(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

oki: thx for the link! very cute!

adv sports: my bb dinking very irregular.. like mornings/afternoon she prob drinks only 125ml+/- bt nite time like ytd and the nite before she went 220! interval is usually 3-3.5hrs..

tinklesmum: i prepared 110 for her at first then she still frantically suck fist so i tried 60 she also chionged! so me n hb try our luck go for the remaining 50 in the glass bottle lor then she really whack! bt by the end of the bottle hb say she like dun wan dun wan already so stopped lor.. =) bt she end up still wake at 630am. faintz!

ling cld it be they are ready for solids? read up on babycenter i think rejecting milk is one of the signs...

anyone can advise...

hailey seems to be closer to me then to daddy or to anyone else. understandable cuz im home w her all day bt hw to make her close to daddy too? im tired of being the only one who can pacify her cuz everyone in the house jus dumps her on me when they can't stop her frm crying.

<font color="ff0099">jamie,
i'm in the same situation as u.. andrea seems to be closer to me as well. whenever she cries, my mum, hb will try to carry her.. she will cry n cry.. and after she will calm down. and when she hears my voice, she will cry again.. den when i carry her, she'll keep quiet n grab me very tightly..

every tues we go back n visit my in laws, andrea cries non stop when we are back there. my mil carry, fil carry, she will cry n cry until they don't want to carry her anymore. den i have to carry her.

and i'm also very tired of pacifying her all the time because everyone also passes her back to me when they cant stop her from crying..

on the other hand, i feel happy that i'm the most impt to her.. but its really tiring. sometimes i'm so tired of facing all 4 walls at home and not being able to go out and breathe some fresh air..</font>

Jamie/Audrey,
May I suggest that try giving yourself a break, like 4 hour for the 1st time, away from your bb totally (meaning get out of the house, bb can't see you/sense you). I think when bb knows we are around, they will not settle down for other pple..! When you don't see her cry, you will not feel the pain &amp; go to carry/pacify her immediately..

jamie, audrey,

same boat as u both! sighs...i tried to follow gina ford's routine when MA was born but i've since thrown that book out of the window! so diff to follow coz so many diff styles @ home. my maid is the type who will carry and sway baby to &amp; fro, my MIL loves to bounce baby about, my hubby also got his own cartoon style.

in the end, MA has not yet found a way to self soothe. she now rejects ALL of them when i am @ home. she totally rejects my MIL and hubby so now, left with me or the maid.but when i am home, she will reject the maid and will not want to bottle feed.

my mil is @ this stage where i cannot reason with her. she likes coming over to "play" with MA. so when MA is quietly playing in her gym or rocker, she will pick MA up to "play". she will "tekan" the baby until the baby cry then will shout for the maid to come and pacify the baby. my maid also very sian with her and keep telling her not to carry baby when baby is not crying. but my MIL will tell her, "baby cannot sit in rocker too long, the backside will get hot"!!! for some reason, MA doesn't like to be carried by her, so my MIL start to carry her even when MA is peacefully sleeping in her rocker! my MIL will pick her up to cuddle her like some puppy dog when she's sleeping!

but since we need my MIL to keep an eye on the maid, i haf no choice. my maid also super sian coz got so many chores to do but MIL keep disturbing baby.since i am not @ home when my MIL is around, its diff to explain to her. once i caught her carrying MA when MA was asleep, she told me the same things," baby backside too hot, must carry her"sighs...give up!

my elder one also dun like my MIL and will throw tantrums @ her. whenever my MIL is around, my elder one will grow all her horns and be super naughty coz she knows she can get away with it.today, she pinched my maid and when my maid told me,my mil and fil both jumped to my daughter's defence. my FIL told the maid not to "kao peh, kao bu" and my MIL keep saying ALL children are like that, its ok one...

wah, my blood really boiled coz we already warned my elder one to be respectful towards the maid. as a result, she refused to apologise. i had to wait for my hubby to come home and explain to them...my MIL not happy lor, but what to do?

cheekz,
Wahz, its bad to have conflicting discipline, like that ur kids will b confused. hard for u to tell them right? Think ur hubby also sandwiched?

