(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

createjoy: stroller not allow on flight, so need to deposit at the boarding gate just before stepping into the airplane. We are supposed to change diaper at the toilet when we are in the plane.

bbaugustine: Now that my boy is on porridge/rice cereal, he dun poo that much too, sometimes can dun poo for a day.

ecmon: we just gotten the UTI test strips from Watson at Vivo City, tested the urine just now and it's negative
Now thinking of canceling the MCU test this Monday.

sorry to interupt. I'm from the may 2009 thread. Have 5 packets of M size PetPet to let go cheaply as my daughter has outgrown them. PM me if interested. Thanks =)

createjoy, when you travel with baby, you are allowed to bring stroller with you. You can check in your stroller, but if you want to use it to push baby around in the airport all the way till before you get on the plane, you can also do so, just that when you get to the gate, they will take the stroller from you and stow away, cos you can't bring it on the main passenger part of the plane with you. Which was what dolly did. So when she got off the plane, she had to wait for them to bring out her stroller to her first, before she could rush with her boy to the changing room in the airport (cos he poo at the end of the flight, so didn't use airplane toilet to change him). Otherwise, if she run off to change him, then when they bring out her stroller, dunno what they'll do with it if no one is there to take it
For me I didn't bring stroller along with me on this trip, so after getting off the plane, I didn't have to wait around for the crew/staff to bring me my stroller. Just ran to changing room hehe.

bbaug, while we were in UK, Skyla didn't poop for several days. She was constipated, and subsequently had the most traumatic case of passing out many small lumps of hard stools. She wailed through the whole ordeal that lasted about half hour. I have since been feeding her prunes everyday, and making her drink super diluted prune juice. So far no more constipation
good luck, I don't want Aug to suffer the same fate.

jamie, yes, very wasted! Really wanted to go, and also, both hb and I have been to paris individually, but we haven't been there together, so wanted to experience it as a couple/family. Guess we'll have to do it some other time then. Maybe when kid is bigger and can park her with her grandparents for a couple of days and the 2 of us can run off for some proper couple time! But yes, the jetlag... See the time of my posting?
That's just her having fallen asleep. It'll be another 2wks I reckon, to get her back to her old routine
Not trying to put you off though haha... Maybe go, and then come back before baby gets adjusted to that time zone? kekeke

Tubbymummy / dolly,
really bad experience, NVM is 2010 already leave the bad things behind.

Dolly,
Got UTI test strip? I dun know so suaku :p
Btw why not u ask ur pd should your boy to thru DMSA first instead of MCU? If found his kidney got no scarring he might not ned to go thru MCU, I hear the procedure for MCU already can feel the pain.

tummymummy, oh.. sayang.. hope your ankle is better now

Jamie, oh ya think i forget to reply u on the thermometer price huh, think after all the disc i have dat time, i bought about less than $110.. So u have yrs liao? After i bought the thermometer and 2 days later genieve has her first fever.. Duno its jus taboo or wat? so coincidence..

I usually sieve my porridge till puree and give genieve but seems like she doesnt like this soft taste and wana some texture. Hmm.. later i shall not sieve and see if she reacts better. Did you mummy still make your food like puree or make soft with spoon for some texture for baby?

tubbymummy, thks for explaining the stroller thing haha..
creamer i find it easier to feed with thicker texture they dont drool out.. :p

Hi hayoki,

My ger has juz turned 7 mths old. Started her on semi solids a mth ago.

I'm oso giving her HT barley & brown rice. When she was on brown rice (only), I noticed tt her poo was more 'solid' n oso redness @ her anus. So I gave her barley instead (n temporarily stopped the brown rice) n her stools seem to soften. Read somewhere tt brown rice is actually quite heaty so I decided nt to give daily. Other than HT cereal. she's oso eating porridge.

Before giving HT cereal, I gave my ger nestle rice cereal but she din really like it even when I mix wif EBM, prob cos of the liquid consistency and vanilla taste. My ger liked HT so much tt she can finish up 5 tbsps of brown rice/barley cereal within minutes. There's no harm tryin out other brands so long baby is receptive.

hey dolly.200906

I'm in the same situation. My girl will oso cry n cry @ nite n can only be pacified by me. It started abt a mth ago. I was juz too tired & lazy to wake up n go to her cot to get her hourly so she has moved into our bed. Even when she is slpin by my side, she will still wake up a few times. I suspect she cld b teething, causing discomfort. My girl is still nt sleeping thru @ 7 mths. sigh... Has anyone's baby teethed yet?

Happy New Year.

