(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

jam75, erm i dunno abt natural birth. my colleague who delivered last yr at MT A natural birth didnt talk abt the binder. The binder that MT A sell me is for pple who had operation, not limited to child birthing cos it can be used for operation on other parts of body. it's something similar to the postal natal massage cloth wrap but it rubber/stretchable type. haiz .. sad to tell u that i only managed to shed 23kg then i m pregnant again... sianz...

lfb,
yes u can just opt for gas and no epi. i took gas for a short while, but its useless loh, after 5 mins i threw aside the mask and told the nurse "just gime epi pls!"

but a few of my frens used only gas for their 2nd deliveries. and they all puked from overdosage. cos laughing gas in big quantities can make u super giddy and nauseous.

TubbyMummy,you still have 3 weeks to pratice this .. hope to hear your good news on 21 Mar ;-)

My gynae already said that we better don't do prenata massage~~ and don't squat,but sometimes we also need to pick up things from the floor...

Cassey,thanks for your advise... i will try kegel exercises.. my friend told me lying on left side work to her~~ she just lying on her left side,after two months her placenta moves up..

<font color="0077aa">Jess Ma, no worries. Anyway, I don't think it's "work or don't work". Low lying placenta quite often adjusts itself in last trimester. If it doesn't, whatever you do, it just doesn't de.. I hope yours sorts itself out!</font>

Eh, anyone knows what's the difference between epidural and spinal block? I read in a couple of books, read over and over again, it still looks almost like the same thing to me. Anyone knows what's the difference? Or is it same effect, just that it's a different drug used??

LFB, I opt for gas without epi for my first delivery. Nah, of no use to me. Wonder what that gas really do and in fact make me can't even concentrate in controlling the pain.

Shelisa, that is if you can get to the hospital before your cervix dilates before 3cm which is very difficult (at least for me).

thanks for your explanation on gas. I was reading other threads from other mummies in Feb and March and som mentioned using gas. I am afraid of the side effect of epi, so now thinking. Think I may use gas, though I know my sisters will think I am siow again!

Tubbymummy,
yesterday I was so tempted to buy a pack of durian to eat! Then I remembered I have ice cream at home! So I bought some ice cream cone and took that instead! Shiok! Chocolate flavour!

Cassey, I tried boysenberry, but I still like peach. So funny, when I was buying, another preggie was behind me, buying peach flavour! I was so tempted to ask her whether she is from this thread! Ha ha ha!

cassey, mock goose is made up of beancurd sheet. haha! stare harder, imagine more, you'll see tat it looks like goose.

first mum, i know we need to pay for epi. so we need to pay for laughing gas? hehe!!

jess ma, lying on left side can help placenta move up? hmm... i hv been lying on my left side when i sleep, although i always end up on my back when i wake up. hopefully it's helping a bit.

Ling, I did go for a short while, I reach ard 8pm+, walk ard then wanna close liao. Did get anything except the pamper and avent VIA cup. U rem to drink more plain water as the weather recently good n bad.

audreyaw, you means the injection at the hip or thigh must before your cervix dilates before 3cm? y u say hard? I tho usually we pain liao then go hospital, then the cervix will slowly dilates open right? OR it will auto dilates once we pain?

Shelisa, slowly auto dilates once we get the contraction pain say every 5 mins. When u get the pain, you don't go straight to the hospital but u will go bath first. Haha.. Then inform your hubby who will be going with you.

Every time I reach hospital, it's already 3cm so no more injection at my thigh. =(

By the way, when i went to delivery suite they don't push u in straight. First, registration then sit outside common area for abt 10mins-20mins depending whether there are beds (in common room) available or not then go inside a room where gynae will check if u r ready for delivery or not. If u r, then proceed to delivery suite. If not, i had no idea. Hee..

