(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

hi mummies..need help on advice regarding the use of pacifiers..

wanna ask.. do u leave the pacifier in ur bb mouths the whole time they are sleepin until the pacifer drop out of their own or u take them out once they fall asleep?

lately find dat my bb seem to rely on pacifier more.. when i wanna take out after he seem to b deep sleep.. he will make the suckin motion n wanna suck again if i take out.. end up the pacifier stays in his mouth for few hrs.. and all this time he suckin n sleepin. this make me tink whether hes reali sleepin or not the whole time hes suckin his pacifier..wan to know if this is normal for bb who use pacifier..kinda worry dat he will b too reliant on it.

can mummies share on any gd sleepin techniques dat works oso? i find dat now as bb grows older... even more challengin at bedtime coz he always wan to play until vvvv super super tired when its plain dat he's sleepy... hes always strugglin to fall asleep sometime.
i use pacifier, rock him, try feedin him all doesnt work.. sometimes hav to spend 2,3hrs juz to get him to sleep... so tiring..

maymum, i leave the pacifier in my boy's mouth until he auto spit out..i also notice he will continue to suckle even when he is sleeping...sometimes the pacifier drop out he will cry very loud then i put back again he is ok liao..until he sound asleep then he dont wan to suck anymore..ya i agree when they grow older, is more difficult to put them to sleep...must play and coax...usually it took me 30-45mins to coax him to sleep...if hb is in, he will take over...so i can do housework and prepare his stuff for ifc next day...

Keen on setting up a Home-based business opportunity (not MLM)

Ruben & Shire is a premier lifestyle healthy dried fruits & nuts provider. The company is looking for resellers to expand its network. Very low start up cost but profitable margins.

Very suitable for mommies looking to supplement their income.

Please note that this is NOT an MLM biz.

Please PM me if you are keen

feb_mum, U r C15? My boy is C4! HEHE

may_mum, yuan2 will suck pacifier before she sleeps... sometimes, she will continue to sleep after the pacifier drops out... she is learning to put back the pacifier (rather playing with it) -- can put back the wrong way n still happily chut chut loudly!

IFC says baby will kick the habit when they can sit up and distracted with the toys... yuan2 is slowing kicking the habit -- too engross with playing
past few weeks, i stopped giving her the pacifier when i put her in the car seat -- she din cry for it as she is busy looking at the passing cars/trees

porky.. ya v playful at this age leh.. sleep oso muz play sometimes pek chey coz sleepy dun wan sleep. wish my hubby can help too but he workin late sometimes, bobian.

adv sports..so gd yuan2 is learnin to put back herself. mine is the opposite! he will try to take out n study n play wif the pacifier when coaxin him to slp. if my boy can put back then gd ah... dun hav to wake at nite to put back for him...zzzzz

hi oki,
I am also interested in the baby photography, and like the rest would like to wait till baby close to 1yrs. Thanks.

may mum, i let hailey go to slp w the pacifier in her mouth. usually it'll fall out within the most, 1hr, and she doesn't wake either. nt much problems for me putting hailey to bed cuz her timing quite constant abt 9+ nw. so i will change her diaper and gif her her last feed which usually aft a burp she'll doze off.. else i jus nd to pat pat awhile then she k.o alr..

tinklesmum, this trip i didnt store anything cuz forgot to bring pump funnels!! so i jus stand in the bathroom and hand express n spray all over the walls lor. aft tt i jus rinse the floor and the walls and myself. =)

shers...if udders at united sq..count me in...i love united sq since the birth of my boy...before that , i never go there...

i did one session with mkj photography (its home based) when my boy was 2 months old..not much photo coz not much expression etc..i think at 6 month ..got more expression now but if cant sit unsupported also, also not much photo..so i think the next its when my boy can sit unsupported n hair grow more evenly...wonder when is that?

Pacifier...frankly i hate the pacifier but my boy uses it for 2 instances..to induce sleep n to induce sucking to that he drink his milk...:p

other that than , no pacifier for him.

for his sleep, i tend to use the pacifier coz it cut down the time for putting him to sleep. once he is asleep, i will pull it out..and i can hear he still have some sucking motion in his mouth.

when he wakes up at night, need to help put back the pacifier lor..

i really hope i can wean him off the pacifier soon...

Re: Pacificer
My girl totally rejects pacifier sicne birth! She doesn't wanna suck it she just bites the pacifier when I put it in! So sometimes I have to pat her till she fall asleep.. Also very tiring for me and soemtimes I wish she would just suck the pacifier to sleep...

Re: pacifier

I am the pacifier, coz my boy needs to latch on before sleeping. Most of the time after he is full, he will let go and then just doze off.. or sometimes need to pat pat him a bit.. then he will doze off. I never ever rock him to sleep or carry him to sleep at all..
So far he is not into pacifier and not a thumb sucker during sleeping time (I hope he is rather than he is busy scratching his ears if his hands are free).

