(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

JasC,
I also live in CCK. which GP are you referring? Can PM me? i'm thinking to find one GP for my gal, cos now her PD is at railway mall... a bit far...

any mummies knew where can i buy happy bellies cereal? thks

JasC/twinkle

exactly, small reception & gota wait outside somemore. lousy PD. 1st time consultation @ 55 bucks!

now clueless on wher to find a gd pd/gp.

i dun mind travelling further if pd/gp is gd, caring & can ease parents' anxiety when bb fall sick.

Win

1st time consultation $55? So expensive. Where do you stay? When I call up to check whether the clinic open, it takes super long time for someone to pick up the call. Now I gave up going there.

Bean

I tried showering Isaac last Fri, the moment I rinsed his hair, he held my hands and pull himself up and make noise! hahaha! If baby accepts shower, it's so much easy to bring anywhere!

adv, jaeden's small pillow also lots of saliva smell..i change the cover everyday...then wash & sun the pillow only on weekend..but he will smell and bite it again aft that !

michie, how abt next week ? i can take leave tues or wed..juju dunno how to play..hahaha

juju, wahahaha...u pay sch fees lah..then aft u master liao next time can play with us ! btw i only bring 1 bolster to ifc for jaeden leh...so he still prefer his home stuff smell better..same like jodie, jaeden get used to shower method at home..so much easier to bathe him now

JasC, wah..1 hr of crying is so long...dunno when i got the chance to train my boy to sleep on his own...

baby sara, big ntuc got sell..i saw in hougang point ntuc before..where do u stay ?

Re: Showering baby

i no longer bathe my ger in the bath tub. has keep it in the storerm. she happily sits on the anti slip mat & let me shower. she luvs it when the water runs down her face & she pulls out her tongue & taste it, cant stop laughing.

porky,
next wk i'm free on friday! lol
no $$ liao, still wan me to pay sch fees! u no gd leh ;p
i give jodie pillow & bean bag in sch. i notice she fall aslp fast when she hv the bean bag or home bolster.

baby sara, then u can go to hougang mall ntuc..also very big one sure hv sell...

juju, hahaha...we play so small only..anyway u can just join us for chatting lah

oic, i just gv him bolster then he can sleep..but dunno why at home he needs to smell his small pillow...

JasC, I tried your sleep training method and my girl screamed the roof down! She cried and screamed until no voice and didn't stop until i picked her up (i gave in after what seemed to be a very long 10mins). After that she refused to go back into her bed even tho i showed her all her favorite bolster and soft toy is there. how can u tahan?

adv_sports: U guys are so cute, must have a try-out holiday. i think the familiar bolster/pillow is v impt and blanket cos it may be quite cold in the hotel room. don't need to bring too many things lah.. i tried to bathe my girl in the sink last time, pls DON'T do that! she almost slipped and was so scared and kept crying. i think showering her is a good idea!

JasC: I think you have to try a couple of times.. When I first try on Claire.. she also not exactly pleased, but didn't cry lah.. Now after 1 week plus, she will smile at me when the water flows down her face and taste the water.. same as Win's baby. haha

tinyM, my boy also cant stop screaming until i carry him up..then he seems to be angry with me...use his hands to hit me on my shoulder..sign..i really dunno how the rest can use the tough method training...then somemore my mil add salt and vinegar saying mummy so hard hearted...

adv, both u & hb really good..spent the money for a try out holiday..my hb cant be bothered...he say when bb 2yrs old then bring him for trip...so we plan our own trip first this year...will leave jaeden with my mum..

michie, how abt kopi session since no kahki for mj ? let me knw wic day so i can apply leave fast..

Bean

Isaac didn't cry but just 'scolded' me lah! hahahaha! That day I just stayed in my new place so for convenience sake just brought him to the shower area and showered him. Will try again, but not too soon as he's having running nose now

porky,
hee... chit chat is good. haha!

tiny m,
jodie also the same! we ever timed her, half hr! she will cry & scream non-stop, voice hoarse liao also continue, until i carry her. then she will sob to complain for a good 10-15mins then stop!

Jamie's place gathering
21st jan 2010 (thurs)- abt 2pm onwards
pls add ur names!

Email HT orders to me at [email protected] by 8th jan (fri) and u guys can collect on gathering day itself!

