(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

sensitive lung need to eat nourishing thg to 润 the lungs. that is where stuff like the chuan bei pear drink, white fungus n etc comes into the picture

thr is this cough specialist at gleneagles which my nephew goes to
my sis claim aft nephew went, his cough under control and hardly cough much for past 3 mths. he use to b on neubaliser very often last time.

hbb,

other than chuan bei pear drink, is there other food or drink that i can give? TIA

the specialist you mentioned cost bomb anot? if not too expensive i will like to give it a try.

pinky i tink it cost about 200 plus bah... specialist.. not cheap but compared to regular visits to PD.. i tink worth if it works.. u can check out more bout this doctor 1st before going,
C T Yeo Respiratory & Medical Clinic
Gleneagles Medical Centre #09-18 S(258499) Tel: 64730918

i usu onli giv this drink leh..

bestberries
u r welcome
hope ur gal get well soon

hbb, realli expensive. i must try the drink first, if cure then no need to see specialist hor, if not my pocket will have a big hole. but anyway thank for info. The drink can keep for how many days?

Hbb, are u referring to dried figs or the fresh fruit? If fresh fruit, does 6-7 pieces mean we slice the fruit and only use 6-7slices? I'm noob, sorry.

I'm almost giving up hope on the western medicine. Nasal swab test shows high level of Moraxella catarrhalis bacteria which is common childhood cough infection. He is finishing the whole bottle of antibiotic and there's only 50% improvement. High chance that he may need to topup with more/different antibiotic which I'm kinda reluctant and lost hope in. I want full recovery, yet I don't like the idea of too much medicine. Haiz...

pinky usualy i keep at most over nite cos it will bubbled aft over nite if not store properly

peanut the fig r dry one fr medical hall. its pieces..not slice. hehe

Hbb, but can the young ones in-directly take almond nuts? I'm asking bcos I'm worried that he may have an allergy reaction to it since his dad is allergy to nuts.

Mashy, HBB, then I guess I must be super lazy! Ok I shall try to be a better mommy and go to the yao cai dian soon...

Mashy, no PT job in my dept at the moment leh....I also wanna work PT but dun think it's possible at the moment. Flexi working hours is possible though
Will let you gals know if there is PT job available.

Bestberries, I only give egg york to my boys...and I give them biscuit everyday!

HBB, thanks for the recipe....I think I need the pear drink too....

Pinky

actually my boy same thing. He coughs at night and in the morning. Then when weather turns cold, he'll cough too. We just let it be coz we realize it's not illness actually. He self recover when it's warm again. I understand that swimming will help. Not play water but real swimming. So just have to wait till older to learn swimming. He's considered asthmatic btw.

mashy
does drinking warm water help for ur boy?
sounds liek wat my dh have also.. when weather turns cold he start to ha this cough symptom but when it gets warmer.. everythg disappear!!!! yes he is asthmatic too!!!

Waaah! So much to catch up on!
Dino-mum - you can give talk on Pri 1 system and we can pay to sign up for your talk! Thank you very much for sharing all the info because all that takes a lot of time! Muak!

lamagier - I quickly read the posts and just wanted to say that you turned out a whole lot more than OK! ;-)

I also do agree that if you really cannot get into a school of your choice, it's not the end of the world. I know many many intelligent people who come from not so well known schools. I know people who have double doctorates who come from very non-prestigious schools! ;-P

And yes, the GEP prog - it's mainly so that you don't have to change schools if you want to try for those schools. I have 2 relatives who were in the GEP programme and their mum regretted putting them there because it ended up doing a lot of project work and they basically had to do lots of research themselves and not much teaching by the teachers. Of course the syllabus can change over time though!

mashy,
i heard from my friend that her son who was 1 year old who have medicine since he born because of asthmatic now her son condition getting worse. Sometime i also feel scare that thing will make worse if i never take good care of my girl. Ya same here if hot weather my girl will not cough too. yesterday she have a sound sleep to the morning, i think weather also play a part. Swimming is good for body, heheh my mum use to send me for swimming lesson 3 times a week during my young days but hor now i have a wide shoulder due to swimming. maybe those who have girl must be careful on this.

Hbb

it does. But it only eased his throat. Doesn't stop the cough.

Pinky
my boy was on nebulizer very often when he was young. Until we had to buy the machine. Kept getting bronchitis and even admitted to hospital. But now he's much better. Has been more than a yr since his last episode. Even when he coughs, it doesn't develop into bronchitis anymore. But he still gets this phlegmy cough whenever it turns cold. Can only hope to improve his health by swimming.

mashy,
i can imagine how much care and concern you have put in to take care your son. The machine must cost bomb? Now your son still on nebulizer?

