(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Its ok sgpd, just carry on with ur postings.. U r free to share anything n everything u want about babies birth defects, tomatoes n geniuses.. And of cos, curry..

Think u should take a chill pill n not worry too much about ur baby.. Hopefully ur baby can be president next time so all ur "investigations" will be worth it!

I will continue to feed my poor andrea with cereal n jar food.. Hopefully she doesn't become unhealthy, obesed or weird..

U r really a great mum!! Respect yo!!! And pls don't reply anything lengthy to me ok cos its irritating

This is the authentic source from AAP
http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/cgi/content/full/pediatrics%3B101/1/148

I myself feeding my baby soya formula. Those who wrote to manuf in some forums said no evidence that its unhealthy. I have no choice as PD said wait till 1 yr before give cow's formula. Soya is hidden in most of the foods. There are so many extracts from Soya which dont even sound soya like Leicitin (extract from soya/ milk etc).

Now and then when got time read the Mind ur body articles published in St times. Sometime back they published article on disecting ingredients and labels. (I am not sure if write to St times they will provide that article r not)

Thats why I said its very complicated to know ingredient list. Those made using food technology safe. Those using perservatives may not be.

I will end the topic here. For those who understood what I wanted to convey thank you. Those who find it offensive, Am sorry.

may mum,
i add hot water to soften the rice and for easy grinding. the consistency will not be dry as u add water and ingredients

juju, jamie, audrey ....

same here I'm SAHM n I feed my precious Princess with junk food, creral, baby jar, pasta n NO HOME COOK hehehe ... so we same group. N wat ever I eat I'll giv Rachel try abit also.

sei,
playgroup starts from 3yrs old (the year they turn 3).. so u can start searching for esther maybe now since next yr is registration year.

bo gei also can munch minced meat.. train them.. just grind them too..

Jar food/ cereal via home cooked food
oh dear.. i think most bbs eat ready mix cereal and jar food on daily basis.. home cooked food will be nice and ideal but very much depends on how u cook it also.. talk abt prolong cooking kills nutrients.. might as well go back to eat ready made cereal and jar food.. haiz.. how how!! i dont really care so long my bb is growing well, healthy, slp well, no allergy, no lao sai, play well, smiles etc

not sure whether any one of u remember that during our preggie times, we always say drink more milk, drink more soya... actually my mil told me there is an article mentioning that we cant drink soya more than 2 times per week since there is an ingredient inside that is cancerous.. i dont do research so i have no evidence

sgpv, not sure whether is the soya bean we drink similar to the soya milk powder.. my PD also says cannot feed soya milk powder for more than 2 weeks.. u sure your PD says feed till 1 yr old? wanna seek 2nd opinion?

wah...drink soya milk?

then i cfm kaiden will sick more often la...preggie i no drink milk cuz i lactose intolerant...then i dun like drink soya..cuz the powdery taste i hate...

then every am drink kopi when preggie till he out...

poor kaiden...got hopeless mummy

Wow, think I m the most bochap mummy here already. For convenience, I even skip porridge n cereal by the time my gal hits 6 months. When we go out, she will be eithe on jar food or outside food. Think she has the most exciting food already: chawanmushi from yoshinoya, fish soup n rice from food court, bread from fastfood restaurant....

I guess once in a while indulgence in outside food is fine. anyway, for adults, we also eat in moderation. Jar food n cereal are just passing phases in their life n they will be taking other food.

Talking abt being a junkie, I have so many bottles of new year goodies on my table! N home! Just went to woodlands terrace to buy bak kwa! My collegues kept complaining that I m super unhealthy, eating all the junks tho I m still bfging! Try have not seen my fridge...all the nacho cheese chips that I bought from sprees! Hahaha....

Hi shers, i also have lots of junks to maintain my "figure" =p

firefly,
actually can see the offer items frm their webbie.
bought fitted crib sheets (alrdy on clearance price), washcloths/safety first products/hair accessories/crib organiser (all on 50% discount)

Eh...think im more bochap than poohwei..LOL
I let my gal drink milk and snack on biscuits, not yet on jar foods. Quite a hassle to feed her with jar foods at home let alone outside. *so ashamed*

Maybe can start today. Charlene only eats homecook foods when parking at mum's place but then, mum sometimes add soya sauce (special kind claimed by her..less salt type?) into porridge with veggies.

I intend to start her with meat when she turns 1yo only.