cheekz,
ya.. its bad to have conflicting discipline.. i have been coaching Shermin not to be rude to 'Aunty' and whenever she goes haywired, she will go to my helper and pinched, slap her shoulder or some funny things.. then i will hold her face and talk sense to her.. i dont care whether she is listening or not, i just say and say.. then i will ask Shermin to apologise to my helper. sometimes she doesnt want.. i will let her cool down 1st then talk to her again in half hr or 1 hr time.. then ask her go apologise. All the time, i managed to ask her to apologise. the longest period that Shermin didnt wan to apologise is 2 hrs. she just hid in the room and refused to come out after she scratched her daddy's face.

RE: taka fair
sorry mummies, yesterday i have to cheong off because of my Bs!!! ended i went in the car and express out abit before i set off home. luckily i have a set of nursing cover with me. but i enjoyed myself with the food though i think i still can eat!! whahaha..

RE: tangs private sales
anybody know when is next?? i'm waiting for this fair!!!

jamie, audrey
both of u r losing yr sanity v soon.. maybe can try joyce's way?? jamie, u bottled fed hailey right?? shld be easier.. as for audrey, maybe u shld ask yr mum to force feed andrea using bottle.. then u can get out of the house..
i think SAHM somehow or rather must also have some MY OWN TIME.. a few hrs of separation will make both of u even closer.. whahhaa..

because i'm working, after work, i will want to rush home and see my 2 girls.. Shermin will open the door for me when she hears gate opening. Shermay will smile at me widely..

RE: rejecting milk
ya.. i read somewhere also.. that if bb starts to reject milk, somehow or rather, they r prepared for solid.. not v sure abt this..

dodo,
ya.. i bought the big blocks for my girl.. i think the daddy is more excited because he built for shermin.. then shermin when woke up from her nap just scream happily 'WOW.. my toys??!!'
i think 1 set isnt enough.. whahhaa.. maybe another 1 will build a bigger one?? its pretty nice.. can build into many stuff..
to protect yr flooring, please put those ABC mat or bumper mat. the material is pretty ok.. no sharp edges. and of course the big blocks is big enough that they cant put into their mouth..

poohwei,
i will pop by taka again next mon after i bring shermay for jab. i want to trade in old bottles. their bottles come with teat? or its just storage bottle?

Hi Shers,
Medela bottles do not come with teats. Think they only provide the storage caps. Thinking of popping by later if its not raining after my gal's review at TMC.

Hi Porky,
Think Pigeon also have the same promo. Not too sure.

Morning ladies !!

Buy things again, I prefer gers

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2856461.html?1251422231

hi pastries,

my gal went to Greenery IFC at cck ave 5. they let me accompany my gal for 3 full days. i got to see and understand their operations and so i more "fang xin" when i put my gal there. contact: 67650800

Audrey, dodo, adv-sport, joyce,
no chance of stopping them to bite ?! mine will bite after he finished... so painful !!

Audrey, Jamie,
Well, right from the start I already let MIL handles everything for Ash. I need her to be trained before I return to work else she will suffer. So right now MIL can managed Ash very well. Hubby take care of Ash in the evening and I only come in at night. Thus, he is ok with all of us. Hahaha cos most of the time, I am managing my #1 in the day

Cheekz,
My #1 will actually shout at FIL when I am not around. Instead of "scolding" her, he will smile at her finding it funny. I told FIL we must tell her is not right to shout at ppl especiallly elderly and must learn to respect ppl. So now my ger can be very stubborn, she doesnt want to say sorry.

Funny thing is, when I am around she dare not do anything funny.

My MIL used to carry Ash when he is still asleep or even attempt to wake him up for milk. But Ash will make a big fuss, I think she got scare of it till she even say dont disturb him while he is asleep. My mum also same thing, but I will tell her off straight.

piggypig,
ABC mat be bought anywhere.. toys r' us.. but i think playmat will be better because its easy to clean. my ABC mat is more for floor protection for toys rather than for bb to lie down..

Shers
No good buy in taka fair?