First Mum, Robinson's got 20% on nursery and no additional discount with the card? wah good news for me so i no need to trouble any mummies here. yay! can go down today after my antenatal class at KKH!

ahnetsan, VBAC is vaginal birth after c-sect. i heard some gynaes don't do this at all, they don't encourage it. guess dr adrian woodworth is different.

welcome Superbee and Panda!

caramelle, wat do u mean by vaginal birth aft c-sec?? actualli my cousin oso wif dr adrian her 1st 1 is c-sec &amp; 2nd wan natural birth leh...heard usuali 1st 1 c-sec will all the way c-sec le!

jam75 it's like what your cousin had. #1 is c-sect then #2 want natural, some gynaes don't allow but i cant remember why (too bad now in the office cannot research on it). there are some threads here also talking abt VBAC.

MTBs, im just helping another mummy also on SMH and whom i just bought items from yesterday. if you are looking for baby clothes, can check out her website www.thefashionloft.com . her items although preloved are either new and well-maintained. what i like about her items is that even though it's 2nd hand, she will wash and iron all the items. i had a bad experience from some other mummies who sold me items which were stained/torn then i felt obliged to buy cos they already pack for me and they travelled all the way to meet me. in the end, im packing to donate all those other items i cannot use.

yesterday i bought about $40 worth of clothes (got about 10 pieces) and find the mummy very accomodating. she sell both boy and girl stuff from 0 months to 3 years.

sigh, now really got to stop buying clothes for my baby girl and start sorting out the heaps in her room! anyone else going as crazy as me with baby girl clothes? cannot resist all the pink and purple!

Audreyaw, you means we wait in the common room to give birth instead of the delivery suite? Like that we pay so much for wat?

Shelisa, not really giving birth there but to check if you are indeed going to give birth or not since delivery suite charges us hourly. If false alarm, i mean not dilating (they also monitor bb heartbeat there), then no point ask u pay $ to wait inside the suite. Maybe admit you into ward?

audreyaw, hmm. i think must wait for the acutal day then know how Mount A handle me?? haha. But im curious is that u are in pain and u can concentrate in bathing?

Shelisa, Yup. Haha.. actually you are not in pain constantly when it started to dilate, it like 3mins of pain and 5mins of relax or maybe 5mins of pain and 10 mins of relax. The frequency of it will depends on individual.

capriho, my kness goes wobbly reading ur post.. seriously.. u can feel EVERYTHING..?
*fainted*... I'll insist and try on natural birth as much as I can then.. my hands goes cold on the sight of nedle (like Shelisa.. hehe..), with the 'cut-ur-tummy' thots.. haiz.. *fainted again*..

jam75, yeah.. our cool doctor.. when I went to Thomson that day, he showed up in bermuda, also keep sayin tat.. 'not to worry'.. goin to see him this weekend, missed out the last appointment due to working late.. really miss seeing my girl.. hope I dun put on weight too much..

Cass, think the flu bugs are flying around these days, hope I dun catch it tho.. feel rather faint today.. I am very happy with our new station, and I think now my tummy really showing liao, was given a seat from city hall ytd.. am so thankful.. but oh, do u notice there are ppl takin the train to Joo Koon direction, alighting at our station and just walk across to take the train to city direction..?

Shelisa, thanks.. would u be goin for the taka fair next week..? My friends told me that they may have the diapers &amp; baby wipes promo.. I found the expo bb fair last wk not so great, got so many insurance ppl there.. just not so sure for taka fair, is taka cardmember would have extra discounts..

caramelle, u'er not alone.. *hi-5* to u.. I've got all things pink and a few purple too here at home..
hehehee.. my hubby initially commented each time I bought clothes, dress, skirts, etc.. now he gave up, just let me be with my baby girl's dress frenzy..

Ling, so the taka fair date is confirm? If it is taka fair I mostly will be gg as I have million of time have not buy yet except for bb clothes. My bb clothes all handover from frenz n colleague. Thus on bb clothes save quite a lot. So far only buy 2 sets of long sleeve for bb. Yah lor, the expo fair, all insurance or not those full mth cake voucher.

sorry mummies,
i have a pack of 2 NUK Teats to let go. Latex, Medium Feed hole, Size 1 (for 0-6mths). Interested, pls PM me.. thanks!

