(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Re: Coconut:
I heard cleaner mean less pimple on baby's face when it's born. But I've not started eating yet.

TubbyMummy: you mean need to scrub regularly after waxing?

ahnetsan: got a free baby nail clipper at StemCord talk, it's a small clipper type with big loop to put our finger through to hold onto it. Not going to buy another one at the moment.

capiho, same with Cassey mommy, i brought it from Sheng Siong. As long as it is not those that we see in night market (pa-sa-ma-lan) type. NOT THAI FRAGANT YONG COCONUT!!

tubbyM, I hardly read the spam mails. Rem that there are some on massages, some on dunno what food n even one in Malay which I don't understand.

I bought a set of clipper set, comes with scissors, clippers and nail boards (not sure why BB need nail boards). In the end, my gynae just gave me another freebie on Sat - BB nail clipper, courtesy of Wyeth. Have been collecting free bags, bibs, mittens from my gynae every other visit. Last sat, I was told to choose between the bag n clipper vs a romper. Since I oredi have so many clothes for my boi, I just took the tote bag n clipper.

ahnetsan, think better call your obgyn to check what the cramps could be, just to be sure? Don't think any of us here would know specifically. I never felt them before, mine were mild. It's not stomach upset hor? Btw, I bought nail scissors. Then got some nail clippers as free gift at Stemcord talk, so now got both types hehe...

Cassey, guess u'd know best if the contractions are too much or not. Anyway, thurs doesn't sound like too far away, so if u feel good till then, no harm waiting. I also want Elvis durian, didn't get my fix over the weekend. Sent hubby to buy once again, but they didn't stock fresh durians that day. Hrmph. About the coconut, first major hiccup: I got no meat cleaver. 2nd hiccup: I tend to cut myself very easily... even just cutting fruits/veg. I cut myself on average once every 4 times I hold a knife.
Maybe shall get my hero dad to do it hehehe...

Shelisa, YOUNG coconut is not GREEN colour meh??

dolly, they recommended me to scrub alternate days, so as to prevent ingrown hairs. And moisturise everyday. The scrubbing part, sometimes I forget, so few days scrub once. But the moisturing part is easy, I just apply a bit stretch mark cream all the way there haha.

bbjun, I get spammed by similar ppl also, and some other educational thing, toy rental, etc. So annoying. Even after I switched off my PM, I continued to get 1 or 2. I've had this account for years, and never got spammed till now, so I think I can safely assume they are all related. Hrmph. Wah, how come your gynae got so many freebies? My gynae don't have
Only couple of preggie milk powder samples when I took on the package. Chay.

Am still suffering from cough and sore throat
...Had been almost 2 weeks liao, i cough until both side of the tummy r in pain!!!

Last sat was the worst, cough until vomit!!! In the end went to visit another GP and was prescribed with some antibiotics.

Now the cough is more manageable, hope to recover b4 bb pop.

Ladies, I cant attached the picture thus pls refer to this 2 link.
1) This is the original size
http://www.pertorkelson.com/diary_photos/20061202/coconut.html

2) This is what I buy from Sheng Siong, Actually it is the same with top one, I think they hack away t
he outer layer so it will not be so heavy for us and more convenient to take away.
http://sfj.abstractdynamics.org/archives/coconut.JPG

Caramelle, I brought it at serangoon sheng siong, they put it together on the fringe with those veg (lime, mushroom, chilli) there.

<font color="0077aa">caramelle, I believe it's in the chilled section, with the fruits and veggies.
It's a naked cream/beige... about $2 each, I think. HUBBY'LL BE BACK SOON!

Tubbym~, I haven't any spam at all leh! Maybe you need to do a spyware scan and elimination on your computer?

After doing more online research, I feel a little uneasy abt where I am now. I mean, I guess this is about the right time to be getting pre-labour symptoms if I want my little guy to pop at week 37-38... But the more I read, the more it makes me feel like things are happening rather quickly cos I'm saying yup, yup to just about all the 'premature labour' symptoms... Have decided to head in to ob-gyn's clinic tmr morning. Just for some assurance, I guess, to know if anything is progressing "for real".</font>

Halo mummies, just an update on my fat boy, he weighs abt 2.5kg at week 33 and gynae says she wants to induce me at wk 38 which is anytime from 18-22 May i guess.

My bb puts on 566g in less than 2 weeks so gynae told me to stop eating buffet, dessert and fried stuff =(

Contraction -
i tot i was having contraction last week cos i got tummy upset haha...

neeciel: Why gynae wanna induce leh? Is your pelvic very small that your baby cannot go through? Do you have GD? Think mummies with GD the baby will be big too.

Tubbymummy:Thanks for sharing, so I guess need to scrub and moisturize until hair grow again.

