(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Jamie, win > I dun mind!! Then when n where? My colleague was saying Jur CC very popular, must book at least 1 year ahead. Scary siah.

Sgpv: I haven't receive ur pm leh. My gal poo watery again. I pm'ed u few days back but u hve respond.

Shers: I haven't really thought abt transport lor. Sob. I intend to send my gal to playgroup a 18mths (now I know it's referred as playgroup, not preschool... Lol ) so that she gets to interact with bbs. So young wonder cam take school bus or not. Anyway If she starts walking late then maybe enroll for nursery when she 2 yo ba.

Any mummies planning for your precious princes and princesses 1st year? Wonder anyone has any lobang on bd party supplies ?

SK,

Jur CC is meant for 4years and above. They dont open for 3years and below
I have already done my homework for my no1 then.

Another popular pre-sch is Maris stella but are meant for 4 years and above
For open for 18mths above is Talent Plus.

i tot preschool is a term used to describe studying before primary sch? got me confused..

anyway i think MOE is going to enforce preschool already. not sure done or not. like what JasC has mentioned, most parents will let their kids to attend nursery, K1 and K2.. for playgroup, depends..

for me, i let Shermin attends playgroup since she turned ard 18mths.. kinda min age for playgroup. its more for interaction, sing song, story telling, disclipine.. i like her to go sch to learn abt routine.. so weekdays she has her usual routine.. weekends, i let her do what she likes to strike a balance..

for enrichment class, depends on the progress on the child. i only let shermin attends GUG - phonics when she was 2yrs old. the class is quite fun, i also enjoy it.. so will consider to let her go to another stage next term. but one of her classmate's mum told me julia gabriel is good.. worth trying..

for CC, its considered preschool as well right? coz they cover playgroup, nursery, K1 and K2.. just that they offer care service.. but can opt for half day cc too coz most lessons r held in the AM.. PM is more to nap, watch movie and waiting to go home.. i check with Kinderland-MOM, e schedule is like that.. not sure abt others..

really need to go popular playgroup? i wonder whats the diff? do they cover something extraordinary thats y parents will pay more $$ for that? St James is at where?? sounds so 'party'!!

poki > Jur childcare got many different areas, very pack so need to book early. Currently not sure which are the popular ones. Which CC are you referring to for 4yo and above?

Maybe im wrong, please enlighten me!

JasC,
Thanks for info. I got YP presch guide. ll chk further. thinkin of plygrp 4 bb 4 activity. any recommendation? any fdbk on rosemary kindergarten near siglap center?

Ilove,
bb got diahhorea. suspectin teethin. Under observation w home remedies. strssful jugglin 2many things. I got drafted ur info but didnt get time to finetune & send.

cheyanne,
u r in the 'attending' list already! maybe wait till nearer to the date then juju will confirm her addy, time again?

gal playmate? alot la.. andrea, shermay, hailey, jodie, frances, bernice, isabelle, darolyn n rachel!! boy only jaeden, marcus, your kaiden only.. hahhaha

sgpv,
wow!! u really sound like PD!! tsk tsk

ilovesashimi,
y not u seek 2nd opinion?? is it really ok that your girl is having wet poo for so many weeks?

hi shers,

St james has has a campus at Dempsey, Harding road now. There 's going to be another new one at Leedon .
You can visit http://sjck.org.sg for more details.
When i was pregnant , my colleague told me to register for this school once i get hold of my bb's birth cert. This, i thought was too kiasu, so i didnt action upon it till my bb was 6 months old . And when i finally did, they told me the Nursery 1 was full ! and all morning classes were full! So i had to go for afternoon classes. i asked my colleagues why it's so popular too . She said teachers there are known to be very caring.

Hi everyone!!

Finally almost done with unpacking and now my house is looking like a house! haha
Wow.. I see that many of you are looking at pre-schools already! I have not looked at it at all man... hahhaha Looking at all your posts makes me feel a little stressful now!

Re: Pre-School or CC
Anyone knows whether Pat Schoolhouse is really that good?? I am looking at Pat Schoolhouse at Jubilee for CC.

St. James - the red building in Dempsey road. Before I was preggy, I didn't know about all this. Still thought what a kindergarden doing in Dempsey road for.. Didn't know it is so popular. But what exactly is the reason for it to be so popular?? Just caring teachers??

NTUC CC (My 1st Skool) - Agreed that the CC is not that good. Heard some feedback abt it.

I think those staying in new housing estate like Seng Kang or even CCK has better choice right? My area (Clementi) don't have much choice.

My bil claims that pats schoolhouse is one of the best n hence sends their kids there when they reach k1. It's so expensive!!!!!! But he says that students at pats can write poems n essays at the age of 5.... But it's quite an angmo environment cos my niece's Chinese is still half past six ! For me, I will just stick with whichever centre that I can get corporate rate.

