and draw string one...

I'm going for my oscar test on 28th jan... the day after CNY holidays.. wait pple think i eat too much bak kwa during CNY until MC>. haha... but mc is tmc give me one....

Smurfy, whats done during detailed scan? how much does it cost?

fatbobo, see lah.. u wish for symptoms, now u got it lah... breast soreness is a symptom of pregnancy....

i had really sore breast from wk 4 or 5... only went away greatl last week. So sore till the point if i wanna cross my arms, must cross really carefully and cannot hit the chest when i am doing so.. if not very pain ah.....

Shirley

Hehhe, i introduced pacifier to my boy when he's a bb. :p Did no harm, helped him get to sleep very quickly. He rejected it at first and i had to force it right in. Then he became quite addicted to it. From the start, we only gave him to take the pacifier when he's sleeping. When he's awake, we'll ask him to give to us. So that's always the first thing he did when he woke up. Then by 2yrs old, he's totally off it. He was throwing a tantrum and 'threw' away his pacifier. So i kept it and when he asked for it again, i reminded him that he threw it away himself. Stopped asking for it after a few days.

Well, his teeth are perfect and no probs associated with pacifier.

fatbobo, oh i cant remember price liao, but i remember its decent. not too ex. the class is exclusively for preggies. so very gentle. they didnt recommend me to try the other types of yoga classes either. u can google WHATEVER YOGA and check for their details. think they got a website. i took up a package of 12 classes. cheaper.

Jules, bcoz i am staying with them whatever not happy i also cannot show them .... i can only tell my husband or cry to him...

Zen, same same length leh! Hehehe...mine also 21mm measured on Tue. I will take the Oscar Test for sure, to play safe...coz of my hubby's uncle is one. Though doc said low risk but we juz wanna sure...

babys..
u oso going TMC ar? my gynae's clinic assistants sooo kiasu, helped me book detailed scan oredi .. whahaha.. err the technical terms on what's done or check for detailed scan, u go search internet lar :p (most i forget oredi)... in short, it's an ultrascan scan and looks for normality in things like spinal, heart valves, kidneys. brain. gender.

Ive only seen elastic waist kind of pants and they all look very "Grandma"..
The one selling on ON looks nice and more modern looking but too bad difficult to gauge the size. Wasted if not able to wear it after purchase.
I think i would prefer drawstring or nicer elastic top pants

*sssshhh*

check with u ladies.. so usually when u go for check-up.. u take entire day MC arh?

my appt is on mon mrng.. duno whether wana go back work aft dat or not leh..
den agn.. im oni like 2mths into this job..not so good owas take mc rite?

sighz..sianz

Jules, i still remembered the first 3 days no milk de, so i told them doc said, "infant actually have sufficient back up for them for 3 days." :p

<font color="ff0000">fat bobo</font>

I also dinno BM is not immed after giving birth! Wow...

<font color="ff0000">babys</font>

I also had very sore breasts, starting from week 3+. Wanna die. Can't even soap myself w/o gog ouch ouch. Ur at week #??? Hope my soreness goes off soon.

fatbobo
i see gynae on saturdays.. so that hb can accompany wihtout taking leave.. mcs and AL very valuable to us now.

jules/shirley
my milk came onli on 5th day arr.. the Lactation consultant had to dribble Fm on my breast while the cranky hungry boy is still latched on.. (to bluff him there's milk).. after a few mths, it stablize until too much and my hb mixed my extra EBM into his milo last time.. eeekssss