(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi muffintop,
I also enjoy the bonding i have when i latch my gal. In fact, thats the only time when i spend quality time with her cos my #1 will come to bug me when i m not bfging. Hence, i treasure the time.

As to stickness, my #2 latches but she is less sticky than my #1 who was bottled-fed with EBM.

I also wanna cut my supply so that i can pump less. When i did it 2 weeks ago, i kena bad blocked ducts that only managed to go away a few days ago.

Luckily..now with technology, i just surf net with my iphone while pumping.

My target: Pump in the morning only..then latch at nite. Hopefully i can do that when my gal reaches 1 yo.

Re: Lowering of cot
Have anyone lowered the cot to the lowest level aready? I am going to do so later cos my gal is cruising in the cot and she looks like she is falling out.

Thanks to all mummies for yor concern. Now my hubby also down with stomach flu. Faint. Doc says such virus
is lurking around so pls be careful and take care.

Re: diarrhoea - previously my gal was lactose intolerance hence got to switch formula. However as I wan to reintro regular fm hence she keeps having diarrhoea on/off.

Stomach flu- since last tues she started vomitting and diarrhoea. Super explosive kind. Got worst by the day hence see Pd and also admit to kkh but no use.

today switch to soy and her diarrhea slowed down abit. Today 2 times and finally see hard poo for the 1st time. But her tummy superly bloated. The last feed she vomit abit. Guess she's gg to diarrhea again in a few hrs time.

Decided to give her less milk tomorrow and shorter interval. Hope this will help to avoid the bloatedness.

Re 2nd doc opinion- any recommendation? Cos my gal stil looks active, I wan a doc who won't judge her by her outlook. Like in kkh, as I talked to the doc, bb exploded twice, but the doc no reaction cos she said my gal looks
active. Told the doc that my gal poo every 15-30mins. Even when I go kkh I brought the whole pack of diapers and yet the doc think nothing serious and give same med as my Pd. The kkh doc is weird, ask me to give my gal bread with honey or bread with jam. Told her honey is in high risk of allergy, she don't agree and even asked me "who say so"?

Re solid- yes my gal has been eating solid since 5 mths old. Very easy eater. Not fussy. Now superly fussy and refusing to take more than 3 mouthful. Intend to stop forcing her to eat. Just drink soy milk tomorrow and see how.

Ilove,
as told u before when diahhorea its important to not give solids as body needs to recover rather than waste energy to digest food. Though ur baby didnt had cow's milk allergy before. Looks like she got it now.

medically explaining : the thin layer on the intestines which protects will remain intact due to mother's milk (due to antibody immonoglobin) when baby got cow's milk allergy, this thin layer will depreciate gradually and when no more protection we will know that baby got allergy. Remember intolerance is something to do enzymes/ not ready. allergy is something to do with immune system.
Its better you continue feed her soya milk only even if she recovers from diahhorea.

Do not attempt to feed her milk products until she is 1 yr. I made the same mistake and try check if she outgrown or not and I could not see her pain and she vomit so force that vomit was on floor fly from her cot.
If u keep switching her milk from dairy/ soya etc., the intensity of allergy may increase. It was scary to read that allergy reactions from diahhorea, hives, rash can lead to dangerous shock. So I will not risk it.

Mother's instincts are strong and cannot be rejected. I do not trust kkh acc & emergency pds (I feel & happen to have doubt if they r doctor or not.. bb got sick and doctor keep going out n come back checking w another doctor on what to prescribe or what to tell us)
You can make a visit to Dr.Siva in Kinder Clinic or Dr. Velan/ Dr. Koh from SBCC. My baby's Doc in KKH (specialist) and so far I could not find any solution or explanation from him and he never prescribe any medicine or took seriously. When she got allergic rash he said due to weather (hot) might be heat rash. I happen to continue for vaccine as fedup changing doctors. I sure know its no use talk about it with him. I still take her to him for her vaccine but if any serious or in doubt I take her to Dr.Siva/ Dr.Velan.

Jamie's place gathering
21st jan 2010 (thurs)- abt 2pm onwards
pls add ur names!

1) jamie & hailey
2) porky jean & jaeden
3) audrey & andrea
4) joyce & hui xin & hui ning
5) ling & kayden
6) mikojade & nigel & helper(can fetch max 3 frm train station bt cannot fit in any strollers)
7) okipoki
8) lily & rachel & hb(maybe)
9) sk & charlene
10) createjoy & jayden
11) jling & jack
12) bean & little bean

Babes, hv pm-ed or sms-ed u guys my addy! =)

Joyce: It sounds yummy!!!

Jamie's place gathering
pls add ur names!

