(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

oh, thanks bbethan. Then I don't go already =p.
Wishing knock off time would come fast. Brain freeze... numbers starting to swim around my head... waiting for the long weekend to come

Hope all mummies enjoy your long weekend!

Foz

I doubt the authencity of this report or experiment. Coz mine turned bad when it was half eaten and forgotten in the bag. Why dun do an experiment yourself and tell us the results?

hi loshita, i bring my boy to:
Chia Baby & Child Clinic
431 Clementi Ave 3 #01-308 Opposite Bus Interchange, 120431, Singapore

p: 67767670
They open 9am - 12pm and in the evening. Best to go in the morning so you dont have to queue.

Chiyojade,
I've tried Shangri-La, Goodwood Park, Raffles Hotel and those usual hotel mooncakes before... I'm usually attracted by the packaging and brand since it looks nice especially to impress my in-laws... But frankly speaking, I personally dun find them delicious, after consuming half the mooncake, I usually stuff the remaining half to my hubby coz I dun wanna waste it...
This year, I went to the mooncake fair at Vivo City and I bought Home's Favourite D24 Durian mooncakes for my MIL instead of buying the major hotel's mooncake... It cost ard $47 after discount for 4 mooncakes... Today we tried it after MIL open it... All of us including lil Gen loves it... She sit there patiently for daddy to feed her... These few days quite difficult to feed her coz she's becoming v v choosy with food, she spit out food which she dun wanna eat... So we r surprised that she likes the durian mooncake coz FIL fed her durian b4 but she spat out also...
As for my hubby, he bought Wing Wah's birdnest mooncakes for my parents... I'm still waiting for them to try thou... Speaking of that, I'm tempted to buy 1 more box of durian mooncake for my own consumption... Hmmm...

Last yr, my sis bgt Home's Favourite snowskin mooncake too. I rem we had to put it in freezer, thaw it a little before it melting in my mouth. This year, i bought Raffles Hotel Dark Choc Crunchy Pearl mooncake, a twist to norm, cos it's crunchy. I tried the Goodwood Park durian mooncake at a mooncake fair, it taste yummy too.

I am collecting my mooncakes tomorrow from Intercontinental, will give reviews after consumption!

Mashy, so wasteful, and I seldom have leftovers from McDonald's - the family love it too much! But I am grateful that you share that yours go bad, I feel better, hehe... I was thinking as I read the article, "omigod...next we will find out its made of 50% plastic!"

The little one went to his first official gym class today at the Little Gym and had tons of fun with his friends, likewise the mommies! The mommy who took pixs, please quickly upload in FB, many thanks!

I used to be in this July 2009 MTB chat occasionally during my early months of pregnancy. Was busy with elder child & work then so didn't continue the chat ever since.
Mind I join in?
I need advise on how to stop breastfeeding. 1st child was easier to stop maybe cos supply drop then.
Now I partial bf my 15 mths. Daytime powder when babysitter take care. Nite and wkend direct latch. Stop my pump totally few mths alry. Jus endure till go home.
Nanny complain baby now so big, must stop bf! Or she refuse milk powder and even lift out her shirt asking for "mum mum" nei nei!
Anyone still bf while working?

hi poshicon,
Long time no see!

If I'm not wrong, the working mums who are still breastfeeding includes me, muffingal and minty-mum. I think there's still some more mothers but i can't remember.

I know you can go to chinese medical hall, ask for san zha and mai ya (hawhthorne slices and malt grains) to boil and drink. To reduce milk supply. Else a doctor told me to hand squeeze till boobs a bit soft then stop. No pump, no latch. Milk supply will drop drastically within a few days, she says

My nanny is opposite =p She encourages me to carry on breastfeeding (got milk, why not? Save milk powde money).

Long time no post.. so miss here.

HBB, I was also q surprised when I told k to bring something to Lina, say, his bottle. He actually did!! ANd when I say, go get your shoes, he will run to the table by the door where his shoes was usually placed in the early days. Now he will run to the shoes cabinet. He even will bring my shoes to !! I read the Dumex newsletter, yes, although they cannot speak, they understand the language. K understands command in both Mandarin and English.

Sunnyduck, your boy's milkstrike stopped? K will experience small appetite when he is cutting teeth, the worst was when his canine and morlars were out the same time recently, his milk intake was as low as 2oz. And took very little porridge. I was worried initially but K has enough to lose. Everything came to norm after abt 2 wks.