Re: Shichida
it's bloody ex! Recommended only if ur child can sit still for at least 30 min n can take instructions.

Wow, topic is on preschool liao, so fast. I just started bring MY to trials and you all already plan for preschool. Anybody has any good pre-nusery playgroup in the East to recommend?

Is St James very popular? But at Dempsey road, so far from my IL house. So don't think will go for it. Any good ones in the East?

But how old do we start sending them to school? Is it too early to look around now, or am I too late? I am thinking of sending my boy for some 'school' (1 or 2hrs a day will do too) when he is of age (don't know which is an appropriate age) for interaction with other kids cause now my MIL look after him so his interaction is mostly with adults.

Poohwei, hmm.. haiz.. i think we all kiasu parents nowadays. Difficult not to be kiasu. Ya, can tell Pat's Schoolhouse many ang mo kids there. I am very particular about speaking and learning Mandarin, if my kid dislike Mandarin, i think my heart will be broken.. so I am speaking Mandarin to my bb now.

Can write poem or essays - not that important to me leh. I want a school environment whereby focus on creativity and out of the box thinking in addition to the necessary curriculum. Not sure am i asking too much?

Shichida - heard that the mgmt attitudes are bad right? My friend's 2 yr old daughter had being attending Shichida since she is a 9 mths old bb. She is a bright little gal, not sure is due to Shichida or own good genes. But do you know what exactly does Shichida teach? Those right brain stuff, sounds abit confusing to me. Really not sure whether is it realy that good.

I think our bb grow up very pitiful, so competitive and have to handle parents' expectation.. But yet I can't help trying to provide the best for bb.

pastries,
ntuc cc not good ah? u got the details? think hb will be very keen on ntuc cc cos the blk opp my plc only. when u gals come for cny, u will noe wat i mean.
anyone noe of any good ccs ard amk area?

jamie,
fren's kids (1 boy, 2 gals) goes to shichida & occasional JG. seems dat they r very bright wor. but realli, need to be able to sit down & listen de. active kids go, no point...

i'm here! down with flu for 2days, just eat med and sleep and sleep.

my 2cents worth on preschool. currently, only primary school education is compulsory in spore. however, there are many benefits to sending kids to preschool. for socialisation, for basic literacy and numeracy skills, for getting used to school environment etc. in fact, if your child is gg to be enrolled into some brand name primary school, the school would expect your child to be able to read and write at pri 1. so preschool is supposed to prep kids for dat.

from 18mths, kids can begin preschool. at this age till 3 is known as playgroup. usually 2-3hr in duration. a lot of singing, colouring, playing kind of activities. then they will move on to nursery and then kindergarten. usually by k2, they will prep kids for more structured pri sch environment. in kindy, they will hv to do spelling and such.

if your kid is in cc, they will also have curriculum tailored according to kid's age.

personally (my own views only), i dun tink there is a great need to send kids to brand name preschools. eton, pats, and those montessori ones are all v expensive. if you can afford it and distance is not a prob, i supp you can consider them. however, becoz these places emphasize a lot on learn thru play, sometimes kids hv great difficulties adjusting to a more structured pri 1 environment and thus hate sch.

for me, a few key factors i have in mind in choosing preschool. one would be distance from caregiver's pl, esp if you intend to have #2. my mum needs to bring my #2 to fetch my #1 from sch, so it should be a convenient pl. i bu fang xin to let young kid take sch bus so anywhere too far is out of the question.

another factor is the sch environment - whether it is clean, and i prefer non-aircon. the type of food served. i know there is a list of cc with the healthy eating certification from hpb.

also consider the type of curriculum - whether it's balanced betw play and learning, languages taught (our kids muz be billingual) etc

and imptly - the teachers. whether they love kids and tk gd care of them.

i didn't do research on preschool in bt batok coz my kids are with my mum in jurong in daytime. my #1 is with cherie hearts cc, so far, i'm happy with the cc and my gal loves sch.

quite a no of bt batok mummies dat i know send their kids to the preschool at grace assembly of god church at bb west ave 4. ak, you might wan to check it out.

ok, very long winded liao.

ju - my neighbour sent her kid to cc under ntuc, she wasn't happy abt it and withdrew her kid subsequently. seems like the teachers weren't very professional and the food is lousy etc. another neigbour oso sent to the same cc and oso withdrew later coz her kid kept on coming home wiht indigestion! seems like the food they prepare is in big chunks so small kids might not hv chewed well. not sure if the one near your place is like dat or not. you might wan to go look see look see.

feb mum,
hmm... i try to ask the parents then. waiting for the ang moh mummy to come back frm her maternity leave. her #1 in cc & #2 in ifc

Ju: the link to the fb seems that they only handle balloon nia leh.

