(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Piggypig, I use rice water to make milk as well as to give her to drink like plain water.

Sgpv, my gal still diarrhoea as of now - 4 times. I stop brown rice already. Hubby bought similac this afternoon and my maid just gave my gal at 4pm - she refused to drink! I am hanging in there.. hope she hungry, she will accept similac.. I want to see if its the formula thats causing the prob.

I can't wait to knock off - intend to bring my gal to PD today. Maid said that baby cranky today.. heart ache.. no mood to work at all.

Worst - I just join the company and I have used up all my prorated leave!!

rc_cola, feb_mum,
indians pierce baby ears when they are 9 or 11th month old cause thin and tender skin very fast can pierce without pain. if wait till 2-3 yrs skin will be thick and pain also. I see many toddlers cry even before vaccine/injection given. baby easy to manage. pierce also dont put ring type. prefer those press ones like the nose presses they cant pull one.

I plan to pierce my baby in 11th month and those one stone small press looks cute

feb_mum,
u can change cause its faulty from manufacture. by right they should inform consumer and give replacement but may be they dont want to do mass replacement or just one batch of prod was faulty. just go to philips consumer care. some other forums also complain same. me also use avent before then realise that its not teat not fit properly but u will see milk come out from screwcap. I only use plastic bottle for a month since then using glass bottle. devoted consumer of pigeon brand. all baby products from pigeon

IloveSashimi,
do you have lactorel forte at home? give her some if delay going to doctor. did you buy similac cow's milk or soya milk? soya milk is called isomil. I hope u bought isomil only. dont feed any solids. And dont wipe her poop with baby wipes or cotton. wash her bottom with warm water and keep it dry. diaper rash comes fast during diahhorea and more painful if wipe.

do let us know the status after visiting doctor. hopefully should recover in 1-2days time.

feb_mum: I'd transferred $20 to u liao.

adv_sports: Ya, we gave her pearl powder concurrently with the PD's med the last time. I was relunctant to give her PD's med cos PD said not much use, only to relief symptoms. she recovered rather quickly after we started her on pearl powder.
I think the chinese sinseh that rc_cola said is the famous one. I think all babies are scared of being massaged. My girl gets massages regularly from my uncle (a tui na physician) and she cries all the time. Now, she'll "lian chou chou" when we go to his shop and cry even before he touches her. hahah.. but good for her..

jaime: ya, i just came back from genting. damn tiring leh.. dunno how u managed..

Tiny M

Kept want to tell u that I will exchange my similac with baby may instead hor, coz we can find a good timing to meet up with each other.
Hope you are okay..
U just came back from Genting? Tiring? Hehe.. travelling with kids are like that.. especially long hour on the car ride.

Me more tired, got 2 to cope! The tiring part is with my #1, coz got character, want this want that, dun want this dun want that.. My boy was okay the whole trip..
Early tis morning my girl woke up and told me MUMMY I WANNA GO KOH SAMUI POKPOK SUI (play water) hahaha.. my mil told her “go pok pok sui also must take flight ar? Next year then tell mummy again” hahaha.. so funny!

Jaime (precious)
Which hotel are u staying in krabi?

Ilovesashimi
Y u use rice water to make milk? What’s the benefit?
Better go c PD fast k. in the meantime, give lots of plain water to prevent dehydration.

sgpv, feb mum: definitely not the teat, milk is leaking from the screw cap, its so frustrating having to screw and unscrew for each feed; even my baby got fed up drinking becos for no reason, the milk will leak on him!

walau, maufacturing fault and still dont recall the bottles!! i called philips and they asked me to bring the bottles down for them to check. somemore ask for receipt but nevery admit its maufacturingfault!! infact i'm hesitating now coz after i change to avent bpa free bottles, my bb had diarrhoea. not sure if its related la.

cola

u are right.

Mil has been asking me to intro porridge and i am inclined to accept & try it out.

