(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Mashy, its normal to have backache during such early stage? I dunno izzit coz I stood too long yesterday or what, the ache juz persists till today. Bue tahan... If later still not getting any better, will ask hubby to massage liao. =)

bobo
u stay clementi area? actually, can get those short stools to sit on to wash doggie and clothes, so not so tiring.

Re: pantang
last time was ok, just dun think too much about the pantang things and both my girls turned out ok. But had m/c for #3, so now this pregnancy I'm just gonna avoid whatever makes me feel uneasy. Things like painting and all that, will carry on, but I'll go out gai gai when it's happening

pantang,
wah i'm reading with interest about the pantang-girls and non-pantang girls.. kekeke.. true lah, to each his own. if you believe in it, then practise it, else if anything happens, you'll blame yourself, that's bad. for the sceptics, just respect what others believe. still, the main rule of thumb is, first trimester is most fragile. coming from multiple miscarriages and having 2 successful births afterwards, i'd still advice first timers to be very careful and don't move too much. my massage lady say, you have to take care not to press the sole of your feet so much. much like reflexology concept, your important body points are down there so moving much will put a strain on it. of course, if you have to move, you have to move yeah. moving much can be, if you used to walk to work for 30 mins (i used to do that), then cut down or take a feeder bus to work. myths or what, it really depends on your culture, values and religion lah.

fatbobo,
morning sickness can cause aggravated motion sickness yeah. in fact that's what morning sickness feels like = motion sickness. always bring something to munch or wind down the windows and take in fresh air. sitting behind is worse yeah make sure you sit at the front passenger seat.

i just stock up on Gardenia banana and walnut bread wah feel so shiok having them for breakfast in the office!

constipation,
drink prune juice! that's what my gynae keeps telling me to whenever i complain of constipation.

pink

it's not, it's from my polyps.

violetta
backache is part of preg. Even after that. Somehow, the progesterone in our system caused our bones to loosen. Don't stand too long. Try to rest more. Yes, must get hb to massage. Haha. That's the best time to put them to some work.

Oh yah, make sure you're sleeping on a firm mattress. Coz as u get bigger, the soft mattresses cannot support us that well and cause our backaches to worsen.

Regarding on pantang, I also avoid things that made me feel uneasy. I can be very pantang to the extreme like not sewing, cutting anything on bed, moving things during my presence, etc. However to some extent, I also try to "see open" on certain things and not think so much le. So long we dun think too much, we will be protected from harm.

My new hse will be ready next yr so I guess I would juz be absence when there are shifting, painting or hecking going on. Will only pop by to visit when the reno works stop. This is what I gonna do. Some friends still advise me to do the reno after giving birth and during confinement, to play safe. But I would juz make do with what I believe.

morning ladies

I really envious all of you, full of energy. I am so tired for this 1st trimester for this pregnancy. Not sure what's wrong? Simply want to sleep.

Mashy, do not exert force while toileting, take more fibre food will help also.

<font color="ff0000">Violetta</font>

I also got lower back ache. Why ah? It's still so early. Can't be that the babylet is exerting pressure on my back right? hiaz...

i do suffer from constipation.
prune juice does not work for me b4, it only adds on to the wind in my stomach without easing.
But i might just give it a try again...

Pink,
i feel more comfy lyin down on my tummy leh i tink ok bah... when ur tummy bigger even u wan dun tink u can do it...

pinkmama,
i still sleep on my tummies leh. in fact cherishing now since i can't do that when the tummy is bigger. actually i heard it's no good, b'cos it's pressing down on your baby, but right now the baby is very small and well-protected so it's alright for now. optimally, sleep on your left. maximum oxygen input for your fetus.

dolcevita,
hmm how about grapes or banana? for me, fresh milk will most certainly send me to the toilet.

priscilla,
yes tiredness is a common symptom, no worries. i was super tired for my first pregnancy too. now gain more energy to chase after 2 kids and full-time job.

PInk,
now my tummy not out yet so i dun feel anything like wat Mrs Puff say now baby still small n well protected so shd be fine

i oso constipating.. coffee is one dat works for me..but nw hfta cut or avoid coffee.. so.... errrh.

i oso very super duper tired &amp; restless since i noe abt this pregnancy... gosh..

mrs puff
Thks for the advise. I try to sleep more on my left then. I think I also lactose intolerant. After taking milk will want to go toilet or feel nauseous.