Good morning mummies!! With due respect to all, I can see that sgpv is sharing her point of view with good intention. I don't believe she's enforcing the MSG that we are doing harm by feeding cereal and jar food. To each his own on how and what we wan to feed our child. For some sahm I can understand why jar food and cereal is better cos looking after bb alone at home is such a tiring job not to mention cooking for bb and yet still need to do housework. Ftwm is even worst
in terms of simply not having the time and energy to cook.

Take me for e.g. I just happen to have a helper at home So she can cook for my gal but even so I still feed
cereal (ht cereals and alternate with yu ren sheng si shen brown rice)nevery day cos I want my gal to expose to both home cooked meal and prepacked cereal.

We just bought jar food and intend to introduce to my gal cos we are thinking of gg holiday and we will have to depend on cereal and jar food during travel.

All mummies come to this forum to share knowldge and advices so pls don't take all suggestions too hard. I really like this forum cos everyone is so nice and open and I learn alot ESP when my gal was feeling well.

Re preschool- I think I am the most kiasu mummy. I started doing research when my was only 4mths. First choice was st James. But their current location is full for bb born in 2009. Faint. They do have 10 slots left for another new location in holland village area. But then they hve not started building up the place so dun noe how it's like hence I have decided to let it go.

Poohwei: u stayed in the area as me and i wonder if u have found any good preschool ?

Re: jarfood
just bought Only Organic Mango Banana Bliss, Fruit Cocktail, Fruit Muesli n Golden Fruit Porridge for Rachel so now got stock about 23 bottles ... hahaha Lazy Mummy

lily

where u bought the only organic har food ah?
I doesnt wan to go city square n buy.. any other places?
Jayden love golden fruit porridge

Just wondering... I didn't grow up drinking from BPA bottles, my mum for sure didn't know what Internet was at that time or does she have the time to do her own research on what is good or bad for me..... But I still grew up strong & healthy!!!

Sure, we are all here to share tips but don't cross the line by condemning how other mummies want to bring up their kids. So many links were provided to prove your pt, is it necessary?? I don't think most of us here care... Come here to share but don't force your beliefs on others... Don't make them feel like their harming their child...

Jamie,
I dont feed jar food. I have few unopened ones 4 few mnths now. I seldom take her out for long hrs (ll disrupt sleep patterns). For short hrs I bring milk and some Gerber Graduate puffs. For long hrs I pack home made cereal/ happy bellies organic cereal. (w milk/ banana)
she eats quarter of wholemeal/wholegrain bread, fruits, pomegranate juice, rice w lentils/ steamed rice cakes/ pan cakes n veggy. I give her childlife colostrum, ever since using this her ezcema is not noticable at all. sometimes after feeding if she wants more then I give her happy bellies cereal/banana.

I've avent steamer cum blender. So takes short time on cooking/ washing.

shers
if ur PD can give alt. (otherthan soya/ hypoallergic) to cow's milk intolerant/ allergic baby do pass me address, I wud make a visit.

mikojade,
I was sharing wat I read. I didnt provide it to prove. We are mature enough to diff. btwn proving & sharing.

Babycare Festival 2010
Admission: Public - Free Admission
Venue: Hall 6B

Mother & Baby brings you the highlight of the year – BabyCare Festival 2010, where families will be thrilled by the fun activities, exhilarating entertainment and fantastic buys!

19-20 Mar 10 - 11am to 9pm
21 Mar 10 - 11am to 8pm

Sgpv: happy bellies cereal?? Isn't tt ready made cereal???? So u dun gif jar food, bt u dun mind giving artificially flavored gerber bites? Hmm, gerber puffs is also considered a snack rite, jus the husks u were referring to in ur posts much previously?

Jamie, the last time I give her puff was Jan 1st when took her out to friend's restaurant opening. Cereal w banana I bought along when I took her to Doc on 21st Jan. It is emergency alt. to me. Anyway wat I wanted to convey was ignored. It is no point in further elaborating.

Sgpv, I think u better heed your pd's advice since he is e lead pd for your bb all along. In case I intro wrongly, I can't afford to take up e responsible. Moreover, I don't do research. I just based on what I did for #1 n repeat e same for #2. Diff pple diff culture. What I'm trying to say is just share your view will do.. Sometimes overdo it will kill..

Juju, that sounds interesting.. R we going after e cny gathering or another day? What's good buys?

Yawnzzz.. Good nitez mummy!!

Hi IloveSashimi,

I will be enrolling my gal @ Little SkoolHouse International @ Kent Vale. She will join my #1. Mummy is cheapo...cos daddy is a staff of NUS and enjoys corporate subsidies there...so we only pay $180 for full day childcare plus education (No subsidies..I will need to pay $600)..I heard that 2 hours playgroup at PAP will also cost ard $150 already, so EX!!!...So this cheapo mummy gave warning to daddy that he must consider all the factors before he decides to quit.

