(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo, hubby has been put to the task of buying durians! Hahaha... I make him go to the 717 Trading stall at Old Airport Rd hawker centre, so at least it's close to house and he can just walk back (no need to stink up any public transport), and it's all fixed price, so he won't get unnecessarily "cheated" by those roadside durian stalls. Think u also better tone down on the shopping, since u seem to get tired v easily these days. Save the energy for the more important ones, like GSS!!

capriho88, really ah, can only do your c-sec outside of consultation hours? That means super early in the morning, or in the evening and on weekends? I didn't know this is the practise of some gynaes, I always assumed gynaes just let you choose. BUT... My gynae hasn't told me what time the op will be done yet, so for all I know, he also make me do it outside of consultation hours haha... who knows. I must ask him at my next visit. I read from some other thread that he only does ops on Weds, so I was prepared to choose a Wed date already, but when I asked him, he gave me a whole week to choose any day from, so I was quite happy. End up still chose a Wed hahaha...

tubbymummy,

jia you! we still have about 6 weeks to go. Now is the time to do some blogging or scrapbooking for ur bb to kill the boredom.

tmr will be my appointment with my doctor, hopefully my cervix stay the same..very scared to be hospitalized again.

take care! hope mummies in this forum have full term and healthy bbs

cassey,
glad that it was just a scare. wow, 2 weeks sounds like v soon. yes u should have ur hospital bag ready!

tubbym,
uh-oh, no more shopping! i cnt imagine, praise lord for online shopping! but there aint much nice PJs online... im intending to settle for button-front tees and shorts instead. bought some decent button-front tees from Uniqlo today

rest well and tell baby to stay inside til full-term. im sure she'll listen. meanwhile u must stk up on lotsa books, magazines and videos.

tubbym,
wow.. u do take care.. and eat more bu stuff and drink more water cos bu stuff very heaty.. but i think it may be too risky to do waxing in ur current condition.. when is ur next checkup.. why dont u ask doc whether u can do it.. and maybe u do immediately after the checkup if doc give green light

btw what medication u taking now to prevent contractions?

sweethalo,
ya lor.. i been restricting myself to 3 hrs activities outside the house.. dont want to stress my body too much.. esp when i went thr so much pain earlier last wk

hatemenot, hehe... I got exactly 5wk 4d to my c-sec. Are you doing any scrapbooking? I thought about it, but ended up not doing it, maybe will stick to blogging ba...

Firstmum, yeah, already digging out all my DVDs that I've still not watched yet to occupy my days. Even have Superman cartoons haha...

capriho88, but we do c-sec, think will be better if we avoid top+bottoms kinda combo, cos bottoms may get in the way of the wound area? I've been trying to look for one-piece types, but no luck leh...

fatmom, not really taking any bu, just increase durian a bit more
But about once a week only lah, not everyday. And weekly birds nest. But no specific tonic soup... I'm taking Zenmolin (the drug name is salbutamol), which is essentially the same thing as the Ventolin that some mummies here have mentioned.

tubbym,
think u can also drink coconut.. cos durian very heaty leh.. and i think chicken soup is good enough.. i not taking ventolin already.. still trying to resist taking it.. cos my hands will shake quite badly

i also looking for dress py cos i may go down c-sec route too.. but my mom say pants py better.. cos i need to wear pants to keep my leg warm.. something to do with blood circulation.. not sure.. she say as long the rubber band is higher than the wound can already.. she also did ops before..

fatmom, oh, so we should keep a lookout for those that can wear higher then. But not easy to find this kind also... shall see how. For me so far the meds are not causing any trembling in the hands thankfully. Doc did warn me that it could happen, together with palpitations, but thankfully it's not happening (yet), cos my hands are already numb, if shake some more, I think I don't need to use hands liao... I'll be taking the meds all the way till 2-3 days before I deliver...

sweethalo, yes I did, shared 1 tael with Shelisa. But I also dunno how to see these things whether they are pure or not leh, dunno how. Oh well, since buy already, just eat lor, no choice. I have some other dried ones bought thru another BP, but those are troublesome, it's completely unprocessed, which means must pick out feathers until eyeballs drop. Super tedious. But at least that means it's authentic and not tempered by man.