Re: Cough

when I was young I have either runny nose / cough every week.

then no choice other then western med, my mum make me fish maw soup (not those fired fish maw but the dried kind) almost every 2 weeks and cong cao every month..

They also let me swim mainly to build up the lungs and to expose to more sunlight as its believe its the shi qi that keeps giving me the cold cough.

Weather plays a part house dust too. so can take note on this 2.

Re: PT job

on My Paper today, NTUC collected some data from children age 10 - 14. Most of the kids prefers that their mother to be home by 6pm.

This is a exactly what we working mum wants. We don't mind working 5 days a week but we want to be home earlier to tend to the children.

If we can work from 9am - 5pm this will be probably the preferred arrangment for working mums.

Sunsweet

Now still hv jobs from 9-5 meh? When they changed to 5 day week, they extended the officE hours. In fact the hours are more than if u work on sats. Then lesser annual leave too. Sian

mashy, yes! my ex co! 9-5pm plus providing co. transport island wide (north,south,east,west & central). good staff welfare. 5days week. company focus alot on work life balance. we are allowed to work from home (even finance division). is really a good plc to retire but too bad they outsource most of the dept to china & india and thousands of staff were being retrenched worldwide. Used to be a popular brand before iphone. hahaha.

bestberries, i think if convert to PT & work 3x a week maybe there might be a paycut of at least 60% excluding losing out staff welfare entitlement.

i'm planning to 'retire' & dont mind working PT at macdonald (maybe 99% paycut???) when i hit 40yrs old. counting down to my retirement days...........

I hope my dh read this. hahaha.

Twinkle,
Hee. I hope my husband reading too.
I wnat retire go Nparks become part-time park ranger. Go take photo, count birds, see otters, crocs, spot exotic visitors!

Join Nat Geo filming crew.... or BBC's... Sir David Attenborough came to Sungei Buloh to film a small part of his Life In Cold Blood series (*drool*). Too many things I want to do =p

Bestberries, you can use this formula to calculate how much you should get if working PT:
FT monthly salary x No. of PT working hours per week / No. of FT working hours per week.

Most of the companies require staff to work 8 hours (at least) a day excluding lunch break!! so 9 to 5 is almost impossible.
Perhaps can consider flexi hours, i.e. start early and end early, but not all companies support this.

I can reach home by 6pm but I start work at 7.45am….good thing is I dun have to pay ERP though traffic is still terrible in the morning.

lamagier - u so cute. got all your details for retirement

i want to play with my kids, bring them to parks, museums, bake muffins, cook breakfast for my hb, go for spa, massage, shopping, high tea, travelling, watching tv... oops. writing it out now, i tink i will only spend 30% of my "retirement time" on hb and kids, the rest on it will be lazing around.

lamagier
last wk when i ask the sales assistant, they told me is until last sun. but i still see the sign around. robinsons has 20% discount for cardmembers today and tmrw.

Lamagier
I was in MPH Raffles City today and they are extending the storewide 30% discount to today. Which is why I called you but the reception was super bad, on both ends - Jurong Island and inside the MPH bookstore. I managed to get KK and she is going down later, you may wish to ask her to help you buy?

Chiyojade,
Lol!!! I'm motivated to start planning early by my colleagues, the daily lunch talk and such makes me so KS...

Btw, I'm also looking for mooncakes, wanna buy for my mum & MIL... Any good recommendation? Price not an issue but must be good preferably with nice packaging...

dino-mum,
I'm very lousy at mooncakes! I tried the ones at Raffles a long time ago and liked them. I have discount at Hyatt if you are interested, but dunno if they are good or not.

Someone on the BP (I think) is collecting orders for Goodwood Park so that they can get bigger discount.

chiyojade
yes... the champagne truffle snowskin mooncake from raffles hotel is nice.

lamagier
did u manage to get yr crayola at MPH?

working hour

i work at this company for 5 years because i feel good with their fexible working style. I work from 8.30am to 5.30pm include 1 hour lunch break. i have 16 days of annual leave and if ph fall on sat i still can claim this ph whenever i want. if i want to take leave just need 1 week in advance. They still provided staff meal.

Ahhh!!!!! Shucks! I went to get from the art shop at harbourfront. Darn. Should have gone to Raffles City to try my luck (*bang head on wall*)

long time no 'see'.

lamagier/FOZ, the 30% discount at MPH raffles city is extended (below the line) till end of this month. was there last weekend but din manage to buy any coz baby was cranky. can take your time to go back and grab more books.

thanks lea! Haha, no more books for now. Want to get crayola stuff so my nephew, niece and my girl can play together =p.

Luckily I only bought minimal stuff yesterday =p