1) jamie & hailey
2) porky jean & jaeden
3) audrey & andrea
4) joyce & hui xin & hui ning
5) ling & kayden
6) mikojade & nigel & helper(can fetch max 3 frm train station bt cannot fit in any strollers)
7) okipoki
8) lily & rachel & hb(maybe)
9) sk & charlene
10) createjoy & jayden
11) sgpd & baby & helper
12) jling & jack

Yah lo! My girl seems angry with me also, gave me thos "why u do that to me" look! And she's like so scared she will be abandoned, refused to even sit on the bed, only want me to carry her, she grabbed my shirt v tightly!! she cried so so badly she kept panting like that. I got no heart to do that again..

shower: do u gals do it w/ bb sitting or stding/ i find it v hard leh. i put jayden on sink n shower his backside w/ him lean against me after shit. but to really bathe i cant do it w/ 1 hand on him, 1 hand hold showerhead.

tiny m i agree w/ u, wonder how can we slp train.. jayden can cry 40min no stop , choke n look like wanna vomit out..

jamie, wn u giv ur girl gerber puff , she tk them herself or u give her? mine dont wan to hold, bb bite then he want to hold.

Tiny M/Porky
I really have no choice. My mum used to take care of my #1 without any help and still can cook, wash and other household chores. With #2, she's the tree and Isaac is the koala bear clinging on her, then when I'm back from work, I become the tree. Every evening from 6.30pm he'll be sleepy and he wants someone to rock him and carry him but the moment when he's placed on the bed, he'll be awakened. Else he'll sleep, then half and hour later will make noise. Then feed some milk, sleep, 2 hours later wake up again. I'll have to prepare 2-3 bottles to standby in the room to feed him milk. between 11pm - 6am.

The training is still on, still far from successful but I'm seeing some results. I can't stand the cry too so I close the door, do other things or attend to my elder girl and will pop in to the room every few mins. I'll hug him or hold him up and tell him I love him and then put him in the playpen again. He's a smart guy, the moment I bring him to the room he'll hold my shirt very tight and refuse to lie down.

I brought him back to my mum's place while I went out with hb to shopping, my mum complained that I tortured my boy as he has lost his voice crying too long.

Really, if I have continued to stay in my mum's place, I'll never have the chance to do what I want for my boy. It's now or never, it may not be successful but at least I try.

I didnt receive any mails from forum. I thought today everyone silent. WRONG...hehehe scroll scroll still cannot finish ..hehe

re: baby taking less milk
ILoveSashimi,
My bb still taking less milk. Though she isnt refusing it. But almost half of the qty she reduce. I only feed solid ones. And her sleep also haywire. She isnt drooling lately and no teeth aso. I wonder whats wrong. she isnt so much active but then she sweating a lot. Will go through online for reference b4 visit doctor.

re sterilising:
hmmm.. reading through all posts on sterilising. Thks all for sharing. I guess I will continue till 1 yr. I thought now I can just wash w hot water no need to sterilise as bb already almost 8months.

Jumperoo/ Exersaucer:
by the way anyone interested to buy jumperoo/ exersaucer (pre Order)?

createjoy,
hb & me shower jodie while carrying her. yet to try letting her sit on mat on the floor cos both of us got bad backs. haha!

tiny m,
yes. after such crying, dun dare liaoz. some more get scolded by our bbs. lol

sgpv,
u can jus rinse wif hot water la.
for me, i lazy. cos steriliser will realli make sure the bottles & pumps are clean lor

juju, true le so me too WANT to be lazy. but then bb got allergy so anythin worried to take risk.

anyway I will try out wash w hot water after CNY as she born in OX year. Ox year not favourable to Ox year born n somehow taurus aso... hehe
Hopefully tiger will bring her good health
hehe

JasC: wow! u very firm! i cannot.. my girl cried so badly, i wanna cry with her..

juju: haha.. i got a feeling she might hate me after that so dun wanna try liao.. mabbe try again when she's older..

re: sterilising
I stopped sterilising this week, just rinse with hot water before i pump or before every feed. i think parentcraft lessons taught that once bb starts putting things into the mouth can stop sterilising.

