(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

strawberryz... hugs...

fabobo, no, its not free size..... maternity house, u went to the one at vivo is it? I dont like the one there, its where the male stuaff (who looks like he fits in better at newurbanmale) pissed me off...

dolce, really ah? extreme sizes? I can take the extreme big sizes one.. hee...

donkeymami, i am week 9, still occasionally get cramps, esp if i walk or sit too much. BUt not so much liao.. I had a sharp pain yesterday, but it was becos i was cleaning house and over strained myself.. after resting ok lioa...

sigh, my appetite these few days no good.Yesterday i had to force down 3 chwee kueh's for dinner. Actually i was full at 2 but my husband insist i eat at least one more.. then lunch just now i ate one small char siew pao only...

i'm going to check out this shop, opposite bencoolen OG.. they sell normal clothes but sell maternity clothes too. Quite comfy,good material and importantly, is cheap. i bought crops and berms from there, $29.90 each...

heard they got few outlets in SG. once i go check it out, i'll come back and share with u guys..

pink,
onion, garlic, potato, sweet potato, celery, carrot, whole boneless and skinless chicken breast to boil. Then add seasoning to taste.

I always envy people like my sister in law & friend, who r naturally slim. When preggie just buy bigger size clothes. People like me, pre preggie weight already 66kg sure have no choice but buy maternity ones...

errrh...sorry arh.. arrhmmmm..im not being insensitive here.. but urrh..well.. strawberryz's blighted ovum.. errrh..actually her doc's giving her 2wks.. means.. 2wks to confirm if really the embryo did not develop izit? so..does it mean.. there's still chance here?

im truely SORRY if i said anything wrong or wat.... but i really din mean anything..urrhh..wat de.

BabyS,

Is there such a shop ?
Im working around bugis area, maybe I can pop by tml to take a look at that shop which you mentioned.
$29.90 is pretty reasonable.
I might pop by Marina Sq one of the evenings too to check out the $59.90 pants

babyS..i went to the maternity house at marina square...

dolce..i tink nw they hvg some promo oso leh.. buy 3 get 1 free or something..

pris,
I am a "agar agar" type of cook. Here's my recipe for mee siam

Gravy
1)Blend together dried red chillies, fresh chillies, dried prawns, small red onions ( I use the bigger red onion when I am lazy)
2) Soak tamarind paste (assam) in hot water. Squeeze out the juices & discard the seeds
3) Fry the blended ingredient and add assam juice. Add more water & sugar & salt to taste

Bee Hoon
1) Mix a little chilli powder with water to form a paste.
2) Soak bee hoon in cold water till soft
3) Mixed chilli paste into the bee hoon
4) Fry some more onions and bean sprouts, then add bee hoon to fry till soft.

For the topping, can use boiled prawns, taukwa, chives etc

fatbobo,
i answer for you, since it might be too depressing for them to tell. usually doctor will give "you" a grace period of up to a week or two for you to wait it out. just in case they're wrong or a miracle happened. it's also a time to prepare "you" mentally on the possible outcomes. b'cos there's always chances that "you" ovulated late and therefore not as late as you think you were.

<font color="aa00aa">Significance of ultrasounds in early pregnancies:</font>

on week 5 - is to rule out ectopic pregnancy where your baby is situated anywhere outside your womb (usually in the tubes). if ectopic pregnancy is detected, the pregnancy MUST be removed to save mother's life. you should see a waterbag, that small black thing in the screen or printout, IN the womb.

on week 6 - is to detect presence of yolk sac and/or heartbeat of the fetal pole, also dates your pregnancy and provide you with the most accurate EDD. if no fetal pole detected, doc will ask you to come again in a week or two.

on week 7 - is to detect presence of heartbeat and fetal pole should be at least 7mm in length. absence of heartbeat means it's a missed abortion. must carry out D&amp;C. else, doc will tell you to come again in a week or two. but if you have already started spotting red, don't wait till a week. you're probably miscarrying already.

after that, they'll skip ultrasounds till you're safely at 11 or 12 weeks where you'll do triple test or Oscar, depending on your budget and preferences. in the US, you don't get much u/s. it's highly discouraged there due to the frequencies. however, i don't see this happening in Singapore clinics where we can get a scan on demand.

hope that helps.

DAd:no la going there for work,dun really like states
...chicago is so so cold.....lax is much better

fatbobo:no la not everyone will hv hair loss...i dun hv it

and i dun hv proper confinement lady to take care/cook tonics fro me too.

dolce, yeah, its a clothing shop, facing albert steet OG...

The building "the bencoolen" is opposite OG right, the shop is on the outside. LOoks like its selling normal clothes, but they have maternity clothes also. maybe u gotta ask the sales girls to show u where it is..

ladies, need some advise here..
i tested positve last wk with 1 faint line.
i have yet to decide which and when to see the gyane.
i have been experience pain at ovary area.
should i bring forward the appt?

hihi funne.. firstly congratz to u..

ya.. tink shld juz go c dr.. at least u can hv peace of mind mah.... dun worry.. ull b orite..

cheers.

Now i worry no one take care of my bb , how old can put in childcare . Anyone intend to hire CLady for the 1st month ?

Funne,
if u roughly know how many wks u in now u can make appt ard wk 6.. the pain u experience is it sharp pain? or more to cramp?

funne,
you can go see a gynae straightaway to rule out ectopic pregnancy. the reason why some are discouraged to see the gynae earlier is b'cos they have high hopes to see a fetus on that very same day, which is usually unrealistic and can cause further confusions to first timers. especially when they don't know when they ovulated.

bean,

There are now infant care, taking care of baby during day time for as young as few months old.
Maybe you might need to browse the net for more details..

pinkmama,
it is believed that it's no good, but i believed i've taken a lot more ultrasounds than most mommies in this forum and my babies turn out healthy so i'm saying the believe is inconclusive. if it's really bad for you, the gynae will discourage you. if you feel uneasy and you need to know if the baby is ok, by all means, go ahead for a scan. if you spot, go ahead do a scan. don't be blinded by what others say, you must trust your own instinct at times.