Thanks poohwei. Aiyoh where got cheapo. So nice ur hubby has subsidy for this. Today I spoke to my hubby and we alsoo thinking maybe pap and then probably enroll for enrichment class instead of gg straight to those exp preschool. Still toying with ideas cos wanted the preschool to have more fun elements rather than study and books. Yet I dun wan something that's like childcare. Telok blangah has 1 (can't rem the name) which is something like full day childcare - they show pictures of bb cot somemore.

So sad. It's already 3 mths and my gal has been drinkiing either soy or lactose free fm. Yesterday and today she finally back to normal fm ( took a mth to reintro normal fm) but tonight her poo wet wet again. Arrrghhhhh......so frustrating. Could it be the brand of fm???

poohwei,
so cheap!! little skoolhouse is a good cc. your hb can quit but after chang xuan 'graduates' from kindergarten 1st.

ilovesashimi,
i realise that not alot of singaporean chinese likes to put their kids in pap because there are alot of china chinese, indians, malays and other kids from other countries. most will put in cc or other pre-sch. for myself, i prefer catholic pre-sch though i'm not a catholic. not all pre-sch is expensive.

shers,
dat's in march la

poohwei,
envy u! ur gals can go little skoolhouse at such cheap rates! dun let ur hb quit till both gals finish sch thr!

Sgpd: jus felt tt it's weird hw u can ask us "why u still feeding ur babies cereal" n u tok abt home made cereal n abt hw commercialised food is wat technology food and blah blah blah, suddenly u tell us tt u gif happy bellies cereal (pre-made) and gerber puffs(artificially flovored commercialised snacks).
Jus very surprising tt u come across as the type who won't gif ur baby those sort of processed, preservative loaded food, even a little bit (and *gasp* gerber puffs?!!) So I was jus, well, surprised. Nothng to do abt wat point u were trying to convey. Dun nd to put it in such a way lk we are so dense to totally miss ur pt.

Sgpd: oh u feed gerber puffs? There goes your little einstein..

Anyway I guess we r sometimes really dumb to miss out on what u r trying to convey so pls, don't bother to elaborate or explain to us.

Oh and yes, don't have to justify which dates u feed ur baby those horrible junk cos its very contradicting.. Like a walking talking contradiction. And ur baby is really lucky to eat those junk only on 1st and 21st.. U noe mine has been eating that from 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 13th 14th 15th 16th 17th 18th 19th 20th 21st 22nd 23rd 24th 25th 26th 27th 28th 29th 30th 31st. Pls check n see if I left out anything. Thanks!

good morning mummies

re: dentinox
mummies, when do i give this? how often to apply?

Yuan2's 1st little tooth finally break thru the gum @ 9mth -- can see the tiny white thingy... but she woke up every 2 hrs last nite -- not sure if it is due to teething pain...

re: childcare
poohwei, previously learning vision is @ kent vale -- now taken over by little skoolhouse?

m happy with learning vision @ nus -- so will let yuan2 continue to their toddler class

adv sports
u can give dentinox every 20 mins.. its written on the box. but it used to work the 1st few times for andrea, then i felt that it didn't work anymore.

Audrey, Audrey... I belong to the dumb group according to 'SOME PEOPLE'!!! Lol!!!

Anyway NO ONE here shld make other mummies feel like they are not a gd mummy jus because of some jar food or tt they are not feeding homemade food....

Porky, sorry missed out ur earlier post. Hehe ok when I wirte liao I will let u know what they say. Hehe.

Mikojade,
Lolll!!

Shers: If possible I am looking for a christian prschool near here but i'm still looking around cos I used to be from east side so super blur abt the plc here

jamie: I think so. That one so near but like full time child care. Faint.

Adv_sports: actually me also confused abt using teething gel. According to my friend it should be used when teeth abt to come out. No after teeth come out wor. Me blur lor. Din realise when my gal's teeth coming out and I applied actually after her teeth came out but surprisingly those days she slept through.

Re feeding bread: previously my gal ls and I feed White bread soak with plain water. But on the internet, it says
should feed whole grain. What does it mean har?

Ilovesashimi, where u stay now? Me not sure abt christian presch though. Y not u spend a weekday driving ard your neighbourhood with hb. Shld b able to see lil kids walking home or going sch.. If u r staying ard me, at least I can tell u abit of my finding since my big girl just went pre-sch