Apparently the person claimed lesser qty when soaked... and dono what ... so must hv added gelatin

maybe pinch of salt needed anyway... cld be competitor??

Ya, I read the link u posted, I'm also a bit blur what that person means haha... Mrs Loh answered that post, defending her birds nests, which is expected of course. I don't know who's right, cos can't tell hehe...

Hi mummies, sorry to interrupt, i am fm March mummy thread and received a Capella car seat for my baby full month hoping to let go

model: Capella S1100 retail $149 and letting go at $100.

Please PM me if interested, thanks.

sweethalo, what do you call those disposable sheets that we can use to lie on to prevent staining the bed sheet, or for changing diapers? Think u told me u bought at Taka... is there a proper name for those sheets?

erh... no leh... not sure what is the name... but it's precisely disposable waterproof sheets?

I bought them at Isetan, they were cheaper in the end.

TubbhyMummy: Thanks for the advice on waxing. My gynae dun hv the practice to shave, just thinking of waxing out of convenience

Hopefully your condition will become stable after much rest at home.
I bought from Taka baby fair the thing which we lay on our bed to prevent stain, it's called Baby Bear Disposable underpad, pack of 5 sheet and it's $7 for 2 packs.

Fat_mom: I also never done waxing before leh! haha, so also no experience. The gynae's nurse just came back fr maternity leave. She has been waxing at Strip regularly, but she missed the last one before the delivery because her baby come out 3 weeks earlier than expected

TubbyMummy/Sweethalo, Are you refering to "underpads"?

I bought mine from Unity Healthcare, Tena brand, measures 70 x 75cm, comes with 10 sheets, at the cost of $8

Looking for mattress for my second hand baby cot today... so many to choose, but hard to find the correct size!

Anyone heard of the coconut husk mattress? Kiddy palace is selling it, and claims that it's harder so can support new born better.

Good night! Time to sleep

Dolly, I heard and feel them before... I think newborn babies are pretty light
So those husk philosophy not convincing leh... Did you try to get latex mattress from babysafe?

<font color="0077aa">dolly, Tubbym~, sweethalo, First Mum, thanks!
I reckon softening of the cervix has meant that my mucus plug is beginning to dislodge. Sis says the plug's a little like semi-solidified gelatine. I've had quite a bit more mucus discharge in the last 3 days and of slightly different in texture from my usual stringy mucus. Apparently some MTBs don't even realise their plugs are dislodging cos this gradual dislodge isn't as apparent as a 'bloody show'.

Yesterday was a calm day. But today has been a BraxHicks'ie day. I'm having one right now and it's lasted for more than 30s, what, close to a full minute (?) already. I read in my DK Preggie book that it isn't common to have more than 2 BraxHicks in an hour. I shall call clinic tmr to ask if I should be concerned.

Tubbym~, re: Daerius nursing bras, nope, not yet. BP just ended last week and she says waiting for goods to arrive. I sure they arrive, get sent to me, arrive in good condition and most of all, FIT my girlies!! By the time YOU get around to ordering, if she doesn't have those sizes, them bras might arrive in time for your first month celebrations lor *grizzle*

Re: Hospital Bag
Duh... just realised I've packed some clothes and bb's stuff, pads &amp; nursing shawl... but then I don't want to put in MY going home outfit yet and I completely forgot abt admission documents and marriage cert and all that. Haha... Basically my bag is more a sleepover bag than hospital bag. Must get myself organised.

Cassey, thks for the info on the Braxton hicks, didnt realise the tightening of abdomen is one of the symptoms too and i reckon i do have dat at times, tot is baby poking up. Im actually monitoring for menstrual cramp feeling..