Pinky, how's your girl? May I suggest you give her Marine Omega (80% more goodness than fish oil)? Was just telling HBB about my hb & I. We both developed flu-like symptoms on Sat am, and that night, my friend advised me to take the Marine Omega K is taking. I recovered and hb still suffering cough now. K is AOK!!! (Praise the LORD!!)

Beverly, if you can, try to start egg white to your boys from now. Its's for MMR injection next mth.

RE: P/t Job
Bestberries, Thansk! This "job" is not I ever thought I would be doing, but I really love the flexibility of work hours and still able to spend time with K and take care of my family. It's all about your proirity. I am very clear that I want to take care of my family and be with K. Therefore, although not the best paying job, in terms of $ and benefits, I am willing. I got a 80% pay cut, but I got 90% gain of TIME with my dear ones. That few hours away from home also gave me back my sanity. I am exploring other options of flexible work. I just taught my helper choking manuever, CPR & Emergnecy SOP at home, I am thinking to do freelance training for domestic helper in this area. Lina handles K by herself when I m out of the house, I don't want to be sorry.

Sunsweet, I totally understand what all of us want. However, to be realistic, there are 3 things that possibly made most Singaporean women chose the job over what they actually wanted. 1. $$, we are very used to dual income, and alot of time financial planning are done with both income. Therefore many of us got into trouble when one lost the job. 2. Dependence, we have gained our financial dependence since that day we step into the working world. We are used to get our own regular, stable pay check. Now it's about receiving money from our hb. It's tian1 jin1 di4 yi4 but we are not used to taking money from them. 3. SElf-esteem, I see many friends losing that sense of "self" when they stay at home. Right about the 2nd year, they are angry with their life (even taitais with helpers). I had initially planned to stay as a full time mom for 5 years until the kid is in Kindy, but I was starting to lose the sense of "self". We have been planing our financial based only on his income, he had be trained to foot most of the big bills since we got married and therefore we were pretty alright. Then again, a trip to USA will easily cost us $8-10k so we have to cut down on trips elsewhere. Though Jason had been trained to foot all the big bills in this family since day 1, I am not comfortable to take money from him, especially when I felt my savings is affected. I was indeed starting to lose my "SELF", that's why to me is, if I can go out of this house for a purpose, and oil my brain, what is 80% pay cut vs having no personal income and becoming narrow-minded?

Moms who are thinking of quiting your job, are you ready to take on job that has no monetary reward? no annual leave, no sick leave, not appreciated most of the times, even from female peers who think SAHM is relaxing and "EZ", and being looked at by some strong career-minded women as "useless" or even by your relatives as "waste of talent/ education", and the danger of only able to hold conversation with topics such as kids, schools, food, sale, children's grades/ results.. (professional hazard)? And not to mention the danger of having no "hobby"! Cos if you are, you will definitely be happy with your decision.

I spend $0.91 each trip to and from office on a bus, if I decide to work from 9am, I pack my lunch. If I decided to work in the afternoon, I eat my lunch before I go. All meals provided by the household groceries allowance...

FOZ, McD-- I learnt to make my own burger and fries (fries are eazy), I am trying to not give K junk food though J used to say it's "American culture". (I really don't need such culture!!)

Poshicon, welcome back.. I was MIA for along while before I am more active here recently too! I quite second what Lamagier said about BF. IF have, give lor. And since you bb is big ans strong, then BF is no issue. I met a girl a the gym today, she is really skinny. Her grandma said she refused most food other than mama's milk. Grandma blames the malnutrition look on BF, cos tod is not eating good portion of porridge and cereal. I do agree that at this point BM cannot give tod all they need, but if they are only taking 2-3 serving (K does 2, and about total of 280ml; I am not sure about others) each day, I strongly encourage you to continue.

OMG, I told HBB I am going to zzz more than 2 hrs ago.. K has class at 9:30.. life of a mom..

KK,

Thank you for your recommendation for the fish oil. My gal have been on fish oil which mashy mentioned on before which bought for iherb. Thank god she have been stop coughing for a week. i ask my hb not to give her cold foods and help her to keep her warm, it really useful. ya i believe fish oil have good benifit for us too

working
i believe every mom here also wish to stay at home to accompany the LO but not all can afford staying home or maybe some have high pay or the job that they have which not easy to find nowadays that why we decided to be a working mother too. Every mother is not easy no matter you are stay at home or working mom. haha i ever think that one day my girl grow up and she get marry and become a popo..

Morning to all!!!

KK
where do u get this Marine Omega?