1) jamie & hailey
2) porky jean & jaeden
3) audrey & andrea
4) joyce & hui xin & hui ning
5) ling & kayden
6) mikojade & nigel & helper(can fetch max 3 frm train station bt cannot fit in any strollers)
7) okipoki
9) sk & charlene
10) createjoy & jayden
11) jling & jack
12) bean & little bean
13) miiichelle & darolyn

Thanks Jamie for having us! Thanks for the cake Joyce! =)

I will b getting economy bee hoon with "liao" on tt day, so consider as lunch. =) plus joyce's cake. Enuf ma? Or nd more stuff??

aiya, gonna miss the outing. Gota work. Will join again if there is a weekend or east outing!

Thanks mummies for ur advice. I will feed and see if he can self wean. Have give. Dun have dun give. Anyway I intro formula for 1-2 feeds like bean.

Does any of ur bbs bite? Mine has four teeth and he enjoys biting! While latched. Pain. When I scold him, he would laugh and bite again.. Dun dare to pull him out cos he might bite harder. Is that self weaning? Heehee

muffintop,

I slapped claire lightly on her cheek and looked at her FIERCELY.. she got the message that mummy is not happy when she bites after a few days....

Jamie, me too want to join but got specialist appt in kkh for vaccine tom afternoon. I tried to postpone but no dates couple of weeks. Tomorrow is 2 injections so after that not sure if she feels ok or not. (last time she got fever when got two jabs at a time)

audrey, me not pd. just first time parent

Hi muffintop,

My gal bites also. I will know when she wanna bites cos she will close her eyes anticipating that i will hit her hard on the cheeks. So naughty right?

Cant join in the gathering cos my lessons end at 3.30pm on Thurs...Will try organise 1 soon..

feb_mum, not big time anymore..i used to play every nite before having jaeden...now weekend also cant play..so only cny play loh..hahaha

joyce, i hv confident in ur baking too !

jling, my hubby will be buying the drinks and I bring to jamie's house. You dun need to buy lah.
Just come with bb k. Happy happy!

Jamie's place gathering
pls add ur names!

1) jamie & hailey
2) porky jean & jaeden
3) audrey & andrea
4) joyce & hui xin & hui ning (will be driving down from my place - if u know where *haha*, can take 2 pairs)
5) ling & kayden
7) okipoki
9) sk & charlene
10) createjoy & jayden
11) jling & jack
12) bean & little bean
13) miiichelle & darolyn

Thanks sgpv for ur advise and recommendation. Ya I stopped all solid now. Today first time she din poo in wee morning. She only pooped at 745am with normal poo. Still keeping fingers crossed.
In fact I gave her more frequent feed with lesser volume. Now it's 90ml every 2 hr. So far her tummy not so big and hard. Helper also burped her very well. Noticed that with smaller feed she burp easier.
Still keeping fingers crossed. Also stopped all solid.

Will continue to monitor and praying hard
for her everyday to recover soon.

Really looking forward to next gathering to meet all kind mummies who have been giving me advices. This forum has been my #1 fav site and I am really grateful to all.

Aiyo! Ling! I'm so sorry!! No wonder I kp counting 1 person less bt I cldnt figure out who!!

Bean: will do!

Sk, let me knw if ur popping by tmr nite or thurs itself yea!

Feb mum: I sms u the details!

Wow, would love to join the gathering at Jamie's but similar to Feb_mum, dont know when school will be over...still no news about thursday afternoon. Normally, it is for staff meeting...
Will gatecrash if I could get out!!!

Ilove, any news? how ur baby now? its alrite if she doesnt poo for a day or so. it happens after diahhorea.

audrey, nope le I cant prescribe medicine .. keke.. frankly I didnt find a good doctor who is uptodate. (no offence) PD dont know many things and keep refering to specialist. Well any profession you see (ex: I.T, administration, HR...) you are supposed to do multitasking and know more than your basic job. Dont know why it dont apply to Medical profession. If general PD should know atleast if baby sick & diahhorea should give pointers to parents and step by step to follow instead refer to specialist (wait weeks weeks to get appt by then dont know if diahhorea go off or worst) ...

my bb first PD took 2 weeks thinking y she got diahhorea before refer to specialist. Specialist appt was 3 weeks later. God only know if Dr. Velan medicine was not on time my gal diahorea got worst by the time appt date arrives.

createjoy: yest i bought HT maple biscuit, but it tasted yucky le, got burnt taste!! straigth away i went ot buy bellamy toothiepegs , i havent taste it yet

sgpv: Dr Velan, SBCC at where??

Sgpv, yeah I agree cos I have yet to find a good PD. When I brought andrea to a pd, they gave her some med which didn't work. And brought her to KKH, their med also didn't work.. In the end she recovered faster when I stopped giving medication. Anyway u r very informative! Thank u!!

audrey.. totally agree on the medication! When claire has running nose.. i usually wait 3 days, only give her medicine if she doesn't recover by 3 days. and I just bring her to a GP now! which is just as good I feel and no need to queue!