(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

got a question, very soon our baby will be able to eat solid food, i have a problem. My Mil want to cook and feed baby but after seeing how she feed my sil baby i and worried. First she like to put the food into her mouth first then give baby, saying tat is less hot, but i find it super dirty. I told her abt it and she is very angry and say that she does that to bring up his 3son so what is wrong? Also she like to put dark soy on to porridge as she say like that more sweet.. So my sil baby always eat black black food. But i dun want all that for my baby. Anyone got solution?

HI Gie
Try to fake some stories up such as "oh.. mom, recently doc say that bb stomach is not too strong. So, no sweet item for now. only plain porridge for a start"? =P

adv and ibite, tell me abt it ! my mil stays with me and dont offer to help me take care bb still say so much ! when bb fall sick at ifc, she only puts the blame to me me me ! super duper pissed off sometimes....now mil say she will offer to take care of my jaeden when he is 12months old...i say no need liao cos this age he can go to playgroup ? hahaha

my ifc is those under housing estate type...very big unit...but infant area is only 1unit very small only...i saw the 5 bb cot placed there and not much space to walk abt....those kiddos can walk and hop and run abt have a bigger area of 3units...very spaceious loh...next time when jaeden is older and transferred there, he will have lots of frens...

i start to drop a lot of hair...every morning wake up can see my bed full of hairs...so scary....dunno when will stop...as old ppl say, when bb stop dropping hair, mummies will stop also...so now my boy is botak...then i shd be stop dropping hair liao right ?? hahaha

Gie, OMG ! i better watch how my mil feed my boy when he is ready for solid...i wont allow her to put the food in her mouth then feed my boy...so er xin ! got once i catch her put the pacificer into her mouth to suck then wanna give to bb...i shouted from a distance....she say cos the pacifier drop on the floor, no need to wash, just suck it then give bb can already....i nearly faint...

talking about toys, i havent bought any single big toy for my boy yet. all he has is a squeaky i got from mothercare..haha and several cloth books. feel he doesnt know how to play with toys yet as he doesnt move his hands to grip them. he prefers to talk and listen to music.

experience mummies here, beside the form fitter that rc_cola recommended, what else should we get as in basic toys for our babies??

re: hair

I am wondering when I will recover my "glory" hair days man... haiz.. My hair is super fizzy now! Btw,if we go for hair treatment now,will it help?

re: solid food

Read that for a start,babies should be intro to plain rice cereal only got their digestive system is not very good yet? Babies at 6 mths can take dark soy meh?

Gie

Baby below 1 yo is not recommended to take any soya soys, sweet sauce, whatever sauce.. so you may want to highlight to your MIL.

As for the dirty habit.. er.. get your hubby to talk to her, so that u wont strain the relationship..

Another way to cool down food (the solid is not so watery type), is to dip the spoon with food on top into the drinking water for 2 to 3 secs.. i (mil or fil) always do that way..

Piggy pig
at this stage they do not really need much toys, maybe rattles? so that he can try to reach the toy himself? (sth colorful and squeaky to attract his attention :p)

Re: solid
just sharing, i started my #1 with vege puree and fruit purees in her 6th mths, porridge at 8 mths (vegan only) and she turns carnivore in 9mths+, when i put in pork and chicken.. and in about 10 mths old, she has the first taste of fish.. I guess I shall be doing more or less same things for my boy..

Pastries

My hubby loves buying soft toy for his dear girl..

My boy is same as yrs prefer ppl to talk to him rather than being left alone staring at the rattles on his rocker.. i think at this stage they love to Kpo.. my boy is always waiting eagerly for Jie jie to talk to him hehe..

Hi Piggypig,

I am not experience mummy but i think basic toys are rattles which yr boy can hold on to, those toys which teach the bb cause and effect, like a butterfly with flutter wing when string being pulled and toys with music when pressed on, or toy with different texture or crinkle when pressed on etc..

Intially i am at a lost at buying toys because totally new to me! Normally there are age indication on the toy and also labels explaining the toys can promote gross motor skill, vision development, EQ, etc.. Just browse thru toys department slowly. A good toy i bought recently is Leapfrog caperpillar, i bought it at KP 2 months ago, around $39.90 i think. It can played songs with number 1-5, songs with 5 colours, and 5 classical music.