I'm giving the Scotts Emulsion Orange Cod Liver Oil. But had stopped for a while cos she was coughing previously.

Remember that someone mentioned that the difference in all the various cod liver oil in the market is the grade of the fish, so is Scotts Emulsion ones of a lower grade?

And what's the diff btw DHA vs Omega vs Fish Oil etc? Are these the same?

Apologies but am in need of many tins of the following:

[1] 400g Enfapro A+ ($10/$11)
[2] 900g Enfapro A+ ($32+-)
[3] $5 Off Enfapro A+ Voucher

Pls pm me if you've any to let go.. thanks & appreciate lots! =)

Am also in search for pre-loved Parklon/LG Bumper Playmat

oh dear. thunder storm coming....!
I supposed to see my gynae today. Haiz.

Just survived 1 week of 'confinement' because Naomi got hmfd. And I have to confine the brother too as he will be in high risk of potential carrier. Thanks God, he didn't get it! My stupid maid even feed the cod liver oil from the same spoon on that very first day when we discovered the illness. I tried very hard to separate these 2, but it's nearly impossible. He still can't get it why he couldn't kiss/hug or even getting near to her for a week. hehehehe..To make the matter worse it was school holiday for 1 week. I have no idea where she can get it from in the first place. I've been extra carefull and little bit paranoid that I didn't bring her out to play that week before she got the illness. In the end she still got it. Haiz. so heart pain! She couldn't even swallow her own saliva. She would accumulate it in the mouth and spit it out. During that week, very seldom to hear her voice except the crying sound. Tsk. Anyway, she has recovered now and back to her oldself.

KK/sunnyduck, yeah I agree mainly on point #2. the first 1 or 2 years after I decided to quit my f/t job, that's the hardest part. we Used to have financial dependent. And till now actually I haven't got use to the idea of taking the money for my own use and only use 'our' money for the necessary stuff. but the problem is, the term 'necessary' for men are DIFFERENT from us. For our first kid, we even argue for simple things like when he said it's not necessary to buy a sterlizer since we can use the pot to boil the bottle. Even buying a stroller is considered 'unnecessary' item. Can you believe it? That's the hardest period of me being SAHM. Fortunately over the time I found my freelance job to fulfill my shopping need for the 'un-necessary' things. Well, do you think Pediped shoes is one of un-necessary thing or necessary? LOL

yeah, the 'confinement' period is 7days.
Adult can be carrier too meh? Unless confirm I kena I wouldn't have confine myself. I only confine the kids. Othewise, my hb also cannot go out to work?

etirto

so long as u didn't show symptoms, no probs abt going out. When my gal had HFMD, my boy didn't get it either. I brought him out to keep him away from her. My hb got the HFMD from my gal though. I think the most contagious time is when they are having a fever. Before that should be safe. My boy played with her every night. But when she got fever, we separated them. Maybe that's why we managed to keep it away from my son. My hb didn't take much note of hygiene and got HFMD altho i'm the one with the most contact and sleeps with her even when she had HFMD.

etirto
adult can b carrier also
tat day when i saw u i did not know naomi was down with HFMD... if i had known..seriously.. i wouldnt even want to chat with u!! i kia see!!!! the nxt day when i gotta know i was so damn blardy scare ok!!!!

gina/HBB

sorry, but i think u don't know much about how HFMD is transmitted. Much like some pp dun know how AIDS is transmitted. HFMD is transmitted by fluid contact. So that means, unless i kiss u on the lips or i share your food, u won't be getting it.
It is not air borne.

mashy
not that i duno... but it also means by the saliva rite?
if u talk to somebody and saliva fly out... doesnt it spread tat way as well? unless guarantee wun sneeze and no saliva vapour out of the mouth!

HBB

hahah, i wouldn't wanna talk to that person even if he/she is perfectly healthy! So gross! Anyway, yes, it's fluid contact. That's why small children are so prone to it coz they like to put things in their mouth. Adult to adult transmission is rare. This is from the doctor.

HBB

usually we also won't stand so close to the other person when we talk lah. Unless you are really close to them. I've my personal space, i don't know abt u. I certainly don't like pp breathing down my neck. hehehe.

tje
ya u r right we wun know who is sick out thr.. but at least ppl we hang out w isnt...

yes i super kiasee... i go ard w a spray bottle of sanitizer lol.. spray on edna's shoes everytime aft she fin walking n sit on stroller... cos she always go touch her shoes and then fingers in mouth =s

now worse... walk more.. means i gotta take off her shoes whenshe go in carseat in case i drive and din see her putting shoes in mouth.. tsk tsk...

gina

rest assured i won't be hanging around with u.

