(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

I read somewhere that babies tend to drink more milk when they learnt new skills like flipping. So I guess as they progress, they need more carbohydrate, then protein etc.

Hi May mum,
If the jar says to be consumed within 48hrs, then you have to throw after 48hrs. Heinz jar also indicate 48hrs,so if I opened a jar yesterday morning, I have to throw if he cannot finish by tonight.

I will scoop out around 2 tablespoon on a bowl using a clean spoon. Then I will close the jar and refrigerate it. During the next feeding, I will take from the fridge, scoop out another 2 table spoon on a bowl using a clean spoon and keep the jar back to the fridge. I will then warm it using the warming up of EBM method before feeding to my boy.

Baby May
I will be on leave from 30-2 Nov, will not be in Sg, can I meet you after 2nd? I am not in hurry. I only have 1 tin of similac ler..

Bean
Claire can really eat a lot!

Adv
I just made sweet potato + apple puree yesterday, it tastes much better than standalone sweet potato, you may wanna try hehe..

Jamie (nov)
Haha.. I dun want to be centre of attraction coz of my boobs!! But my tummy a bit bulging when I am sitting down 

Who else have Similac to exchange with me? I have the following with me now:

- 1 balance tin of Mamil Gold
- 2 tins of NAN Pro 2
- 1 tin of Enfapro 2
- 1 tin of Friso Gold (900g)

Adv Sports,
okie okie ONZ! we go together.. Claire didn't swim for 1.5 mths liao! I hope she can still remember how! After that we go shopping? :D
Paging for Porky! you ONZ? You can share my card.. heee

Re: puree
Most foods can go well with apple. So I always make alot of apple puree and store them to mix with other jar food puree or other home-made puree. I always store my puree in single foods. Then I will mix it during heating. This way I can give Claire many types of mixed food.

Shers,
Hehe thanks! :p so looking forward to it..
I have bought a new sunscreen for baby (we all with use the same thing haha coz it's a big tube).
Must meet u one of these days.. shall we meet next wk?

Babymay
I will be going for holiday! yeah yeah yeah! :p

rc, cool -- will give sweet potato n apple puree a try
enjoy ur hols in bee-gee-nee!

baby_may, i hv similac but not new version... let me know if u wanna exchange with enfapro...

bean, yup yup, let's go feasting n shopping after the swim
hope yuan2's fully recover from running nose and cough by then!

re: running nose n cough
haiz, yuan2 still having running nose n cough on/off (esp bad at nite)... oledi coming to 2 months -- at times, she is better but came back again
babies @ IFC also having running nose n cough -- maybe that's y she is taking longer time to recover...

though she play, sleep, eat/drink as per normal, hubby still wanna bring her to PD for another check tonite...

re: home alone with bb
hubby is going for reservist for 2 weeks from next monday... gosh, hope i can cope!!

bean,
how u make sure that the apple puree doesnt change colour during storage?

cola,
yes!! u let me know when u r free to meet up for lunch okok?? yr tea is still with me.. anytime!

baby may,
i want yr enfapro.. but i have no similac.. i changed with tiny_m already.. but i do have mamil gold..

Shers,
It does not change color leh.. I didn't do anything though .. hahaha Its still the nice apple color (like the raw apple flesh) even though i store for 2 weeks.

rc_cola, enjoy yourself!

adv_sports, I just finished 1 tin of Similac (previous version), going to start the improved version for the next feed, so prefer not to change again.

Shers, but my boy taking Similac now (3 feeds), so far ok, except that my MIL says that his poo abit and not so soft today, so will monitor and see how. Will let him take 4 feeds from next week.

Adv

Sure you can cope.. u can get help from your relatives if things get messy..
I remember the first time I was home alone with Meg (day and nite) when she was 4 months old, I was really kalang kabut hahahahahaha… after awhile okay already :p
Now with 2, I am alrite to be alone haha.. remember my principal: cry awhile wont die hehe.. as long as baby is on the safe spot..

Actually I wanna try sweetpotato + broccoli, but yest I didn’t go NTUC, so only got apples at home hehee.. I make do with whatever that is at home lor..

adv_sports, babymay,
if u intend to stop bfg, after u reduce no of pumps per day, u shld not express out anymore unless u feel pain or uncomfortable. but dont empty breasts.. just hand express to ease the pain/ uncomfort only..