Shers: my gal's diarrhoea really long story. Bcos of her diarrhoea she's back to no and very minimal solid. Sob. My hope of replacing her solid early is all dashed Liao.

Something to share: my helper and mil says my gal can say nai nai ie referring to my mil alhough I din get to hear it myself cos working late. So sad right. First word was daaa dee for a few weeks then stop. Now it's nai nai... Arrghh. When will it be my turn????

i love sashimi,
maybe u can message her & ask. she also organise.
if u wanna do ur own, u can also go tekka mall whr party supplies shops r located (previously frm concourse shopping ctr @ beach rd)

Jamie, ESP is something about one's subconscious mind or instinct something like that? I came across this ESP teaching from Shichida on the net before, I remembered I was thinking, I won't feel comfortable letting my child be train on this, really sound freaky to me! But I can always check with my friend on more details.

Juju, my opp block also have 1 NTUC CC! Haha! My hubby said v convenient mah. He said I have discrimination on NTUC CC. My younger sis enrolled her son to NTUC CC while on waiting list for another CC. She said is no good lor. Her son is already very naughty, after started with the CC, became like a wild horse like dat.. And he is bored because what they teaches, he already learnt from his previous nursery class so he is always not paying attention and running around and the teachers also bo chap. So she withdrew him out once another CC confirm got vacancy.

thanks, feb mum. i'll check it out.

my block has a cc but i see the kids are always studying and they don't look happy. otherwise it is super convenient for me. sigh...

i was considering my first skool because the kids look happier there. but with these feedback i think i better reconsider my choice.

My experience with NTUC CC at my area:
1st visit, trying to speak to the principal, not around, so I made appt, 1 of my qns is: what kind of system they follow in terms of teaching.. Her reply: Upto the teacher to teach! "ah duah" where got such thing loh.. at least got system to follow.. then the furniture.. very old & rusty..

pastries,
same here. ntuc very convenient for us, cos jus opp blk.

joyce,
which ntuc cc is dat?
guess i'm gonna try to interview the principal liao

feb_mum,

Well done! Very good so detail.. i only list a few things.. haha.. something for the 1st time mum to think thru what they want when looking for cc/playgroup!

Shers: Why didn't u enrol Shermin in a CC near your place? I thought there're several CCs near our area? I'm thinking of sending Le Xuan to half day playgroup in Jan next year so must start sourcing!

Re: Shichida
ESP sounds weird!! But my niece who went for several terms at Shichida is really clever and has a very good memory!

Re: NTUC - MyFirstSkool
Not good ah? Die liao.. I intend to put Le Xuan at their IFC this April.
Ju: How do u like their IFC so far?

tiny m,
they are saying the cc not good. so far this ifc quite good. better than the previous ifc jodie went to.
which one u sending Le Xuan to?

Morning ladies!!

SK,
Those schools which I hv mentioned are not CC, they are pre-schools - from N1 to K2 (3 hrs type).

Star,
Wow so fast u hv registered your bb. My elder was in their waitlist then. But I hv changed her to another sch slightly nearer to my place. My boy will be with my elder since priority will be given to those with siblings in the school. Leedon is the old school location and due to the circle line construction, they hv moved it to demspsey

pastries,
My neighbour sent her son to patschoolhouse @ jubilee. She claimed that the sch standard is not as good as before. Thats what I heard. But I like the huge school compound..

Shers,
Chloe was with JG for almost 2 terms before I sent her to playgroup @ talent plus and subsequently to her current sch. Well, JG is x leh and must Q too.. I went to their forum branch previously

re: ifc/cc
tiny_m, no worry, not all ntuc cc r not gd... maybe urs will be ok like ju? i think it depends on the teachers.

i like the teachers @ yuan2's IFC -- most of them r mothers or grandmas and they love kids
lately there is some unhappiness when the new principal took over... they r working long shift due to short handed... usually, i will stay on to help out in the morning -- afraid no one watch my active yuan2

mil was very unhappy when she heard that yuan2 had a fall @ IFC yesterday -- now she has a bruise on her cheek bone... while mil was nagging on the phone, yuan2 pressed the "hang up" button to cut off the line *haha* -- not once but a few times :p

that day when i was in orchard i saw a bunch of toddlers wearing eton house uniform during a field trip in orchard road...tot its quite fun hahahahhaha...

ju: Le Xuan will be going to their new IFC at Serangoon. it'll only open in March cos they lack teachers. i prefer that cos it's brand new compared to the old old ones near my place. i hope they will be as good as yours.

adv_sports: Yuan2 is so smart and funny! She must hate ur MIL's nagging.. I dun like it when MIL starts nagging when she can't even look after baby herself..