Re: shower
I shower with Claire sitting down on the non-slip mat. But she will wanna stand up in the middle of the shower.. so when she stand up.. i will rinse her backside hahaha... Before I start to shower, I will normally wash her face, brush her teeth and wash her backside with her baby bath at the sink, so even if she doesn't stand up during the shower, her backside is clean lor.

re: sleep training
I think it all boils down to the baby and mother. When the mother is generally soft, think the baby knows and can feel it and just cry and cry till the mother give in.
But when mother is generally firm in most occasions, think the baby can also feel it and get the message that no matter how much she cries, mum is not picking her up. Babies are super smart!
Also some babies are very strong in character (really persistant), some are mild. So I think its really a combination of various factors to make the sleep training sucessful. The cry cry method may work on one mother/baby but may fail terribly on another. yup...

re: shower
win, bean, haha, yuan2 also like to taste the water!

bean, yah, i will try the shower method if yuan2 dun try to stand up in the bath tub!

re: try-out holiday
tiny_m, porky, wanna try out to see if we can fly out in late apr -- we r discussing abt a trip to japan when she turns 1 year old
juz in time for sakura and cool climate run...

re: sleep train
sounds very heart pain when bb cries non-stop...

yesterday, yuan2 was crying thru out the car journey from home to IFC -- a good 30mins due to traffic jam... felt so helpless as i couldn't do anything to soothe her
she finally dozed off -- too tired from crying...

baby sara, yes u can join us !

tinyM, i also dont dare to train liao...i think we just hv to let them torture us till they can sleep on their own...dunno when lah

createjoy, i try using 1 hand to hold my boy under his arms and the other hand to rub the shampoo...then 1 hand to rinse and the other hand continue to hold under his arms..it works ! u can try..but must be very careful and quick !

JasC, oic...so u train ur boy w/o anyone at home...and u just let him scream and cry...same lah, i everyday prepare 3 milk bottles from 11-7am then wash and sterilise all tog...hate it to walk to kitchen to get the bottles if not enuf..super tiring !

sgpv, i also lazy mummy..just throw everything into steriliser every morning then night time can use liao..

jasc lucky ur neighbour din complain , my neighbour even complain to mil we flush toilet at night v noisy. cos our flush got prob aft flush will mk noise like washing machine spin dry.

Jayden tk 3hr frm previous nap to get slpy n will cranky for an hr if i dont pat him slp. so i also sian to see him cranky not enjoying himself waste time. wn he slpy pat 5min slp faster.. but at night wn he not slpy smtime i pat an hr! but i want him to slp reg time. used to be 8+ now i abt 9 then start mk him slp. cos i dont slp early he too early wk up i bei tahan!

my sis also leave her daughter to slp on their own after a yr, i guess i will do that later too but hope MIL not staying w/ me by then :p but not qt likely...

sgpv,
haha!

tiny m,
hee... i wonder hw they view us when we let them cry until like dat. i still dunno when i will slp train jodie.
hb ask me when is jodie getting out of our bed. my answer to him is when jodie gets out on her own. hahaha!

adv,
dat's why i told hb even if i start driving agn, i wun drive wif jodie in the car. i can't tahan her crying for too long.
i guess dat's also why i can't slp train her.

baby sara,
come come! u stay kovan? near near!

porky that sounds v tricky, wont u get wet? so the showerhead is on the holder lah u dont hold it is it? still.. hmmm hw come u wont get wet.. i tried once b4 cos rushing to go out n he shitted. but i end up all wet LOL...

baby sara u also stay in the north?

haha juju my hb opp , he loves jayden on our bed, but i v scare cos hb slp like a log so i try not to let him slp w us. i pat till he 80% slp then carry back to bb cot.
hb just started to slp w/ us last week. he been slping next door most days aft jayden's birth cos he work till wee hrs so very hard to have enought rest w/ jayden around.

i used to carry jayden to my bed after the 5+ feed, now cannot.. n w/ noise frm both of them i suffer most, hb snore n grind teeth.. jayden cry for pacifier... i v tired..

createjoy

My new house happened to be situated along an expressway and my boy is sleeping in the room with the window facing the expressway. There's a small window facing the opp block. Maybe only the upstair and downstair neighbour will complain but I doubt so! The expressway is more noisy than my baby cry!

Porky
My girl and hubby were at home too. My girl asked me why didi cry huh? You let didi cry to sleep?

Luckily my mum, MIL are not staying with me, else they'll never let my boy cried for so loud and so long. My hubby did tried once when we were staying with my mum on a sat afternoon but then my boy wasn't feeling well so I stopped him and my mum already complained why did we let the little one cry not stop!

createjoy, i put the shower head into a pail..so i wont get wet while i rub shampoo with 1 hand and hold my boy wif the other hand

Jean: But thursday I can only meet after 4 leh. How? Friday la then can meet ard 2. How how? Meet where? Compass pt? Or?