What a hot night tonight.. Having fan blowing at me and im still perspiring..

Blurmom: Latex mattress cannot sun leh, else it will be harden, so wonder if I should get those. Not much choice, spring mattress for Mothercare only fit the current Mothercare cot bed. Mine is secondhand Mothercare, haha... the size has changed! We are also thinking getting the full coconut husk mattress... baby can get used to sleep on this kind of not so soft mattress

Good morning ladies!

dolly/Blurmom, oorrrhhh... so they're called UNDERPADS ah? I'm wondering if anyone sells online haha, so I need a name to search with. Thanks!

sweethalo, how much were yours from Isetan? Same brand?

dolly, think tinybubu mentioned that she used to go to Strip, then the most recent time she went to Honeypot and said it was so much better, virtually painless. So maybe Honeypot is better? Maybe ask for the same person hehe. I don't have any means of comparison, since I've never been to other places before. I thought Honeypot was still painful lor, but maybe Strip was really MORE painful. *gulp*

Cassey, I ended up ordering a couple of the nursing sleep bras from another lady, so I think if all else fails, there are those 2 to tide me thru the hospital stay... She said her stock should come in on 4/5/09, and will mail out immed. once she gets them, so I think won't be celebrating first month yet ba...

Let us know what your clinic says when u call them ya? I think by the time u have them numerous times an hour, they're considered proper contractions already? It's not something scientific I read of course, just that I was thinking they monitored me on the CTG for 20min the other day, so I'm guessing that it's the real deal if you have 2 contractions within that 20min time frame.

feeling lethargic! Dunno whether it's the weather or we are virtually tried out by now. Just couldn't concentrate at work and can really feel my head swelling!

Re:Coconut
anyone started on that already? An aged colleague told me I can start now, 1 per week, should be ok. Just want to know who started and how frequent. I will give the flesh a miss, since I am still curbing my sugar and carbs intake. But so sayang, the flesh are so juicy and nice!!!

Re:Disposal mat
Tubbymummy, I bought mine from Kiddy Palace. Dunno what's the name, but think most pharmacy and drug store do sell them. Maybe try googling "disposal changing mat"? Or get your hubby to buy them from guardian or kiddy palace.

Re:hospital bag
Cassey, I haven't really do it yet too, just trying to dump in things I remembered. My PJs are market bought, haven't wash them too. Spent my weekend washing bb clothings and sorting them according to sizes. I realised that though I didn't buy many, I still have quite alot of newborn and 3-6mths clothings. Just pray that bb won't get too big for newborn size!

morning....

TubbyM, be a good gal and stay at home and rest. Do things that you have always wanted to do but have been putting off.

Disposal mat: what do we really need it for?

Coconut: some say can start drinking at week 32. start with 1 a week followed by about 2-3 when nearer due date. Not too sure if it works but alot of pple swear by it. And with the weather these days, think a coconut drink will be so refreshing!

hospital bag: packed mine, but still yet to put in some stuff.

split: i think there's no govt legislation on dad taking leave. so it all depends on company?

ah.. same as tubbyM, was looking for this disposable changing mat for quite sometime. Shall go Kiddy to take a look soon.

Re: Coconut
Had some yesterday at my mum's who intended to buy one to show me how it looks like but I wanted to drink becos it was so HOT and my tummy, armpits and breasts are itching like mad. The good thing is that there are no rashes but the bad thing is that I have scarred myself with all the scratching. Gynae gave me this menthol lotion that will give a extremely cool feeling when applied. but it only last 30mins so I used that to help me fall asleep. Still need to tolerate this for 6-8 weeks!

split, my hubby's company has no Paternity leave, so whatever leave he wants to take has to be annual leave, subject to approval. I think the 6 days thing is only a govt recommendation? Or is that childcare leave?