Mika Rei,lying on left side it's works for few mummies.. but just like what cassey said sometimes don't think it's "work or don't work".We just try it out or our placenta will adjusts itself.. as long as we try our best and don't worry too much..

Cassey,thank you!

Shelisa,
Yup, is better to smell nice for the baby you are meeting later. Hee..
My friend can even finished her hongkong drama, then go bath before heading to hospital. Don't think I can do that if I were her.
So envy you having friends and colleagues passing you items. I bought everything as no1 has it or they are keeping it for the next bb. =(

Ling, actually i could feel the stitching during that time too. Weird and uneasy lo.. But don't think I can stand the feeling of cutting up.

Taka fair
I am still considering to go or not to go. Nowadays I been feeling so restless, no more energy. want to check out in case i miss out some items.

Audreyaw, really? Your frenz seem to be powerful man!! If I were her I will scare and panic and cry for help liao, maybe I 1st time. I rem that time u told us you go for natural delivery w/o epi right? So u means u can feel the cutting even tho you are in great pain? I was told by my frenz that the stomach is so pain that u cant feel the cutting or stitching? Actually im quite lucky, as some of my frenx just gave birth thus have hand over bb clothes

Shelisa, that time she also first time delivery. Just that she feel might not be so fast and not really in pain so she just sat there to finish it.

Yup, you don't feel the cutting if you are not using epi. In fact you don't even know when it was cut lo, haha..

But the moment you gave birth, there is no more pain at all. So you can feel the pain when the nurse jab an injection on your thigh right after birth. Will inject anesthesia at the area which is pain too but after that no more feeling. You can feel the needle going in and thread going through. -.-

audreyaw, ohh, after give birth they will give us a jab? is it a must? so actually is inject at the thigh or abt private part there? you say you can feel the needle going in and thread going through but will it pain? make myself prepare 1st. haha

Shelisa, is a must sad to say. Is to get the placenta out (if i didn't remember wrongly). Inject on your thigh and is super pain. Private part is anesthesia before stitching you back lo. It's not pain but is weird and cold, haha..

am bk..heheh..sorry, been caught up recently..

Re: gas w/o epi
i had gas w/o epi during the final stages of contractions (when i was being pushed to the delivery suite from my ward). I guessed i've only used it for less than 10mins..as the pain was so intense and felt so breathless + groggy with the mask on. overall, it was useless for me..at least.

Re: yami yogurt
fwah..saw u gals mentioning about yami yogurt for couple of days already..i cheong to jpt and grab 2 pints (boysenberry + peach)just now hohoho..

Re: Ameda breast pumps
someone (sorry, too many archives to backtrack) was mentioning about Ameda breast pumps? If u are a member of the breast feeding org, u can purchase under member's price @$330. http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/nursing-products-pricing.html membership fees for a yr is $25. If you are attending the breastfeeding classes, there are also discount for members. (eh, i sound as if am promoting)
otherwise, i've just received flyers from Isetan private member sale on 12 Mar. Ameda Lactaline breastpump(+2 bottles,gold cream 10ml &amp; tulip nipple shield) u.p $448.60, now at $350. usual bb products (avent,pigeon,nuk, combi,etc) on 20%.

Cassey,
Hope you are getting better now.

btw, am expecting a princess! hohoho..finally i can grab hold of those pastel pink stuffs..My fave!

HI gals,

On my hb's laptop again... still got prob with mine.. Today went for Tang's sale... it was so so crowded! arrgh.. now legs aching

Hi nozomi, good to see you back

huh got Isetan sale??? *fainted*

nozomi,
congrats on ur lil girl

sweethalo,
how was the tangs sale? any gd buys? but ended today right?

wonder where got sale this wkend... seems like most of the members' sales have ended.

nozomi,
congrats on ur lil girl

sweethalo,
how was the tangs sale? any gd buys? but ended today right?

wonder where got sale this wkend... seems like most of the members' sales have ended.

audrey, OMG.. u can feel the stitching, cutting up.. *fainted again*..