So fast time has passed and all our kiddo will be 7 months or already 7 months.

Cereal
I started my boi with Frisco cream 2 weeks ago and he has been on that eversince. Just to ask. How many times did you feed baby now? And how much? I feed him twice, only Frisco cream with hot water. I read that banana will cause constipation, is it true? Then those puree in a bottle, can we freeze unfinish content and reheat again? TIA!

lfb cant advise u on frisocream but jar food after open consume within 48hr (most are like this u chk on the jar itself) u use dry clean spoon to scoop then chil the remaining. the next meal u use dry cean spoon again to scoop on a saucer or whatever that u can put into a bigger bowl of hot water to warm it. not so sure abt freezing it but i think not advisable . already not that nutrient as fresh mayb will lose more nutrient after opening n freezing?? not sure about that..

hi lfb

i feed my baby twice a day - lunch & dinner. i do not usually supplement wif milk if the meal is rather heavy eg brown rice cereal wif (half an) avocado & apple puree. on the other hand, if i only give barley cereal, i will latch her afterwards.

after i open the bottled puree, I store it in the chiller. i'll scoop the desired amt wif a clean spoon fr the bottle n return it to the fridge n discard unfinished contents within 2 days, as per advice on the food label. freezin & reheatin contents shld b fine cos tts hw we store our BM oso mah.

HI All

HAPPY NEW YEAR! Have not login for some time and haven't read through all the posts I've missed!

Anyway started Noah on solids one day after he turned 6mths... It was a complete joy to see him eat. He totally enjoyed his solids so much and was so happy and laughing throughout... This continued for about a week and I was increasing the amount he ate and also variety. He tried avocado, pumpkin, carrots, sweet potatoes... then all of a sudden, I don't know what happened... he got completely turned off solids and started fussing whenever his bib came on!

It became so difficult to feed him and he seemed to want to latch more... He even tore off his bib to tell me he didnt want solids... and kept making sounds like Ahh BOOO Ahh BOOO as if to say nonononono!!

Hiayo, I have since stopped giving solids since Sunday... and think will stop for awhile... Don't know what else to do

Anyone has suggestions?

Createjoy - hahha I think Men just bochap so can sleep through even the loudest cry... or maybe they dono wht to do so might as well sleep...

TubbyM - hiayo i thot u wld hv done Paris... nvm la next time would be nicer when Skyler is older

Noted about the extra clothing tip!

Dolly - welcome back to Singapore
Must have had a great time in HK :p

ECmom- Hope Cayden is all better already... I read in FB that he can crawl liao! congrats

Creamer- wah looks like u got the thermometer in time la... not pantang... I dun think it's cos u got the thermometer then she kena fever :eek:)

Ahnet & Createjoy - I am currently putting an extra carpet under the playmat... hahah stupid right? My fren tells me no need, the babies will get used to the knocks soon..hehehe... anyway just using it this way for now and Noah seems ok when hitting the mat that way.

Afternoon mummies,

LFB- i gave nesher solid once a day follow up by 4 feeding of milk. those puree in a bottle i intro half bottle 1st then slowly now he can finished up the whole bottle & i made sure he take alot of water after the puree
as nesher is a big eater he finish up everything & if got leftover i made his daddy eat
no leftover for my beloved.

sweethalo- i intro slowly solid for nesher following the guideline :
1st week- milk for breakfast, lunch, tea & bedtime. Mid morning part milk & 1-2 tsp babyrice progressing to milk with fruit /vegetable puree.
2nd week- milk for lunch & bedtime, fruit puree & baby rice for morning, vegetable puree & baby rice for mid morning & tea time variety of vegetable puree.
3rd week- Variety of fruit purees with baby rice for breakfast, vegetables puree & baby rice for mid morning, milk for lunch & bedtime & tea time is variety of vegetable puree.
4th week- same as 3 rd week except the lunch be medley of vegetables purees.
be intro meat in later stage

what else do u gals feed for veg? spinach,carrot sweet potato, potato, zucchini anything else? i running out of idea.