Jackie: hope you recover soon! It's no joke to kena cough during pregnancy

Thanks Cassey and Shelisa, is this the same one you can get from NTUC? nvm..today on my way home i will check out cold storage first. if dont have i'll try NTUC. my colleague told me it's like $0.70-$1 each or something (she herself never tried it before so she could be wrong)? but good to know it shouldnt be more than $2..

Cassey, yes he's coming home in 4 days! woohoo! but it will be the longest 4 days...good thing im super bz with work today and tomorrow, have a whole day convention that ends with dinner at 11pm on wed and 2nd day of that convention that ends 5pm on thurs. so won't notice the time passing by i guess..

so excited for you as the day comes closer!

Caramelle, i brought ytd from sheng siong @ $1.20. The price range usually ard $1.20-$2 ba. Yipee, ur hubby is back soon. Let us count down together.

Neeciel, wow, ur bb is doing great!! Ya, why need to induce??

dolly, gynae says bb too big but not sure yet, see how is his progress these few weeks, if he slow down in weight gain then i may be able to deliver in June.

I dun hv GD i cleared my GTT test weeks back but having quite a lot of buffet and dessert recently, thats why bb put on a lot of weight.

Ohh!! I also take my old cupboard from my grandma to my house. To pack bb stuff, look neaty.

Thumb up man!! Cool!! I dare not do that lor.
My MIL birthday also around end of May, hope I can go to the celebration.n

You got go forum today? Neeciel bb weight 2.5kg at week 33!!! Need to induce early!

Afternoon to all mummies..
i thought we suppose to be due in june but how come i read frm the thread some of u r due on May?

Coconut:
is it a must we take coconut as i don like coconut?

Caramelle, shopping more or less than but havent finish washing bb clothes yet.

Shelisa, gynae keeps saying my bb is big and i got small frame lor, haiz i oso dunno why and i am not those very petite type leh...my MIL's BD oso end May but i guess my boi will come out 1 week earlier than her BD.

wah, neeciel, your BB is growing fast! Almost 1kg heavier than mine with abt 2 weeks apart! When I saw Dr Chan on sat, I tot about u, was hoping that ur BB's growth slowed down like mine. Well, I think best to watch your diet a little for the next few weeks and hopefully BB slows down his growth a little so that u can deliver him naturally.

tubbyM, understand. I just put them as junk mail and then from then on, their mails just goes to the junk mailbox. Irritating but no choice cos it's an email that I use regularly.

Caramelle- tis morning i heard one of the store side wife suppose to be due in mid of may but she gave birth on the 1st week of April..
&amp; as it is not in full term but she manage to have a normal delivery ...

contractions,
Yesterday was a bad day for me too. Had 6 in one hour but i didnt call or go down cos I think my uterus very sensitive, especially when i'm constipated.

Casey, do update us after your visit =)

just back from my gynae visit, cervix not shorten but can see that it's opening and closing, like very soft and Dr did the bacteria swab test for me although this test supposed to be done on week 36. She thinks there's a high chance i will not hold till then =( which i realli realli hope not! *crossing my fingers*

Good news is bb weight suddenly increase 500g to 1960g at 32 weeks 2 days. 3 seeds of durian per week do help. but gynae asked me to stop the durians cos the heavier the bb, the sooner i may pop due to my condition. Maybe i should start drinking some coconut drink.

tubbym, 6 days childcare leave i think is compulsory. 3 days paid by employer, 3 days paid by govt =)

bbjun, actually hor i didnt eat a lot leh... just that i got a fair bit of buffet recently but still stick to my 3 meals per day without snacking... dunno how come my boy absorbed so much... was oso shocked that he puts on almost 600g in less than 2 weeks' time.

hatemenot, that's good news! Happy for you.

neeciel, actually I put on so much wt n BB put on very little this past month. But then, all these are estimation, so may not be close to being accurate anyway. I also cannot understand why Dr Chan says that to you when I am obviously smaller size than u.

Neeciel, my gynae say now bb shld put on 150-200g per week. I think urs abit over but at least bb is healthy. I think if u want natural birth then need to induce if bb carry on put so fast right? If not actually u can opt for c-sect right? High five, my MIL birthday also at end of may. Don't worry, ur mil will understand if u cannot attend.

Annie, it is not a must. It is advise only. You can don't eat the flesh, drink the water also can.

bbjun, how much weight you put on til now ah? ya i totally cannot understand why she keeps saying that to me haha... maybe she dun like me lah haha

Shelisa, initially i was still hoping my son to have the same BD as my MIL but looking at it quite unlikely, but i'm sure she will be happy to have a grandson celebrating her BD for her this year =)

bbjun, i put on 12kg so far...but never mind lah, we are at her mercy haha

cassey,
u may just be the 1st one to pop in the june thread! so excited for u!

ahnetsan,
i recommend the nuk baby nail clipper. it can last u for many years. my girl is going 4 yrs old, now still using it.

COCONUTS
am rather apprehensive abt starting coconuts cos im only 32 wks, and also experiencing "unknown" cramps, although i love coconuts!! would probably start at wk 34. i do believe in the old wives tales abt taking coconuts cos my no.1 came out "quite clean".