Cassey, confirm I catch the flu bug too.. maybe from some colleagues in office, some more I've been working late this week.. haiz.. why such timing when I'm craving for durian..

Shelisa, I think it's confirmed, saw it in the Taka website, but I've never been to one before, the period of the fair quite long actually, so I'm not so sure whether it's being held at the Taka atrium area there with various booths, or it's just some sale at the baby &amp; nursery department..

jam75, my colleague told me that her gynae very very thorough and detailed with her, said that based on MOH, he recommended her to take flu jabs during the first trimester, so her body more immune to flu viruses, hm.. I told her that our gynae have diff style lor.. maybe for next pregnancy I'll ask for it, catching cold now, my second time during this pregnancy..

Blurmummy, welcome back, how are you ?

nozomi, congrats! welcome to the princess club
happy shopping (you won't be able to resist)..

Hi First Mum,

Somethings in Tangs are cheaper than Robinson's since you were saying Rob has no member's special for nursery.

I bought Medela Purelan for less 15% +10% plus Tangs 12% rebate.. so quite worth it.

The Tangs Member's sale is until tmr...

Thinking of getting baby activity mat and baby cot mobile from them too since got less 20% +10% and rebate.

BTW, First Mum!! I found Nuk Wet Wipes at tangs!!

sweethalo,
wow the discounts sound fab! looks like i'll make a trip down tmr.

NUK wet wipes!! i found out yesterday that they are available at JL too! i intend to stock up cos thick and gd but so difficult to find. only worry is they may dry up...

ehehe me too! I bought 3 pack x 2 since you mentioned that they are good.

BTW, the breast wipes are by Chicco at $6 nett...

Nuk also has Breast Wipes but more ex.

nozomi, so glad to see you back! You been missing quite leh, missed you here hehe... Congrats on your baby girl!

sweethalo, member sale till tomorrow is it? Hey, is it Tangs Citibank cardmember only, or eligible for other Citibank cardmembers? I have normal Citibank card, but they have it linked up to their system and pasted some Tangs sticker on my card. Ooh, maybe I'll buy the wetwipes too! But How to keep them from drying out? Store inside airtight tupperware??

I just watched some prog on CH5 just now, the local one shot in SGH? Called Life Watch or something like that. They featured a premature baby, and it was so tiny and fragile. It makes me really hope I don't pop premature, or at least so prematurely.

TubbyMummy, if u hv the tangs sticker should be ok ba?

But this is a closed door sale.. they quite strict don't let non-members in at all..first time I experience this at Tangs sale though.

I think I will be going down again tmr to get the activity mat.

I think the wet wipes as long as you don't open it, it can last 2 yrs, I checked that the expiry was 10/2011 so should be fine

I was also kiasu, so I bought the Tollyjoy round cylinder as well so that I can use the canisters later to store other wipes especially for car usage which is quite hot.

thks sweethalo. cnt believe im getting excited over wet wipes haha!

breast wipes is quite a gd idea. esp for BF mums who dont intend to bath during confinement. but are they proven to be 100% safe??

btw just to share a little abt bottle detergent. most people use pigeon, they always have bundle promo. but personally i find it soapy and slippery even after much rinsing. so i switched to NUK, which is very gd, but they raised the price to 24.90 per bot!! so i switched to tollyjoy. which is ok. but i realised it leaves residue in my daughter's bottles. eg, if i dont change the water in the bottle for some time, i pour out and drink, there wld be a fragrant aftertaste. abit like drinking perfume-tainted water.

sweethalo,firstmum,Ling,tubbymummy,
thank you all. muuuack..

Tubbymummy,
i was so tempted to catch the life watch today..but i've decided to refrain from it. i want to stay in happy spirits.

satisfied my yami yogurt cravings..topped with cranberries. yum yum..what's next? durians?..hohoho