(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

good morning mummies

ju, it is called lazy *haha*... this morning she left a few mouthful of milk and refused to finished... i warned her that i will switch off tv after the count of 3 -- she refused and i turned off the tv.. she wailed but i explained to her -- think she understood and start playing with her toys

win, before we got married, hubby dunno how to cook
he started cooking when we got married and had our own place -- plus his wife aka me is v fussy about food and prefers homecooked food (his family is total opp -- always eat out)... initially was almost unedible *haha* but he improves tremendously after many trials and errors

i bought a few cook books and he will cook according to recipe. he can cook korean ginseng chicken with glutinous rice, wan gao(i had a craving with i was preggy with yuan2), and simple dishes like stir fry veg, steam fish, one pot soup...

being guy, he will cook the same thing and i will get sianz of the food... so i will usually give him the menu and he will cook accordingly

i prefers my own cooking -- but no choice, he reach home earlier than me as i need to fetch yuan2... so gotta bear with it till weekend when i take over :p

haha, i agree that hubby's cleaniness standard is not up to we women! i have to clean up the stove and wash the stuff after he cooks...

porky, hope it is a passing phase -- else v tiring for u...

win,
oic... dat means more shopping to see... hahaha!!!

adv,
haha! their pattern bah? cc tchr feedback jodie wun finish her milk at 1 sitting, she drink halfway, put into the collecting basket, play play, then pick up her milk to drink agn, whn she finish, she will try to put into the ziplock bag i provide
ooh... ur hubby started frm scratch wor... so good dat he can cook so well now. u r very blessed

win, my frens also asking me for receipes... maybe i put it in my blog or fb so that they can see, too
but really, mine is simple food -- mainly teochew style (rather bland for hubby)...

ju, jodie is ok with not warm milk? yuan2 is fussy like mummy -- only take warm milk... if the milk temp is juz right, she will finish in 1 sitting...

have to encourage hubby then he will be motivated to improve
there is a period when he will think up of new dishes to cook and very happy when i like it...

also, when we dine out, if we like the dish, will try to replicate it at home
and we get lotsa idea from supermarket...

adv,
bland food is good. jodie had been taking bland food since i started cooking. she rejected froot loops in sch! the tchr was shocked, i was happy. lol
ya, she's ok wif not warm milk, sometimes i give her pkt milk or fresh milk. guess she loves milk at any temp

win, hopefully yuan2 will like cooking next time
i find it fun!

ju, good that they like bland food.. yuan2 dun like to eat out as the seasoning is too strong -- she juz ate a little... if i hv time, will cook, put in thermal container n bring out...

good that jode is ok with not warm milk!

my colleagues said i m too strict with yuan2 -- no junk food(poor hubby can't eat too), no ice cream (coz mummy is lactose intolerant n cannot eat), no cold drinks etc. but i want her to have good eating habbits...

adv,
ya, heng... but hope she can eat outside food too. but no hurry on dat, she got a whole lifetime to adjust to outside food ;p
so far, we only let jodie eat ice cream cos we like, but we try to give her those fresh made kind, wif fruits inside de.
but no junk food, sweets or chocs. dat one im still not ready

adv, good eating habits cultivate frm young. U are very hardworking
for me, when we dine out, will give her a few sips cold drinks/ice -cream. occasional indulgence is ok.

I bought night light liao, backfired I think cos she was so excited! And was so surprised cos the light shine through her bb cot and the reflections on the wall. Faint.. she look so "amazed" and after a while, she tell me she "scared". LOL.

Lush: Not sure if you are still readig this message. May I know where to get jin feng shang? Maybe I can try that with my gal.

Shes been having rash and now running nose.. faint..

Adv: so envy that you/ hubby can make it home and cook dinner for Yuan2. Esp your hubby can cook. So happy that Yuan2 like bland food. Our food at home also bland one.. no seasoning but use alot of meat as soup base for flavour. In the end, my gal still prefer outside food than home cooked food.. faint. She love Jap rice the most!

since cny is approaching, would like to check with u all whats having for renuion dinner. steamboat or other specialities?

win - ???

Sashimi: Oh dear.. Hope this is just a passing phase for your girl.

Adv/ju: We noticed that Claire don't like food with strong taste. So far she still prefers our home cooked food. But she has a soft spot for cakes! Think the school must be feeding her with too much cakes.