My boy also prefers to talk leh, though he can play with toys now, he prefers real human companion as compared to toys, i noticed.

You can slowly bring the toy to yr boy and encourage him to hold them.

i know baby at this stage cannot take soy sauce, which is why i am worried. And the food in mouth first, my hubby talk to her abt it but she got angry and scolded my hubby for siding me. So i also dunno how.

Hi rc_cola,

Yes, kpo & talkative bb! Haha!

You did not start yr #1 with rice cereals?

re: hair
ibite, my hairstylist warned me before that hair aft preg is v different.. My hair is frizzy now even just after a rebond. Hair treatment definitely won't harm, maybe ask them to aviod scalp area so as not to worsen the hair loss condition?

Hi pastries,
shall get it over the weekend

anymore mummies with interesting toys to add??

Hi poohwei
what can the Lamaze Octotunes do??

<font color="ff0099">rc_cola,
where can we get that toy?

anyway i bought andrea a walker yesterday from kiddy palace. decided not to get exersaucer cos its too ex n i dun have my own place yet.

yeah read reviews that walkers r not gd but there were no exersaucers during my time n i grew up ok in a walker.. so nothing wrong with letting andrea have a walker haha.

she enjoys it n has been moving around the house haha.

1 exersaucer can buy me many many many toys haha.

but of cos i would love to have an exersaucer

2891301.jpg

Wah Audrea exploring the toys on her walker, very cute. ya no harm using the walker la, just have to be extra careful coz bb may zoom too fast and be aware of any steps..i also bought a korean brand walker from KP, but my boy still can't sit up le.

my boy neck fold is always red red, any mummies know how to treat it? doc said just put powder but it get worse becos he perspire alot le.

<font color="ff0099">piggypig

andrea also perspires so i always use a cloth to wipe her whenever she sweats.. n i will keep a fan blowing to keep cool hehe.

yeah i always follow her if she is in the walker but i can pull the stoppers down so its stationary.

KP has so many walkers! so nice! haha</font>

audrey,
my boy also, after a while his pillow is all wet.. i on aircon for him also. i also wipe him and his neck fold always red red, see already heart pain

ya my walker also got stopper, but my doesnt have toys but can make animals sounds and songs

i went to the zoo today with #1. had a lot of fun. teachers' day promo - free admission for teachers and 20% disc for accompanying pax. promo ends this sun.

re toys - personally, i oso dun believe in all those gadgets. i tink it kills one's imagination. my #1 will take my empty boxes, bottles, pots etc and play with them. she will use her imagination and create her own stuff fr those items, it's actually quite interesting to watch her at play. i would encourage getting cloth books at this stage. let bb feel it, play with it. it's the first step towards inculcating a love for reading.

bb learn best at this stage thru interaction. thus even if you hv the best toys, you realise bb still yearn more for your company than the toys.

re walker - there's a tendency for bbs who use the walker to walk on tip toe and of coz there is danger of falling if there are steps around. i tink there's no harm as long as bb dun spend polonged periods in it. i rem my #1 enjoyed the walker so much dat she looked like a figure skater around the hse. once she was learning to walk, we stopped using it.

re redness on neck fold - my bb has it too. i used the prickly heat powder on her, seems to keep it under control.

redness at neck fold
I use moisturiser. mustela. Find it useful.

Walker,
Can't get one, cos I'm sure my niece will push it around n may hurt my boy

Flipping
After his first flip this morning, my mum said he's flipping non stop. Wish I'm home to see that....

Gd day ladies..

I'm so busy at work..nid to be away 2 times to pump.. &amp; so many problem arises during my absence.. still catching up with unsolve issues..

will be away from here till I got time.. maybe 3rd wk of the mth.. haha

piggypig, i got the prickly heat powder meant for babies at medical hall..$5 big round box..i apply on his neck and thigh fold there when change diaper..very cooling and nice smell

poohwei,
Xuan is a happy girl!

audrey,
i think u dont need to buy exersaucer already. the walker u got for Andrea has many toys.. and somemore if she can walk, she might not wan to be exersaucer.

talk abt gadgets, i resist myself from buying.. but sometimes just cannot control it! whahhaa... as for toys, i will buy according to the age recommended.. at Shermin's time, i bought those rattles, cloth books only.. i started to buy more development toys such as shape blocks, stacking toys, books for her.. i think its ok to buy more if u intend to have another.. whahhaa..

