(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

porky,
i lost the thread le. but i just sms her and ask her to give me her acct no and i just transfer. she got ready stock so i will be collecting tonite.

u want? if yes, tell me how many dual pack u want, then u transfer $ to her and i help u pick up later also. pass u on thur

huh? this round taka bb fair dun have the 20% + 10% disc ar.. like that dun know worth to go .. haha..
anyway, can't take leave, else will join u all for lunch.. looks yummy...

Re: Fever after jab
is ling yang too strong for bb? maybe can take barley water w/o sugar for them..

porky,
i'm going to pump soon. so sms me how many dual pack u want. i think all 260ml bottles is size 2 teats. u have to buy bigger hole teats separately.

Hi Shers,

I think HK is different since the 1 country 2 policy time. The street is flooded with China people now.

Re: Fever after jab
Hi Firefly, I checked with my pd what temp we should be concern of, she said more then 39 degree. She also said that as long as bb is still active and normal self, shouldn't too concern abt fever. But being 1st time mother, i super kan cheong.

Is it that 6-in-1 will had higher chance of developing fever then 5-in-1?

hiya..how often do we have to change pacifiers?

Also, me thinking of stopping breastfeeding after 6 mths cos I maybe travelling around. Some people told me after 6 mths, BM no more nutrients...any advice?

Shers: Will watch out for your video on FB! I told my mum about the money pia thingy and she very excited went to buy big and small ones.. Hahah..

Porky: I also didn't know about this trick until the second jab, we placed bb in my mum's room (cos i was having flu) and my mum on-ed aircon and bb didn't develop fever. My bb usually dun sleep in air con also, cos i can't tahan aircon will have stuffy nose, my bb also..

pastries: I dun think 6-in-1 and 5-in-1 has much difference except that 6-in-1 has less jabs?

hoops: BM after 6 months still have nutrients but not enough for bb cos bb needs to eat solids to get more nutrients. It's the same with FM. I was also toying with the idea of stopping after 6 months but i think of how ex FM is and how easy it is for me to just latch, I'll have second thoughts..

Re: Baby illnesses
Wanna recommend a website:
http://www.karrifamilyclinic.com.sg/ It talks about some common childhood illnesses and what to do with them. Some good articles I read include cooling fever patches give parents false sense of security(dun waste money) & about the vaccinations. Parents with babies who have rashes, i think there's an article on it too! I'm going to email to this doc to ask about why my bb hasn't pooed for so long!

Re: Starting solids
Anyone starting their babies with semi-solids soon? If my baby continues to go on milk strike, I may consider giving her rice cereals soon..

Re: Taka BB fair Lunch
I'm not joining but just a recommendation. Think there's Dim Sum Buffet at Meritus Mandarin Pine Court (LEVEL 35, ORCHARD WING). Somemore Meritus is next to Taka only, dun need to walk far or take cab. Buffet somemore!
Dunno end already or not.. I'm thinking of going there with my family when we celebrate early BB 4th month..

Indulge in a sumptuous din sum buffet of as many as 30 exquisite dim sum delights featuring a mix of creative flair and culinary mastery by Executive Chinese Chef Yang Lai Fatt and his team.

Weekdays (Excluding Public Holidays) 12pm to 2.30pm $16.80++ (Adult) $9++ (Child)

Weekends (Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays) 11.30am to 2.30pm $38 nett (Adult) $19 nett (Child)

*Enjoy additional servings of refreshing desserts, fresh fruits and pastries on weekends.

Enquiries: 6831 6262 (Pine Court)

hi mummies, sorry to interupt, I'm selling $500 takashimaya voucher at 10% discount. Let me know if you're interested in any amount (min $100 to deal). PM me please. TAKASHIMAYA BABY FAIR 27TH AUG

i also wish i can go buffet n shop on a thurs..but had to work..just came back..pai seh take leave also..

hoops:my cousin in law did say that her PD says 6 months is good enough apparently..i also wanna travel, if still expressing , cant travel much..only can go those like cruise or club med..

tiny m: my boy started milk strike also. all of a sudden he doenst like his bottles any more..i also dont know y. i spend 2 hours to coax him to drink milk yesteday nite, only manage to down 100ml n took me i think 2 hours.. sigh. but if ur girl willing to latch stil ok right..stil got drink right.
i am back at work, n he refuses to latch at night..so i also worried. he is 4 months already..so if wanna start semi solid can oredi..
tiny m, ur girl not 4 months yet right?