PATERNITY LEAVE
i think std is 2-3 days. the 6 days is actually childcare leave.

Annie, Old ppl also believe drinking that bb shine will be smooth and shiney. For my malay frenz, they say help in delivery.

Neeciel, It seem like you have a very good term with ur MIL. Envy.

Shelisa, i have very good terms with my in law, she realli treats me well when i stayed with her for a year after wedding =)

neeciel, u are right.. we are really at her mercy. I started asking her a few qns on delivery, like if she will shave, can I wax, blah blah.. then realized I forgot to ask her one qn for the longest time. I really have to start writing down. I m dying to go back to my aerobics class. I just dunno when I can do that after delivery. I know cannot do crunches for quite sometime.. but dunno when can start.

Btw, I borderlining on anemic. Red blood count drop below range .. .slightly. Was told to do the test on sat cos I arrived at the clinic feeling giddy. Then she realised that it was me not sleeping well with the itch n the BB's bum pushing agst my liver and lungs that I am so breathless. But dun need to take the iron tabs. I guess if I make sure I have enuf iron daily, shd be ok la.

Jackie, you poor thing, please take care of yourself ya?

Cassey, don't think it's got anything to do with my computer, cos I'm on a Mac, and macs almost never ever get spyware and all that nonsense, don't even need antivirus software. And the spam I get on my ketchup email is all baby/children related, from local companies. It's not a lot, but I have been enjoying anonymity all along with an email addie like mine, until my PM got activated, so..... I don't believe in coincidences. Anyway, go see your obgyn for some peace of mind. If it's the real thing, at least you'll know for sure, and he may be able to try to help you delay things a bit. If it's not, at least u can relax a bit for now. Good luck!

neeciel, glad to hear that baby is big and healthy! I think you don't have to worry unduly for now. I If baby's growth slow down, I believe u still got good chance of not having to induce. Maybe just listen to your gynae and don't take buffets anymore? And perhaps avoid rich fruits...

hatemenot, how come even though you're on medication, it doesn't prevent the contractions ah? Or it's just supposed to reduce them, not eliminate them altogether? At least your baby is a good weight now, so even if pop soon, he'll be ok
Hang in there, another few more weeks to go only!

bbjun, so do we need to shave?? i havent ask her qns like that... i oso feel breathless last appt and she suspects is my anaemic but i dun feel breathless everyday...only that particular check up dunno why...my reflux is pretty bad esp at night when i sleep... something realli went up to my throat when i sleep, sucks!!

Shelisa, these are all God's grace and blessing that i have good terms with her =)

neeciel - congrats! wow ur bb is a good weight! BTW, which buffets did u go to?? I may wana drag hb there too!!! ehhehe

TubbyM - thanks so much for co-ordinating with Kelly

How has your meal times been so far??

Cassey - pls go to the gynae soon and put ur mind at peace ...

bbjun - hv u tried drinking pork liver soup??? It's good for anaemia...

hatemenot - are those actual contractions or practice?? I am getting more worried each time I see someone post abt them...

Annie, that cute lor. But no harm drinking. As alot of ppl swear by it.

bbjun, do rem to rest. If feel breathless, sit awhile and rest 1st.

Neeciel, it great to hear that. U wanna try to eat small meal to avoid reflux?

Blurmom, actually i have the same prob with u. My tummy seem to be very hard (like rock) everyday. Sometime i also feel my tummy very tight. But it always last me few hours. Then still hard but not tight. I ask my gynae before, she say is normal!! Any other ladies encounter this? Any advise?

sweethalo, so far meals are ok. Fri my mum came over, weekend hubby went out to buy, today my parents came over again with lunch, and also cooked some fried rice that I can have tomorrow. So far so good

Neeciel- u lucky yr MIL is a christian... when my hubby went for his baptism his mother was so unhappy wif him &amp; thought i was the one who influence him as i was frm a roman catholic family..then i baptise wif him as a christian as he prefer to be at the ROCK as it nearer his place &amp; got direct bus

Good afternoon!

Last sat went to KKH for checkup.

Maybe too excited when saw my bb through ultrascan,forgot to ask gynae how is bb's position.. huh...
My bb's weight is 2.1KG @ 32 weeks 5 days
My figer blood test after breakfast is 4.4,so result is good.
Gynae said my plancenta not very low,shouldn't be a problem when give birth

Next appointment will be 3 weeks later

Annie,in that case no choice liao.. got to bear with it... as you need to drink water before go sleep..I can't wear my swimsuit too,will be very tight liao...

Tubbymummy what are rich fruits??

sweethalo, i went to international lunch buffet at Furama Riverfront before my check up last thur, UOB got promotion 1-for-1 hee...quite good spread but no oyster and prawn hor.

Shelisa, i m not eating a lot leh...the reflux just came up to my throat =(