However, after buying the ikan bilis(to make flavour for porridge)and chking with my mum where she told me to intro ard 1 yr old & hearing ur comments(allergy risk), am quite apprehensive in doing it.

btw, my gal weighs 7.2kg @ 6mths. pd says 6 mth old baby gals shd weigh @ 7.5kg and if i worry can slowly intro porridge but DID NOT mention on the allergy thinggy.

Win

Do what you think is right.
Btw your girl weigh is okay, y must feed porridge? hm.. different PD different opinion.

For my PD, as long as the kid is growing healthily and happily, no need to force feed at all..

My FIl is here, and he was feeding my boy plain bread. Plain bread is okay, but then he used to feed my girl chocolate when she was about 7 mths old! i hope he wont anyhow feed my boy..

He told me he fed SIL's one-yo son MALAY RICE!~

cola

i also dun understand. nevertheless since shes taking her milk & cereals well, other stuff can wait.

oh gosh, u must be scared stiff then. plain bread is okay. i also give that to my gal & baby bites rice rusks.

for me, i dun stay with my PIL. so when they pop over, will ask how is frances doing and such.

there was once when i feedback to my mil that frances dun like brown rice, she told me to add condensed milk to sweeten it! my helper and me was blur, huh can meh...

i ask a lot of frenz & they say NO NO. so i add carrot puree to it & she luvs it.

u all sending baby to tui na for what? flu?

piggypig,
one of the mummy selling her preloved avent manual pump she openly write in ebay that philips consumer care will trade old ones for new one for $40. I call philips care they say no such thing. I said the same to her. she say dont call them just go straight to consumer care showroom. I did and they say no such thing ever did before in showroom counter. behind showroom is repair center. I waited there to repair my food warmer and ask the guy their he say "we used to trade before now no more" ... well so many diff answers from philips consumer care. Almost I called all philips dept from consumer care, repair center, avent center etc.,

then luckily i bring my bottles and show the guy that its leaking, then he agree ya it is fault all old bottles like this and new manfucatured ones got serial number , dont leak and he show me the serial number also. I find the screw lines at the edge are not curved like old bottles and may be the design like that to avoid leaking. so I guess showroom staff dont know what repair staff knows or may be repair staff is being so kind on us to replace which may not be officially to replace.

Also I remember that I attended parent craft classes and they say BPA free bottles are not 100% BPA. (dont rem if they said all brands or just avent and advised to use glass bottles) I had all avent bottles (sample pieces from goodie bags, from food warmer, steriliser) so i used for a month and then I read through several medical journals and websites realised plastic is indeed (bpa or non bpa ) not good. since non bpa still researching is going on and say still leak chemical not so dangerous. but how dangerous I dont want to know.

I am thankful to my mum who use glass bottles, breastfeed me no formula and no modern tech on me and I am strong. my baby already sick since 3 months old and many babies got problem these days. Its not we r bad mummies, we are not well informed consumers. certain things good to follow trad way.

rc_cola, ilovesashimi,
u should not give more than 60ml of water for babies. 1 yr old onwards can have unlimited water. you should hydrate well with formula itself and some lactorel forte/smecta as advised by doctor.

rice water means u boil rice w water and before rice fully cook the thick soup filter out.(it is called startch) give to baby. you can dilute w water a bit to make it thin but dont mix with formula. not more than 60ml will do in a day. (This two of the PD recommend me)

I just came back from my road trip to sunway KL again! My #2 was so angelic throughout the whole trip. She was only out of the car seat when she needed milk. On the last day, we gave her plain porridge too n she loved it. We originally plAnned for a 3 days 2 nights trip. However, we extended our stay cos we were given a free upgrade for one of the connecting rooms which is abt 50 square metres. The toilet is As big as my masterbed room! N there is a nepresso coffee machine in th room! Super shiok! Ended up, I needed to buy extra diapers for my gals. But this lazy mummy only fed bAby with cereal once for the whole trip.