<font color="0000ff">Immunisation Jab
MIL said immunisation jab is 'heaty', so to prevent fever, we give ling yang to cool the body 1st. follow by 3 doses (no more no less) paracetamol Just in case!

Ling Yang - only add 'Mai Dong' a little cream colour herb, no sugar/no honey. use double boil for 10mins is better.

pacifier
I think every month bah

BM after 6mth
Hoops, not true I think.. BM is cater for our bb at each different stage!

<font color="0000ff">Travel &amp; BFG with bb or without bb?
1. I think travel with bb is super easy, less things to bring if you know how to bfg discretely!

2. Travel w/o bb - hmm.. 1st few days may have to pump &amp; throw, can only bring back last 2 days of ebm bah.. tho I never tried b4!

<font color="0000ff">pacifier
Think it will get thin loh.. then bb suck liao not shiok! Maybe the duration of use..vs condition? mine so far change once, I hv 2 on rotation.. nid to change soon le.. </font>

Been awhile didnt come in
Hope all bbs are well.. Wanted to join u gers for the shopping this Thurs but cant leh cos MIL is going for a checkup, need to look for Ash..zzz

Jaime,
My boy also goes for hunger strike, he started to reject bottle too and poor MIL needs to coax him to drink his milk. Btw, did u manage to bring ur boy for the swim ?

Pacifer
I havent change leh... means I should ar !! Hahha..

Travel w/o bb,
Tried once.. definitely need to throw away my BM for the 1st few days cos my #1 not always want the BM. Anyway, the hotel fridge doesnt have a freezer make it even tougher.

flipping
My boy also show no sign of flipping and he is turning 4mths tomorrow. For #1 she can flipped when she is 4mths 2 days old.. what a diff cos I heard boy tends to be slower.

Hi Tiny M,
Cos i read somewhere before that 6-in-1 tends to have higher chances of fever. Forgotten where i read it. I didn't know that keeping bb cool (ie, on air-con or blow fan) will help in bb fever after jab. i still thot must prevent bb from exposing to too cold environment.

Re: pacifier
Oops, i didn't know pacifier need to change monthly! I have 4 pacifiers actually. 1 is permanently in IFC, the other 3 at home for rotating use oso..

Re: 4 month thing
Is it more for Hokkien? My sis was telling me more for Hokkien. The funny thing is that we are Hokkien but my mum not too sure about this thing also. Haha!

tiny m - my gal is on tbf and she oni poos once a wk. if bb is on BM, there is actually no worie abt constipation. i read dat you intro FM - dat might backfire and cause her to be constipated instd. try to do cycling motion with her legs and massage her tummy in clockwise direction, this can aid digestion and help her poo.

re fever aft jab - it's actually normal and there is no worie abt it. usually bb will hv mild fever and a dose of panadol will be ok. doc actually mentioned dat we shdnt give panadol as a preventive measure, give only when bb has fever. to give ling yang or not, i tink depends on you take tcm approach or western approach bah. i more western approach so will not intro any thing other than milk to bb at this stage.

re 27 aug - i'm more interested in the eating than the shopping ;p let me chk if my mum can look aft my bb or not first.

tiny_m - thanks for the link. i do continue to monitor my bb's temp after putting on the cooling pad. i think it is still useful to absorb the initial heat build-up, but need to monitor bb's temp and take other measures once fever developed.

hoops - BM is still nutritious aft 6mths, but won't hv enuff nutrients to meet all of bb's needs then. bb will hv to get nutrients fr other food sources in addition to BM. bb's iron store will oso drop around dat time so they will need to take iron-fortified pdts.

feb_mum - me too. i'm more interested in the lunch. wonder if i can make it in time to go lunch then rush back to office. already took leave to go taka on 28 aug with hubby (so that he can carry all the stuff :p)

re: aug 27
yum yum, i also VERY tempted to join for yummy lunch.. gotta give taka shopping a miss as quite impossible to push a stroller in the crowd...

re: bb poo
tiny_m, if my bb dun poo for a day, i will do "stomach crunches" for her (similar to wat feb_mum describes) -- like warm up exercise before swimming... she will poo when i put her upright after the exercise or after the next feed

actually fr club chinois can take bus to taka rite? shd be a few stops only. take cab must pay for the erp and other surcharges i tink. i dun mind walking. eat so much must walk abit to digest. hee. when i went with my sis that day, we walked to wisma and then to tangs for shopping.