Bean,
if u considering child care jus someting u need to take note.. CC got more germs la so ur baby might fall sick easily... so i tink u need to tink carefully n survey those CC ard u..

mrs puff
This for the info.... My gynae wants to scan me everyweek due to my past history, so was just wondering if it's ok.

Piggy : I also think of that as baby easily sick , I also worry .

Both side parent working , now I dunno how to suddenly not in my planning actually plan to hv bb in 1-2 year time . heehee accidently gods blessed me one .

Baby sitter go where find or any wedsite have good recommended

bean, for a start.. prolly u can check ard other relative.. then to yur neighbours.. prolly can get recommendation frm them too.
hiring a maid is not in yur option?

hi mummies... I m new here... would like to know when would be a good time to visit the gyne? Would the 5th week be good enough? cos i saw many thread got mummies say if visit too early cant see anything doc will ask u go back again.

Puroland,
best is wk 6 at least can check heartbeat as well...

Bean,
sometime bo bian 1... if u wan maid u mus make sure some1 is there to monitor the maid lor..
if babysitter i got phobia so dun wan to advice much cos i got a colig her baby hor suffer from shakin sydrome thanks to her bb sitter (highly recommended by friends) n now affect her brain growth leh....
best is look ard ur relative first den look for other option but i tink end of the day is luck...

for myself. i oso duno hw yet..both parents oso cant.. i very much wana be a SAHM.. hee...but dun tink can... still hv a 'big mouth' to feed..yup.. our car that is... sighz.

BabyS, can give us the name of the shop?
I wan to go there see-see tmw evening..tonight, rushing home to watch little nonya.

Bean, i also headache who to take care of my bb nexttime. I m staying with my Mil at bukit batok, who is 70yo, and got a stroke. Lucky, there's a maid to take care of her and cook for her. But everyday, she buay-song the maid, pick on her and complain to me abt the maid non-stop.

my hb is more keen on infant care, he said..more professional. But I think more easily to fall sick. Also, bb is very ke-lian, can't even sleep longer.. have to wake up at 7am (ma-ciam like the parents wake up to go to work like that).This is very disruptive to bb's sleep, i think. *sighs... *

My mum stayed in amk, but i think the distance too far for everyday travel, end up we will become weekend parents...will miss the bb.

Just have to take a step right now, dare not think so far ahead.

piggy... haiyo, poor baby....

Haiya, today too much activity at work... handle too many stupid calls full of anger and abuse from the caller.... Waste my time and effort talking to them.. but sadly this is not new to me in my line of work.... But too much activity and stress for baby today.. cramps...

funne, if the cramps are bad, maybe u should bring forward...

puroland, i went to see my gynae at week 4, cannot see anything. Went back at week 6 then can see.... but i think best is go on ur gut feeling when to go...

yen, i cannot remember the name of the shop leh... i only remember start with CA... hahaaha.....

yeah, infant care may be good, but all the kids share bugs one lor. One sick all sick, then when all get well, someone else gets another bug and the cycle goes on and on.. esp all those bugs like rotavirus, RSV (respiratory virus) which can affect babies quite badly...

ya.. unless can find those quite exclusive de.. oni take care of few babies niah.. instead of those big class group de..

but sometimes.. being exposed..oso can build the little one's immune system..
too clean to start..in future abit of dirt or dust oso cant take well de.

but of cos.. those virus is different from juz dirt or dust lar..

infant care size r generally smaller... more teachers to infant ratio... 1:4 if i am not wrong... but i really dun suggest infant care until bb is at least older, i mean before 6mths, they dun have immunity, then u keep on getting sick, how to build onz? and if ur infant is sick, most probably u would have to take leave to look after him/her as infant care centers would definitely not allow a sick child to spread the virus to another.. find a nanny if there is a must.. at least for the first one yr

I read about renting maternity clothes. U can try maternity exchange at Marina Square. I actually bought 3 pieces there before. They rent out once or twice and price drop a lot. So u may be able to find gd deals. Else u can rent and return (forgot how it works). I think they hv a website too, u can try google.

Otherwise, try www.motherhood.com from the US. Sometimes their sale prices for maternity dresses are not bad. A few of u can share up to S$400 limit for gst purposes.

For me, I just upsized my sizing for clothes by 1 size. Pre-pregnancy, I wear the smallest size clothes from Mango, Zara etc. So during my 1st pregnancy, I just buy one size bigger. Just no huge fancy for maternity wear. Haha...

Baby S: Haha yes I agree for my 1st pregnancy. Now I just have to keep my fingers crossed for 2nd one. Esp I do hear stories about how for some women, 1st one shrunk back to pre-preg but 2nd one cannot shrink. Now I super worried. But winter in Shanghai, need the calories to keep myself warm, although much easier to put on weight during this season. So have to be really careful. Actually during my 1st preg, I was very worried also. So during my pregnancy, although see a lot of nice normal clothes, dun dare to buy in case I need a new wardrobe upsized. Then end up, I slimmed down more than I put on during 1st pregnancy. But tough work, especially during 1st 2 months. I hardly slept 4 hours a day and I was breastfeeding.

<font color="ff0000">tinkabel</font>

Ooh.. u're so lucky. I will be one of the 'normal' ones, judging by my mum haha

pinkmama,
i'm saying that from my past history too. if your gynae wants you to come back every week, then by all means come back every week. no worries. he'll stop you if he thinks it's too much. i've had weekly scans myself before. no harmful effect.