Porky, so just go to those chinese medical hall and tell them prickly powder for baby will do? Do u have a picture of the powder? Sorry cos i scare i buy wrongly, as my baby also got red neck.

I am sooo soooo sooooo mad now man! Just came back from staff dinner and wore a flare black short dress with high heels. I ran to the lift and say thank u to the lady who hold the lift for me. Then this lady suddenly ask me "How many months liao?" I was damn pissed lor and told her I am not pregnant.

What a DUMB question. Which pregger IN THE RIGHT MIND will want to risk running in heeels???WTF.... I think she is extremely rude and I am super offended by her brainless comments. Some pple simply not considerate when talking. What if I had never give birth before and just plain FAT? Damn SUAY to meet such a brainless person on this long hectic working day!

sher, thanks for asking... Seriously im not ok. Hubby's bro just qns me saying that i did not make Mil happy. Ask me to give in to Mil. But how to? I cannot even breastfeed my baby? The bro say even if mil is wrong also must give in, but i am not bought up this way. I am having depression and already hiding in room to avoid them but they r still not happy. Hubby speak on my behalf also kenna scold. I am gg crazy wif all the in law thingy.

gie,
i guess alot of pple r having in law prob.. try to ignore them even if they keep saying things u dont like ok? anyway u r moving out in dec right.. keep yrself happy by talking to yr bb.. IGNORE them!

sher,now the problem is i ignore them, they comment that i am rude for not talking. And if i talk they say what i say i wrong.
Really can't wait to move out soon.

sorry for intruding. have been a silent reader for this thread as my baby is born in may 09 as well. happen to see that someone needs to know abt the prickly powder.
It is a round orange container named as "Milderma" prickly heat dusting powder by medical office singapore.
cost abt $4.80 to $5 in chinese medical stores.
quite good as well for baby's butt.
but make sure u apply little.

adv/ibite,
ratio is 1:3, so still within mcys regulations. ok la.
i got the same from mil &amp; her bros &amp; sisters. once they noe we r sending jodie to ifc, all protest &amp; say get maid / send to bbsitter.
even if our kids dun go ifc, when they go cc will still fall sick. only a matter of earlier or later bah...

piggypig,
i use calendula cream on jodie's neck when the folds get red. after a few applications, it's ok le. dun look raw liao.

thanks for all the feedback, replies to my earlier posts

sorry, didn't get a chance to come in and reply everyone then...really appreciate everyone's concern..

my #1 back to school today! finally get some chance to log in...my milk SS really dropping drastically in the 2 weeks that my elder girl was @ home. does tiredness/stress affect supply?

sometimes i think its harder to haf let down when u're mind is full of stressful stuff!! i try to chase my girl out of the room when i pump, but she will be banging on the door outside! i can't even poop peacefully!

any tips on how to relax to get good let down?hoping my SS goes back to normal soon...

ibite,
i realise that if i am lazy and dun wear the girdle i bought from audrey, my tummy will look like 3 mths preggie. i think its hopeless case for me coz my tummy before preggie already very "muffintop"

cheer up ok, there are many of us in the same boat as u! i haf to suck in tummy all the time!!!
but i heard that if u eat alot of vegee and whole grain food, u can lose belly fat.read in mind ur body that to lose belly fat, u need to do 150 mins of medium intensity exercise a week.

i can't exercise yet, i find my supply drops when i jog

Just finished my morning pump. I have just finished 2 boxes of the playtex liners! That means i have froze 280 packs of ebm! Luckily 90% have been consumed by my nephew liaoz. If not i also dunno where i can find the space to store them.

Hi Cheekz,
I also feel very stress why my #1 starts to bang on the door when i am pumping. Sometimes, i just let her come in. Less stressful so long as she does not do dangerous stunts in the room.