Shers,
After I blend, I will pour into the containers (from mothercare) then I will cover it immediately and let it cool down to room temperature before freezing. I have done it for abt 1.5 months already. No far nothing wrong with claire and she is eating those fine.

adv_sports,
u can cope well.. my hb just finished his reservist on wed.. i guess still can cope.. just the evening shower and dinner, u need to hurry and bring yuanx2 to toilet as well.. dont worry!

Shers, I don't feel pain or uncomfortable, but my bs feel lumpy for the first few days that I reduced to 1 pump. Now ok, but my bs feel full so I still pump once a day. Think I should reduce the milk I pump out each time, but I am afraid that if I don't pump out more, I have to pump more times a day.

My hubby also going overseas next week. It is ok de, my hubby has been going for overseas trips now and then. I just leave my boy to the baby cot when I want to go toilet etc. Just that I have to wipe him down in the evening and do the evening feeding and wake up in the middle of the night if need be. It will just be more tiring if we need to work the next day. Luckily, I am on leave next week.

Shers

I saw the avent is selling something like your babycook gadget.. so tempted to buy, meaning I dun need to steam and blend separately hehe..

baby_may, ok
i have yet to start yuan2 with FM stage 2... is ur boy taking it well?

rc & shers, thanks for the vote of confidence
luckily next week is a short week and i m taking monday off the following week...

baby_may, yah, very tiriing if take care of bb alone n need to work the next day... furthermore, i need to wash bb clothes n sterilise the bottles n feeding set for next day use...

yuan2 likes to glide nowadays n always go "off zone" on the bumper mat -- afraid she will knock her head on the furniture... haiz, she dun like to be in exersaucer -- gonna rent the jumperoo this sat to try... if really no choice, will put her in the cot -- must remind hubby to lower 1 level...

as she sleeps early at 8pm+, she will wake up at 4-5am and start her "exercise" -- push up n glide *faint*

shers, how to bring bb in toilet when shower?? Erhm, i dun anything to restrain her leh... dun think i can shower in peace... told hubby i may shower @ gym and eat dinner before fetching yuan2 from IFC...

RE: car seat

My boy is currently using the infant car seat which can be used up to 6 months. Going to buy a car seat after 6 months. What car seat are you all using? Is it good?

rc, how much is the avent version of babycook? where did u see it? i juz bought my blender -- would hv gotten babycook if i hv known earlier...

shers, have u receive ur babycook? it is as easy as it seems?

Adv_sports, you can put her in baby cot, it is safe enough. I put my boy in the baby cot at my MIL place.

I put my boy inside play yard when I am at my home. He is ok for awhile cause I put lots of toys inside to keep him occupied. If he sees us eating outside, he will eh eh eh as he don't like to be left alone. But if either my hubby or I am sitting inside the playyard with him (we can read etc.), then he will play with his toys inside.

Adv

I saw it at OG just now, looks kinda cute, but i wont be buying coz they are gonna outgrow the puree stage one or 2 months after this..

adv_sports,
during Shermin's time, i will put her in high chair and put in toilet with me.. so i will be in the shower area watching me shower.. all along, she is ok in toilet with me.. even big biz.. but must be fast la..

i got my babycook last week already.. yes.. used 2 times so far.. good enough to prepare small quantity coz i dont like to store. i just prepared for 1 day usage.. easy to use and wash..

somemore u can control the consistency of puree.. so can use up to 2-3 yrs old.. i think the price is ok coz its food related and used more than 3-4times per day..

But Shers,

Those jar food are also not fresh food mah. They can be kept for 1 year or more. Means it is technically stored for a long time too!

bean,
i understand but they are kept sealed. because i dont know how to keep seal.. i wonder if i put in baby cubes after i do the puree.. will it turn colour.. i mean in normal compartment

Shers

from my experience, most of them wont turn color, and will be as fresh if..