Shers,

You mean there is a BP going on for dream bag now? can I have the link? Thanks

Re: fever after jab
Agree with Feb mum. I don't give any thing to my girl before the jab. She was okie, no fever. Today I'm bring her for her 2nd dose of 5-in-1. Not intending to give her anything before the jab as well. Will monitor her condition after the jab. Seems like the 6-in-1 jab is more prone to have fever. Am I right?

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Gathering on 27th Aug (Thur) </font></font>
Venue: Taka Baby Fair
Time: 12noon for lunch @ Club Chinois!! (I trust Tunglok!! =) followed by bus ride/walk to Taka?

Lunch+Shopping
1)Poohwei (no baby!)
2)sallen (no baby)
3)Shers (no baby)
4)Porky (no baby)

Shopping only?
1)Joyce,mil &amp; bb

ermm... who r joining to the lunch on 27th?? actually i have made reservation for table of 4 - poohwei, me, sallen and porky. i will call again to add.. i worried full.. so called to reserve.. abit kiasu here.. whahhaa

feb_mum, adv_sports, ak... confirmed?? i will call to reserve again..

juju,
ya.. i'm thinking of selling away my pupsik nursing poncho because my girl doesnt latch during day time already.. PM me if u r keen.

Shers

U got so many nursing ponchos huh ?
Hehe..

My co got meeting room that we use as nursing room (but part of it is see thru glasses – bottom side) so with a nursing poncho I feel much secure haha.. anyway the nursing poncho also acts as sweater kekeke

Juju
Jodie is all well already rite?

hi mummies, sorry to interupt, I'm selling $500 takashimaya voucher at 10% discount. Let me know if you're interested in any amount (min $100 to deal). sms 96200184. TAKASHIMAYA BABY FAIR 27TH AUG

cola,
i got 2 nursing poncho - 1 is preloved and 1 is new which i sold to u already lor.. then i got another nursing cover which i have no chance to use at all also.. but am keeping it as sunshine for pram. whaha..

also.. i got 3 new burping cloth.. very nice de.. anybody wan to take over?

Urgh
I am so so so busy!!!

Shers
Wah u really got lots of ponchos.. I dun think I will buy any baby gadgets for now. I have more than I require..
I dreamt of hubby ergoing my boy, think I am going insane, think too much or ergo till I dreamt about it keke..

Any fun place to visit for a 2yo girl who loves KPOing? Gogo bambini is a big no no.. and those playhouse type is a nono coz my girl doesn’t like that sort of stuff at all.. tom is her bday, cant imagine she has been occupying my last 2 yrs and bringing so much fun (cum frustrations) in our lives (hubby and me)

cola,
i think at this stage, u dont buy ergo la.. either u stick to yr maclaren pram or get beco carrier..
now its time to buy stuff for ourselves!!! whahhaa.. this thursday, i'm going to shop for myself as well.. want to change my wardrobe..
how abt bringing yr girl to zoo or bird park? the last time i brought Shermin to zoo, she enjoyed herself alot.

Shers

Not forgetting I’ve got a Phil&amp;Ted stroller somemore hehe
Just had che cheong fan + milo thick thick.. stil v hungry ler!!

Zoo and birdpark
We went there during last time, she doesn’t really enjoy it… was thinking maybe bring her to sentosa beach for her to play water.. do u think it’s a good idea? My MIL will sure against it hahahah! Go beach give me chance to wear back my bikini hahahha.. it has been so long!!

cola,
then u dont need anymore bb gadget. whahhaa.. too much already.. i think its good to invest in a good carrier and good pram. good carrier when the places we go arent pram friendly. and good pram when we r out whole day.

hungry?? hehhee.. this morning i had 4 slices of bread with luncheon meat and fried egg. whahhaa.. plus 1 cuppa of cofy.. i wonder the rate i'm eating will make me put on weight ornot.. but like what u said b4.. the moment i see the creamy milk that was expressed out, made me so satisfied.. last time before my helper came, when i brought 2 kids home on weekend, the milk that i expressed out was so watery.. so transparent.. because i wasnt eating well.. now my helper came and she can cook and take care of kids well.. so my milk is quite creamy.. and my mum on weekdays always make nice breakfast for me to pack to work.. thats y pple always say MUMMY IS THE BEST!

sentosa beach?? thats nice also.. u can bring her underwater world also.. abit of sun is good la.. but slap plenty of sunblock for Megan.. think she will enjoy her 2 yr old bday!
MIL will against because of 7th lunar mth??
bikini.. wooo hooo...

