(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

adv_sports,

That's abt all.. u can read up on HFMD in the website too.. give lot's of (cool) water if it does develops..

Wipe hands/legs frequently.
Spots will be on sole of foot & palm, esp the tips of the fingers/toes, also in btw.

Check with IFC if they disinfect the toys/classroom everyday.

Hi adv_sports,

I bought the zoophonics kit from GUG @ $99!! Freaking ex..Used the flash cards only. 3 sets of flashcards which is the same ones that they used at GUG.

Hi May_mum,
I cut n paste the zoophonics from the net!! Hahaha..But i have been repeating it daily to my gals n they loved it.

Hi Poohwei, Noted.

Hi Jaime,
Any noticable change? U find english/ maths which she keen on?

btw Got the add. where DNA test is done inclusive in the package. (fren say published in YP)
Little Neuro Tree
Crest Learning Center
Preschool for multiple intelligences
Map my Gene
Magic Fiddler
Agape School of Education.

pastries,
If thats the case, I guess Pats school house is the better option around west coast

adv-sport,
Oic, I know LV @ Temasek Life Sciences Laboratory in NUS is pretty new when I check out 2 years back
Initially, I have the intention to put my girl to CC but subsequently we changed our mind.

ak & feb_mum,
Didn't know the traffic condition was so bad along that road in the morning. Also didn't know Caterpillar Cove was so popular.

Adv_sports,
Thanks for sharing your blog, the trial at GS seems interesting! My bb is slow to warm up type, don't know whether he will enjoy anot, but will let him attend some trial classes. :)

May mum,
I am also abit worried abt my boy. He only know how to commando crawl, and only sit up by himself once, and refuse to do it again.. Is your boy being carried alot? Try to let him have more tummy time.

Re: 9 mth developmental assessment
Any mum bringing bb for this assessment or intend to skip it? As I am abit worried abt my boy refusal to sit up and still doing commando crawling now, I thought of bringing him for one. But on the other hand, I noticed his character is very careful type, he will only go on all four position if he is on the bed or cushion. If on the ground, he won't do it. I don't know am I being too overly anxious or concern?

Okipoki,
Hmm, yes and no.. I don't want to place my bb in one CC just for it's brand name. But seems like not much choices around west coast area.

Sgpv,
What's this DNA testing? I think abit overboard to do DNA testing for bb. It's like parents only want to bring up a genius and not average human being.

poohwei - WOW! thanks for the zoophonics info.

re: Genius Space (GS)
i have signed up for the trial class for my bb this sat after reading adv_sports' feedback. anyone else going?

For those who are interested in zoophonics, pm me? I will email the video to u. I downloaded a video from you tube previously. Think it was copyrighted n was taken off you tube. Dependent on the player that is found on ur computer, u mAy or may notbe able to view it.

pastries, little neuro curriculum is gd but fee is $$$$ exp. when enquiried they say got DNA test so fee is exp. Me too was bit surprised on what DNA test. then my fren who went there before explain n said some other institute also offer it thats y fee $$$$ exp. Its got publish in YP itseems. they claim if ur bb intelligent as proved in DNA worth to take many courses otherwise like stress bb w wat parents wan.

pastries - my #1 commando crawled all the way until she started walking. it's ok, commando crawl is also a form of crawling. diff bbs develop differently, some faster, some later. i've brought my #2 for her 9mth old assessment at polyclinic. she can do most of the things except standing and cruising. my #2 just doesn't like to stand for some reason, like scare the floor cold, haha.

Poohwei: email me! [email protected]

Sgpv: I assume ur referring to me altho thr's a jaime here and I'm jamie. She SEEMS to prefer maths bt still kicks wildly and giggles when she knws its flashcard time..