1) make sure the temperature remains stable
2) it is kept closed in the container

I can assure you of this

halo mummies ! i was on mc today but i went shopping instead of resting at home..hehe

bean, i can go on 26th nov..ifc is closed..u ok ? or u wan to go on 30th ? i dunno can apply leave or not leh...btw the bb jar $1.75 at ntuc wat is the brand ?? jaeden stop swim for 3mths but he still remember how to swim ! hahaha

bbmay, has MY recover from diarrhoe ? jaeden also taking similac stage 2..his poo sometimes mushy yellow..but sometimes very hard..need to feed him more water in between..

adv, u can do it ! most sat i was alone with jaeden at home..i leave him on the bed to play on his own then i quickly bathe for 7mins only ! after he sleep, then i do the housework and wash/sterilise the bottles

halo mummies!
just back from trip!

past few days posts on solid food.. can i ask mummies who gv HT cereal to bb.. do u throw away the cereal after open it 1 mth?? it got a weird smell leh... my mum din know.. still feed my boy today.. he ate a mouth n puke out..

Porky,
26th I cannot. My girls are having their ballet exams that day. 30th I can make it.
The brand on sale is "organic baby". only certain NTUC have.

Shers,
Yes, I have researched before and agreed with what cola said. As long as you capped them immediately after prepartion and freeze them, they will be fresh. In fact, I think they are fresher than jar food.

bean, is ok ! i see can apply leave on 30th or not..else u go with adv loh..hehe

tmr i go hougang point ntuc check out this brand bb jar...

shers,
my exersaucer is outside my toilet. i put jodie inside so dat she can keep me in sight n wun cry. alrdy train myself to be fast enuff

Hi Mummies, I have a 400g sample tin of <font size="+1"><font color="009900"> Similac Stage 2 + $3 Voucher</font></font>, and 400g sample tin of <font size="+1"><font color="3366FF"> Mamil Gold Stage 2 + $5 Voucher</font></font>, to exchange for <font size="+1"><font color="FF3366"> 400g sample tin of Enfapro</font></font>. Please PM me if keen, thanks

SOS! anyone know where's Medela service centre? and where to rent a Medela Electrical breastpump? Mine giving me problem!

hi buddy,

thanks for the reply!
called and they are closing, can only sent for repair on Monday.. duno how to "survive" till then!

STOP BF:

Hi Shers: You mean totally cannot express with pump ah? I have reduced to 3 times now and goign for 2 times next week, and i get block duct 2-3 times since i cut down on the express frequency... plus the breasts get really heavy and hard leh... so still persist and don pump ah?

Btw i also have the medicine to stop milk flow from my gynae but din take cos don know good or not... any advice?

Hi beautiful mummies,
i'm a SAHM who has a diploma in Early Childhood Education n has worked in childcares n infant cares for the past 5 yrs.. im now looking into bbsitting as i wanna spend more time w my son.. can email me at [email protected] for more details.. thank you! =D

Hi mummies out there, thanks for your advice. Apparenty yu ren sheng brown rice really cause constipation for my gal. I have to give papaya and apple in order for my gal to poo. Her poo is really really hard and she cried very badly.

I just gave HT barely cereal. And she seems ok with it. Is there any mummies out there giving barley cereal as well? I was told that vbrown rice is more nutritious but since it cause constipation for my gal,I wonder if I can just give barely cereal? What can be a good replacement for brown rice?

Maybe I should try other brand's brown rice? How about oatmeal?? I'm sorry for asking so many questions.

My gal is 6mth and 1 wk, wonder if I need to give her more solid to build up her iron? So far, she has tried carrot, avocado, apple, papaya. What food should i give to build up her iron??

All advice are greatly appreciated.

how's everybody? been such a bz week coz on course 9-5 everyday.

re stopping bfg - my supply finally stopped, took me more than 2wks to stop completely. i started off by pumping less quantity during each pump. when supply dipped, then i reduced no of pump, from 3 times to 2 times then 1 time, then once every 2-3 days. and finally, now i can pack my pump liao. hurray!

initially, was hesitant abt stopping bfg. but my #2 same as #1, the moment we intro semi-solids, started rejecting BM. so i can happily retire from bfg with no guilt ;p i'm juz relieved that i managed to clear my stock of frozen BM.

i have a box of newly opened pigeon disposable breastpads to let go. think i only used 6pcs from the box. any mummy interested, pl pm me.