Mrs Puff, I got lots of energy during 1st pregnancy but with this pregnancy, it is not like me.

Feel so bad for ds#1 as we could not go for our nature walk, he has to do his homeschooling work on his own, etc.

Jul, yeah...I also think its still early but since I am not the only one, guess its pretty normal during pregnancy ba.

I also still zzzing on my tummy leh, its more comfy for me. Next time, we got no chance already, so better do that now. Hehe..

Can we eat banana? Thought we have to avoid banana for now...

Re: Bananas

Contrary to common belief, bananas actually make constipation worse. It adds bulk to your poo. So when having diarrhoea, it's good to eat bananas. When constipated, don't try that.

Try lots of other fruits. Doesn't mean a lot of fibre can help ease constipation. Sometimes too much fibre can make u constipated.

mashy, that story is so farnie lah.. hee...

I dont believe in all these superstitions too.. I attended weddings and funerals just b4 in got married and just after i got married when pple say cannot, i'm still happily married what. haha...

I didnt know that squating puts weight on bb leh.. i squat at least twice a day, to get vege out from the fridge for my rabbit's meals leh.. ok time to start kneeing in front of my fridge liao..

re pantang.
i am selectively pantang lor :ppppP....

shirley
me oso very very tired tis pregnancy.. but then again, my 1st oso the same.

<font color="ff0000">violetta</font>

Me even earlier than u leh. 5 weeks already got backache. How to survive 40 weeks? Aiyoh..

Regarding bananas, if u believe the TCM thing, avoid del monte bananas coz they're supposed to be liang &amp; cause wind. For me no prob, coz I dun like bananas haha.

Squating: my friend taught me that for preggers u can do the 'man proposing' pose (bend on one of your knee).

2nd/3rd time mummies: which week will the MS peak?

there are alot of exercise taught during the class for pregnancy, pain management, etc, I attended with dh during #1 pregnancy.

NICI, depending on individual and also pregnancy, my #1 pregnancy, totally no ms and it was a bliss but this #2 pregnancy, ms started from about 6 week till now still having.

NICI,
i don't know b'cos ever pregnancy is different hahaha. for my case, this pregnancy, my MS seems like a breeze!

banana,
mashy got a point about banana. it's fine with me though, i still take del monte banana once in a while. for those lactose intolerant people like myself, milk will do the trick.

backache,
it's common, no worries. it comes and goes.

priscilla,
maybe yours is upside down from mine hehe. i started off being tired than energetic. subsequently i wasn't as tired as before. what to do, it's your pregnancy symptom this time around, it'll pass though. just endure at the moment.

sleeping on the left,
i lifted this off some website.

"Some doctors specifically recommend that pregnant women sleep on the left side. Because your liver is on the right side of your abdomen, lying on your left side helps keep the uterus off that large organ. Sleeping on the left side also improves circulation to the heart and allows for the best blood flow to the fetus, uterus, and kidneys. Ask what your doctor recommends — in most cases, lying on either side should do the trick and help take some pressure off your back."

donkeymami, I will do the blood test this thursday and the ultrasound next week, all done before the 12th week according to my dr's request.

<font color="ff0000">pegsfur</font>

Hmm I notice that if I eat something small b4 bed, &amp; eat almost immed after waking up, no MS prob at all. Guess it's just a dun-get-hungry thing?

<font color="ff0000">mrs puff</font>

Thanks for the explanation. Actually right now, I feel more comfortable tossing ard. Sometimes sleeping on the back, sometimes on the left, sometimes on the right. I think lying in 1 position for too long gives me backache!

Guess just do everything in moderation hor?

jul,

Ya, i noticed dat as well .. as long as got something in the tummy,dun have so much ms.

Hiaz .. sometimes at nite my dog wanna sleep with us then she will squeeze herself on our bed ... makes me can't move myself sometimes.

<font color="ff0000">pegsfur</font>

Couple of days back, I've been munching on Post Cranberry Cereal. Not bad, a bit sweet, but it's sour &amp; dry enough. Dunno why I prefer dry stuff in the am.

But hor, for all my meals, I want very tasty stuff. Must be xiang xiang, salty, etc... No interest in bland food