Brushing:-
Now that our babies are eating like solid food most of the time. I still wondering if I should continue to brush for her or let her brush on her own. I'm afraid that if I leave the brushing to her, she won't brush it clean obviously but if I brush for her, its very difficult to get to spit out and rinse. Normally at wat age will they master this?

good morning mummies

ju, yah, they hv a whole lifetime to eat outside food *haha*

win, yuan2 rarely get to drink cold drinks -- as me n hubby only take warm drinks :p

lush, yuan2 loves japanese food -- especially udon! she can finish almost 1 bowl herself -- poor mummy only eat a little as we are suppose to share

before 1 yr old, we dun add seasoning at all...after 1 yr old, we do add some light seasoning to meat and soup(stil healthier than outside food that is salty n msg)... maybe you can add some and see if ur gal will eat more?

re: reunion
win, steamboat for mine n hubby's family... since i got married, reunion dinner is with my hubby's family.. chu yi then i hv steamboat with my family...

wat abt u? do u hv two rounds of reunion dinner in one evening?

re: brushing
bean, i will brush for yuan2 as she is not really brushing -- merely biting on the toothbursh... but i make sure yuan2 drinks lotsa water while eating solids and after milk feed -- kinda like rinse the mouth...

re: toilet train
when to start toilet train?

yesterday, we were so happy that yuan2 poo in the potty for the 1st time! saw her gek sai and quickly grab the potty... she find it interesting that she could sit down *haha*

Re: Toilet Train
I think can start training anytime ba. For myra, we tried but failed many times. We actually bought the toilet seat that put on top of the toilet bowl cos 1 mummy suggest to train this way so that can avoid training from potty to toilet bowl. Not sure how true.

Myra understand code words like shh shh and poo poo but she gets too nervous i guess tat each time put her there, nothing comes out. When standing up, she will starting peeing. faint. So far, my helper said she successfully let myra pee once on the toilet seat.

Home cooked food: Is it ok not to add salt or sauce to the meals? My mom kept complaining that its not good cos kids need sodium to have stronger "bones" or something like that. Otherwise will neng kar (soft leg).

halo mummies

pastries, got it, thks!

adv, with u and hb as role model, i believe yuan2 will grow well and healthy! i cant take 2 renuion dinner in one day, stomach cant take it haha!

tmr we be having steamboat in sil hse due to my pils are gg japan agn during cny. every cny they always go travel so my parents will come over to my hse for dinner.

hb say dun want to eat steamboat agn so gona crack head wat to cook..

re: brushing teeth
same as yuan2. but one thing for sure is she likes the toothpaste flavour, think is strawberry(first teeth toothpaste). she will take her toothbrush and stand beside me when i brushing teeth. so cute!

hv been starting her few mths back. even in melaka, also bring her to toilet seat. sometimes she will fake cry but once saw her urine out, smile agn. buay tahan!

win,
steamboat on cny eve, mee sua wif lotsa of "liao" on 1st day at my mum's plc, home cooked buffet at hb's aunt's plc for dinner (plus lotsa arrows)

adv,
yea!
is it time for toilet training? my gal SOMETIMES will signal she wanna poo by hugging her diapers, but sometimes she quietly do it & wait for us to sniff it out!

ILS,
is it ok to progress to those put on toilet seat kind? cos i realli dun wanna clean the potty leh. i used to do dat alot for my baby sis & dreads it. some more, the one passed down by SIL is complicated kind!
i dun add salt & any sauce to jodie's meals. everything is plain. watever smell or taste she gets is frm the ingredients (various veg, meat/fish, wolfberries & maybe washed dried scallops). when my mum cook porridge, she try to add sauce & kena nagging frm me
stronger bones come from calcium, not sodium bah?
jodie gets packet milk as treats if she finishes her dinner fast. some believe frog legs can help to strengthen legs too, maybe bcos they jump a lot?

win,
cook 三菜一汤? can take ideas from the tv program, they have been showing yummy dishes for cny. but some look hard to cook, but maybe ok for ppl seasoned in the kitchen.

cos sil get to go back for 2nd reunion dinner, so i usu eat lesser wif MIL & family, then at my mum's plc, i will whack the food

ilovesashimi, i did add salt and sauce to my meals. but my gal took her porridge/cereal for dinner. so our food, she only take a bit here and there. flavour too strong, she dun like and will spit out!

Re toilet seat: I dun noe leh.. should be ba. Then can skip 1 step to move frmo toilet bowl to toilet seat. But the ley chey one is cannot leave her alone on the seat to wait for her to do business.. haha..

Dun noe leh.. my mom say will neng kar leh.. haha.. anyway.. will stick to no salt till later.. keke.. anyway we will let her eat outside food once a week so she'll be expose to salt anyway.

Hi Sashimi

You can get jingfengshan from the Chinese medicine halls. You can tell them it's for babies who've had a scare.

Thanks to all mummies who shared about your night time menu and schedule. It was very helpful. I still freeze some food for my daughter for weekend meals. A bit like when we used to freeze puree except it's chopped up food. Looks like everybody is giving fresh food?