Adv sports: I flash 5cards a session so it's very short n quick. no nd for them to sit very long. =)

sgpv - personally, i dun see any point in DNA test. DNA is something you can't alter so if the results show anything lacking, it will be very discouraging. So i would rather let the child develop at her own pace. as an educator, we are very careful abt labelling our students. if we think a class is slow, we will respond accordingly and lower our expectation and the class will in turn react to us in the same way and thus never fully realise their true potential. thus, personally, i won't encourage any form of testing at such a young age, it can be very unhealthy. wat we can do as parents is to expose them to varying experiences and see where their interests lie and develop them from there.

feb_mum, I have email them asking if fee can be reduced if not willing to go for DNA test. waiting for reply. as such me not sure if its really accurate or just sales gimmick.

pre school
*faint* intl school admission is $2500 and then another $11k a year. For nursery Damn so EXPENSIVE. dont know what they teaching.
I am confused to register for intl/ indian intl/ local.

I heard local school very stressful ones K2 finish. Is it true?

Sgpv, I see.. I think don't need to do DNA testing for bb. As our bb grow, we expose them to different activities and things, slowly we will discovered what is their liking and dislike. Like what feb_mum said, see where is their interest and develop from there. As for those they are not interested, we can encourage but do not force.

Feb_mum, so you are a teacher? I think maybe my boy will like your #1, commando crawl all the way. Thanks for your reassurance! My boy also still don't like to stand yet, he will pull to kneeling position only. He will stand only if we place him on standing position and with tv remote control for him to play.

So do we just walk in to polyclinic for the developmental assessment? Don't need to make appointment right?

Jamie, I used to flashcard for my bb, and actually he enjoyed it. Like your gal, he will kick and smile when he saw the flashcard. I must resume my flashcard activities liao. I also flash the longest 10 over seconds and will stop, then let him play toys.

pastries - yes, a teacher. no prob. my #1 runs so fast now dat her school teacher says she looks like an arrow being shot off! you need to make appt for assessment at polyclinic. the nurse will do some tests to check on bb's hearing, vision etc. my #2 will be in her kneeling position in her cot crying out for us - looks very ke lian, like some jailbird behind bars. quite a funny sight. tink juz a matter of time before she learns to stand up and do cruising.

sgpv - why are you considering international sch? you are not a local? international sch definitely far more exp because you will not enjoy any govt subsidy. stress is an inevitable part of our education system, which partly is also brought about by increasing parental expectation. as parents, we juz got to teach our kids to manage stress and also manage our expectations of them. if you wan to put your kid in international sch, you muz hv deep pockets to put her in one all the way or else sooner or later, she will be in the local system. then, she might be in rude shock!

joyce, thanks for the tip -- will keep a lookout! yes, IFC disinfect the toys n place everyday.

poohwei, wow, the zoophonics kit is ex!

jamie, wow, hailey is excited when it's flashcard time
how do it do it? flash and say the word?

bean, i bought a set of baby einstein flashcards from bp. i only use a few of them (those farm animals) -- flash to yuan2 when i sing "old macdonald had a farm"

feb_mum, rachel can be a sprinter
like rebecca, yuan2 also looks like a jail bird in the cot -- the only place to confine her
she can stand n cruise ard -- and like to create havoc by pulling things off the table next to her cot *faint*

re: toy rental
any mummies rented this toy before?
http://www.rent-that-toy.com/ToysInfo.php?id=61

adv_sports - will yuan2 still want to be confined in it? greg is rejecting his jumperoo these days. prefers to roam on his own *shakes head*

ak, yuan2 can only stay in the exersaucer for 10-15min
at least i can eat my dinner in peace -- without chasing after her ard the hse...

actually, it's me who find the toy find -- so rent for yuan2 to try *haha*

poohwei: Wah! zoophonics sounds so interesting! Can u email me the video? [email protected]

adv_sports: This was what i thought u rented when u told me u rented a table toy last time! This might be a good toy for Yuan2 since she likes to move around? I wanted to rent this previously but i realised that my girl is too used to be in the exersaucer that when i put her in my friend's walker, she didn't know it can move! I think she prob dunno how to use this and also, we dun want her to know that there are toys that can help her move around!

may_mum & pastries: my girl can't crawl properly also. she'll commando crawl, reverse crawl and do the downward dog yoga pose (like inverted V shape) but not on her hands and knees. my mum said her knees are made of gold, cannot touch the ground. haha.. that time when my girl played with bean's and adv_sports's girls, they were crawling around while my girl rolls around.. hahahah.. every child has their own way of moving around and we're not complaining cos we dun need to chase after a loose crawling baby!