It took me at most about 30mins (fastest is 10mins of latching) to put him to sleep.

Hi Good Morning,

Have been disappearing for 2 days due to a/c closing.. super busy & home only after everyone doze off (11pm).. sign...

Pacifier
My girl takes paci & finger sucking.. if it falls off, she is fine.. once she sleep, she don't take it unless she stirred!

Jamie,
You should have use the milk to shower or as face mask during ur trip.. so wasteful!

Photo-shoot
The family is going for one next sunday, a package I bot since Dec 08!! Haha.. will feedback if it's good, however, this package that I took dun include make over!

Starting Solid
I'm so exited.. going to start my girl this sat.. dunno how she will take it!!

Gathering,
Enjoy yourself!

No rocking is the best!!! like me.. my bb not light.. i take care of him, rock him until my right wrist tendon inflammed.. till now never fully recover..

me too oso use pacifier for coax sleep n drink milk.. but now seem like more reliant on it sigh...lastime use to be anti-pacifier mummy.. but after realise he use me as human pacifier no time to do other thgs.. we intro dummy to him.

my fren mention b4 to wean off pacifier.. put chilli on it haha. then the bb will not touch after dat... wonder when will he wean off oso..hmm..hope no need to use this xtreme method haha

then now daddy is anti-walker daddy... dun wan let my bb use walker...citing safety reasons dat will knock into thgs or baby may walk tip-toe etc

but no walker how to let bb practise walkin leh? muz train leg muscles oso ma...stubborn daddy

may mum, chilli on pacifier is such a oldie and chek ark method!!

joyce: nvm la.. my only tot was to clear boobs! nv tot of mask or milk bath or wat.. haha!

rc cola, yes very tiring to hand express! somemore i nv did it before so really start frm scratch.. at least if i bring hailey still can latch rite.. bt then i wldn't be able to go snorkling ah... lol!

jaime: since the birth of ur boy u love united square?? yes udders at united square and bukit batok also hv..

Jamie
Haha.. I was thinking to go snorkeling also hahaha.. mil is around, so might ask her to help with baby while we snorkel.. :p

I am bringing my auto pump aka Kea so hahaha I dun think I will do hand pumping, super tired rite? I never did that before. Will bring my manual pump to pump the milk out for #1..

may mum,
Shermin was a pacifier lover.. my hb and me were cracking our heads how to kick this habit off.. until 1 day, Shermin vomitted after a cough (with her tutu in her mouth). then i told her very dirty already.. ask her to throw away in the dustbin.. which she did.. 1st 2 days was tough because she cannot slp well! but she never fuss (though she did request but i remind her saying she threw it herself)..

so no worries abt kicking off the habit.. just make sure when u wan to wean off pacifier, got to wait till they r old enough to understand u and find 1 good opportunity

juju - ya hor, voting starts on 1 dec. i remind you all to vote then, haha.

re sleeping - i'm the 'bochup' mummy, i dun rock, i dun sing to get kids to sleep. juz change diaper, last feed, put on the cot and i go off liao. to me, the less you do, the better so dat they will not become overly awake. my #1 thumb sucks, #2 on pacifier. once she falls asleep, the pacifier will drop off and she doesn't quite bother abt it. not quite worried abt weaning her off coz like wat i said b4, you dun see any adult walking with a pacifier in the mouth, so it will juz happen eventually.

may mum,
i used to be like u.. gan chiong abt noise.. abt tv noise level until i switched to mute... hahaha.. it was much later ard 5-6mths then i started to be more relax.. like feb_mum, i dont rock them to slp, no patting.. i just give a big hug, say good nite, a big kiss and Shermin will slp on her own (co-slp beside).. Shermay is still young.. i will pat her awhile.. since she is a easy bb.. i think without patting, she will slp also.. but of course if Shermin plays with her before slping time, she will be over stimulated and need to be carried to slp.. these happened 2 nites ago..

so gd.. i try to settle him at sleep almost same time everyday but when after coaxin ( patting n pacifier..) for 1,2 hr he still doesn sleep then i will rock him liao... then rock once, become twice.. become thrice.. haha..its a vicious cycle

if got nbr 2 in future..muz tell myself no rockin anymore.. !

may mum - aren't bbs smart? they will pick up all the 'shiok' stuff very quickly ;p

shers - the good thing abt having 2 kids is the older one puts the younger one to sleep. my 2 princesses sleep in same room. i will juz turn on the nite light and leave the room. sometimes rachel will talk or sing to rebecca and then rebecca will fall asleep. soon, coz there is no one else to entertain her, rachel will fall asleep too. then when all's quiet, i will go in and switch off the nite light.

feb_mum,
no lor.. Shermin plays with Shermay alot and super stimulate her till she cannot slp!!! urgh~~ a slight movement from Shermin will make Shermay giggles and laugh whole day! nowadays, Shermay has been sitting in walker and follows Shermin around the house in a very very slow pace.. hahhaa

shers - haha, rebecca will juz concuss from the crazy things dat rachel does. the 2 of them will sing and talk to each other in the car too. it's actually rather funny. they seem to understand each other ;p

feb_mum,
yeah! thats cute right? i still can imagine the sights of drawings that Rachel had.. hahahhaa..
on days where my helper has her off day, its nice to see that Shermin entertains Shermay while i busy prepare meals.. yeah! i experienced this as well.. Shermay was crying in car and Shermin started to sing.. really calm Shermay

Long time never chat. Cos my internet is down. Now using my aunt's comp.