Thought of starting to drink some cooling coconut, to counteract my heaty durian, but eh, dunno where to buy. My aunt said can buy from NTUC, but isn't that the kind where I still need to hack the darn thing open by myself? I bought one before last time, and asked hubby to hack open, we caused a HUGE MESS in the kitchen, juice splattering all over the place. I've been banned from buying them hehe.

Tubby, you be good and stay home okay? tell us if you need anything, i'll charge you a nominal home delivery fee hehe

re coconut: what is it good for again? just drink the juice or also must eat the flesh? i've never eaten/drank coconut before but if it's good for baby i'll step up to it!

Anyone else get spammed when your PM is activated? I recently activated mine for the newborn photography thing, and I got spammed again. It happened previously also, so I switched it off. Pissed me off enough to forward the unsolicited PM to the mod. I'm gonna switch it off again. Pooi pooi pooi.

caramelle, dunno what the coconut is good for, but I've been told it's cooling, so I'm thinking of eating/drinking to counteract the durians that I've been on hehe. Think someone told me before that taking coconuts before delivery means your baby will be "cleaner" upon birth. How clean is clean, I have no clue. Maybe they're talking about the vernix?

TubbyM - when I saw it at Taka before the fair, it was $4 per pack, so bought it at Isetan at $3.50.

Would like me to get it for you if I go to town?

Lovelytulips- it's just to lay over or under our bedsheets in case we have any accidents.. also heard that our breast can leak milk when we are asleep.

TubbyM - coconut is cooling ... i thot it's for when nearer full term... I wld think safer for you not to drink it yet leh...

helo mummies,

i went for a brazillian recently and now there's alot of pus-filled pimples at the area now. So painful to wear anything at all. Just wondering if it's common? I googled it and I thought of using Caron Lab Tea Tree Oil. Any mummies used it b4? Coz I'm not sure if its safe for pregnancy.

1st time BW after almost a year. Previously I used to go to Spa Haven for my BW but the condition wasn't as bad as this.

~~ worried ~~

sweethalo, not safe to drink now har? Hmmm ok... maybe I just take a bit of barley drink or something, cos can feel that sort of heaty sore throat coming up...

But if u get for me the underpads, how to pass to me wor..? Oh ya, I still have your husk pillow! Must find a way to pass to you... I think the underpads, I'll send my mum out to buy, together with disposable undies.

Re: Coconut
Heard people said drink coconut is good for bb because we took too many heaty food during pregnancy and coconut will cool the bb down, if not bb will be heaty and have lots of red rashes when born. Not sure how true it is though.

But since weather is so hot, don't mind drinking it... hee...

tubbyM, I got spammed a few times.

Pinkiez, it's not common to have pimples after BW unless u have been bathing in hot water or did a scrub right within 24hr of the BW. Try not to irritate the area with anything harsh n it should pass. If it's still bad, best to see a doc.

TubbyM - I am not sure whether can drink or not... but thot safer not to at the moment...Drink lots of water ... actually maybe Honey water will help that sore throat...

oh then i guess its my fault then coz i had a slightly warm shower within 24 hrs.

thx bbjun ... I'll wait and see if it gets better.

pnkiez, i think it's not normal too, I didn't get anything like that. Within 24hrs not supposed to scrub, but subsequently you would need to scrub on alternate days to prevent ingrown hairs. Ingrown hair would irritate your skin, and may have also caused the small bumps with pus?

bbjun, I got spammed with what SILVER FISH for mother's day. Why would I wanna buy silver fish for mother's day?? Did a search on the sender, and there are no posts from these ppl, so I assume they signed up account purely for the purpose of spamming, even more irritating.

sweethalo, I shall go drink my manuka honey now... was trying to avoid it cos I don't really like the taste of manuka honey.

yo all,

tubbymummy, be guai guai and stay at home yeah? and yeah drink more water

btw, the coconut is the green or white one ar? (sorry, i forgot)

those who buying tollyjoy wet wipes, can go to AMK central blk7xx opposite polyclinic, there's a shop selling all baby products... the tollyjoy wet wipes (3 containers at $11.90 at outside price) is selling at only $9.90 at the baby shop. and the tollyjoy and pigeon packet wet wipes are also $2 cheaper than outside.

btw, have u all bot baby nail clippers? which brand did u buy? and wat type? scissors type or clipper type? pls advise.

btw, anyone been experiencing this - sharp pain feeling at the bottom of tummy... wat does this mean?