Btw what is bottle exchange? Can let me know I have many used bottles keke.. cheapskate me:p

Cheekz
Hm.. discipline issue.. I think it’s natural for grannies to defend the children, like my own parents, give in to whatever my girl wants!!!
When she is stubborn, they told me, dun scold her, let her be, everything let her be.. I told them if I always give in like what they do, I think sooner or later my girl will ride on top of my head haha.. but I understand it’s because my parents only get to see my girl once in few months when they visit us in Sg..

Different scenarios for my ILs who is taking care of my girl, they still discipline her, scolds her when she does wrong things and reminds her on what she can do and what she cant do.. but stubborn Meg sometimes just refused to listen..

I recommend this parenting book which I am reading now, it’s really good!!
Title: The Rules of Parenting
Author: Richard Templar

cola,
ya.. basically its just fair lor.. not sales.. plus no additional 10% for card member.. chey!

the bottle exchange is medela bottles at $6.90. just get any old bottles of yrs.. exchange.. no teat.. just normal storage bottles.. i will pop by on mon to exchange

u r not cheapskate la.. we r just being practical! hehehe

BTW, did Megan enjoy her day yesterday?

Hi Twinkles,

btw, did you go to IFC straight away or did u search for a nanny 1st? Any good nanny to introduce in CCK area? Cos my sis engage de nanny something happen so cannot help her look aft bb now.

pastries -
i let my gal go to IFC straight away, she has been there for 2 weeks liao.
i dun like the idea of stranger nanny, unless i know that person.
there are a few other IFC in cck too. ask her to visit the IFCs first. get the feel which is better.

Shers
Oh any bottle but can purchase medela bottle at S$6.90 ic ic..

I am gonna bring Kea for his pneumo + rota vaccines tomorrow.

Meg grew all her horns on the bday!! Anyway I find that she is super timid outside, bring her to vivo waterplay area, she didn’t even dare to go near the water, hiding behind me only. Next yr must really send her to sch for socialization purpose and also for her to observe that she needs to listen to advice! And dun continue her stubborn ways..

We had a good meal on that day, and at nite she got to eat her mee sua + 2 hard boiled eggs (which mummy finished all coz she didn’t want to eat the eggs) hehe.. and gotta blow candles and sang birthday song not forgetting her new kitchen set toys..

She was so happy that everyone was at home for her bday.

Piggy pig

Tomorrow will be my boy 1st doze of rota + pneumo..
I think in total, there should be 4 dozes of pneumo and 2 dozes of rota..

He took 6 in 1 in 2nd month
5in 1 in 3rd month
Pneumo + rota 1st doze in 4th month
6 in 1 again in 5th month
Pneumo + rota 2nd doze in 6th month
Penumo 3rd doze in 6th month
And booster pneumo in 18th month

If I am not wrong the above has been scheduled by my GP..

thanks rc
i totally confused by 5 and 6 in 1.

my boy got his 1st 5 in 1 + 1st dose pneumo - rota during his 3 mth. heartpain to see him kana 2 jabs at one time. lucky rota is oral.

tml again kana 2 jabs...sob sob

gotta check with my PD about the jab schedule tml. actually not sure if all those additional jabs are useful not. some said yes while others said not necessary ow govt would have made them compulsory lor.

joyce, haha..say thanks to your girl for allow me to tompang my stuff ! yesterday let my boy try on the hat..a bit too big now..but cute !

poohwei, i think i dont want exchange the medela bottles..cos no milk to store..hehe

jamie/audrey, my boy used to be like this too when i take care myself for 2mths...before i go back to work..every night when hubby return from work, i will ask hubby to carry him or pat him to sleep...he will cry also...but let him cry a while..he will fall asleep de...now he will let my hubby carry him liao...will grab his shirt tightly...so i have some relax time to surf net and do my own things..hehe

cheeks, the way u discribe ur mil is super exactly the same like my mil ! when my boy happily kicking and talking to the hanging toys on his rocker...my mil will go carry him up and play ang gu gu with him...so he will get fed up and scream ! then my mil still ask me why he crying ? is it hungry or sleepy...i will tell her pls put him back on his rocker let him play the toys ! now i lock my boy inside my room when my mil is in the house..no choice have to do this else both side headache...