Hmm..Creamy milk. Mine still quite ok cos i still drink milk and take supplements. Food wise, 3 heavy meals a day. And the good thing is...<font size="+2">I am still losing weight!!</font>. Dunno can drop to 50kg or not? I am at 53.5kg now. Pre-preg was 59kg. Think wedding was 55kg. Never ever hit 50kg once i started staying in the hostel during uni times!!cos we ate supper almost every nite.

Re:Baby items
Dun think i need to indulge in big ticket items anymore. Think hubby will "kill" me. I got 3 prams, 4 carriers, 2 breastpumps, and all the popular kid's toys already. But i m still eyeing on a vtech pushcar which i saw at Tangs the other day. Hmm..if Taka still have promo for maclaren daytripper, i may consider again..hahaha..This crazy mummy..

Re: Buffet on Thurs
Cant wait to eat!! Shers! U really power leh!! So fast make reservation liao...hahaha.

Just for laugh! My girl n her beanie...
2849675.jpg

poohwei,
because i'm more interested in the food than the fair.. whahaha.. so i gan cheong go there, no seat, so chop chop reserve lor.. hhhee.. anyway, remember to bring my stuff on thursday okok?? let me know $$ also..
i like xuan xuan's eyebrows.. next time no need to pluck or trim already.. so nice.. u see my 2 girls.. next time, they need to pluck to the extreme.. haiz.. they follow my hb's eyebrows.. 'la pi xiao xin' eyebrows.. so thick!!

Tiny/Jamie/Oki - My boy rejecting milk for the past few weeks too, every feed is a struggle. So I started my boy on cereal(Frisocrem) last weekend but only once a day. He luvs it.

shers, can u help me ask ur fren let go 1 set of the avent bpa 260ml dual pack for me bo ? cos yesterday i cant find anyone with posb saving...then at last poohwei wanted to help me but u left already....sorry for the trouble...but i really need the bottles cos my boy now drink 220-240ml...my bottle only 125ml...i have to make twice then enough for him wor...i will pay u cash on thurs when meet up

poohwei, u knw wat ? when i saw the photo u post, i thot is Rina's bb gal ! hahaha...they look alike when they wear the beanie...so cute and chubby also

porky,
i just left her carpark when i received yr sms yesterday and i cant u-turn back because her house super traffic jam because its just next to AYE. paisay.. i helped my friend buy a set and she passes me cash and i'm cashless.. whahhaa.. BTW, i just passed to her this morning already because her bb also upgraded to 260ml bottle.. urgh~~ or can ask poohwei to pick up for u if convenient? think quite near her place??

shers, the thing is...now karen no more existing stock...haiz...yeseterday just ask her only then this morning she email me say no stock liao...must wait for new stock come in...

Re: fever after jab

yesterday brought my gal for 6 in 1 jab(2nd dose) &amp; she had fever. hv given her paracetamol &amp; shes better.

pd says if 1st dose she has fever, usually 2nd time will be the same lor.

poor frances, see pd poke the needle, cry till my heart so pain.....haiz.

my gal’s weight now is 6.25. pd says avg weight for 4 mths old bb is 6.5. he suggest i add some cereal to her milk. I thought solids shd be given at 6 mths. Any advice? And what brand is gd ah?

Flommy

Nowadays my gal seems like on milk strike, took 2 intervals to finish her milk.
How is friscocrem like ah? Mix with milk?

Porky - do you need the bottles urgently? i have 4 new ones. i only need them in oct. if you want i can pass them to you first.

<font color="ff0099">hi mummies
can we wear underwired bras if we are breast feeding? i heard that if we are breast feeding, the underwired bras will hinder with the milk production.. really??</font>