Remember the Carter's baby clothes sales that i posted last yr. Its back this yr. Super worthed it for baby gals!! Lotsa pretty Carters sundresses going at 3 for $10. BPs normally sells them for $9 and above. Mainly for babies from NB to 18 months. There are for boys but not much selection.

17-19 Dec 2009
9am to 8pm
Gimmill Building
43 Tampines St 92
Up to 90% off
Prices $3-12 Cash only!

hi sgpv, its Bulk Purchase. I go agree this sale is really worth it. Last year, I bought some from that sale in preparing for the arrival of my gal and I bought so much that it lasted me almost till my gal was 6 mths old. It could have last her longer but shes on the bigger size. At 6 mths, shes wearing carter one pc for 12 mths old. haha.

I am definitely going but I have no more leave left.. will see if company is kind enough to give me some timeoff to go.. keke.. PM me if you want to go together. :D

Oh today, I brought her to doc - same thing as before. He gave 2 med to drink and 2 med for the rash. My gal's rash was so bad.. heart super ache..

PD said no need to go culture since bb has no fever. Anyway, he suggested for bb to drink soy milk or lactose free milk. Bb last time rejected soy before so this time round we bought enfa lactose intolerance milk powder and I think maybe bb was tired and hungry that she finish 140 out of 180ml.

As for water, I read somewhere that bb around 6 mths onwards, should drink about 100ml of water leh. I stop breastfeed at 5 mths.

HE also recommend that I use rice water to make formula.

sorry, mummies, topic quite of place here.. But if you know any A level students who are able to be a temp from Jan-Jun 10 at one of the Big 4 accounting firms, pls pm me. Thanks...

Win

Yeah, take it slow, if they are taking puree well, no need to rush..
Yes, I am very scared my boy will be anyhow fed with adult food. My ILs are not staying with us actually, but they are doing us a favour by coming to stay with us to take care of my two kids (they take turn to stay with us, so a certain period – FIL will come, then switch to MIL).. but everything will end before CNY, coz after that I will be taking care of them myself.. so I can handle them my own ways of parenting.

Yes, my FIL also every suggested to mix with condense milk last time when he was taking care of my girl, I told him no sugar no salt for her coz bad for the kidney. He told me “who said so? Not true lar” but then he didn’t give any adult food after that to my girl.. tho he occasionally fed her chocolate and sweet.. Grr!! But anyway little bit of that wont harm bah haha.. so I am pretty flexible DIL coz I am grateful that my ILs are helping us.. we gotta give and take rite..

Sgpv, Melodygal
I have never heard of using rice water to mix with milk.. for my girl, so far so good, no heatiness due to FM prob.. now she has switched back to drinking EBM ever since didi is born, occasionally she will drink her Mamil gold step 3 :p

As for water, I dun really believe that there is a certain amount we should not feed our kids. Again, basing on experience, my #1 is a water baby, she loves drinking water and drink lots lots lots of it since young.. up to now 26th month old, she only has twice fever, and couple of flu, that’s all.. finger crossed everything will remain good especially that she is gonna go playschool next year :p

i think feb_mum is not around this week. maybe we can consolidate the changes to the original christmas gathering attendees list for her ease of reference later.

changes to christmas gathering list:
1. baby_may09 - not joining any more

Re - changes to christmas gathering list:
1. baby_may09 - not joining any more
2. win_mum - unable to attend

Hello mummies .....

Long time never log in. Hope all mummies n Babies doing well.

Me been busy with my little crab Rachel
She still cant sit long n keep on call Papa Mama now. She still on friscocream n wanna try giv her porridge with ikan bilis. Any mummies know how to make it? First mummy dunno how to make it. She dont like any food jar.