ak: Enjoy the GS trial! I enjoyed mine too!

adv...my IFC has that toy..but i haven see them put my boy on it..my boy still not used to IFC>..apparently will cry when left alone...sigh..

my jittery buggy from rent that toy collecting dust...but due for collection oredi..coz he doesnt like it at all..i think its diff from when they were immobile..now he prefer zipping ard with the walker.then a bouncer lor...

jamie..i have the math flash card..i was very diligent till 20 dots..then when have to do addition...not easy leh..have to prepare the card in advance...n my hand not fast enuf..how do u do those with addition, formula?

adv sports - confine is the right word! rebecca is bz crawling all over the house. she has chewed off the leaves on my money plant. now, she has discovered rachel's toy corner so she's helping herself to all the toys there - spinning the wheel of the car, banging on the piano, twist and turn all the knobs. very very bz. sometimes, amist the madness, rachel will be driving her car round the house. *faints* when i get tired from watching her, i juz buckle her to her chair or put her back in the cot. once they find their mobility, there's no looking back man!

flash card really got use? #1 had some flash card sessions coz we sent her to bb gym previously. but #2 did not attend any gym so no flash card. wonder if there will be any difference betw them? i realised dat my #1 has good photographic memory, but not sure if it can be attributed to the flash cards. personally, i dun quite believe in them so my cards are all collecting dust ;p

adv, my jaeden has got all the symptoms like fever, rashes on body/face/arms/legs n throat ulcers in end dec 2009..but kkh final confirm is not HFMD wor..i also blur..

jamie, jaeden loves flashcard sessions too ! he will wave his arms, kick his legs and move his body wildly....then if the caregiver flash the same card that he likes, he will yell loudly...in fact the caregivers feedback to me that flashcard sessions can keep him awake most of the time...wahahaha..too bad, at home i hv no time to do all these with him...

Hi adv_sports,

I have the exersaucer at home!! Bought during #1's time. Quite fun cos it teaches them to walk to n fro. #2 will stay there for 15 min max if #1 is playing ard her. Dun think they will play for long cos they are already 8-9 months old.

Video has been sent. Did i miss anyone?

Hi Joyce,

Its a video on how zoophonics work. I pasted the zoo phonics "lyrics" on the thread earlier on. PM me or give me ur email addy if u r interested.

Hi Jaime,

GUG incorporates zoophonics in their enrichment class.

RE: Zoo Phonics Democlass
You gals just need to follow the video n look at the lyrics to teach phonics. No need demo lessons one.

jaime - i think GUG has zoophonics in their baby classes (starting from 8 mths - 18mths). but i'm holding my bb back from this class until he can speak otherwise i won't know if he is receiving the phonics sounds or not.

porky - it's nice to know that the bbs in ifc are learning flashcards and stuff like that. my bb is probably watching tv most of the time at his bbsitter's place.

Hi juju
yeah! U managed to play the video! The guy is super funny right? U just need to mimick his actions n do with ur kids. Dun think u want ur kids to look at the video cos the demonstrator is so funny. More authentic if u r the one doing it! Plus it's bonding time!

tiny_m, so cute that ur mum says le xuan's knee is made of gold *haha* hope yuan2 will like the piano toy

jaime, think justin can recognise pp @ 9mth, hence has separation anxiety... when i put yuan2 @ IFC when she was 4mth, she bo-chap me when i said bye bye to her... even till now, she is still bo-chap coz she has many toys n frens to play with
but she recognise me when i pick her up -- will stretch her hands to ask me to carry

feb_mum, wah, rebecca bite off the leave of ur $ plant *haha* lucky her that she has so many jie jie's toy to play

porky, hmm, kkh strange hor... anyway, pray hard that yuan2 dun kenna...

poohwei, glad to hear that chang xuan likes it
yah, yuan2 never stay in exersaucer for > 15min... thanks for the video -- will check it tonite as cannot access yahoo @ work...

adv sport - ya, my gals are very fortunate to have so many toys. most of them hand me down, this mummy only bought 1 or 2 cheapo things for them ;p