MIA a fews day. Last sat when for checkup, my girl weight 2.1kg at week 33. My gynae say my girl have a long foot, now already 7cm!! Like mommy. Guilt!!

Reg: Green Coconut. NOT YOUNG COCONUT!!
Actually from week 28, i already started every 2 week i coconut. Then week 32 onward, weekly 1 coconut. then to nearer date like week 37 can drink 2-3 coconut 1 week. I heard from malay frenz, they say drinking coconut can help in smooth &amp; easily delivery. For chinese old ppl, they said, some bb after give birth, their forehead have those white white dot thing (they said it is sperm, after drinking cocnut, it will help to clear away all this thing, then during pregnancy we eat alot of heaty food, thus bb body also heaty, so after drinking can neutral it and also make bb say very smooth and shinney. My sil tried it and swear by it. for her 1st son she didnt drink, ended up really got the white white dot thing. for 2nd son she still have sex but she drank coconut, ended up, no white white dot and her son hair is so smooth and shinny.

Sweethalo, yup i shared Mrs Loh birdnest with Tubbymummy. Ytd i tried, i feel that Mrs Loh bird nest don't have those eggy smell, then i feel hers is like more jelly. But she keep Strongly said that her is house nets, not cave net. So got diff?? Then i also buy another bird nest from BP as t'mummy said pick the feather until eyes ball nearly dropped!! But that got eggy smell even tho i added some red date in. Actually my mil recently brought me a box of bird nest from 'fu hwa', maybe i tried liao then can compare with Mrs Loh 1.

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, I've been drinking coconut since Wk 32. As long as you're not having one daily, shouldn't be a prob. I have it once a week or twice if mum offers.
It's actually quite easy to hack open a coconut. My mum showed hubby and me how to do it and I managed to open the first one. He did a better job on the second.
- You just use a meat cleaver, hold it higher up on the handle, close to the blade.
- Using the CORNER of the cleaver CLOSEST to your hand to hack a pentagon/hexagon at the opening.
- Just go HACK! HACK!... HACK! HACK!... HACK! HACK!... leaving a 'hinge'
- Open the 'door' and enjoy!

split, I'd always thought the MOM requirement is 3 days paternity leave. But have been told otherwise. Apparently it isn't an entitlement but a benefit. So it differs from company to company depending on their HR policy.

ahnetsan, bought Tommee Tippee nail clippers... but WBB did mentioned during one of her classes that, scissor type might be bit easier to use.

cassey,
scissors type of nail clipper is easier to use? the tommee tippee nail clipper u bot is the nt the scissors type one right?

oh so it's green coconut... must keep dat in mind...

TubbyM - yeah when i feel a sore throat coming, i take a tablespoon of manuka and mix it in water...drink it and it seems to help

<font color="0077aa">caramelle, needn't eat flesh. But no harm eating it either.

capiho, I believe my mum gets hers from Sheng Siong.

ahnetsan, yeah. I bought clipper type before going for antenatal class ma. So don't want to get another scissor type one.

Tubbym~, clinic nurse said if she asks dr, dr surely says come cos he can't tell unless he sees me. Says if I'm concerned, pop by... if I'm not, then it's up to me to not pop by. I guess if the repeated contractions happen again >4x an hour, I'll prob bring fwd my apptmt. But otherwise, I'll keep to my Thurs apptmt. I WANT ELVIS DURIANS!</font>