jamie, audrey,
same boat as u both! sighs...i tried to follow gina ford's routine when MA was born but i've since thrown that book out of the window! so diff to follow coz so many diff styles @ home. my maid is the type who will carry and sway baby to & fro, my MIL loves to bounce baby about, my hubby also got his own cartoon style.
in the end, MA has not yet found a way to self soothe. she now rejects ALL of them when i am @ home. she totally rejects my MIL and hubby so now, left with me or the maid.but when i am home, she will reject the maid and will not want to bottle feed.
my mil is @ this stage where i cannot reason with her. she likes coming over to "play" with MA. so when MA is quietly playing in her gym or rocker, she will pick MA up to "play". she will "tekan" the baby until the baby cry then will shout for the maid to come and pacify the baby. my maid also very sian with her and keep telling her not to carry baby when baby is not crying. but my MIL will tell her, "baby cannot sit in rocker too long, the backside will get hot"!!! for some reason, MA doesn't like to be carried by her, so my MIL start to carry her even when MA is peacefully sleeping in her rocker! my MIL will pick her up to cuddle her like some puppy dog when she's sleeping!
but since we need my MIL to keep an eye on the maid, i haf no choice. my maid also super sian coz got so many chores to do but MIL keep disturbing baby.since i am not @ home when my MIL is around, its diff to explain to her. once i caught her carrying MA when MA was asleep, she told me the same things," baby backside too hot, must carry her"sighs...give up!
my elder one also dun like my MIL and will throw tantrums @ her. whenever my MIL is around, my elder one will grow all her horns and be super naughty coz she knows she can get away with it.today, she pinched my maid and when my maid told me,my mil and fil both jumped to my daughter's defence. my FIL told the maid not to "kao peh, kao bu" and my MIL keep saying ALL children are like that, its ok one...
wah, my blood really boiled coz we already warned my elder one to be respectful towards the maid. as a result, she refused to apologise. i had to wait for my hubby to come home and explain to them...my MIL not happy lor, but what to do?