hi piggypig,
i also let my gal had the rota &amp; pneumo. i felt that since she is going to IFC, she should have these protections with her. this is the best i can do for her at the moment.

piggypig,
u go to Dr Y Y Yip as well right??
i didnt let Shermay take the pneumo because she has to have 2 jabs which i dont bear to. i will only let her take after she finishes her 5in1 jabs after she turns 6 mths. this is what i did for Shermin as well. but i let her took rota because its oral.

porky, i had fun eating and chit chatting yesterday.. whahaha... especially with adrienne!!

shers,
ya Dr Y Y Yip. he didnt say 1st dose can wait till 6mths but 2 weeks times after the 1st 5-in-1. he said 5-in-1 likely to cause fever and pneumo also, might as well take together, no need to suffer 2 times fever... i blur blur let bb take 2 jabs last mth lor.. tml shall ask him again if can delay 2nd dose

porky,
i didnt shop alot.. supposed to go and buy my clothings but ended up Bs pain.. so got to go.. but this bb fair is quite a disappointment..

re taka bb fair - ya, i oso tink not much this time round. but then again my loot cost me $72. if there were more stuff, might spend even more $ and i'm on no pay lve this mth! *faintz*

re jabs - i tink it's gd to give rota and pneumo even though not compulsory, esp if bb gg IFC/childcare. actually these 2 jabs are compulsory overseas.

my doc once commented when my #1 had stomach flu dat it was relatively mild coz she had rota. porky, there isn't any discomfort aft rota.

as for pneumo, i will only let bb take aft 18mth so dat it's only 1 jab and oso becoz she's not gg to childcare as yet.

twinkle,feb_mum, okok..cos next week my bb gg for rota...i scare he will diarrhoe again...cos pd say some bb will tends to get diarrhoe after the dose..hope my jaeden is not one of them !

shers, me keen ! but can after chinese 7th mth or not ? cos mil say 7th month cant bring bb go out...

feb_mum,
same.. i will only let shermay takes pneumo after she finishes all the compulsory jabs.. its so pitiful to see her take 1 each month already... moreover 2 jabs at the same time..

porky,
even daytime go out also cannot??

Re: jab

My GP was saying if there is a tendency of having fever if a baby gets too many jabs at one go. That’s why he advised me to separate into few visits..

For both my kids, I will just give them all the jabs, as parents that what we can do. My 2 cents worth..
It’s only when the kid is totally isolated from the outside world, then he/she wont caught the disease (which is not possible coz we parents also need to go out and might unfortunately bring the germs home).. a fren of mine, his son is always at home, not going cc, caught the HFMD.. think when they go out shopping or wat..

Shers
Another gathering?

U mean taka fair, no 10% disc even for taka card.. then wat’s the fair for.. so funny rite..

cola,
the last gathering we had was in july le.. so ok la.. next gathering in sept is good.. u better come hor..
if most mums prefer after 7th lunar mth, then date will be 19th sept onwards. i will plan on weekday.. so FTWM, please take leave ok? Monday as usual? then we will skip the monday blue!! whahaa..
if dont mind during 7th lunar mth (its day time anyway), will be 14th sept?

shers, if day time on weekday, then can lah..i go without bb..put in ifc..if weekend, then i cant bring bb go out..so i wont join the gathering...so i will opt for 19th sept !

Anyone interested in Mothercare shoes, carter dresses, bibs, small wonder rompers, osh gosh t shirts? I'm starting a BP thread selling these soon. May 09 mummies can reserve first as I have limited quantities on each sizes! hahaha PM me if interested.

porky,
i will prefer weekdays.. weekends reserved for family.. bring Jaeden is ok right? because usually our gathering will end before 4pm..

oki, u tempting me to buy more!! the head gears r really cute

audrey n jamie, must ren xin n let hubby or someone else tend to bb.. else u will be very tired... m "off duty" after hubby gets home from work n weekends hubby will feed bb if i m not latching.. will hv "me time" when i go running for 1 hr

re: sept gathering
m ok on mon/fri -- not working on those days for sept