My gal also quite adverse to potty training now. She will sit on it for fun but never for her real poo poo business. I am hoping she poo poos more in school and they can train her there! Haha.. lazy mum.

hi all!! IM BACK!!!!!

hehee!!

adv sports: guess wat, hailey also finished off 1 900gm tin + 1 pkt of 180gm sample. im so surprised!! n my maid commented that she slimmed down, not so heavy liao. =(

anyone succesful yet? hailey only tells us poo poo after she's done the deed. and thinks that peeing is also called poo poo. -_-

re: teeth brushing
ya, hailey also bites on the brush like a teether. occasionally does a few brushes here and there. and when i try to take the brush back, she throws a tantrum. sometimes i dread letting her brush teeth.......

ilovesashimi, hailey does take soy sauce and sesame oil seasoning but only a drop of 2 n not every meal/every day. only when she's fussy then we do so.

juju, ya heard froglegs can help to strengthen. i love frogleg porridge!!!! oh that chn 8 show, i like but they talk v fast and cant catch lol!!!!

lush, care to share wat chopped up food did u give for ur gal? thks!

jamie, Welcome Back!!!!!!!

Child Care Center: Did anyone send their kids to Cherie Hearts? My place didnt have any good child care center and this one is near my working place so i thought I might as well send her tere for socialising. Any suggestions?

Thx win! Hehe!

Ju: yea it was fun la bt stressful as well cuz she kept insisting on climbing stairs!!!!! If I said no, she'll throw tantrums n sit on the flr! Jpn is so crowded and all their metro stations have steps!! Faint!

Ilovesashimi: thr's quite a few mummies who send their bubs to CH. Tink its nt bad la, mus c individual ctr too. Best u go tk a look n chat w the director/principal. Also when ur thr, observe the teachers n e kids too. If gt time, do surprise visit or jus stand somewhr n c the ongoings when thr's no parent visiting. I happened to catch sight of an issue when I visited one of e branches. so I feel that I will do tis kind of sneaky thing, ie: peep at the class. Lol

jamie,
hahaha!!! she wanna hv fun also! jodie will usu let us carry, unless shopping ctr then she wanna walk. she's a shopping window queen like her mummy. touch & go!

actually till now, i will still occasionally peep into cc to see jodie. no matter how much i trusted her last 2 ifcs, i also peep whenever i can. call me hypocritic, but i wanna trust them, but i also wanna trust my own eyes ;p

good morning mummies

any mummy interested to organise 2nd bday bash for may09 babies? my project is delayed till end of mar or april... maybe too late to organise by then...

we can have it at the same place as last year -- JWT East

hi win, yah, my hubby sms me to tell me

i m at work on a sunday
hubby v brave to bring her to market without stroller -- yuan2 was so happy walking

Hi Win

Sorry have not come in this thread for some time. I freeze almost all kinds of chopped food eg. green veg(!), corn and peas (not chopped, juz throw in after steaming), meat, etc. Nowadays, we try to give her fresh veg lah. But takes up more time for each meal. We used to just pop it into the microwave.

My gal is very picky in her food these days. Keeps spitting them out, even if it's freshly prepared food. She doesnt reject bread though so I cant say she has a bad appetite. Not sure if it's becos they add seasoning in her childcare and she stopped liking homecooked food.

When we feed her our adult food sometimes, she also rejects. Sigh.. mealtimes can be a pain these days.

ju, lollll!!! i hope she comes in and sees our comments! wahaha!!!

lush: my girl too, she used to like fish ALOT. now spit and scratch her tongue to sort of like, clean it off. eats quite abit of meat tho.

hi mummies ! oh dear, i miss the cny discussion in the thread !

re : teeth brushing
jamie, jaeden is same like hailey ! so now i dread brushing for him...he will insist to hold n bite the toothbrush later refuse to put back and throw tantrum if i snatch from him !

re : pee n poo
jaeden will say "susu" if he wants to pee n "poo poo" if he poo-ed ! i think cc will starts to toilet train him quite soon

re : peeping at cc
juju, i used to do that..but now cant alrdy..cos jaeden is at cc side..they open all the windows..im afraid he will see me then ask me carry..last time at ifc, i will go peep every lunch time

re : throw tantrums
mummies, wat will u do if ur tots sit or lie on the floor at shopping malls when they throw tantrums ? so far jaeden will not do that (i hope not !!!!!!) but i saw a few cases last weekends at NEX...

re : 2nd bday bash for may09 babies
doreen, i hope hv this bash ! last yr did not attend cos jaeden had stomache flu...

re : fish vs meat
jamie, jaeden used to love fish..but now he prefers meat more then fish..dunno why...and he seems to knw tt is fish if i pretend to feed and tell him is meat...

Good Afternoon Mummies! Been busy with work

Lush, no worries

lush/jamie/jean, my gal dun like to take meat. think she lazy to bite. till now still taking porridge for lunch and cereal for dinner. but she loves fish, fishball, cucumber, noodles(mee and bee hoon) fried rice, egg. she do not eat full course dinner as us, only take a bit of our food here and there..

win, oh ur gal still taking cereal ? my boy dont wan cereal anymore..i threw away half a tin of nestle cereal. he still accept porridge once a while...but he prefers meat, some vege branches, egg..he loves fried mee too !

jean, jaeden so gd, can take adult food
think my gal is a picky eater. is jaeden's teeth all out?

re: dentist check up
should we bring our tots for check up?