sweethalo haha that's a gd idea! talk about getting used to knock. damn pissed... told my mil off 2 weeks ago if jayden not crying playing by himself, it's alrght to fall on the bumper mat let him get use to some pain dont carry unnecessary till now she dont carry or go near him at all . wat's wrong with it?!! n just now was 3rd time i bathe he cry till dont know like what she still act busy dont carry him. must she spite me like that? feud aside, bb is innocent, halo ur grdchild if hurt in the playpen cry how? feel like telling her i ask u dont carry unnecessarily didnt say cannot carry at all!
she always tk words at surface.. confinement i c sect i cant bend to bathe him, one day she want to go out i told her she can go out early if she wants, hb n i can bathe him that day then after that day she dont bathe him but put out the things for me to bathe him. i dont know what she thinking. no doubt she had 3 bb , hardly did confinement n tken out her womb nobody help her during her time n she is still very fit can carry 10kg rice without panting, but i'm not her mah! i'm just ot as strong as her i dont want to pamper my son mk him habit want carry cannot meh? now i trying not to talk so that i dont provoke her anymore sandwich hb think i shall remain like this forever. but i still hope to patch up her n jayden so that he have granny love. any suggestion hw i shd let her carry back jayden , than to stay under 1 roof black face like that.. sigh...

createjoy: wa... does yr mil know that u r in the shower? their hse is big la... thus a lot more rooms. so space is not a question. maybe let bb be with her more? anyone see bb laugh should auto be cheer up too. that's what i think.

annie: pai sei huh... has fallen sick so cant meet u. dun wanna spread the germs to u & nesher. wa. nesher is so big! how heavy is he? glad that yr 2nd attempt is successful.

re: breastfeeding
previously if i since morning till evening i didnt latch my bb, i will feel the fullness and lumps & breast will be painful when touched. but now if i morning till evening didnt latch, my breast will still be soft. anyone experiencing similar situation? does that means i'm drying up?

sweethalo,
hello hello!

im no expert but i think for almost everything, baby does show regression at times. what you may want to do is to keep on trying. if he really doesnt want to eat then u can supplement with milk.

Cae was also a dream to feed at the start. no matter what I give him he would gobble it down in no time. then after 2 weeks, he wasnt as keen anymore. but i continued anyway, and hes ok now.

like it or not they will have to continue with solids. he may have tasted something which he doesnt like? or eating the same thing repeated that puts him off temporarily.

u can try to give him root veges like sweet potato and pumpkin, and fruits like apples and pears to "sia" him as they are sweeter.

hope noah gets back to his solids-loving self soon!

tubbym,
ur return flight sounds like a bad dream! there were times when cae wailed so loud outside, i would be sweating buckets from all the nervousness and feelings of incompetence ( i mean for myself)!

hope skyla has gotten over her jetlag. so jealous that her first xmas is a white xmas!

lfb,
for jar foods, u can refrigerate the remaining portion and serve within the next day. i think u have to use it within 2 days. it should be stated on the jars...

i am now giving my boy lunch and dinner. each meal i give 1 serving of cereal (as per instruction on the box)plus 2 cubes of puree.

MaryG- Its okay
u feeling better
nesher is 90% bigger than average for his ht & wt. the las time in poly on dec5 he was 70cm long & 8.5kg now i not too sure as i don have measuring tape. & i also realise he is really big for his age range. 31dec at hubby boss party nesher is so much taller than a may baby. he also hyperactive cant sit still at all...

FirstMum- hello hello...

Yeah I was at first continuing to feed Noah despite his protests but thought didnt want to turn him off solids further by forcing the issue...so we are now on a solids break for awhile...ahhaha

I really suspect it's either the sweet potato that caused the strike or could I have been overfeeding him...

Actually initially he was so into solids, it seemed nothing was enough for him. I had progressed quite quickly to 2meals a day too. He loved his cereal and pumpkin so much that he finished awhole bb tub of pumpkin on Christmas.

I got worried then too as he never seemed hungry after solids and his milk feeds dropped. I started bottling him one feed before solids to make sure he is getting enough milk... well that could also have made him very full? or could have made him worried that I was weaning him off?

Annie- thanks for sharing Nesher's solids schedule

Thanks to all for your input regarding feeding. Sigh, baby teething, not eating alot recently. So I up the cereal. I haven't started any fruits and veggie, will do so this week. Will start with veggie. Is spinach ok? I am just so lost when coming to solid.

Createjoy, you can talk to your mil. I think she would rather to hear from you than from her son. Explain to her why the initial reaction. Old pple like face, esp mil, who are not our mother. They want us to respect and listen. Just tell her you want Jayden to be hardy, but not neglected. Anyway, sometimes is easier said than done. When old pple are obstinate, they really are!

Sweethalo, think maybe too many variety? Though I would think bb likes different taste. My boi been eating the same cereal for the last 2 weeks, and he is still happily eating. My intention is to add a little bit of mash carrot to his cereal next three day. See what's the outcome.