Just started Arielle on organic brown rice cereal mixed with EBM last wednesday. Initially she will give a "face" but now she's used to it. But she loves to drink water. She will open her mouth even before the spoon touches her lips.

Today introduced Heinz pureed organic veg mixed with EBM in the morning. My husband keeps insisting that with everything must put EBM and make until the consistency is like normal BM.

But I thought giving them food is to introduce them to new textures. Really cannot tahan my hb, more kan choing than me regarding feeding our girl solids.

Re: Swaddling
My girl still likes to be swaddled around her arms as she sleeps for the night. I wonder when she'll outgrow being swaddled. Any mummies with the same experience?

She takes awhile to settle into deep sleep, must be carried until she falls asleep. At night if she farts, she will stir and wake up. She still doesn't know how to settle herself...Anyone with the same experience?

Bean:
My girl also rejects pacifier since birth.

My girl suckles BM until she falls asleep. I only get to eat after she sleeps. When she wakes up in the night, I just carry her and walk up/down in the room but most of the time have to let her suckle.

Last week for 2 days I tried to let her wear a bodysuit but she kept waking up till my hb and I cannot sleep well. Decided to let her wear her usual singlet and long pants that covers the toes, and be swaddled. She went back to her usual sleeping pattern. Wasted like that the 3 Mothercare bodysuits...

like feb_mum, when yuan2 is sleepy, i will put her in the cot -- gave her the pacifier n beanie, turn on the cot mobile toy and leave the room... she will zz on her own
but she likes to sleep-move now -- always find her move to the lower part of the cot and flip on tummy! before i zz, will move her to the centre of the cot... sometimes, will wake up in the middle of the nite to check on her -- in case she flips and sleep face down again...

feb_mum, so nice of rachel to make rebecca sleep
reminds me of my sister n me -- used to chat before we sleep n my dad will scold us for chatting so long *haha*

shers, shermin has shermay as a loyal fen si(fan)

rc cola, ya very tiring n boring to hand express. u try ba. google marmet technique n watch the video instructions.. bt no choice lei, i had no way of expressing the milk out..

Yesterday I put Claire on a high chair at a restuarant for the first time.. She seems to enjoy sitting in it. But the high chair seems low for her.. she keeps biting the table. Is it like that?
3230428.jpg

bean, claire is such a big girl now! and she is biting the hard-rock teether biscuit? *haha* and her hair is longer
haiz, yuan2's new hair is still spikey -- i oledi apply olive oil everyday since we shaved her @ 4mth... dunno when will her hair will flatten...

jamie, gosh, hand express during ur trip?!! hailey is a gd girl now -- can sleep @ 9pm+.. remember she used to sleep late...

Adv sports, ya she is a big girl.. hahaha. She is okie with the biscuit leh.. haha she can chew on it for abt 10 mins..

Her hair is longer but very thin.. I think when yuan's hair is LONGER.. it will flatten lor.. It cannot be spikey all the way right? hahahaa

abby, dat sounds quite tiring to carry bb for whole day. If she kip sucklin, sometimes could b comfort suckling. Dats wat hapen to me b4. Did u try diff brand of pacifier? Nuk quite gd. I din swaddle my boy b4..but i thot best not to swaddle until too old.? Coz might affect motor development..me not sure oso..

lil bean is such a big girl with super mi mi yan.. hahaha.. its so cool to have sitting in high chair while u can enjoy yr meal!!

this high chair is quite low de.. but no worries coz put on seat belt already.. and u r there to keep an eye on her!

jamie: coz before got baby, united sq is boring for me ..nothing of my interest...after got baby, loves united sq loads...

saw ur hols pic..lovely...

bean, before we shaved yuan2's hair @ 4mth, her hair was long but all spikey!! though i combed down after bath, all will stand when dry *faint*

jaime, what's so nice @ united sq for baby? yet to bring yuan2 there...

re: exersaucer
ibite, u rented a few exersaucers -- which one more fun for chelsea? yuan2's interest in LP exersaucer only last at most 10min each time... m thinking what should i rent this month...

Adv sports, united sq has many baby boutiques and stuff.. It also have vitakidz where I get most of claire's jar food from.
Another place that I like now is Tanglin Mall where I bring Claire to her Kindermusik class every week and their supermarket has a good selection of organic food and wider variety of HT jar food.. heee