Btw any mummy wanna share with me to buy Jersey Fitted Sheet for Baby Cot? Cos 1 set got 2 pcs same colour. Think wanna get 4 colour Pink, Blue, Green N Ivory. Price $19.90/ set now disc 50%. So each of us just pay $19.90 n we got 4 pcs diff colour. Any mummy want can pm me ok.

tiny m, rc cola,

my trip to genting was ok. coz not hot..nice weather.nothing much to do...theme park also so so only.. that's why i so daring go try krabi. hahaahaha....

i know why its ok..coz i stop in KL at relative place the night before and after..i dont drive direct to genting bah..

but krabi was tiring..i stayed 2 nights at ao nang at a hotel called phra nang inn and 2 night at sheraton krabi. ao nang got some shopping n lots of restaurant..sheraton is more for r&r ..the pools there is damn nice...all infinity pool...

but next trip will be koh samui liao..totally love thailand after my trip to krabi!!!...that's y i wanna know which hotel is good at samui.gd location as well. do let me know

Jaime

Samui is a paradise hahaha! I totally fell in love with it since the first time I went there..
A lot of nice hotel at Chawaeng beach, the one I stay Chaba cabana (quiet and nice but not really at the centre of the town – can walk also, take taxi also quite near).. Chaba samui (nice but 3 star only, the location is superb – right at the centre and the beach area is super shallow)..

Next time if I tried other hotels I let u know, coz I am definitely going back there again next time haha..

RE: healthy times order
loots will be delivered to my house tonite. So i will pack and collection can be done from tml onwards. OOS items r chicken stew and turkey dinner.. mummies who order these 2 items and have transferred to me, please PM me yr acct no.. will need to refund u.. however, if u still want to order, u must be willing to wait till 3rd week of jan 2010..
mummies who havent transfer to me, please do so immediately. please transfer $ before coming to collect.

Re: gimmill sale
It's a grrreeeaaattt sale! Hailey still wearing some of the clohtes I bot last year! Lol! Any mummies frm west side wanna share cab thr on either thurs or fri?

babymay, jaime, tiny_m, andrea, ak, juju,
received yr transfer with thanks!
babymay, will pass u yr loots tml when we meet for lunch.
juju, pass u on fri when u come my place.
jaime, yes.. i'm staying at where i stayed.. hahaha.. u can come and collect on sat morning before 11am ok? coz i'm heading to united sq for my girl's class
ak, maybe i can pass to u on sunday when i go my grandma's house. will be ard 4+pm..
andrea, how? all yr loots OOS le.. u wan to wait or i refund to u?

pending payment:
- miichelle
- adv_sports
- poohwei
- mikojade
- glenlyn

ju,
u bought beef and let Jodie try already? i bought heinz - pumpkin, potato and beef for her and she loves it.. hehee.. i have searched for more beef favour but only heinz has it.. any idea any other brands of baby jar has beef?

ju,
yrs have.. chicken stew and turkey dinner.. since yrs only 2 jars, i can give u mine from last order if u dont mind..
how is jodie's taking on the cereal? after feeding her at least 3 days of cereal, u can try feeding her jar food for another 3 days then can mix for nicer favour..

fri, i will be making fresh puree for shermay.. i prepare more for jodie and andrea also..

hello mummies !

ntuc having promotion on organic baby apples $4.20 usual price is $4.90 i just bgt 1 pack yesterday !

Re : baby jar
i saw ang mo selling a new organic baby jar brand is "only organic" any mummies try this before ? price not cheap...each jar abt $2.00 - $2.60

Re : gimmil sales
anyone gg from punggol ? wanna share cab ? when ??

shers,
she dribbled most of the cereal out. tonite go back try again. prob thur try jar food.
wah! got fresh puree for jodie! thank you hor!

porky,
sounds like good deal. later i go ntuc & find.

ju,
1st few tries r like this de.. just to let jodie try the taste and also teach to swallow.. try again! at least she is ok with the cereal.
i will do pumpkin, sweet potato and potato puree..

btw, any mums try spinch puree b4.. what type of spinch is that?

sk,
no webbie de.. but very good buy la.. esp sundress.. so nice!

babymay,
yes.. mini gathering for ichy hands.. hhahaa.. if u wan, come la..

juju, must go get the apples ! very red and cruchy leh. got many small apples in 1 pack...more worth to buy then cold storage organic apples..