Annie, Nesher really looks big and strong! Well done! Don't worry, my pd said that the size of bb is not a reflection of future. Some will grow smaller and others will shoot up. So we just wait and see.

sweethalo- u welcome as nesher got colic so i tends to be careful of feeding him solid.

LFB- babysitter was telling me once they start walking they will lose wt. i tot by bringing nesher swimming he will loss some wt but it end up he more hungry & sleep easily after a swim.

aiyoh LFb i smsed her last week say mum dont angry w. me leh, i mean no offence i just scare he pampered wan carry so i said if not crying try not to carry let him play himself it's alright to fall on bumper mat let him get used to it... so dont know she angry becos i said let him fall or angry try not to carry haha now on just zip mouth lor. i think most bb no prob w/ cereal cos got milk still familiar taste lor come to mix veg or porridge qt tricky.. this jayden ah always at dinner time 5+ wanna slp cranky cranky hard to feed him porridge

annie u so funny leh , some of us here trying means to pump up bb , haha u trying to mk him lose weight. LOL..

sweethalo did u try to giv toy n water? dunno y leh but jayden often cry at porridge time just 5min ago he's also crying then i give him water alt w/ porridge after awhile he will ahh open mouth for porridge already notice this method work several times just mk sure he just sip abit then slip in the spoon.. sometimes he also distracted w/ toy will eat up. 1 taboo he hate me wipe his face n hands i try to do it only at the end lor..

LFB - yeah could be too much variety.. got him confused? i dono... now hope to erase his memory... hehehe

createjoy - when he started refusing solids, that's wht my mum tried to do.. she used toys to distract him... and ya Noah hates being wiped clean too... arrghh

wow your MIL so modern ah... u all communicate thru SMS???

sweethalo, i think you might wanna avoid bottlefeeding milk before feeding solids. If Noah is full, he wouldn't be interested in the solids. When i first started solids, i latched him in the morning then fed solids and realised he was not interested then i made sure i time the breakfast (solids) at least 2 hrs after his milk feed and it was better so now it has become a routine.

TubbyM, Aug did a big dump yesterday but the stools were not hard. In fact it was smelly and mushy. But there was a lot of poo as a result of 2 days of no poo. Today he didn't poo again so we are waiting again. I think I have to get some prunes soon. Don't want him to become constipated. I think i have been feeding him too much rice cereal. He was on 2 meals and I give him abt 6-7 tablespoons of rice cereal with ebm for each meal. Now I have stopped the rice cereal temporarily to monitor poo output. I will prob start him on oatmeal cereal soon and alternate with rice cereal perhaps so he doesn't become constipated. I am feeding him peach puree with some ebm now to encourage pooing.

annie, the room u rented previously, do u still hv the number? my sil is looking for a room. 2 girls. can pm me details? thx.. =)

creamer: i didnt buy lei.. my mom ask me "y r u seraching high n low for a thermometer? u tink bb always sick ahhh!!" *faint*

sweethalo, i hv the same problem with feeding hailey. =/ it's soo hard to feed her nw! tongue thrust all the time.. i'm beginning to dread feeding her..

createjoy, hmm, try jap sweet potato? haha! i also running out of ideas! worse, hailey is start to do the tongue thrust all over again!! urgh!

sweethalo chinese sms lor i type till siao..

bbaug yep i also think jayden starting to constipate after many cereal although he almost every day shit. he been mking "pushing shit" sound for longer time these few days.... n wn i wash him it feels harder to wash off. actually i wondering hw many of us giving cereal mix based on the amt of milk or water we like rather than the instruction? this might be the reason for it...?? haha personally i'm guilty.. nestle state 5 scoop(25g) 200ml milk i give 4 scoop (22g) mix with ard 50ml milk only then feed remaining 100ml.. then the brown rice is with milk so 150ml water i put around 50ml then remaining 100ml plain water drk. becos too thin hard to feed. or are they suppose to drk cereal w/ Y size teats??
jayden still drk about 3 feed just milk (ard 560ml), 1 feed cereal w/ milk (150ml) n fruit, 1 feed porridge w/ veg half a rice bowl. is it too much or too little? i saw some of u gals feed 6- 7 feeds a day, i just feed 5 feed is it a must to more meals less portion or what? wow i find HT cereal very thin v hard to feed i either mix 1-2 scoop nestle or put 8 scoop of HT n inc milk by 20ml. felt like 2 scoop HT cereal =1 scoop nestle.

can we boil the ikan powder frm shelisa after cool mix w/ cereal to bcm ikan bilis cereal like the si shen cereal? i think i feel carrot qt often scare he becm yellowish :p today just tried cauliflower. any one gave egg yolk already? understd that egg yolk hard boiled ok, egg white after 1yr old...

i remember someone recommending a book called baby's whisperer by tracy hoggs... tried to google it online, and i found out that there are different types of baby's whisperer books......

can anyone let me noe the exact title of the book that is recommended by alot of mummies?

bbaug/ Ahnet - what I meant is I btl him his earlier feed instead of latching... then solids is fed abt 3hr later leh....

papaya - the book by Tracy Hoggs is called Baby Whisperer...