In any case, i agree that we shouldn't meet in a group when there's a case at home. I don't meet up with friends or go church when even one of them is down with just flu. We stay away from crowded places and I make sure my friends know too so that they don't come chatting with us if they bump into us.

Gina

i won't touch the blood myself too.

HBB

my gal have this habit of chewing her shoes. sigh, I also have to take her shoes off whenever we put her on the stroller/car seat.

mashy
tats precisely wat we trying to tell etirto...

i rem i happen to bump into FOZ once at ikea restaurant.. and i was having a bit of mild runny nose... i din even wan to talk to her =p... she did the talking then bye bye LOL

now i standby wet wipes to wipe her shoes esp the pediped which is easier to wipe. then spray w sanitizer then wipe again... talk bout saving the earth.. =s

Tje,
Hahaha. Hey, I 'chope' Tomi liao. His heart kena stolen by JE, now I gotta go find MR another boyfriend =p.

Just for laughs ~ Read in Straits Times over the weekend that in recent years, Singapore saw more female babies born than male babies.

when my gal had hfmd, I was so busy cleaning, washing and disinfecting. Too tired to wanna go out. Hahaha.

Lamagier
serious! It has always been the males dominating. Oh dear, less grooms to go around.

Mashy, I assumed it's true, by Jeremy Au. The new piece was a light-hearted one about how we need to protect the male Singapore species cos they are a dwindling breed =p

Lamagier

I thought as follow up report after the pm lee's national rally speech, they said there was an overall increase in females to males despite a higher male birthrate. This is due to more female immigrants and higher life expectancy of females.

tje, please la you're so exagerating! I was perfectly healthy and had no sympton at all. My doc even told me not to worry too much till to the extend of confining myself since it's not an adult disease. I thought carrier means that the person can be infectious if he/she got the sympton of the disease. Off course if it's chic pox, it's different story. I would have stay at home if I'm sick. But I was not. I did cancel all my appointment, my lunch date during that week, but I still need to do my shopping and also going to my workplace. And I can't prevent that I would have meet other people that I know when I go to the public place. Being a responsible parents, I totally understand that I have to confine both kids at home (one that get infected and although the other one did not).
Based on what you said, if one of the family member got sick, so you will confine yourself at home although you're perfectly ok?
Hbb, sorry la, I didn't plan to bumb to you. LOL. but don't worry, we chatted about 1m away, remember? hopefully my saliva couldn't fly that far.

hbb, in ikea when you bumped into FOZ, you KNEW that you were sick, that's y you didn't talk to her. I knew that I was not sick so I really don't get the point here.

Good morning, I have a story I thought some of you might like:

. . . encourage the oppressed. (Isaiah 1:17, NIV)

A group of frogs were traveling through the woods, and two of them fell into a deep pit. All the other frogs gathered around the pit.

When they saw how deep the pit was, they told the two frogs that they were as good as dead. The two frogs ignored the comments and tried to jump up out of the pit with all of their might. The other frogs kept telling them to stop, that they were as good as dead. Finally, one of the frogs took heed to what the other frogs were saying and gave up. He fell down and died.

The other frog continued to jump as hard as he could. Once again, the crowd of frogs yelled at him to stop the pain and just die. He jumped even harder and finally made it out. When he got out, the other frogs said, "Did you not hear us?"

The frog explained to them that he could not hear very well. He thought they were cheering and encouraging him the entire time.

This story teaches two lessons:

1. There is power of life and death in the tongue. An encouraging word to someone who is down can lift him up and help him make it through the day.

2. A destructive word to someone who is down can be what it takes to kill him. Be careful of what you say. Speak life to those who cross your path.

Have a wonderful day!

FOZ, thanks for the nice morning greeting!

tje, I was just bit unhappy because I think it's unfair that you judge me by saying that I was being selfish & irresponsbile and spreading my germ away while I was not sick at all/ carry the germ anyway. That's all.
I didn't go to birthday party or school or anywhere with lots of exposure to children. I merely went to public place where anybody is free to go. So as long as I'm not sick, I can't see anything wrong.

Off course we confine the sick kid at home in her own room and limit the contact as much as possible with other family member.

I understand all moms want their kids to be happy and healthy. No matter what diff attitude or what so ever.
Actually the biggest guilt I felt was when naomi cried in the her room while I was in my other room and couldn't console or carry her at all. So heart broken. Thanks God everything is over.