Re: Hungry = Preggy?
My colleague can still ask me if i am pregnant again when i commented that i am always very hungry. Haiz, i just came back from ML..where got so fast strike again. I won't want to strike so fast again even if i wanna have a #3.

Re: Dark soya sauce
Salt, Sugar, soya sauce and flavourings are strongly discouraged for babies! So Gie, you may want to bring ur MIL with u to see the GP/ PD the next round and ask the doc to tell ur MIL.

Long long time nvr come in oreadi...... How hv all of you been? I've been busy everyday, finding ways and means to keep Little Nigel entertain... **Shag**

Am wondering if anyone of you are using the Pigeon Baby Bottle
Sterilizing Tablets? Planning to bring Little Nigel to Hong Kong for his 1st trip and am wondering how to sterilize his bottles. Read from some article that Sterilizing Tablets are not very good as it contains chlorine, is it true.

Appreciate if anyone could share their experience with me:)

cheekz &amp; poohwei,
same here! i always cant pump in peace coz my elder boy likes to "play" wi my pump! he will take 2 cups and imitate that's the funnel, and sometimes sit on my laps to play &amp; read, what worse is he likes to turn my pump to POWER UP! OUCH!!! imagine the sudden big suction on ur breasts.. no joke man! my let down always comes slower when he disturbs my pumping.. always ask my helper to play wi him but sometimes she's busy wi other stuff..

re hair dropping:
sigh.. this time round come sooner when bb only 3 mth old!! anyone has solution for this?!

re contraceptive:
any mum wi 2 or more kids thinking of contraceptive measures? i wish to have a temporary one that cen be removed later on in future if i wan #3.. heard of different methods like Patch or Ring.. any feedbacks on this?

cheekz, poohwei, dodo - it's always a kampung when i'm pumping. my pump is in the study. my hb will be working at his desk, my older one will be hovering around me, the lil one will be in the bouncer. i do find it more diff to hv letdw when i'm hurried and stressed, esp when bb is cranky and the older one is doing stunts around me!

dodo re contraceptive - i chk with my gynae previously. the patch works the same way as the pill, except dat you stix it on you and it will secrete hormones into you and last for a week b4 you replace it. whereas you need to tk the pill daily. if you are still bf, shn't use these becoz of the hormones which can pass to bb. you can ask doc to prescribe mini pill to you instd.

on ring, i tink you are referring to iud/ius. these are technically abortive in nature. it works by preventing the fertilised egg fr being implanted. so depending on your personal conviction on when life begins, this mtd may not be advisable.

Gie, i am using the powder that oscar mentioned.."Milderma" got sell in medical hall..sorry i have not got time to take the pic...

ibite, can understand your madness...sometimes i went shopping with hb and i like to wear loose clothings...ppl will look at us as if i am expecting...zzz

i succumbed to the caterpillar toy! bot it @ KP jus now! lucky jodie seems to like it.

wonder wat i will buy @ taka tmr...

juju, u also buy ah..haha...so many may babies having this toy ! today bring my boy out then i hang the caterpilla on the stroller...he keep kicking it cos got the bell sound...

I just came back from the taka baby fair! So many babies. For mummies thinking of buyign the leap frog exersaucer. Its selling for $179! I got that for Claire as it really has so many interesting and fun songs and music with stero quality. I find that the evenflo one the music element is not as strong. As I'm a big fan of music, I choose the leap frog one for Claire. I'm still experimenting with the music. whahahah. Its appeals even to me (an adult) I guess it will appeal to most babies! whahahaha

Oscar
You are a may mum as well

Audrey
I think i miss your qn, the form fitter is sold at almost all department store. Playskool brand.. not difficult to find..

juju, ya ! i think we all will hang the caterpillar and take pix together...wahahaha

ling, i also thot is difficult to find leh...scarly compasspoint KP also got sell...

yuki, no i rent out my house and stay wif Mil, now regret. Luckily my tenant nice they will find another place and move out soon. If not the longer i stay here i will go crazy. Hubby also cannot stand her mum already.

Porky. Is ok, got name can liao. Will go and buy the powder hope my house those medica shop have. Thanks.