Brought Cayden for last 6in1 jab also pneumo 2nd jab, he din put on weight again since last measure last week. Ask GP is it coz by the antibiotic that he took, she confirm with me that the med can cause low appetite and can’t sleep well, that why Cayden din put on weight. **sign** really hope march fast fast come and confirm no scarring and we can stop the med.

Sweethalo,
Thanks,.
Unable to advice on Noah reject solid, look like u have few variety, it should not be he sick of the food. It might cause he is teething? Or Maybe u dun put on the bib and give him the solid see will he eat?

Jamie - Hailey rejecting solids? hmm... but Noah does not do the tongue thrusting thing... he just makes a fuss and keeps saying Ah Booo Ahh Boo.. to tell me don't want ... but after some persuasion he will still eat from the spoon. Just that each feed, the duration gets longer and longer to feed him and he cries sometimes... so I thot better not force the issue in case it turns him off further...

I really don't know how long should I stop...

ECMom - hmm... yeah i thot wont be sick of food but my mum said maybe too many variety... hahaha

I tried once without bib he also made noise... nvm, maybe wait a few more days and surprise him again...hahah more like ambush him again.. kakakak

Sweethalo, she does everything! Tongue thrust, head turn, whining.. When she bth me then she will jus leave the food in her mouth n nt swallow. Else, she will eat the food la, bt tks a lot of effort to gt her to eat. However!!! Jar food, she ok. Basket!! Lol!

ecmom: got the test strip, but the PD says not accurate one, wonder if she is correct

Just clarify from the PD, DMSA is to check for scarring, that's when baby already have more than once UTI and it hurt the kidney. MCU is to check if the UTI is due to a weak muscle which cause the urine to reflux from bladder back to kidney. So DMSA is just checking the damage and might need future checks again if the cause is not certain. If the MCU test come back negative, then it rule out the weak muscle problem and therefore we can stop the antibiodics safely.

rosel: Yeah, my boy just wan me... so tiring at night

maryG: Keep latching, the supply will be back again

createjoy: u sure your mil read sms?

there are 2 books

1) Secrets of the Baby Whisperer: How to Calm, Connect and Communicate with Your Baby
2) The Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problems: Sleep

which one shld i get?

morning mummies

createjoy- i worry he overwt for his next check up:p yesterday nanny cooked chkn porridge wif carrots which she grind into small pcs for him & took out the chkn as i told her don give him meat yet. & my boy finished up one bowl & nanny said he cried as he wan more... jialat

jamie- u mean the room i staying now? the place which have alot of conflicts?

ecmom- how long must yr boy take the medicine?

Annie, erm, a lot of conflicts ah? I rmb u mentioned tt the lady is nice n quite sad to see u go bt u wanted to go better environent for ur boy.. Is it the same one we toking abt?

Jamie- yah it the same one.. the auntie don wan us go cos we got clean & tidy habit but the house got too many stranger wif tattoo ... & y i decided to leave the place is becos of their daily fighting & quarrelling... not a good environment for nesher growing up stage althought auntie is really nice lady & she don mind us cooking small dishes or wash our clothing daily.

babybang2000- it a good exercise for us but really tired carry a baby which i afraid he hit 9kg+ .. jus call up babysitter & ask how nesher is as yesterday he knocked himself on the fan & she told me he had two bowl of porridge & still not enough so babysitter make 100ml milk for him after his two bowl of porridge. he is a big eater but i glad he is alrite no vomiting or fever etc

sweethalo,
maybe too much pumpkin?? in terms of the variety of food, u may want to stick to the same thing for 3 days 3 meals before going on to the next? can also mix 2 types of puree together. for eg broccoli mixed with sweet potato to make it more palatable for little taste buds??

u may not want to stop for too long as i read that once they hit 3 mths, the iron stored in them will start to deplete and need to get from solids. also its the best time to intro a variety of food to minimise the possibility of them becoming fussy eaters later on.

papaya123,
i think the famous one is her first book:secrets of the baby whisperer.

i have read the book but personally prefer gina ford's. contented little baby handbook.